BBB Accredited Business since

Herb's Servicenter, Inc.

Phone: (763) 473-1525 Fax: (763) 473-7546 17435 County Road 6, Plymouth, MN 55447

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


complete import, domestic, and light truck service and repair.      touch free car wash.    towing and starting.    shell gas and diesel    

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Herb's Servicenter, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Herb's Servicenter, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1933 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1933
Type of Entity


Business Management
David Johnson, President
Contact Information
Principal: David Johnson, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Car Wash & Polish Towing - Automotive Service Stations - Gasoline & Oil Tire Dealers

Products & Services

Herb's Servicenter, Inc. sells the following brand(s): shell oil goodyear

Herb's Servicenter, Inc. offers the following product(s): gas diesel tires batteries

Method(s) of Payment
cash and credit card
Alternate Business Names
Herb's Service Center
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Herb's ServiCenter Inc., this company offers cars, trucks and light truck & R.V. service and repair, towing services, car wash, and gas and diesel fuel.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 17435 County Road 6

    Plymouth, MN 55447 (763) 473-1525


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Herb's Service Center damaged two of my front tire studs without my consent while performing service. Shop is refusing to take responsibility. On Monday, September 28, 2015, I setup an appointment and took in my Nissan Altima for oil change and break inspection at Herb's Service Center on Highway 101N and County Road 6 in Plymouth. After waiting for about 30 minutes(5:00pm) to the end of the services on my car, a fellow came out only identified as Rich (manager) to informed me of services needed to be performed on my as a result of the inspection done. In addition to what I needed to have fix on my car was to replace two wheel studs the mechanic broke/damage on the front tire drive side while try to get to the brakes to carry on the inspection. The studs had been fasten and safe to drive on all the time. I asked the mechanic and Rich why I wasn't I informed of these two stud before the action of damaging them occurred. The mechanic got angry and started using all the insulted words the F***, S*** and A** on me in the presence of the Rich and cashier (an African American lady). I informed Rich of his mechanic remarks and all Rich said was because he is mad. I told the shop that replacing those studs shouldn't be my responsibility because I should have been informed that these studs are hard to come out and the only way was to damage them. With my consent to have them damage or broken becomes my responsibility to replace. Given the time 5:00pm I would have prefer those studs staying on for a later date because my car was drivable prior to them damaging the studs. The shop render my car unsafe to drive. Rich also informed me that even if they decided to replace them, it was impossible to deliver part round 5pm or later. Tires are one of the first safety devices on a car. So the shop should have known the what-if before damaging the studs without my consent. I feel the shop wasn't professional in the discharged of her responsibilities. I should have been informed of the liability with replacing the studs and the safety risk associated before breaking or damaging the studs. The next day, September 29, 2015 around 8:45am a fellow who identified himself as Erik (General Manager) called me. I quote "Is this ******? I said yes. He said I am calling because I read the notes from last night and wanted to tell you that we are not responsible for those studs". This statement without getting my side of the story was premeditated. I appealed to him more than five times to also listen to my side of the story. He agreed finally. After my explanation, he said "we are not responsibility and don't call this d*** phone again. He dropped the phone. I missed half day of work to take my car to tire plus for the repair and it cost me $69.09. This should me Herb's Service Center responsibility.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $69.09

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/12) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original document is available using the online complaint system). Dear ****, First of all, let me say we all are very sorry how this incident came down. It never should have gone as far as it did. Mr. ******* brought his 2006 Nissan with 236,229 miles in for an oil change and a free brake inspection. To perform a complete brake inspection the wheels must be removed from the car. The wheels are fastened to the car by bolts (called studs for wheels) and nuts. The nuts are threaded onto the stud and tightened. Once the nuts are on the studs, there is no way anyone can see the threads on the nuts or studs. Mr. *******'s wheel nuts may have been installed incorrectly before we got the car, worn out after numerous off and on time or rusted on. Whatever the case, it was the latent problem that we got into by no fault of ours. The only thing we did was to remove the nuts, and the threads were already destroyed. It is a physical impossibility to harm thread by removing nuts. The thread can only be harmed by installing the nuts incorrectly, seized by rust, or worn out as stated previously. There is absolutely nothing we or anybody could have done differently to prevent this issue. We were honest and straight forward with Mr. ******* but his demands to replace the studs and nuts at no charge were unrealistic. At some point Mr. ******* made some derogatory and accusing remarks to the technician, and the technician regrettably made some remarks that he shouldn't have expressed. We deeply regret and apologize for that type of conversation. It should not have happened. Hopefully this information will help Mr. ******* better understand the situation. If after reviewing the information Mr. ******* still believes he should not accept the responsibility, he should fax us a copy of the repairs and after review, I will probably reimburse up to one half of his cost for the 2 studs and nuts. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel the shop should be responsible 100% for the repair. The last shop that service my tire was Tires Plus. Tires Plus is willing to verify that my wheel studs and nuts were placed on correctly. Mr. **** like his manager Erik weren't told what actually took place at the shop. All shops I have gone to in the past, when there is a problem and a part can't be removed, it is the professional responsibility of the shop to inform the customer of the situation before taking an action. This gives the customer a heads up of the liability to expect. In this shop, Rich and Erik argued that it is a normal practice for the shop to pass the liability to the customer. Tires Plus has always service my car and they will tell me of any issue before an action is taken. Because of the negligent on the part of the shop, I had to work half day the following day and could not pick up my son. The shop decided to render my car unsafe to drive at the last hour. I had no option but to borrow money to have the repair done. I made no derogatory statement in that shop. All I asked Rich was why I wasn't informed of the situation before an action was taken. The technician came with insults and I waited patiently until he was finished with his insults. Rich justification was because I asked and the technician got mad. I made all effort to make management understand but Rich, Erik and the technician have been very unprofessional and disrespectful to me as a customer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/10/21) */ Per a phone call from the company, they have requested a copy of the receipt for the cost before refunding. Once a copy of the receipt is received a refund will be provided. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/11/06) */

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was contacted for a tow. The original state of the vehicle was fixable. Damage assessed by the tow driver made it impossible to fix. On Friday December 27, 2013, the left front ball joint stub broke on our 1996 Chrysler Town & Country. We called AAA Roadside Assistance for a tow and they sent Herbs Servicenter. Once the driver, *****, had arrived we greeted him and he said nothing to us and was irritated. He looked at the vehicle and said he had to go back to get a flatbed truck to be able to remove it. When ***** returned with the new truck he said to us, "I can't guarantee that it won't get more f***ed up than it already is." Then he began to try to hook up the vehicle from the front to get it onto the flatbed. Our coworker had asked ***** if he had a jack to lift up the front end to try to get it onto the truck without causing damage and *****'s response was, "I don't do that." So he proceeded to hook up the front end to the truck and then began to try to pull the vehicle onto the truck while the vehicle was in park. Our coworker had to yell for ***** to stop several times to prevent him from trying to pull the can forward in park after hearing a snap and the lift front tire was being spun around about to snap. When ***** stopped, our coworker suggested pulling the vehicle onto the tow truck from the back. Once the vehicle was hooked up from the back, our coworker had to kick the tires and tried to get them straight before ***** was trying to pull it onto the flatbed to prevent him from just pulling it on and ripping the tires off. The entire time that ***** was with us, he had a very negative and irritated attitude. We were also questionable of his abilities of his job after attempting to pull the vehicle in park and for having our coworker coaching him how to do his job without ripping our vehicle apart. When ***** met us at the drop off location for the vehicle (our apartment complex), he smelt something that had leaked off of our vehicle and had said that something from the steering column had leaked onto the flatbed. He had to put the vehicle into the parking lot sideways and said he was going to try to put the van down as easy as he could. He was having difficulty getting it off of the flat bed and told us he had to do it "army style" to get it off. The front end slid into the snow and he had to lift the flat bed all the way up to slide the vehicle off. Before he left, he took a look at our AAA membership card and had us sign some paperwork, but never gave us a copy of anything. The original condition of the Town & Country was that the left front ball joint stub was broken. The damage that was done to the vehicle during the tow was: the left front CV shaft was pulled out of the transmission and the inner joint was pulled apart with the boot being torn. The transmission fluid was drained because of this. The left tie-rod was bent because the tire was pushed back into the wheel well. The stabilizer bar end link joint boots were also freshly cracked. That night we called Herbs Servicenter to talk to a manager about our dissatisfaction with the attitude that ***** had and for the damages assessed from the tow. I spoke with ****, a night manager. I expressed my concerns for their customer service skills of their driver and wanted to know what was going to be done with the damages that he had caused during the tow. **** was very passive and dismissive of all of my concerns and only took my name and number to have ****, the general manager, call me on Monday December 30, 2013. On Monday December 30, 2013 our apartment building issued us a ticket to have the vehicle removed from the parking lot or they would remove it at our expense. After finding out all that was wrong with the van, we could not afford to get all of the repairs done. This was originally a fixable situation until the tow company showed up and the driver had a bad attitude and did not seem to know or care about what he was doing. The tow company has done nothing to resolve this issue. We are a family with two small children and one on the way and now we are out a working vehicle.

Desired Settlement: This was originally a fixable situation until the tow company showed up and the driver had a bad attitude and did not seem to know or care about what he was doing. The tow company has done nothing to resolve this issue. We are a family with two small children and one on the way and now we are out a working vehicle and have had to miss work because of this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/22) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original version is available using the online complaint system). In response to your letter from the ******'s towing issue, we want to first express how bad we feel with their unfortunate experience with Herb's Servicenter. From the description given me, it appears the lower ball joint broke and that caused the wheel assembly to drop down. In addition to towing, we do repair vehicles and it has been our experience that when ball joints come apart the wheel assembly will generally buckle under and/or backwards to cause further damage to the suspension and steering mechanism and the majority of the time it pulls the CV shaft out. I believe this is what happened to the vehicle. Our driver "*****" did in fact have to return to the station and swap the conventional tow truck for the flatbed truck because it would make for a safer tow given the left front wheel situation. To lift the vehicle with the conventional wheel lift truck could possibly cause further damage. ***** did decide to reposition the flatbed to pull the vehicle onto the bed from the back of the vehicle. As per the driver's directions, we then towed it to their designated spot at the apartment building. The driver of the vehicle, I believe is "****", was aware that there could be further unavoidable damage done to the car while loading onto the flatbed. **** admitted to AAA in a phone interview also that "the whole mounting system caved in". **** also stated to AAA that "he did not have time for it and probably will end up getting rid of the vehicle because he needed to get it out of his apartment complex lot so he does not want to do anything further regarding the damage but just letting us know he was not happy with the driver". **** also stated to ***** that he was planning to get rid of the vehicle come spring and will have to get rid of it now. **** said he did not expect it to last the winter. We certainly do apologize if *****'s behavior was not as it should have been and I talked to him regarding that concern. Again I apologize for the unfortunate incident but I believe the damage was already done when we got there and consequently we have no responsibility for the damage done to the vehicle.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Herb's Servicenter, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)