BBB Accredited Business since

Honest-1 Auto Care #175

Phone: (651) 994-9000 525 Diffley Rd Ste 1050, Eagan, MN 55123 http://www.honest1eagan.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Honest-1® is committed to providing you with a wide range of high quality automotive services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honest-1 Auto Care #175 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honest-1 Auto Care #175 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honest-1 Auto Care #175
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2010 Business started: 02/24/2010 Business started locally: 02/24/2010 Business incorporated 02/24/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Matt Sedestrom, President Hunter Fennell, General Manager Patrick Hoover, Accountant
Contact Information
Principal: Matt Sedestrom, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Electric Equipment Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
We offer a 3 year/36,000 mile warranty on most of our service along with a 1 year roadside assistance program.
Service Area
Honest-1 Auto Care #175 provides their services in APPLE VALLEY, BURNSVILLE, CASTLE ROCK, DAKOTA, EAGAN, FARMINGTON, HAMPTON, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, LAKEVILLE, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, NEW TRIER, ROSEMOUNT, SAINT PAUL, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SUNFISH LAKE, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WEST SAINT PAUL & WEST ST PAUL, MN. Eagan, Rosemount, Inver Grove Heights
Alternate Business Names
Seed Incorporated
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Honest-1 Auto Care, this company offers light duty auto repair and diagnostics including tires and exhaust.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honest-1 Auto Care #175 has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 525 Diffley Rd Ste 1050

    Eagan, MN 55123 (651) 994-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 2013 I called received Advertising Company Honest-1 of $25.00 discount where was shown for service changing Semantic Oil 5W 30, included filter oil. I called to service and asking if this is going to be the true, if I will change oil and filter. The Honest-1 Company Service gives discount $25.00, but he answers yes this is true. And on December 17, 2013 I went to and maid service that change Semantic Oil. But they don't give me $25.00 how they promises told me by the phone. Plus they cheating customer and did not change Oil everything how supposed to be changing. I checked and I found the Oil wasn't change its black and dirty. Product_Or_Service: Oil and Filter Oil Order_Number: ********** Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund My wishes desired and my petition to asking BBB to punish that Honest-1 service. And I what to proclaimed this bad and Crime, Fraud Company. I am asking to BBB, please refund my money for bad service with fees. This my petition and my Desired. Thank you if you will do this and is you will help me. ****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ Guest did come in on Dec 17, 2013 and inquired about the discount stated above. Guest was told that in order to receive that discount they must purchase the multi punch discount card. Guest declined the purchase of the discount card and instead supplied a coupon for a $17.99 service which was applied to the invoice. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/04/29) */ Dear Better Business Bureau Mediation Coordinator Mr. **** ******. I am appreciation that you responded to my email and send to me Honest-1 response to BBB complaint help services. I am reading that responded Honest-1 Business answer and I would like to send to them this answer does not the true and incorrect information. Please first listen my conversation recording between me and my calling to the Honest-1 Agent. I didn't speak with them regarding $17.99 of that amount services. Second pleases, taking in your hands that Invoice Services and pay your attention for information of "Service Performed". Then please take piece page Advertise and looking under the amount of $17.99. There, can you see do not have any information regarding that: Lube, Filter & 21 Point Inspection. As well as please looking for charging Invoice and tell me. Where can you see that amount of $17.99 and please tell me if whatever who send to you that information this is a total lie. Because of that service of $17.99 never will be the amount of that amount, $30.80 + $10.96=$41.76. However, what they are trying to protect them crime as, from that 2 amount of $17.99 and $25.00 do not have any ascribed information about need changed only have that dirty oil. They must drain off hall thing oil until end and then must infuse brand new. But the oil do not supposed to be black, I send to you what kind oil I bought from Wal-Mart store and oil must to be pure and cleared not to be black. Mr. **** I do not know which you side supported. But I send to you all evidence: voice recording, pictures of all oils, invoice services, store porches of brand new oil and I send to you enough evidence. But what I see and I do not know Mr. **** how you think about me. I am not so stupid how you think and send to me that response not from Honest-1 service. You send to me from your self-responded instead them. Because the second page that you send was typing from you. The page must to be with name that who responded and with Symbol Company. Mr. **** If you help please show for me how much you help and you send them. You must send to me proof of real document with Company Symbol. And please send to me that responses document with who you contacted. And show to me name of this person and who is he or she them position. But the information what you send to me this is not real responding from Honest-1 Business. Mr. **** if you do not send to me proof real document when you send to them or they responded to you. I will send to Owner Honest-1 Business and will bring them Oil. I will send to Attorney General Office. Then I will send to up to the Highest Justice of Inter-American Commission on Human Rights that I have my individual bunch of cases. Thank you for understanding and help to me. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/30) */ Invoice # ***** Services rendered were Synthetic Blend 5w30 oil change with 21 point inspection, this vehicle does requires 6 qts of oil and a canister oil filter. The coupon states the oil change service includes up to 5 qts of oil and a spin on oil filter. This vehicle has more oil than the coupon covers and an internal oil filter which will add an additional $2.99 for the extra quart of oil and an additional $1.95 for the internal oil filter. This brings the total to $33.89 less the $10.96 coupon that was presented gives us a $22.93 subtotal, add $3.01 for shop supplies and $3.12 for hazardous waste disposal and the required sales tax of $1.74 brings us to a total of $30.80 which was explained prior to service and the guest did sign the work order authorizing the service to be done at the above mentioned price prior to any service being performed.

3/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not fully complete service, created additional problems that did not exist, and wanted to over charge by $1250 dollars I went to Honest-1 in Eagan on 02/24/2014 because my 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix Se engine (3.1 v6) was misfiring. I spoke to ****** ******* and he told me I needed to have a "Check Engine Light Diagnostics (drive-ability)" done. It cost $131.42 after taxes. I personally think that was over priced by $100 but I was not able to drive it, so I agreed to pay it. On 02/25/2014 ****** told me it cost $1500 to make the car drivable. He said codes P0300, P0301, (wires arching) and P0620 (alternator) went off. He also said the the technician*************** reported that the #1 fuel injector was defective, the spark plugs were worn out, the alternator was making noise, and the fuel pressure regulator was leaking raw fuel onto the intake manifold. In order to get the car running I would need to pay for the #1 fuel injector to get fixed, fuel pressure regulator fixed, spark plugs and wires replaced and the total would be $1500 dollars; $550 dollars for just the spark plugs and no wires. I decided instead to get the car towed to *********** auto repair in Bloomington, MN on 02/25/2014. After taking it there, getting the inspection and my car fixed (on 2/26/14) it only cost $250.59 + $100 tow + tax.(invoice #3571 total $399.70) *********** Technician ************ told me that all I needed was new spark plugs and wires. The fuel pressure regulator was fine, alternator was fine, #1 fuel injector was fine (after spark plugs and wires) and the only reason raw fuel would have leaked onto the intake manifold was if the Honest-1 technician accidentally leaked the fuel on it while checking alternator or fuel pressure regulator. Also, after taking the spark plugs and wires off Dan reported that there was no way anyone had recently removed any of the spark plugs and possibly wires too. So to sum up, I payed $131.42 for Honest-1 to plug in their computer, read some codes, and then try to get me to pay for things that did not need to be fixed. Later that day (02/26/14) I tried to call the General Manager ****** ******* and filed a complaint to my bank. (TCF bank, Request# *******) I called the General Manager a couple times and on 02/28/14 Mr. ******* answered. We talked for awhile about this issue and he told me he would get back to me in 2-3 business days, after he talked to the store manager. It is now 03/08/14 and he has not responded to me. I would like to add that I was also at Honest-1 Eagan on 02/07/14 to get the tensioner on my serpentine belt fixed. I payed $1200 because they found other problems and I needed new tires. I feel that they overcharged me by at least $200 dollars but I was at least satisfied with what they did.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Honest-1 in Eagan did not the provide adequate or correct service for what I paid for. The car was not properly checked and the quote was not only overpriced but false.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honest 1 installed 2 unnecessary solenoids for $900 and it turned out to be a relay. Honest 1 installed a transmission shift solenoid this Spring for $450 in my truck. The engine light came back on. They claimed the problem was with the PCM that another shop had installed. This Fall they installed another solenoid for $450 and the light came on. I had it taken to a dealer who determined there was no power from a relay ($163 cost). The problem was not the PCM or the solenoids that never had to be replaced. Honest 1 installed two unnecessary solenoids that cost me $900. They refused to refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $900 I paid Honest 1 for the two solenoid installations that were never required. The dealer was able to trouble shoot the problem easy enough by changing the solenoid relay with the horn relay. When the horn did not work they determined the problem was with the relay and not the solenoid or the PCM like Honest 1 had claimed. The relay job was only $163 vs $900 that Honest 1 charged me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/29) */ On 5-18-2013 guest did come into the shop for a check engine light, diagnostic procedure revealed he had a bad shift solenoid in his vehicle. Guest approved repair and left the same day with the truck. Guest came back on 10-9-2013 about a check engine light again. Per our 3 year/36,000 mile warranty we took the vehicle in and after verifying the guests concern of the check engine light being illuminated and the transmission shifting incorrectly, We verified the shift solenoid we installed in May was not defective. The diagnostic procedure revealed the solenoid was not getting power. Guest was advised to return to the shop who replaced the PCM since the PCM provides power to the solenoid, guest called the other shop and after that shop was unwilling to work with him on their repair, called us again requesting we replace the solenoid again because he was told by the other shop that is what it was. Guest was informed by our shop that installing another solenoid would not fix his problem and we advised against replacing the solenoid on his visit on 10-9-2013. Guest insisted we replace the solenoid anyway. We advised guest that if he wants us to replace the part even after we told him it wasn't his problem, when it did not fix the problem as we stated, he would be responsible for the payment for that repair since a good part can not be returned to a supplier as defective. Guest was aware of this when he approved the second repair of the solenoid. After installing the second solenoid and rechecking and finding no power to the solenoid guest was informed he would be responsible for the payment as he agreed prior to the repair. We advised guest against the installation of the second solenoid and only after guest insisted we replace it did we do so. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unfortunately, they are lying about what transpired. They did not verify that the solenoid was working properly. They never advised me against installing the second solenoid. The truck started out in 3rd gear (potentially ruining the transmission!) after they replaced the first solenoid. They insisted that the other mechanic install another PCM, claiming that was the problem. The other mechanic told me the same thing, if they replace the PCM and it was not the problem I would have to pay for the repair (about $600). I was in the middle of two mechanics. I was told that it was unlikey to be a problem with the PCM so when Miguel offered to replace the solenoid under warranty I accepted his offer (it was less than the PCM replacement). I never insisted that he do it! He did say that I would have to pay for the second solenoid if it wasn't defective (same as the other mechanic's offer). Honest 1 never repaired the problem after 2 solenoids and $900 in repairs! A third mechanic found that the problem was a defective relay (not the PCM like Honest 1 claimed!)after replacing the horn relay with the solenoid relay and having the horn not work. This trouble shooting solution took minutes instead of hours. The final cost of the relay replacement was $163. So the short story is; Honest 1 charged me $900 to replace the solenoid twice and they never repaired the problem. Who knows how much damage was done to the transmission because of their work? I am more than willing to pay for repairs to my vehicle when the repairs are actually made. I have spent a lot of money at Honest 1 repairing 3 vehicles. I do not think it is too much to ask for a business that claims to be Honest, to stand behind their repairs and admit when they make a mistake. It seems that customer service is not a high priority with this business. What happened to the good old days when the customer was always right and relationships meant more than the almighty dollar? Guess those days are long gone.