BBB Accredited Business since

Autopia Bloomington

Phone: (952) 888-8885 Fax: (952) 888-0663 9480 Lyndale Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55420 http://www.autopiabloomington.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Complete Auto Testing, Maintenance and repair
Autopia provides state-of-the-art car and truck care with a level of personal service that is hard to find in today's busy world.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Autopia Bloomington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Autopia Bloomington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Autopia Bloomington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 2004 Business started: 06/01/2002 Business started locally: 06/01/2002 Business incorporated 06/01/2002 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Hertsgaard, President
Contact Information
Principal: John Hertsgaard, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, Autopia is a full service auto shop.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 9480 Lyndale Ave S

    Bloomington, MN 55420 (952) 888-8885

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reimbursement issues and will not be returning to Autopia. We had to bring our car back after the radiator was repaired because another shop found a hole. This shop spent quite a bit of time trying to diagnose the issue. Autopia would not reimburse for the full amount of the repairs because we didn't bring the car in to their shop which is over the river from where we live. My husband was losing radiator fluid and was concerned that his engine would be ruined. Autopia felt that the other shop charged us too much money. The cost to us for the diagnosis from the other shop is 160.00 dollars. This incident took place on December 10th and again on the 18th. We had to take the car back again because he didn't replace the thermostat and the car was acting up again. This incident took place on December 20th. On December 21st they did replace the thermostat which is what they were supposed to do the first time around. We were not happy with the way that we were treated and how they would not stand behind their product since they are the ones who put the radiator in the car in the first place. This was a HUGE inconvenience to us at an already stressful time as my mother in law was in hospital (She died on Christmas Day) and my car was totaled in a car accident earlier that month. This incident took place with my husband's 2002 Mazda Protege.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the full amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/03) */ The complainant's husband brought his 2002 Mazda Protégé ES in to us at Autopia Bloomington May 20th, 2014 . The radiator was found to be leaking at the upper tank. At that time we recommended that the radiator and upper and lower radiator hoses be replaced. We replaced those items and flushed the cooling system, adding new antifreeze. He subsequently brought in the car August 5 for an oil change. At that time it was noted that the coolant level was low in the tank, but no leak was seen. No issues of leakage or overheating were mentioned at this visit. On or about December 18, the complainant's husband called to say that another shop had found a leak in the radiator. I informed him that the radiator was of course covered by our warranty, and that he should bring it in immediately and that we would replace the radiator at no charge. I do not recall if he said it was taken to the other shop due to leakage or overheating, but he did mention the inconvenience of bringing it to us in Bloomington and the amount the other shop charged for the leak test. On December 18 we found that the radiator was indeed leaking at the upper hose fitting. The leak was found by applying pressure to the system, and then performing a visual inspection. The plastic was cracked. It did not appear to be damaged, so we assumed that it was a manufacturing defect. We replaced the radiator at no charge. We road tested the car without incident. One point of disagreement was reimbursement for the cost of performing the leak test at the other shop. The complainant's husband requested that we reimburse him for the $160 that he was charged at that shop. Our standard charge for this test is $61.20 plus shop supplies. Other shops charge between $40 and $65 (according to a quick telephone survey). Of course we did not charge for this test when we verified the leak and performed the warranty repair. I explained to the complainant's husband that he should have returned to us for the test, and that in my opinion he had been badly overcharged at the other shop and should request a refund from them. I also offered to reimburse him for what would have been the cost if we had performed the test, that is $61.20. I subsequently wrote a check for this amount and gave it to the complainant's husband. This check has been cashed. The complainant was very upset, called me and threatened lawsuits and a BBB complaint. Subsequent to replacing the radiator, the car overheated while the complainant's husband was driving it. He returned the car to our shop. We found that the coolant level was not low (no coolant leak), but that the radiator cap failed a pressure test. We replaced the cap, but this did not stop the overheating. We found that there was no circulation in the cooling system, and attributed this to a stuck thermostat. We replaced the thermostat, which solved the overheating problem. I discussed the thermostat with the complainant's husband, and whether this was the original problem or a result of the radiator leakage. As it was somewhat ambiguous, I elected not to charge for the radiator cap or thermostat replacement. I have not heard anything from the complainant or the complainant's husband since that time. I feel that we honored our warranty fully, and went above and beyond that to solve the problem for the customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Autopia Bloomington
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)