This business is not BBB accredited.

Smart Parts Automotive

Phone: (888) 995-7278 View Additional Phone Numbers 20375 Enright Way, Farmington, MN 55024 http://www.smartpartsauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Smart Parts Automotive include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Smart Parts Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smart Parts Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 18, 2010 Business started: 09/10/2004 Business started locally: 09/10/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Dillion Saghaug, Owner Jeff Dinsen, Senior Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dillion Saghaug, Owner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Auto Boosting Services Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Electric Motors - Supplies & Parts Power Transmission Equipment Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Tune-Up Transmissions - Automobile Transmissions - Truck, Tractor Auto Service - Specialty Parts Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt

Products & Services

According to the information supplied by Smart Parts Automotive, this company is a premium auto parts distributor serving the entire US and Canada. We carry both new and remanufactured parts for Ford, Chevy, Dodge, Mazda, Jeep, Imports and more. Our home office is based out of Minnesota we also have warehouses in Oklahoma, Texas, and Wisconsin..

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20375 Enright Way

    Farmington, MN 55024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No customer service no communication and false information I had a transmission rebuilt 47rh in January of 2015. The transmission ended up going out 8 months later with only about 10,000 miles on it. I called smart parts auto on August 20 2015 they said there warranty department would get ahold of me. I ever heard from warranty or tech support to determine if it's something else to go forward with warranty stuff. So I called and talked to Adam about it then few hra later tech called me and determined it needs to be sent back and told me to call Amy or Adam again as these 2 people are the only ones I've talked to in the company besides tech guy who called me. I called back and Amy answered got my pickup address and return address and asked when it would be out of truck and drained and ready to go. I told her Tuesday August 25 2015 that it will be out and ready she said pickup will be Tuesday afternoon and she will email me a bill of lading. I never received a email so called her on Tuesday afternoon and she said oh you never got a email. Then told me to just email the info email and then they can just forward it to respond back to that. I still never by Wednesday at noon so sent another email addressing I would like some communicatin from them as the truck transnission is out of is how I feed my family being self employed and needing the work truck to perform the duties needed to put food on the table. So I was just asking for a little info so I can plan accordingly. Yet no email back so Thursday August 27 2015 I sent email again expressing my concern and asking for a little info and that Im ready to file complaint with bbb about this company and will gladly share my experience with future customers of this company in any way I can.

Desired Settlement: I would just like a new 47rh shipped to my mechanics place where at same time they can pickup my core without waiting more weeks to ship have them rebuild and ship back or I would like the company to pay for a legit tranny shop to rebuild it here locally so I can get back to work ASAP . It's been a week and nothing in any direction from smart parts auto I can't afford anymore down time waiting for a reply or true information

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/11/09) */ ****, We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the information that we provided you with regarding your transmission and the bypass cooler installation. Once we evaluated your transmission, we replaced the forward planetary, gaskets, seals, filter and replaced the converter with an HD converter at no cost to you. The transmission was then run through the Dyno and shipped to you at no charge. We did not find any indication that the transmission failed due to faulty parts or production. We apologize for the delay in our third party freight company's pickup. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to work through this concern with you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2015/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Amy called me to talk about the case and asked me to send the service bill to her so I did txt and email them to her. She said she had my service records of what they replaced and would get them to me and never seen them. Then I heard nothing. I guess I was under the impression she was going to take care of the service bill to swap them out and I could be satisfied with things and end claim. But then 4-5 weeks later got a email asking if it was my first warranty and to send the service bill to her again. They say something then never follow through. The first time we spoke I guess I was under different impression of what they was going to do then backing out of it Final Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2015/12/15) */ Mr. ******, The reason that the warranty manager requested your labor bills was to better investigate the situation with your transmission. We were looking to see if a cooler had been installed as per the warranty guidelines. We apologize for the misunderstanding. Our warranty does clearly state that we provide the repair or replacement of the part. In your case, we did much more than this. Considering it was not deemed to be a viable warranty, we still chose to repair your transmission (you were provided with a detailed list of the repairs as well as a phone call explaining why your transmission failed) and shipped it back to you at our cost. The e-mail that you sent to me thanked me for the better understanding and in fact, stated that you were satisfied. Please understand that our company went above and beyond for you in this case. Thank you for your business.

12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company refuses to honor core charge refund. I purchased a transmission in September of 2015 for $1800 and some odd dollars, which I was told included shipping to me, $400 refundable core charge and return shipping of my old transmission. I received the transmission, installed it and returned my old transmission within the required time frame to receive the $400.00 core charge back. The person in charge of core returns at Smart Parts now refuses to refund my core charge because he says it has internal damage, but the casing is intact and good. Well duh, if it wasn't damaged it wouldn't need replaced. according to the company's own website, and I quote, "To receive a full deposit your core must be received within 30 days after the delivery of your part. Any extensions must be proved by a sales manager. With just a couple exceptions most units are acceptable with any internal damage as long as the casing is intact. On just a few units you may be required to have an intact shaft". Smart parts is now refusing to stand by their own words. I have been waiting 6 weeks for my core charge to be refunded and they are now giving me a bunch of BS.

Desired Settlement: I want my $400.00 core charge refunded as promised on Smarts Parts very own website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/15) */ Mr. ***********, we understand that you were frustrated by the possible warranty on your vehicle. Unfortunately, we were working towards a resolution with you, while our head builder was on vacation. As we had explained to you over the phone, we needed to look at the notes from the build in order to best help you. We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to work with you and explain to you why the transmission was not a warranty. We truly appreciate your business.

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bad service/being led on Bought a transfer case, june 4 2015, salesman never said anything that it had to be built, and promised it would be shipped june 8th, never returned phone calls, text messages exchanged took 12 hours to get a response, after a 2nd inquiry had to take place. still, 6/16/2015 i have no word on when i will receive my product and the salesman has stopped returning any request as to what is going on with my product, i cant even get them to refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my product, or someone to tell me what is going on and when i can expect my product, and if it wont be in a timely manner, i would like a refund so i can order elsewhere.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/29) */ Finally received my product 20 days later. The sales manager had to have another transfer case built, and shipped it. Sales manager delivered on everything she promised, but the return shipping charges for the hassle and headache we had to go through with the salesman, I am happy with the product, but I will not be a return customer for any parts due to the hassle and headache and being led on and having a terrible salesman. Overall, the sales manager was extremely polite and professional, but not being refunded the shipping on the original transfer case that was lost in translation, and receiving (so I'm told) another transfer case. Who knows if it was the original one and I was lied to, or if they had to really build another one. Overall, beware of the headaches in dealing with their sales team, and expect your product weeks after the promise date.

6/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Returning a product and no call back when I was told they will get back in touch with me. I order a transmission that I no longer needed . It states on their website under the warranty page any transmission returned with no defect will be charged a 20-25% restocking fee. I have spoken to one of the salesman adam there and he can't do anything because *** was the salesman I purchased it off of. **** told me he left *** several messages that i wanted to speak to her about this and I have yet to recieve a call back . This has been goin on for about a month now. The first time I did speak to her she said she would have to talk to the owner and if she took the the return back it'll look bad on her part something about ratings and such. I just wanna return my part and recieve my money back like it states on there website. I have pictures of the ad on there website so if anything is changed I have proof of what it said as of when I bought it because otherwise I would not have gone through them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return my item and recieve my money back as stated on there website of a 20% restocking fee.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2015/06/09) */ I have spoken to the company which I'm satisfied to say you can pull the compliant down as they have met my request of the return. Thank you

11/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The transmission was said to have upgrades correct the design flaw. The trans lasted just over a year of very light duty usage. Their answer too bad. There is a design flaw with the NV4500 transmission there are more than one remedies to work around the flaw one involves a sleeve for the gear and the other involves a lock nut with set screws. I was assured at time of purchase that their transmission had received all upgrades. The transmission also has two designs the later model trans has a significantly larger main shaft. The earlier design had a smaller main shaft. I received the lesser. Order ID : ********** ** Description : NV4500 / Dodge / XXXX X/2 / 5.9L Diesel / 4WD Transaction Amount : $1,800.00 Transaction ID : XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive some compensation for having received such a dismal product. I believe that if the product even remotely resembled the product represented it would have shown years of good service under hard working conditions. Not a little over a year of light duty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/11) */ We are sincerely sorry for any problems you may have had with your product. When a customer is outside of there warranty we still consider them a customer and we are happy to discuss ways that we can help you. We take any information on the performance of our product very seriously. Since your transmission was purchased we have continued to make advancements to our building process and I can assure you that we meet all requirements necessary for this fix. Please call us so we can discuss ways to resolve this issue. Please contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Smart Parts Automotive
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)