BBB Accredited Business since

Boardwalk Auto

Phone: (507) 282-5652 Fax: (507) 473-4299 5820 Highway 14 E, Rochester, MN 55904 http://www.boardwalkauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boardwalk Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boardwalk Auto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boardwalk Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 2000 Business started: 06/13/1997 Business started locally: 06/13/1997 Business incorporated 06/13/1997 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Brian Loucks, President Forrest Loucks, Manager Katherine Loucks, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Brian Loucks, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
K-Bry Inc
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Boardwalk Auto, this company offers used car sales.

Industry Tips
BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 5820 Highway 14 E

    Rochester, MN 55904 (507) 282-5652

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they should me a used car that had a lean on it and lied saying there was no issues with it i am complaining about this car due to the fact of back windows don't work, head gasket is bad, tires were bad on, my husband had replaced a lot of parts on it and should of never been out on the lot if there was a lean on it cause it took up to a year to get the title

Desired Settlement: i'm seeking the $2,500 that i had paid for plus the money we had spent to get it fixed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/14) */ After a thorough search we were able to locate this customer by looking through old emails where we matched up the: ******************************** email address to a previous customer from 11/17/2011 with a different name then what was listed in this complaint. This customer did purchase vehicle from us on 11/17/2011, a vehicle we purchased through the local auto auction that came from a local new car dealership as a trade in to them. What's alarming is why there's a complaint being filed now from a purchase that occurred nearly 2 years ago? The title issue was resolved which was out of our control as it was received by us from the Auction & previous new car store with an out of state Duplicate title and lien listed from an out of business finance company. There was no lien on vehicle, just not an original "lien release" as required by State of MN. This was explained numerous times after finding this out ourselves to customer that we have requested this lien be sent to us so we can complete the transfer. In the meantime a conditional transfer took place and copies were sent to customer's bank showing they are the correct lien holder on this vehicle and once we receive the original lien release from previous dealership the final transfer will occur immediately. Once again, it is out of our control on the 2-3 months it takes for processing a title at the State. Throughout this time of contacting the customers bank and hearing from the customer, never once did we ever hear anything mentioned about the issues now being complained about. This vehicle had a complete inspection done before selling it to customer from a ASC Certified Repair facility. In this inspection the repairs recommended were, alternator was not fully charging (dim headlights) and right front wheel bearing was worn. Both items were replaced, parts and labor paid by our Dealership before ever being listed for sale. This vehicle was sold with confidence of being mechanically inspected and repaired. On 11/17/2011, Customer purchased 1999 Chevy Malibu for $2500. Under MN Used Car Warranty Law, the AS/IS box was checked and signed by customer after explanation by us to her that all vehicles with over 75,xxx or eight years old or older or sold for under $3000 are sold AS/IS. There are also 2 more parts of the contract that are signed by customer stating she knows the vehicle is AS/IS and is also responsible for any and all repairs. Although vehicles are sold as/is, we also make it very clear to everyone that if something happens soon after the sale to please let us know if we can offer any help with our discounts on parts & labor. It is unfortunate after nearly 2 years this customer is filing a complaint without ever contacting us about any NEW issues or concerns. The last contact we have had from customer was over 1 year ago, This customer has had a name change, a new phone number and a new address all during the time from sale date until they received title. The State of MN will not forward titles when one moves so if this delayed the normal 2-3 months processing time last year that is also out of our control. The customer complaint indicates her reasons for seeking a refund are the back windows don't work now and head gasket now bad and the tires were bad. This is 2 years and how many thousands of miles later on an as/is no warranty car that these are for the first time ever mentioned, and via a filed complaint not a phone call or visit to our dealership Customer took loan from bank and purchased vehicle nearly 2 years ago and apparently still has vehicle. The title issue was resolved on our part and approved with the extra paperwork we provided her bank who is the new lien holder back in 2011, but with her change of name, phone number & address the delays in receiving title were more than likely extended until she notified State of Mn and updated these changes. There is no offer to return vehicle for refund. We are a licensed & bonded Used Car Dealer in the State of MN. We have been selling used vehicles for 16 years following the Used Car Guidelines and Laws on all vehicles sold. Even after receiving the complaint filed with the BBB and getting past the ridiculous request of a refund on an as/is used car purchased 2 years ago because of some new problems, we are still available to assist in offering our discounts on parts & labor or even possibly repairing some of the issues at no charge to customer, because we can! Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Boardwalk Auto
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)