BBB Accredited Business since

Walser Honda

Additional Locations

Phone: (952) 314-1447 Fax: (952) 898-4562 View Additional Phone Numbers 14800 Buck Hill Rd, Burnsville, MN 55306 http://www.walser.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Walser Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Walser Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Walser Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 1995 Business started: 07/12/1995 Business started locally: 07/12/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jack Lucking, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Jack Lucking, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Walser Honda Used Cars
Products & Services

Walser Honda offers sales, service and parts of new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Walser Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 14800 Buck Hill Rd

    Burnsville, MN 55306 (952) 892-1100 (952) 892-7788 (952) 314-1447

  • 14900 Buck Hill Rd.

    Burnsville, MN 55306 (952) 435-5550

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure by the dealership or HQ to respond to phone and written requests to resolve missing hitch wires which s/h/b included in the "tow package". Letter sent to HQ 4/15/15 - no response *************** Walser April 19, 2015 Walser Automotive Group ****************************** Edina, MN 55435 Re: 2014 Honda Ridgeline purchased 8/9/14 Dear ***************, We researched vehicles and dealers for months before deciding to purchase a Honda from Walser. It was a first for us on many levels, first foreign automobile and first purchase from a Walser dealership. It should also be noted we drove 45 minutes across the metro area to the Burnsville location to make this important purchase. We were assisted through the process, and the most comprehensive test drive ever, by a professional and capable sales person, ******************. After the typical paperwork and handshakes we were out the door with business cards from *** and his team lead ************** along with assurances that if we ever needed anything, we should call anytime. One of the requirements we clearly stated during the buying process was the ability to tow a utility trailer and someday a boat or small camper. We requested and purchased a Ridgeline with a "tow package" for that purpose. Our first attempt to tow a utility trailer was unsuccessful . We were unable to legally tow without tail lights and there were no hitch wires included in the Honda "tow package" for us to comply with MN state law. We phoned *** to let him know we had an issue and needed the hitch wires. He was out of town and promised to call back when he returned. We never did receive a return call from him. We also called ***** who admitted they don't sell a lot of vehicles with tow packages but he thought the hitch wires were sold separately and quoted us $300-$360 for the kit. We assume that price means installed as online sites show the entire wire/relay kit for significantly less. It is beyond our comprehension how a tow "package" could be sold to a consumer in MN without all of the parts necessary for it to be legally driven in the state of Minnesota (MN State Statute 169.50). When the matter of the incomplete tow package issue was brought to the attention of two representatives with Walser Honda, it was not resolved to our satisfaction. There was no empathy for the customer, and no attempt to do the right thing. The purpose of this letter is to formally request the hitch wire kit and any other parts required to legally pull a trailer in MN, at no additional cost to us. Please contact us in writing only to authorize, and begin the process of installing the missing parts. Thank you, ************************** ***************** Maple Grove, MN 55311 ************ Reference: https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169.50&year=2014

Desired Settlement: Provide and install a new hitch kit (wires) at no additional charge, which should have been included in the "tow package" when the vehicle was purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/03) */ Good Morning, *********, the General Manager of Walser Honda, has reached out to Mr. ***** regarding his complaint. Walser Honda has agreed to install the hitch at no charge to Mr. *****. We are sorry for the inconvenience and believe the complaint has been resolved. Thank you, ************

5/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: towing charge due to defective repair not being honored by dealership after agreeing to pay. I had an alternator replaced, requested a genuine new Honda part, at Walser Honda in Burnsville. One month later the alternator failed causing my car to cease operating on a major highway about 5 miles from home. My son, who is an auto mechanic, came to help me and after viewing the problem noted he had not seen an alternator fail in this way, partly because it had come loose from its mount and the serpentine belt came off. It was after business hours of the dealership and I needed to have it towed to the dealership 15 miles in order for the defective alternator to be replaced, and assessed for any additional damage this failure might have caused. Dealership agreed to reimburse for the towing charge, and I was not told of special conditions or information about submitting the invoice at the time. I received the invoice for towing two weeks later, but when I brought the invoice for towing to the dealership, was told they could not pay it because I did not submit the invoice at the time the repairs were being done, and that I now had to pay the towing charge myself and get reimbursement from Honda. My car is no longer under manufacturer warranty, and the problem was not the fault of Honda, it was either improper installation at first, or a defective part from the dealership's inventory. If the dealership needs to collect from the manufacturer because of a possible defective part, they should pay me as they agreed, and work out their reimbursement with the part manufacturer. If it was caused by improper installation, initially, the dealership should take sole financial responsibility. As I read the dealership invoice, I find it interesting that Walser Honda's repair invoice does not have anything written about warrantying their own repair work.

Desired Settlement: $115.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/06) */ Good Afternoon, *********, the General Manger of Walser Honda, has reviewed the complaint. Walser Honda will be issuing a check to the towing company for $115. *************** has not previously paid for the tow and will not be responsible for this charge. Thank you, ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Walser fails to uphold sales contract On 10/30/2014 I went to Walser Honda in Burnsville Minnesota and purchased a 2012 Honda Civic (Stock # ********). During the structuring of the deal it was decided that I would trade my 2009 Subaru Impreza WRX to the dealer. I also notified my sales member ************ that Walser would be getting the Subaru in OEM form and I would be pulling off my aftermarket parts and keeping them. I also stated that same thing to ************* when he did the assessment and test drive on the Subaru. I was told by Mr. ******** I could leave my aftermarket parts on the car and Walser would pull them off and put the OEM parts back on for me. Satisfied with this I left for the day to go talk to my bank and get the required documents. 10/31/2014 I returned to the dealership with my lien release and the check from my bank. I dropped the Subaru off and was going to go home with my Honda. I asked how the aftermarket parts would be returned to me and I was told by a sales supervisor that when I returned to sign the title from the state of Wisconsin I would have the parts. I also asked for a document saying the dealership was going to do this for me and was given "Accessory and Protection Products Order Form / Due Bill" (Attached) which clearly stated "replace deck lid and intake with OEM parts and give back the aftermarket items back to customer" signed by **********. 11/26/2014 - Almost a month had gone by and I still did not see the title from the State of Wisconsin that I was to sign nor did I hear from Walser that my parts were ready for pickup. I contacted the State of Wisconsin Driver Services and found out the title was sent to my credit union; WESTconsin Credit Union. I then contacted the credit union and was told the title was sent to the dealership on 11/13/2014. 11/28/2014 - I called Walser and could not get ahold of anyone who could assist with locating the parts or telling me what the title status was. I left a message with the front desk and I was called back by ************* and told the Subaru was sold with MY aftermarket parts still on it. At that point he wanted to discuss payment for my part. My initial reaction to this was as anybody's would be, anger. I stated that I would sue for the return of the parts and was greeted by "You can sue, but Walser has really good attorneys". He then proceeded to try and tell me it was my fault for not picking up the parts and he was trying to convince me over and over that I was the one to blame. Again, I was never contacted by Walser; no phone call or letter to tell me my parts were ready for pickup. I pointed out that the paperwork states that I'll get my parts back and I was told he couldn't get them back for me. I've been told I'm getting a check for $1300.00 from the dealership for these parts and while that helps I'm still out over $200.00 and Walser broke the contract they have with me. To top all of this off not only was the contract broken but during my three phone conversations with Walser reps including *************, I was never given an "I'm sorry" or any sympathy. Mr. ******** was laughing at me during the whole call and treating it like a game. I see now Walser cannot even commit to doing things the "Walser way" as they state. In closing I hope that Walser can correct the negative actions that went on during the course of this deal. Walser through the Burnsville Honda store has demonstrated the contract is only valid when and if they choose to uphold it. Walser needs to be held accountable for such a blatant disregard of ethical and moral business practices. Finally I will not cash the check for the $1300.00 until all parties weigh in on this matter as even with the check the contract was still broken and I have not been made whole.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like the parts back as indicated in the contract. I would also like an apology and Walser to hold up their mission statement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/02) */ Our management team at Walser Honda has contacted the customer and apologized for the lack of communication and poor customer service. We have refunded the customer with two checks, one in the amount of $1300 and one in the amount of $401. The checks have been cut and are being sent directly to the customer.

11/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Walser Honda did not honor written deal. On Oct 10th 2014 I began emailing with *********** from Walser Honda number ************. I inquired the price of a new 2014 Blue Honda Civic. I told her that I was also dealing with another Honda dealer and that I was looking for the best price. ***** gave me two options for a particular price. I told her "I leaning towards option 2, if you include the rust proof feature and 2 keys Ill take it for the $17,499 but not after I test drive it on Monday." ***** agreed and I quote "Great! I'd be happy to get everything arranged so we are prepared for your visit." I scheduled a test drive for the next week. I asked if I would be dealing with her directly to make sure that I get the price that she agreed to and she said no, she told me that I would be dealing with a night sales man and they would have access to our email conversation and we should not have any issues with the agreement. Upon arrival I took the car for a test drive, we loved it, and we got all the paper work done however when it came to price the night sale man told me that ***** had no authority to make such a deal and they could not honor the deal and he blamed it on a miscommunication. I was charged an extra $499 even when I had the agreement in writing. A few days later I emailed ***** so she can fix error and she responded with "I do apologize about any misunderstandings. We are very transparent with our pricing, and give you our best price right up front." There was no misunderstanding, we made a deal and they did not honor it, end of story.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the agreement and I want a refund for the extra feature we agreed to be included with sale price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/03) */ On November 3rd, New Vehicle Manager of Walser Honda, *************, reached out to Mr. ******* and apologized for the inconvenience and offered to cut a check in the amount of $499. The check will be mailed to the actual buyer, ************.

9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB Note: Complaint received via letter to BBB. (Mr ******** appears to have mailed this letter to the BBB twice previously -- unclear as to why letter was not received, but successfully re-sent on 8/11/14. Also indicates having sent the same letter directly to Walser Honda previously, with no response.) Scan of original letter is attached; body of letter reads as follows: "Walser staff lied about the true license/fee costs of a car purchase and manipulated the related sales process to their advantage. Walser Honda sells many used Honda vehicles. The dealership is thus very experienced in the license/fee charges for recent Honda models, including cars for sale coming off three-year leases. On a 2011 Honda car purchase in May, I requested the total cost of the vehicle upfront. I especially, at the outset, requested the written itemized license/fee charges as detailed on the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) Purchaser's Motor Vehicle Tax Declaration. Walser instead provided a Quote Worksheet that they clearly stated included the same costs as specified on the Purchaser's Motor Vehicle Tax Declaration. Based in part on that cost information, I agreed to buy the car--for that total cost. After several hours of me providing personal information and Walser keeping me waiting to complete the sale (and not shop elsewhere), Walser increased the license/fee charges over what they had quoted to me much earlier in the day. They explained that their previously stated license/fee charges were false. Walser stated that the increased charges were "not that much more to pay". I proceeded with the sale, given the time and effort already invested in the process--a Walser strategy to forestall already-committed buyers from cancelling a sale. Walser plainly lied about the true license/fee charges; Walser had these values available based on other sales and DPS information. Proposal to resolve my complaint with Walser: Walser, in good faith, and having stated that in their view the cost difference is "not that much more", mails to me a check refund for the cost difference."

Desired Settlement: As shown above, Mr ******** proposes that Walser Honda "mails to me a check refund for the cost difference".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/20) */ On behalf of our General Manager, *********, for Walser Honda, we have spoken to the customer and mailed a check for the difference in price. Thank you

2/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2004 Nissan Titan from Walser Honda on 11-14-2013. On my way home after the purchase the service engine light came on. When I got home called the dealer and they said bring truck in and they would take a look at it.I took truck back to dealer the next day,was told code p0455 was read on ecm and had a evap. leak. They replaced a vent control valve at no charge to me. When I left dealer I stoped at gas station and filled up truck for first time and noticed that fuel gauge did not read full, thought maybe just did not get it all the way full. Drove truck under normal conditions after 200miles low fuel light came on, filled truck and only took 19gallons to fill 28gallon tank. If my math is correct that leaves 9gallons in tank. I did some looking on computer and found that Nissan has a service bulletin to correct this problem. On 12-05-2013 I went to take my children to school and opened drivers side rear door and door handle broke off. Took to my local Nissan dealer, they replaced door handle and told me about a Nissan service bulletin that is about bad door handles and that I should have bulletin preformed to avoid having this problem happen again. I stoped in to Walser Honda on sat.12-07-2013 and told them about door handles and fuel gauge problems and they told me they would call me Monday 12-09-2013 and let me know what was going to be done about the problems. It is now 1-17-2014 and I have herd nothing from Walser Honda. I also noticed a chip in the wind shield on 12-07-2013, it is behind rear view mirror. Because of its location I am not shure if it was there at purchase or not butt with the other problems this truck is showing I can only assume it was missed when truck was inspected by dealer. After waiting to here from Walser Honda on these problems I went and had my local Nissan dealer repair door handles. That repair cost me $1030.00 dollars, I needed to get in and out of my truck. Was told used vehicles get a inspection but this must not apply to this truck. Product_Or_Service: 2004 Nissan Titan

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like Walser Honda to repair problems and refund my money I spent to have repairs made. When I purchased this truck from Walser Honda they told me that this truck was inspected and there would be no problems. That was not true.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/27) */ BBB received e-mail from ************* of Walser Automotive Group, advising that Walser Honda has issued a check in the amount of $1,000 to the customer, and that the dealership believes the matter has been resolved at this time. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I picked up truck on 1-25-2014 ********* used sales manager said I would receive a phone call on 1-27-2014 about the repairs Walser Honda said they would complete. It is now 2-3-2014 and I have heard nothing back from them. I have had them tell me before that I would receive a call and that was not true. I did receive a check on 1-29-2014 for the repairs I paid for. I am very disappointed with Walser Honda.

8/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint received via fax to BBB -- appears that original was sent to attention of *** ***** at Walser Honda, 7/19/13. Text of letter reads as follows: "*** ***** - General Manager Walser Honda of Burnsville ******************* Burnsville, Minnesota 55306 Dear Mr *****, I am writing this letter to you because I have been very unsuccessful in trying to reach you via phone. Either you are not available to take my calls or not willing to return my calls. In brief, less than 8 months ago I purchased a 2008 Honda Pilot from your dealership at the cost of $20,445,00. I was very excited about my purchase. I drove the car for less than 8 months and have less than 60,000 miles on it. My car problems began in April 2013 while on my way to work. The vehicle broke down on the highway and I had to have it towed to my job, where it sat for about one month. Recently I had the car towed to your dealership to have the problem analyzed. After having the problem analyzed I was told that there is engine problem which was not due to any negligence on my part. The cost of the new engine and repairs would be an additional $5700. Does that seem fair to you that I purchased a vehicle from you less than a year ago and now have to pay an additional $5700 for major repairs? If I wanted a junk car I could've gone to CarHop. I feel that I paid good money for this vehicle and that you knew your dealership sold me damaged goods. What I don't understand is why I now have to pay in excess of $400 per month car note for a car that is useless to me. It is not fair for me to have to come out of pocket for this repair. I work very hard for the money that I earn and no way did I intend on purchasing a lemon vehicle from your dealership. I would like to know what Walser will do to assist me in alleviating this expense and maintaining a good customer relationship with me. I will wait to hear back from you regarding this matter. You can reach me at ************ to further discuss this situation. Sincerely, ********************** CC: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota

Desired Settlement: Consumer writes: "I would like to know what Walser will do to assist me in alleviating this expense and maintaining a good customer relationship with me."

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/13) */ Received following response from Walser Honda via e-mail to BBB: "Good morning, *****, Please see the response from our General Manager, *** *****. He has spoken to Honda and the customer has agreed to a $2000 deductible to fix the engine. The necessary parts are on order, and it seems both parties are satisfied. Please let me know if I can assist any further. Thank you, ***** ******* Executive Assistant to ******* ******* Walser Automotive Group Walser.com From: *****, ****** Sent: Monday, August 12, 2013 8:13 AM To: *******, ****** Cc: *******, ******* Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Talked to Honda and they are going to do a $2000 deductible to fix the engine on his pilot. Customer approved the work and we have ordered parts"


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Walser Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart