BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Auto Fitness and Service Center

Phone: (763) 323-0207Fax: (763) 323-40907029 Highway 10 NW, RamseyMN 55303-6045

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Auto Fitness and Service Center is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Auto Fitness and Service Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Fitness and Service Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a coupon for a free tow and diagnostic check in the mail, so I called Auto Fitness and he had me call a towing company and they came and picked it up same day. **** (from Auto Fitness) then called me the next morning and told me initially something had broken off the bottom of my car causing a leak. Then later in the conversation **** had told me I needed a whole new transmission and he'll charge me 2,000 for it all. I then asked what would the 2,000 be going to what all will be done, because I have a father whos a mechanic he could fix it for free. Then **** says " does it matter what we will do, just do you have the money or not". Following the statement I told him that I will have to think about that. I then a few days later call Auto Fitness to let them know I was coming to get my vehicle. I spoke with a young lady named ******** and she told me as long as I had my coupon everything will be free. But once I got to the establishment she said that I will have to pay 100.00 for the services (even though I had my coupon). I then called the police to inform them of the situation. Days later I had come up with the money to pay them so I called and ******** answers again. I tell her Im coming to get my car and she says its impounded because it was abandoned, and to speak with the manager tomorrow. The next day I called **** and he told me he will not tell me where its towed to unless I bring him an invoice. I then asked him why did he need it and he said "does it matter, do you have it not".

Initial Business Response
Ms.****** received one of Auto Fitness and Service centers' monthly coupon mailings, which does offer a free tow to Auto Fitness, noting on the coupon some restrictions apply also on that same mailing is a coupon for a free "check engine light" scan and/or a computer system code check... diagnostics EXTRA. On September 3rd 2013,Ms.****** personally called and talked with me,*********** and inquired about the coupons and the restrictions,I then explained to her that the tow would be free unless she choose not to have the car repaired by us at which time she would have a tow bill expense along with any diagnostic fees.... also I explained to her that the "FREE computer scan coupon had nothing to do with a car that would not drive forwards and backwards , that testing / diagnostic labor would be needed to pin point her car complaint, at that time she ok'ed the diagnostic testing and asked for the tow company phone number we used and completely understood that the tow may be FREE but she would have diagnostic fees starting at 114.69 !
When the car arrived at Auto Fitness we paid the tow company and later that afternoon September 3rd started to test / pin point Ms. ******'s complaint of her car not moving forward or backwards... after all the testing was complete I worked on estimating the repairs needed for Ms. ****** to have her car fixed and in driving condition. When I contacted Ms. ****** Wednesday September 4th 2013 "the following morning" I had informed her that the transmission was bad and was in need of replacement and that I had all the parts and labor estimated and itemized for her, she said she could not come to the shop but would like me to explain the necessary repairs to her over the phone..... short verision..... it needed a replacement transmission along with necessary items to complete the repairs , including transmission fluid,transmission filter and pan gasket and we also recommended right and left front axle seals at the total price of 1825.93 parts/labor/tax/shop supplies,at that point she informed me she did not have the money and that her father was in the business and did not want Auto Fitness to do the repairs, so at that time I recalculated her invoice with 114.69 in diagnostic fees and 95.00 tow bill plus tax and shop supplies and gave her a total of 221.14
On Friday September 6th 2013 Ms.****** showed up at Auto Fitness demanding her car back and she said she was not going to pay a penny ... she has coupons, I then explained to her again and referred back to our previous conversation, even prior to having the car tow about the diagnostic fees and the possibility of a tow bill..... but it was her way or no way .. at that point I asked her to leave

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Company never provided us with price quotes prior to repairs and proceeded with the repairs before obtaing authorization. Manager/owner threatened us.
Company never provided us with price quotes prior to repairs and proceeded with the repairs before obtaing authorization. We wanted to obtain a second opinion on their diagnostic (engine is 'shot') and were told by manager **** that we had to pay for a battery and spark plug replacement (which we DID NOT authorize) before he would release the vehicle to be towed to another location. I wrote on their website an unsatisfactory review following this exchange and **** called our home within hours from a Private Number (not the business number) and told us that because of my negative review, he would be charging us a $20/day storage fee. He then stated he would be contacting an attorney about our remarks and stated "slander accusations can be very expensive. Especially for someone with children." We construed this to be extemely threatening and the fact that he used our contact information that was provided to him for BUSINESS purposes to call us at our home and threaten us on a personal level is the sole basis of our complaint.

Initial Business Response
Weeding through Mrs *******s smoke screen and her playing the victim I will address her sole purpose of this complaint, Auto Fitness and Service Center has several phone numbers which are used for tracking several advertising methods, so I am sorry Mrs. ******* did not recognize the phone I was calling from.
The purpose of my phone call was to inform Mrs ******* of the 20.00 a day storage charge that is applied after a car is abandoned for 10 days following completion , so with advanced notice there would be no confussion.
As too Mr *******s loss of memory to the phone calls and prices/quotes given I *********** not only called *** ******* every time something was needed I have my CSM and a customer whos car was in the shop and she was in the waiting room and over heard 2 of my phone calls to *** *******.
First off Mr ******* had his car towed to Auto Fitness and Sevice Center because it had died on the road.. when the car arrived Mr.******* authorized 114.69 in diagnostic testing for a no start / no crank issue.
Testing began and we found *** ******* in need of a battery due to it being shorted , seeing Auto Fitness does not loan or borrow batteries *** ******* was contacted at his home phone number with the results of the initial testing and the price and need of a replacement battery. A price was given and *** ******* agreed with the replacement of the battery ...so after the battery replacement was complete,the car now cranked over just fine but still would not start ... additional diagnostic testing continued and we found that there was to much fuel and not enough spark . 1 spark plug was removed to find the spark plug to be O.E. (original equipment ) with nearly 130,000 miles !!the spark plug gap was 4 times the factory setting allowing fuel to enter the engine but not able to burn it with bad spark plugs .. so a second phone call was made to *** ******* explaining that spark plug replacement was the next step in diagnosing his issue, a price was given once again and *** ******* authorized the replacement of the spark plugs ... After the spark plug replacement the car now started and after several minutes of running the engine started to get loud internally indicating a possible major engine issue.The next morning I called *** ******* to explain to him that the car now runs but has an internal engine noise and has possible major internal engine issues,at this time *** choose not to continue with any additional testing and/or diagnostics. So to some up the chain of events there was no REPAIRS done on *** *******s car All parts and labor are related to diagnostic purposes only!
Once again, NO repairs were preformed on Mr. *******s car ,ONLY diagnostic testing with the necessary parts needed to continue with the ASE accredited diagnostic flow chart

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regard to Mr. ******'s response, at no time was I ever informed of, nor did I authorize a $114.69 charge for diagnostic testing and he can provide no documentation to support said claim. Interestingly, upon informing me of the condition of the engine, Mr. ****** offered to purchase our vehicle from us, stating we would be "lucky to get $500" for it. This raised concern on the legitimacy of their 'diagnostics'. When I phoned Mr. ****** to advise him we wished to have our vehicle evaluated elsewhere, I asked what the price would be to replace the battery, spark plugs and wires. He stated that he would call me back with pricing. Had he already quoted me these prices as he claims, would these amounts not have been readily available? To address Mr. ******'s response regarding my wife's attempt to "play a victim" I must say that it is truly indicative of the business ethics clearly demonstrated by this establishment: avoidance to accept responsibility for unprofessional actions. The sole purpose of his call was to inform me that he read my wife's negative review involving our experience with ****'s Auto Fitness and that based on that, he would now be charging us a $20/day storage fee. Imperatively note that both myself and my father-in-law who accompanied me to ****'s earlier that day were witness to Mr. ****** stating he would in fact be waiving this charge. He further made threat to contact an attorney, accusing my wife of slander and stated that defending such legal action would be "very expensive for someone with children". As anticipated, Mr. ****** does not acknowlege these actions, offer an apology or accept responsibility for his unprofessional behavior in his response.

Final Business Response
First off with Mrs. ******* writing the BBB complaint department, she is only recalling what Mr. ******* is telling her,and then using her imagination to create the "rest of the story" because it is quite obvious that Mr ******* is not writing these complains with the rather "large" words used, once again we can continue to go back and forth with he said / she said, but I do have two witnesses that heard me ask Mr.******* and Mr ******* reply to the 114.69 in diagnostic fees up front !
Further more Auto Fitness And Service Center is NOT in the business of purchasing cars ,we are in the business of repairing cars so where Mr. or Mrs. ******* heard we wanted to purchase their car is completely incorrect and once again fabricated!In my first response to Mrs. *******s complain, I detailed and put the complete chain of events in order as to when authorization and phone calls were made along with pricing, please reread them !!!and as to a negative response to Auto Fitness face book page , that is not possible, it is set up to accept no outside commits or posts so I am not sure what you are referring too.Once again the big smoke screen and a little off course ,referring to a "theft " charge you are correct when you say you know nothing of the out come of these charges,in conclusion I am sorry Mr. ******* does not know how to check oil on his car , that is now a very expensive mistake to learn from, and "yes" cash is always a good method of payment,Thank You

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Truck Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Tire Retread & Repair, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/13/1995Business started: 04/07/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2008, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Carol Harvet (President) Mike Harvet (General Manager) Gary Harvet (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Truck Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Tire Retread & Repair, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, Team Twist Automotive, also doing business as Frey Auto & Truck Repair, offers car and truck repairs using high tech/state of the art equipment and many replacement parts do carry a lifetime warranty.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 05:30 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Diamond Automotive Inc, Team Twist Automotive Inc, Freys Auto & Truck Repair
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services
The Hail Season is Here

If you choose to do business with Auto Fitness and Service Center, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto Fitness and Service Center

7029 Highway 10 NW

Ramsey, MN 55303-6045

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7029 Highway 10 NW 

    Ramsey, MN 55303-6045(763) 323-0207

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto Fitness and Service Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair and Services
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.