BBB Accredited Business since

Koppy Motors of Hinckley

Phone: (320) 384-6300 View Additional Phone Numbers 320 Fire Monument Rd, Hinckley, MN 55037 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.koppymotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A great deal on a top shape used car doesn't have to be an unobtainable goal. At Koppy Motors serving Hinckley, MN 55037 we can get you the used car that's going to change your life.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Koppy Motors of Hinckley meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Koppy Motors of Hinckley include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Koppy Motors of Hinckley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated 07/06/1993 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Daniel Koppy, President Nancy Johnston, Administrative Russ Johnston, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Daniel Koppy, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Concierge Services Auto & Truck Brokers

Service Area
Minnesota,Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
Koppy Inc
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Koppy Motors of Hinckley, this company offers pre owned vehicles and RV's, new car concierge and consignment sales.

Industry Tips
BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 320 Fire Monument Rd

    Hinckley, MN 55037 (320) 384-6300 (866) 243-6300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased car from company and check engine light went on 10 minutes later, resulting in $1,800 worth of repairs that needed to be completed. I emailed the sales person so I could provide the information and received no reply. The check engine light went on again an hour before this review and will have more repairs. There should have been disclosure on the extent of issues with the vehicle despite the "sold as is" condition of the vehicle. I will never purchase a vehicle from this company again.

Business Response:

Per the Sales Rep involved in the sale of the car:
I told **** and his Dad both about the flex exhaust hose had a leak in it that's why it had exhaust noise. Also I drove the car for a couple days myself, and put a couple hundred miles on it without any issue. They took it out for a long test Drive with no problems. Runs good and sound - No problems that I'm aware of. 
I never got a email or phone call from **** or his Dad about the check engine light, or we could of had them bring into our shop to get checked. They were told it was a Banked owned unit on Consignment, and being Sold As Is - for which they signed and acknowledged. Dad asked him twice if he wanted to Buy the car and **** said yes.The car ran great when they drove it and never called me about the Engine light. I find it very hard to believe it came on 10 min. after he left - They test drove it for a good 30 min. Drive..  Thanks Russ
Koppy Motors Summary
The car was a Bank Owned car, and  was 'Sold As Is'. However, had we been contacted about issue, as a 'Goodwill' gesture, we would have invited customer in, & without charge, to plug into car and we could have possibly been able to identify why check light came on. At that point, we could have assisted with parts at a reduced price, and a referral to a local shop where we do quite a bit of business so customer was happy. 
The offer for a free scan on the 'Check Engine' light still stands. 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

I did reply to your "thank you" email the day after the purchase without comment. The repair I had wasn't for a flex exhaust hose as you mentioned. We were never told about the vehicle being "Banked owned unit on Consignment."

 

The fact that you drove the car and we took it on the test drive doesn't change the fact that the check engine light went off ten minutes after purchase. The car is now in the shop for two other issues one for a second check light issue and another issue noticed by the mechanic (three total issues)

At this time, I cannot trust the company's reputation, response or offer to scan the car or reduced parts.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Koppy Motors of Hinckley
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)