Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/1984

98th Street Auto Service

Phone: (952) 888-6777Fax: (952) 888-22351510 W 98th St, BloomingtonMN 55431-2695 Send email to 98th Street Auto Service

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/1984

BBB has determined that 98th Street Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 98th Street Auto Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on 98th Street Auto Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The issue is the amount of money that we ended up having to spend to fix the car for it to still not work/start. The company wants more money.
Today is 11-01-2012 and I had my car towed to the 98th Street Auto Service shop yesterday 10-31-2012 about 01:30pm. We had it brought in to get a new alternator and while there the mechanic called us to say he bumped something on the radiator and now we need a new one. This job went from about $240 to approximately $700. I do not feel I should have to pay for the radiator to be fixed when it was fine and they broke it. I haven't had any issues with the radiator prior to this incident. We okayed the fixing of the radiator. We also asked them to do an oil change. So we payed for a total of four things and it came to a total of 749.52 which we payed in cash. The employee had said that he gave us a discount because he felt bad but I do not feel it was enough. I picked the car up this morning 11-01-2012 at about 09:20am and drove off with it. While there they mentioned that a sensor was wet and that made it difficult to start the car and to drive it for a while to get the water off. I went home my fiance read over the paper they gave me and pointed out that this sensor the mechanic was referring to got wet because of them and they say that in the report. I went to try and leave because I had an appointment to get to and my car wont start. She called the shop and they said there is nothing they can do and I don't see how. The only issue I had with my car was the alternator and the catalytic converter but I was only getting the alternator fixed and oil changed.

Desired Settlement
I am looking to be reimbursed for the radiator which comes to a total of $367.40. I do not want them to fix the other problem that is causing my car not to start that they estimated it to coast $483.30.

Business' Initial Response
"The following information was received in hard copy and has been converted to text."

Mr. *******, I am responding to your complaint about 98th Street Auto Service to the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota. Case ********.

First I would like to again let you know that we are sorry for the problems you are having with your vehicle, a 1997 Mazda MPV 4X4 Van. V6 3.0 engine with 164284 miles.

Your original problem that you called about was in regards to the alternator, and that you head already replaced the battery, and that you drove it a little and the van stalled and would not crank over. You had the van towed in. We checked the condition of the battery and alternator and confirmed that a new alternator was needed. We did the diagnostics at no cost to you. A savings of $35.00. I even secured your battery correctly to the battery tray so it was not bouncing around. I did this at no charge as well.

The next day you stopped in and talked to me ***** ********, President - Manager. We explained that you needed and alternator. You approved the alternator and then talked to us about the poor running problem and the leaking exhaust and requested and oil change. We discussed several possibilities for the drivability problems and the ones related to the blown out catalytic converter. You were not concerned very much
about these issues and just wanted the alternator and oil change repairs done.

When I went to remove the alternator from the engine compartment, slight pressure was applied on the upper radiator hose and it caused the radiator fitting to the hose to fail. It broke off. I then called you to inform you of the problem. This was before the alternator was replaced. I explained the situation and let you know that the radiator would need to be replaced. I explained that it should not have broke but it did. I also found evidence that the neck may have been cracked before we got the truck. I informed
you that I would give you a discount on the part for the grey area of the problem. You
were not at fault nor were we. You agreed to 100.00 discount on the part after talking to
a family member. We were not to exceed $750.00.

We replaced the radiator and alternator. Filled the cooling system and C-leaned the
mess on the engine that we made by rinsing it with water. We also noted that the check
engine light is on and the catalytic converter is blown open. And noted that this may be
why the truck runs so poorly for you. We also noted that the truck probably needs a full
tune up and new exhaust including a new converter and oxygen sensors.

When we started the truck after the repairs it ran very poorly, it was hard to keep
it running. We noted that the gas gauge read empty. We added 3 gallons of gas but this
did not help. After talking to you again on the phone We confirmed this was the problem
you had when the truck came in. we traced the problem to a defective cam sensor for you at no charge. The sensor is part of the distributor and it can be affected by getting wet. So
yes we probably caused the sensor to operate worse than it did before, but we are not
responsible for the sensor being defective. It was defective when it arrived here. I offered
to replace the part for cost on the part plus labor and told you it would take a day or two
to get the part. You decided to take the truck home as it was. We recommended that you
drive it for a while before turning it off to help dry out the sensor.

Later we received a call from a woman wanting us to replace the part at no cost
because we broke it when we replaced the alternator and radiator. I explained that we did
not cause the problem but in rinsing the engine the problem appears to have gotten worse.
I again offered to help with the cost of the repairs but I did not feel we were responsible
for the cause of the problem and that we felt bad about the radiator. But we were glad we
could help reduce the cost of the repair.

This did not make any difference to her and she said she would not be coming
back to our shop. I said I was sorry she felt that way and would like to help at witch point she hung up.

The next thing I know we received a letter from the BBB. I hope this explains our
side of the story. I would still be willing to replace the part at cost plus labor. But would I
then be responsible for the catalytic converter and any other problems with the truck? I
would say not.

Please let us know if you want us to replace the cam sensor/distributor at cost on parts plus labor.


**** ********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I feel as tho because they are at fault of my radiator they should reimburse the money I paid. I don't want them to fix anything else so them offering that is rediculous, especially because they want us to pay for that too when that is also their fault. Parts of their writing is false. I know what is wrong with my car and I knew what was wrong with it when I brought it in.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1984Business started: 01/01/1960
Contact Information
Principal: David Weisgurt (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by 98th Street Auto Service, this company offers automotive repairs, servicing Asian import and domestic brands. 98th Street Auto offers mechanical and electrical repairs including computer diagnostics and scheduled maintenance We are AAA approved facility, offering ASE certified mechanics. We are a Napa Care Care Center.

Alternate Business Names
Weisgurt Enterprises Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

If you choose to do business with 98th Street Auto Service, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 98th Street Auto Service

1510 W 98th St

Bloomington, MN 55431-2695

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1510 W 98th St 

    Bloomington, MN 55431-2695(952) 888-6777
    Fax: (952) 888-2235

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*98th Street Auto Service is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair and Services

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.