BBB Accredited Business since

Fred's Minn Wholesale Tires Wheels Auto Repair, Inc.

Phone: (651) 426-4518 3955 Highway 61 N, White Bear Lake, MN 55110 http://www.mnwholesaletireandwheel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fred's Minn Wholesale Tires Wheels Auto Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Fred's Minn Wholesale Tires Wheels Auto Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fred's Minn Wholesale Tires Wheels Auto Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2009 Business started: 09/19/2008 Business started locally: 09/19/2008 Business incorporated 09/19/2008 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Fred Macalus Jr., Owner Gordon Pinotti, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Fred Macalus Jr., Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Repair Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Wheels Auto Alarms & Security Systems Tire Dealers Auto Diagnostic Service

Service Area
Fred's Minn Wholesale Tires Wheels Auto Repair, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, COLLEGEVILLE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VESELI, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WADENA, WASECA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WOODBURY, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Fred's Minn Wholesale Tires Wheels & Auto Repair, this company offers sales, service and installation of tires, wheels, and other automotive equipment. Also a full service auto repair shop, specializing in foreign & domestic vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 3955 Highway 61 N

    White Bear Lake, MN 55110 (651) 426-4518

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had them take one wheel off and put a new one on, two weeks later it broke off while driving causing damage to the wheel,braking system,and the body. 8/1 had freds tire take one wheel off my vehicle and put a new one on cost me $10. 8/15 wheel broke off of the vehicle causing much damage. 8/17 brought the vehicle back to freds hopeing they would make good on the work they had done. they told me they would take a look at it and get back to me asap. two weeks later 8/25 they contacted me ant told me someone had probably tried to steal my wheel and that's why it broke then they said they would fix the damage at a discounted rate. I told them to fix it. 9/2 I didn't here from them for over another week so I stopped in to see what had been done and found my vehicle in the back of the lot with two other flat tires, nothing had been done. when I asked they hurried to get it in. called later to tell me it would cost $450 to fix the damage they had caused. this company has had many excuses to why they wont take responsibility for this incident. seems clear to me that if they put a wheel on and two weeks later it flys off that they are responsible for this incident. they have tried to tell me that this wheel came loose but it did not all the lug nuts were found at the scene, and I had aired and checked this wheel just that morning.

Desired Settlement: since freds tire has no interest in fixing my vehicle I would like them to refund the $450 I paid to have the damage to the mechanical parts fixed. I would also like them to pay for they damage done to the body of the vehicle

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/15) */ when the vehicle was dropped off I told we would take a look at it and call him and somehow we got the wrong phone number I explained that to him and apologized when he came back in to check on it as we explained to Mr.******** we are not sure why the wheel feel off we said it may be foul play and I offered to repair it at a discounted rate to try to help him out and make a bad situation a little better we did look at the vehicle one lug stud was a little bent but the other five were good the lower ball joint got scraped up and we recommended replacement when I talked to mr. ******** I said we recommend the lower ball joint and new stud just in case they got weakened he explained that he thought there may be a brake problem so I had the mechanic look into that and he called Mr.******** and explained that the rotor had a little hash not to bad and Mr. ******** said the would like to do it the right way and replace pads and rotors on both sides of the front of the vehicle as for the wheel the customer stated that he did not feel the wheel loosened up and on our invoice it does say to recheck lug nuts after 50 miles we didn't feel it was improperly installed the lugs are not stripped or cross threaded and the studs did not brake all lugs were found by each other and went right back on the vehicle to hold the spare on

7/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brake service and electrical issues not resolved have been to the shop almost five times now, issue still not resolved. Went to Fred jrs minnesota wholesale for fixing the brakes and electrical issues (left, right and hazard indicator) not working. Brake service initial estimate was provided by ***** for 185$ with all the parts being bought by me. Went for service, brake was put in and indicated that the indicator witch needs to be replaced and charged 228.54. The breaks started squealing noise and rubbing agains the tires the same day,called them and since they were closing went on the corresponding Monday and then after and last time I went for the fifth time to check on my brakes and indicators not working still, before going in spoke with fred jr and was informed that they will do whatever its possible to fix and was charged 61.93 again. I still have squealing noise and brakes rubbing against and indicators not working, provided Fred jr a month to get back to me and still have not heard back, requested for a refund on atleast the diagnostics on the indicator which was wrong. this is totally unprofessional, need a refund on the service not provided, I am taking it to Honda today to get everything fixed. From an estimate of 185$ it has gone to 290.47, atleast they should refund the charges for the indicator diagnostics which was never done.

Desired Settlement: Went to Fred jrs minnesota wholesale for fixing the brakes and electrical issues (left, right and hazard indicator) not working. Brake service initial estimate was provided by ***** for 185$ with all the parts being bought by me. Went for service, brake was put in and indicated that the indicator witch needs to be replaced and charged 228.54. The breaks started squealing noise and rubbing agains the tires the same day,called them and since they were closing went on the corresponding Monday and then after and last time I went for the fifth time to check on my brakes and indicators not working still, before going in spoke with fred jr and was informed that they will do whatever its possible to fix and was charged 61.93 again. I still have squealing noise and brakes rubbing against and indicators not working, provided Fred jr a month to get back to me and still have not heard back, requested for a refund on atleast the diagnostics on the indicator which was wrong. this is totally unprofessional, need a refund on the service not provided, I am taking it to Honda today to get everything fixed. From an estimate of 185$ it has gone to 290.47, atleast they should refund the charges for the indicator diagnostics which was never done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/24) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (full version is available using the online complaint system). On 10-12-2013 customer came into my shop to have the brakes checked-electrical checked and a oil-filter-lube done... We found that the vehicle needed brake pads, rotors, calipers. We gave him a price he declined to buy the parts from us. He leaves and comes back 2-3 hrs later with some of the parts that the car needs, he has calipers and pads only. No rotors. so as you can see on INV# *****, we installed his parts (calipers-pads only, no rotors). Then on 01-11-2014, 3 months and 4,890 miles later, he brings in his own (parts) rotors to be installed INV#***** So now if there's a squeaking problem they are his parts, I can not warranty his parts he has to go back to where he bought them. On the electrical check: we found that its poss. the multi function switch he again declined buying the switch on the 1st time appt. INV#*****. Oil-filter-lube done at a coupon price which was free. Also he received a 30.00 discount on INV# *****, 10-12-2013. Please let me know, I believe he has nothing coming back to him, plus his numbers do not match my invoices. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The parts were installed by them, there are no issues on the parts these are platinum pads, further their diagnostics were wrong on the switch there was no issues with the switch and it has been confirmed by Honda dealer when I got it serviced a week back. When I checked how the diagnostic was performed,they mentioned it was done by looking at it. Further the oil change was bought separately three oil changes I can send proof of it. Need a refund for a job done worst. Charges are as below, I can send a screen shot, if you could let me know how to attach it. 10/12/2013 FREDS MINN WHOLESALE WHITE BEAR LA MN $273.54 01/11/2014 FREDS MINN WHOLESALE WHITE BEAR LA MN $61.93 Total charge 335.47 I can scan and send the credit card charge. I am taking it to Honda next week for service based on there diagnostics I will update further but this guys are not even honest, initial quote was for $181 atlast ended up paying 335.47 Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/04/24) */ ***per a phone call from the company, they stated that the customer can expect to see a check to him shortly in the amount of $47.25 to satisfy the complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The parts were installed by them, there are no issues on the parts these are platinum pads, further their diagnostics were wrong on the switch there was no issues with the switch and it has been confirmed by Honda dealer when I got it serviced a week back. When I checked how the diagnostic was performed,they mentioned it was done by looking at it. Further the oil change was bought separately three oil changes I can send proof of it. Need a refund for a job done worst. Charges are as below, I can send a screen shot, if you could let me know how to attach it. 10/12/2013 FREDS MINN WHOLESALE WHITE BEAR LA MN $273.54 01/11/2014 FREDS MINN WHOLESALE WHITE BEAR LA MN $61.93 Total charge 335.47 I can scan and send the credit card charge. I am taking it to Honda next week for service based on there diagnostics I will update further but this guys are not even honest, initial quote was for $181 atlast ended up paying 335.47 Consumer Response /* (3000, 26, 2014/05/21) */ I have not received the check till yesterday, I was waiting to check. But this is way beyond that, they are not ready to fix the squealing brakes and I have been living with that for months, got my indicators fixed by Honda for $170 or so, I don't have the money to get my brakes done totally again for another 800$ and I am hoping BBB will help me with this mental torture of spending so much amount and time and have not got the issue fixed still. What is the amount they have sent the check for and will it help me to fix the brakes or are they refunding the amount for there misdiagnosis ? Consumer Response /* (3000, 29, 2014/06/02) */ I have not received the check till yesterday, I was waiting to check. But this is way beyond that, they are not ready to fix the squealing brakes and I have been living with that for months, got my indicators fixed by Honda for $170 or so, I don't have the money to get my brakes done totally again for another 800$ and I am hoping BBB will help me with this mental torture of spending so much amount and time and have not got the issue fixed still. What is the amount they have sent the check for and will it help me to fix the brakes or are they refunding the amount for there misdiagnosis ? Consumer Response /* (4200, 33, 2014/06/30) */ I came to BBB trusting I will get some justice on this case of run arounds, mental torture amount of time and money spent on getting my brakes issue fixed with Fred JR and I still trust I would get a resolution on this, till date I have not received any thing from Fred jr and as usual no response from them, with high hopes to get a resolution on this i am updating the case again.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fred's Minn Wholesale Tires Wheels Auto Repair, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)