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oil Change / Tire Rptate and Balance ended up costing $1200 Honest-1 is close to my house. A Connect Loyalty sales person came door to door to sell an oil change card this spring. This October 24th event was first time I used the card. I made the appointment for an oil change, tire rotation and balance. I dropped the car off on Wednesday night. The car is a 98 Pontiac Bonneville with high mileage, but it had been running great. The plan was to give the car to my daughter for use. She was driving it to Chicago. This confidence says how much I trusted the car. On Thursday at noon I received a call. Several light bulbs were out. I declined replacing them. And the radiator was low. They wanted to do a radiator pressure test to locate the leak. I agreed to pay the $40 for the diagnostic. At 2:50pm, I was called with the news that the leak was coming from the intake manifold and that the repair cost would be $1000. I told them not to do the repair. 6:30pm, when I paid for and picked up the car, the car would barely run. The check engine light was flashing. The car was missing. White smoke (water vapor) was billowing from the tail pipe. I returned to the shop. The mechanic that had worked on my car was gone. A different mechanic started and looked at the car for about 2 minutes. It was obvious the radiator pressure test or something else they did ruined my car. I asked nicely for them to fix the car and was told the price to repair was now, $1200 (up by $200 from the earlier quote.) I told them, that I wouldn't pay them $1200 and that I wanted my car returned to the same running condition. I also asked for my money back for the work that they did. I was told the manager was out of the office for two days. I had planned to swap the Bonneville for another car to have them work on that one too. I decided to not allow them to touch my other car.

Desired Settlement: 1) Return my car to working order - no missing or smoke. 2) Replace the engine oil as it is contaminated with antifreeze. 3) Refund the cost of the loyalty card ($80) as I will not be using it again. The first rule of any repair is to do no further damage. On an old car like this, they should have been properly careful with the pressure test to prevent damage to the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Mr. ***** came in for an oil change on 10-24-2013 for an oil change and tire rotation, during our courtesy preventative maintenance inspection among other things, we found his cooling system almost empty and recommended a cooling system pressure test to pinpoint the source of the coolant leak. Mr ***** agreed to the pressure test and after test was done we informed Mr ***** that his intake is leaking coolant internally and causing the coolant level to go very low. Mr *****'s vehicle has 279,211 miles and has apparently been leaking coolant for quite a long time as the radiator was almost empty, we advised him of the repair and he declined. The cooling system pressure test was performed to the 16 psi specification set by General Motors. Nothing that was done on 10-24-2013 by our certified technician caused what Mr. ***** is describing, we simply found his leak and presented him the repair option which he declined. The card Mr. ***** purchased was from an independent company and he can contact that company to inquire about a refund for the purchase price. At Honest 1 Auto Care we are committed to customer satisfaction, in this instance we do not agree that we were negligent in the diagnostic procedure performed on Mr *****'s vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/11/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company, Honest-1 Auto Care, doesn't understand that they failed in several major aspects of customer service. 1) They didn't explain that the diagnostic might harm my vehicle. 2) When they called after running the diagnostic, they didn't explain that the diagnostic had made my vehicle undriveable. 3) When I picked up the vehicle, they charged me for repairs and expected me to drive away in a vehicle with a missing engine and billowing white smoke coming from the exhaust. 4) They failed to inform me of the damage the diagnostic had caused to a fully functioning automobile. I had been confident enough in the vehicle to allow my daughter to drive it to Chicago. That was the reason for the oil change. I am firmly convinced that Honest-1 purposely ran the diagnostic to the point that I would be forced into an otherwise unnecessary repair to an otherwise running vehicle. I ask that Honest-1 Auto Care repair my vehicle at no charge. I have looked up the cost of the upper intake manifold. It is $129 at the local auto parts store. I can't believe they want to charge $1200 for the parts and labor, when they are responsible for wrecking my running car. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/15) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Honest-1 Auto Care #175
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart