BBB Accredited Business since

Honest-1 Auto Care #182

Phone: (612) 871-7545 Fax: (651) 994-9030 2217 Lyndale Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55405 http://www.honest1uptown.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Honest-1® is committed to providing you with a wide range of high quality automotive services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honest-1 Auto Care #182 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honest-1 Auto Care #182 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honest-1 Auto Care #182
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 21, 2012 Business started: 02/24/2010 Business started locally: 02/24/2010 Business incorporated 02/24/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Matt Sedestrom, President Hunter Fennell, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Matt Sedestrom, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Electric Equipment Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
We offer a 3 year/36,000 mile warranty of most of our services and a one year roadside assistance.
Service Area
Uptown Minneapolis
Alternate Business Names
Seed Incorporated
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Honest-1 Auto Care, this company offers light duty auto repair and diagnostics including tires and exhaust.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honest-1 Auto Care #182 has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2217 Lyndale Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55405 (612) 871-7545

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the inspection of my car, which I explicitly asked for, was not done before $800 of brake work was done. The car was unsafe to drive, which I learned after bringing it back in the next day. Later, other mechanics told me only half the work that I paid for was done, and was done incorrectly at that. A diagnostic on a separate vehicle was incorrect as well, $100 of lies. Now I'm deeper in then the worth of the car and forced to spend more money to fix problems that make this a car that is still too dangerous to drive. I am currently getting the run around even though the mechanics at this shop have since inspected my car again and agreed dangerous mistakes were made.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment I would like a full refund of all work done because of false information, all work done incorrectly, and all diagnostic/test fees that had incorrect results.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/03) */ We have responded to the customers complaint and reached a solution

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They said they fixed the issues with my car but yet I have to keep bringing it in for new issues. On February 11th I had my car fixed for some issues at honest one. After waiting 3 days with no car until the last day they finally offer me a loaner car. I get my car back and pay 3171.58. They next day my check engine light comes on I bring it on and they charge me 31 bucks to fix wiring issues and here I am today with the check engine light on again. I feel like they are intentionally draining me of money to fix this car. I am not asking for a full refund I would want at least 2000 back and I don't want to bring it back there so they can steal money from my pocket again. I shouldn't have to bring my car in everyday there.

Desired Settlement: 2000

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/27) */ Car came making a lot of noise and not running well, we found that the timing was off 5 teeth because the tensioner had gone bad causing the customers concern. It was possible the interference engine he had may have been ruined, but after replacing the Timing components the engine noise went away. He still had some issues with a couple of sensors which we replaced and the engine ran great. Noise went away and we had saved his engine. The check light came on after he left and he brought it back and we found some wiring had melted. We repaired that at a discounted price because of the work he had done here, even thought it wasnt part of the timing components. The car has 202000 miles on it and the wiring wasn't part of his concern. What he brought it in for was repaired. We dont warranty other issues that arise . Those are separate repairs that the customer is responsible for. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When you repaired the loud engine I was told that the sensor was bad and they replaced it. They decided not to deulve further into the cause which is why I had to have it checked for a third time. The first time I brought the car in they gave me no choice but to fix it because either way they planned in billing me for a car that wasn't worth the repairs. They straight up lied to me and told me the car was worth saving and in the end I lost thousands of dollars because of me being naive and them being dishonest. If they will not meet my refund amount. I work in customer service and see over 100 customers on a given day and tell them of my horror story. I also might see legal council for unethical practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/03/05) */ The customer was always informed of the cost of the repairs throughout the repair process. nothing was done without his authorization. It is ultimately his decision whether the car is worth saving. I do not understand his dishonest claim. The car had way more than a sensor wrong with it, as I indicated before it had jumped time and would barely run and the engine was knocking. Those concerns were addressed and repaired

1/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company is offering services through MERSC at price less than what is being charged, bait and switch false advertising Company is offering services through MERSC at price less than what is being charged, bait and switch false advertising. Website lists tire rotation and oil change without stipulations for 5qts, disposal, tax, fees, etc found in their other advertising. http://www.mersc.org/discounts_view_db.php?c=14#auto www.honest-1.com ***** ***** Area Support Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX *******@earthlink.net Locations: ***************************************** **** ********* *** N ********* XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ************************************* *** ******* *** *** **** ***** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ******************************************** **** ****** *** S ******* ***** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ************************************* **** ******* *** ****** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ************************************** **** ******* *** S ************ ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ************************************** XXXXX ********** *** ** ******* ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ****************************************** **** ****** ** ** **** *********** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX *************************************** XXXX XXnd *** N *** ***** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ************************************* **** ********* Circle ****** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ****************************************** **** ******** **** N ***** ****** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Honest-1 Auto Care is the only full service eco-friendly automotive maintenance and repair franchise in the nation. Each of our stores is locally owned and operated. We utilize the most current diagnostic equipment and employ ASE Master Certified technicians trained to service all makes and models of foreign and domestic cars and light trucks at all of our facilities to ensure that every vehicle is repaired properly and in a timely manner. We are equipped to handle the most complex repairs and are always willing to help with the simplest of problems. Our customers' wants and needs have and always will be our top priority. MERSC Program 2014 �-�20% Off All Labor Services �-�$17.99 Synthetic Blend Oil Change and Tire Rotation �-�$19.00 Off of Full Synthetic or Diesel Oil Change �-�Free 21-point safety and maintenance inspection, fluid top off and tire pressure check with any service �-�Free shuttle service �-�3-year / 36,000 mile Warranty on Parts and Labor �-�Free roadside assistance for one year after each $25 purchase �-�100% Satisfaction Guarantee Please call to make an appointment and identify yourself as a MERSC member. In store, I have been charged around $30 after fees for this same service. I have brought the issue to their attention

Desired Settlement: I am seeking reimbursement for the surcharge for all oil changes above this price performed on my vehicles in 2014

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/08) */ I have called customer and left him a message that he was right that the verbiage in our MERSC program didn't say anything about hazardous waste charge or anything about about the up to 5 quarts disclaimer. I will refund his money or give him a certificate for a free oil change, whichever he prefers. I will be getting that verbiage corrected. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2015/01/27) */ This complaint was satisfactorily resolved with the business, who provided a refund for the requested amount as credit on a future service


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Honest-1 Auto Care #182
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart