This business is not BBB accredited.

Honest-1 Auto Care #161

Phone: (651) 482-0035 3114 Lexington Ave N STE A, Roseville, MN 55113

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers auto repair and service

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Honest-1 Auto Care #161 include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honest-1 Auto Care #161
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2013 Business started: 11/01/2007 Business started locally: 11/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Peter Lee, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Peter Lee, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Diagnostic Service

Alternate Business Names
H1 MN, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations


    3114 Lexington Ave N STE A

    Roseville, MN 55113 (651) 482-0035


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally brought my 2002 Mercury Grand Marquis to Honest 1 in Roseville for a 4 wheel alignment after I replaced the inner and outer tie rods and adjusting sleeve on the drivers side. I hold an associate's degree in auto repair and have wrenched on vehicles for years, including 3 years now as an aftermarket electronics installer, so so typically perform any repairs myself that I am capable of. I understand that this is not popular with repair shops, but I still am willing to pay for services I am unable to perform and I made it known that I had done the repair myself prior to service. Prior to me replacing the tie rods, the steering wheel was centered normally. After my repair, it was offset about 15 degrees counter clockwise while driving straight. I anticipated toe misalignment, and this is the reason I brought the car to Honest 1. I paid approximately $100.00 plus tax for the service. When I received a call informing me the car was done, I was told the wheel could not be centered and the tech believed it was due to a broken steering gear. I questioned this, considering this vehicle uses a recirculating ball and worm gear steering setup, and it would be highly unlikely a gear tooth chipped off. Nevertheless i picked it up and test drove it. I found the offset of the wheel to be unacceptable, so I called and asked for a second look at the alignment. After the car had been in the bay for a while, the manager, Billy ******* came out and very assertively told me the wheel could not be straightened because of "play in the pitman arm". I questioned him, and explained that the wheel had previously been straight and nothing else changed, but he seemed agitated at my questioning and told me "This is why we don't like customers using their own parts". He also told me he couldn't speak for the previous condition since the shop didn't perform the tie rod repair. I completely understand this point, as I chose to do the work myself. However, I am beginning to question the technique used to straighten the wheel. I asked if I would be refunded should I take the car elsewhere and have the wheel straightened, as long as I provided a written work order stating the findings. I was met with more agitation and told that a second opinion could "say anything they want, we can't be refunding just because they said something ". I gave up on the issue and drove the car for several weeks with the crooked wheel. I began to hear a loud clunking noise from the front suspension, and went under the car to inspect it. Turns out the noise was bad tie rod end links, but I noticed that the tech at Honest 1 had failed to properly tighten down the clamps on the tie rod adjusting sleeve, and it was loose to where I could easily spin it with my hand. Knowing that the alignment was probably off due to this, I called and explained to Billy ******* that the clamps had not been tightened and that I wanted the alignment checked. He did not acknowledge at all the mistake made by the shop. I'm not sure that he understood that this could have been a dangerous mistake! What if I were not a DIY mechanic and had never checked? When I brought the vehicle in for the 3rd time now, first I was told by Jeff that the alignment rack was down and they would need to take my car to a different location to perform the alignment. Then, I saw them pull it into their bay, and 10 minutes later Jeff walked me in back to point some things out. He told me thay the condition of the steering components were so bad that they could not even attempt an alignment (even though its only been a few weeks since they first did it???). He specifically pointed out the passenger side inner tie rod, idler arm and sway bar bushings as problem areas. Sounds like they didn't want to deal with me. I accepted this and took the car. I called days later and asked Billly ******* if he would honor the warranty on the alignment if I were to replace faulty components myself. He responded by stating there was a 6 month warranty on the alignment. I proceeded to replace the inner and outer passenger side tie rods and adjusting sleeve, upper and lower ball joints on both sides, pitman arm, idler arm, both sway bar end links and sway bar bushings. This makes pretty much the entire steering linkage brand new. The alignment was way off after these repairs and I towed the vehicle in for the warranty work. As expected, it took a while, about 3 hours. I have absolutely no complaints about how long it took and was appreciative at this point that the work was being done under warranty. I asked Billy ******* if the wheel could now be straightened and was told he wasn't sure yet, that the wheel was straightened after the angles were set. I saw the tech walk into the lobby area and hand the keys to Billy and tell him it was done. I didn't ask any questions as I was thankful and confident that after all this the wheel would be straight. The tech never mentioned whether it was or not, and Billy never asked him. Well, NOPE. The wheel was still way off center. After getting home U felt the need to check whether the tie rod clamps were tightened so I crawled under the car. Guess what? BOTH SIDES WERE LOOSE! I understand that it takes a bit of muscle to tighten these particular bolts down, but isn't it the shops responsibility to check before returning the vehicle to the customer? Do you realize that not tightening these down means the toe angle will be compromised? Do you realize that this is extremely dangerous and your putting my life in danger? It would be great to hear your excuse for this lack of competence. Is it too much to ask that when I pay for a service, I dont have to crawl under my car and complete the job myself? This is pathetic. Also, there's absolutely no reason the wheel can't be straightened, whether you believe me or not the wheel was dead center prior to all this mess so it's obviously a simple toe issue. In school, we were taught to set the wheel center, then lock it in place using a steering wheel holding mechanism, then set the toe angle to match the orientation of the wheel. Is the shop doing this properly? I am extremely frustrated with the poor quality service I have received and lack of a real explanation as to why the wheel can't be straightened. I understand that I never paid for a diagnosis on the steering wheel issue but why has the story changed from "play in the steering gear " to "play in the Pitman arm" to " bad tie rod and idler arm" and now no explanation at all even after replacing all those parts. Lack of competence. I am requesting a full refund of the price paid for a 4 wheel alignment so that I can take my money to a shop with qualified techs that know how to properly do an alignment and actually remember to tightened down critical steering parts.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the price I paid for a 4 wheel alignment.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,


**** **** originally brought his 2002 Mercury Grand Marquis in to our shop at **** ********* *** ** Roseville, MN 55113 on 08/10/2016.  We informed **** that we could not get the steering wheel straight due to a possible steering gear or drag link failure though **** had us adjust the alignment to factory specifications.  The customer took the vehicle.

On 08/17/2016 **** **** returned with the vehicle and we attempted to straighten the steering wheel out, with the original parts we had recommended he replace, at no charge to the customer.  We still could not get the steering wheel 100% straight due to either the steering gear or the drag link having looseness.  The customer said he was going to replace the parts we recommended and return to have the alignment set once again.  The customer took the vehicle.

On 09/26/2016 **** **** returned with vehicle after replacing the parts we had recommended from the previous two visits.  We set the alignment a 3rd time with no charge to the customer.  Normally replacing parts would void the warranty though we readjusted the alignment again at no charge to the customer as a customer service gesture.  The vehicle seemed to track well and the steering wheel was straight on our test drive.  The customer took the vehicle.

On 10/07/2016 we received notice from the BBB that **** **** was disputing the charge for the alignment we performed 3 times on his vehicle.  In our professional opinion we performed all services we were asked to perform and to the best of our abilities.



Matt *********

Store Manager

Honest-1 Roseville


Business Response: We stand by our original response.  If the customer is not happy with the repair, we are happy to provide refund to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

A full refund is what I am seeking, so if Honest-1 is offering this, I am satisfied. 

5/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: station mis diagnosed problem. Almost cost me $2800 This writer's Subaru Forester overheated while driving. Car towed to Honest 1. Writer was told engine gaskets were leaking and would need to be replaced. Estimated service cost over $2,800.00. Writer called own mechanic and had car towed to own mechanic. Car was diagnosed with faulty water pump. Water pump replaced and vehicle is running fine. Station is either inept mechanically or very Dishonest

Desired Settlement: I want the station to return the $40.00 I paid for diagnosis. And also leave a trail as to the integrity of this service station.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/15) */ Ms. ******* is correct. We did misdiagnosis her vehicle. I have no issue with refunding her diagnostic fee Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/03/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car's check engine light illuminated, they diagnosed it & replaced a sensor. After that the light was still on & my car wouldn't go past 40 mph. On Saturday 6/20/2015 I took my vehicle to Honest-1 due to my check engine light illuminating. They ran a diagnostic test, and concluded that the fuel pressure sensor needed replacing, I agreed to have that replaced. After the work was completed and I had paid the $343.40, Ryan gave me the keys and claimed that the car was "good to go", and that the check engine light was no longer illuminating. After leaving I noticed the check engine light was still illuminated, and my vehicle would not speed past 40 mph. I left with my vehicle in worse condition than I had came with. I went back to the shop informing them that nothing had been fixed, they advised me to leave the vehicle overnight, and that they will solve the issue by Monday 6/22/2015. On Monday they contacted me and saying the problem was actually not the sensor but that the vehicle needed a new fuel filter and pump which would add to $754.72 on top of the $343.40 I had already paid. I was surprised that they were not able to correctly diagnose this issue with the car in the first place, and also returned the car in worse condition than before, claiming that the problem was fixed. I've never encountered such dishonest service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $343.40 I paid that did nothing to improve the condition of my car in any way, but rather put it in worse condition. The sensor did not need to be replaced, and did not get rid of the illuminating check engine light. After the service that was done my vehicle was not running the way it was before I had come to honest-1.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/09) */ Mr. ***** brought his 2005 Audi Quattro 2.0L to Honest1 Roseville on 6-20-2015. He stated that he had a CEL dash warning light on and he had already had his vehicle at another shop to diagnosed for fuel pressure regulator. We pulled engine code 12555, indicates "Low pressure regulation" outside specification. Not Plausible signal, intermittent, losing signal to low fuel pressure sensor. We replaced fuel pressure sensor after receiving customers authorization, Completed repairs & took on test drive after completion with no further issue. Customer picked-up vehicle and left but returned the same day when CEL light came back on and vehicle we into "limp mode". That causes vehicle to shut down. We replaced Fuel filter @ N/C then drove vehicle with no change, pull rear seat to do further diag (3 hours @ N/C) & found the fuel pump had been previously worked on & was bent-up then back into place, RTV had been installed to cover cut lines, the quick disconnect for fuel lines were damaged. & the fuel pump electrical connector was damaged.Tested fuel pressure which tested @ 4-4.5 bar Specification is 6.0 bar. We recommended replacing fuel pump @ that time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I understand the position of the mechanic, the fact of the matter is that I, as a customer, came in with a diagnostic light "on", and despite attempts to remedy the issue, not only did I leave with said light still "on", not only did I pay for said service, but the vehicle was not even in operable condition. It was only after 1 mile of driving that I immediately returned to demonstrate that the vehicle was in worse condition than when I first arrived. The service I wanted to receive was not performed, and any business with integrity will recognize this simple truth, despite any disagreement. I kindly ask to be refunded. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I understand the position of the mechanic, the fact of the matter is that I, as a customer, came in with a diagnostic light "on", and despite attempts to remedy the issue, not only did I leave with said light still "on", not only did I pay for said service, but the vehicle was not even in operable condition. It was only after 1 mile of driving that I immediately returned to demonstrate that the vehicle was in worse condition than when I first arrived. The service I wanted to receive was not performed, and any business with integrity will recognize this simple truth, despite any disagreement. I kindly ask to be refunded.

7/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged for the tire rotation with a "Free Tire Rotation" oil change coupon I had my oil change done on May 21, 2015 with store's "Oil Change with FREE Tire Rotation" coupon. I was charged total of $46.59 (Invoice# XXXXXXXXXX), which was more than what I expected (it usually costs me $20 something). I was asked "Is this included discount?"before I signed the receipt. The answer from the shop staff was positive. After I got home from the shop,I felt the charge sounded not right IF the rotation is FREE. So I looked at the invoice again. This time, I noticed that, on the very top of the invoice, a sub charge of $19.99 for the Tire Rotation was listed! Therefore, I believe that I was charged for the tire rotation with this "FREE Rotation" oil change coupon. And a refund of $19.99 + applicable tax should be reimbursed to me. I tried to raise this issue on 5/27/2015 by using a service review email, which was sent from the shop after my oil change service. But the submission of the feedback from this survey email was never working!! Therefore, I decide to use the BBB platform for this issues.

Desired Settlement: Refund overcharged $19.99 + applicable tax.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2015/07/28) */ The business has contacted me directly and resolved this issue by refunding the overcharged tire rotation cost. Thanks.

11/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Honest-1 Auto Care #161
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)