BBB Accredited Business since

Tom Kadlec Honda

Phone: (507) 281-2500 Fax: (507) 280-2244 View Additional Phone Numbers 4444 Highway 52 N, Rochester, MN 55901 http://www.tomkadlec.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tom Kadlec Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tom Kadlec Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tom Kadlec Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 1992 Business started: 03/01/1979 Business started locally: 03/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Tyler Kadlec, General Manager Kiefer Bartel, Internet Sales Manager Tom Kadlec, President/Owner Tony Kadlec, Controller Tony Kerssen, Parts Manager Heather Kester, Human Resources Manager Zheila Peterson, New Honda Sales Manager John Prinzing, Pre Owned Sales Manager Chris Reiser, Finance Director Al Utesch, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Tyler Kadlec, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto - Fleet Maintenance Auto - Fleet Service Auto Warranty Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Tire Repair Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Auto Appraisers

Alternate Business Names
Kadlec Motors Inc
Products & Services

According to information provided by Tom Kadlec Honda, this company offers sales, service, and parts of new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto Service Contract - Extended Warranties Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 4444 Highway 52 N

    Rochester, MN 55901 (507) 280-2200 (507) 281-2500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was serviced on March 2, and leaks oil on the exhaust system and my garage floor. I'm concerned with vehicle fire. I paid for an oil change including a washer to seal the drain plug. My vehicle has leaked oil from the oil plug since. I am concerned with the burning smell and slight smoke from beneath the vehicle. I have parked it after trying to have ***** Kadlec meet my at his dealership to fix it at 9:15 am today. I left 3 messages for him, but have not heard from him. I must rent a vehicle to get to work, and have my car towed 75 miles to the next Honda dealership.

Desired Settlement: I want my oil plug checked for torque to make sure that it was secure after the change. I want the new washer that I was charged for examined for defects. I want an assurance that my oil pan is not damaged by improper torque or cross-threating of the drain plug. I want my vehicle cleaned underneath so that it doesn't smoke or smell anymore. I want my garage floor and driveway cleaned where the oil has leaked. And lastly, I want an appology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/03/11) */ The situation stated by Mr ****** is true and we did admit that a mistake was made and will do whatever it takes to satisfy our client. On the date which the incident occurred, I had not had an opportunity to listen to my voicemail until 11:00 A.M. as I had been on the phone and in a meeting prior to listening to Mr. ******'s voicemail. I have since tried to contact him via phone on three separate occasions: 3/9/2016 @ 11:25 A.M. 3/9/2016 @ 5:29 P.M. 3/11/2016 @ 9:32 A.M. On all three occasions, I have given my cell phone number in case I am not at my desk. At this time, I will be sending Mr. ****** a check for his out of pocket expenses as well as some additional monies for the inconvenience. I am happy to talk with Mr. ****** to apologize in person or on the phone - I truly am sorry for the error on our part and the inconvenience it caused him. Again, my cell phone is ************. ***** Kadlec - G.M. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2016/03/17) */

11/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We traded in a 2005 Honda Accord and told the dealer that it had been in prior accident. This vehicle was later advertised as being accident free. Our 2005 Honda Accord (white)have about 240,000 miles on it. They told us it would most likely go to auction. We saw the week after (10-12-15) that it was listed on their web site as a car that was accident free. It stated that we bought the car from Tom's which we did not. We told the salesperson that it had been in an accident and even discussed details about the body shop that did the work. The were also advertising this 2005 Accord for sale at $4,999. We shared also that the vehicle had been overheating. We are concerned that an innocent person will buy this car not knowing the truth about it.

Desired Settlement: Give us the car back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/22) */ This vehicle was sold at a local auto auction on 10/14/2015. We would be happy to share supporting documentation with the customer should they request to see it. Tyler ****** ************ (Cell/Text)

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a vehicle from this dealership, turned out to be a lemon, made trade for different vehicle. They never paid off 1st vehicle, under my name. I purchased a 2007 Acura RDX from this dealer in early April 2015. This vehicle turned out to be a "lemon" and was in their garage more than my own, and went round and round trying to get it fixed. Finally, on April 25th 2015, I decided to trade this '07 RDX for a different Vehicle on their lot, and got a 2012 Ford Escape. This vehicle obviously had a higher cost but I was willing to pay it to have a vehicle that actually worked. After that whole ordeal, I was satisfied and love the Escape, but knew I was never going back there again. A few weeks later, I came home to a notice in the mail from Huntington Bank saying there was a late charge on the 2007 Acura RDX. I called Huntington National Bank right away to tell them I do not have this vehicle anymore and found out it was still in my name and I had both loans open, one for the RDX and one for the Escape. That's when I realized Tom Kadlec Honda did not send the payment for the payoff amount on that vehicle, also left it in my name, meaning my credit is on the line. I called the dealership and they told me the payment was sent and sometimes it takes 4-6 weeks to go through. Well it was still showing it was unpaid by the 5th week, so I called the dealership again to check up on the status and they (the finance department) told me it was showing it was funded/payed off in their system. I still thought something was off so they checked into in further and called me back telling me it actually was not funded, because they sent the wrong pay off amount to Huntington Bank, and wanted me to pay the difference of $385.10. I decided to refuse to pay that, because that was their mistake, they screwed up the paper work and sent the wrong amount. How is this my fault? I then spoke to Tom Kadlec's son **** Kadlec, telling him what was going on, and how I was treated through out this whole thing, and he said himself that this shouldn't have taken this long and would take care of it taht night (6/2/15)then talk to his head finance guy, ***, and give me a call back that night. I never recieved a phone call back and still haven't heard anything yet today. Also, I have made my first payment on the 2012 Ford Escape, if that matters.

Desired Settlement: I wish not to pay this amount of 385.10, since this was their mistake. They also left this loan open in my name, which should have never happened in the first place. My credit is in danger because of their mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/05) */ The customer provided the dealership a payoff amount for the Acura RDX. This is common practice as we are not privy to the customer's status with their current lender. The customer signed a conditional delivery agreement which states that the payoff amount is an estimated amount. If the payoff figure is underestimated, YOU agree to may the difference in cash. If overestimated, I agree to credit the difference to you. We have attached a copy of the Conditional Delivery Agreement that the customer signed. In this instance the payoff that was provided by the customer did not satisfy the balance on the loan of the trade-in. Per the agreement, the customer would owe the balance to the dealership. As a gesture of goodwill, the dealership has already agreed pay the $385.10 (Check copy attached). If the customer would like more information or has questions, they may contact me at 507.281.2500 *************

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tom Kadlec Service Department caused damage to my car and not only refused to fix it they blamed me and wanted me to pay for it. Normally I dont bring my car to a dealer for repair because of these kinds of experiences. But I had to bring my car in on a recall on the window switch in the drivers door (armrest). There was nothing wrong with the car when I dropped it off. I picked the car up and nothing was said about any problems. The next day I opened the door and the casing to the armrest FELL OFF! I made an appointment to take it back to fix. All of a sudden now they are saying it was broken when I brought it in. That was a lie. It was fine. I assume they broke it when they took it apart. They showed me a piece of paper saying the tech wrote it down when I brought it in that it was broken. Again, no one ever mentioned this to me. They attempted to make me pay for the repairs and would not stand behind this. Needless to say the armrest is still riding around in the backseat of my car.

Desired Settlement: I want them to arrange with another company to fix my car at no charge to me. I will not allow them to touch it again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/25) */ Received e-mail from ***** Kadlec at Tom Kadlec Honda (2-25-14): "The customer is coming in to get the part fixed today. Thanks, ***** Kadlec"

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: false statement of vehicle inspection. failure to keep sales agreements. they said all used cars underwent through inspection. car was diagnosed with a bad transmission within 700 miles. this was my first tranny problem since 1965. cost me $500.

Desired Settlement: when i bought car -salesman promised me two free synthetic oil changes. when i went to get first one, they said it would cost me an additional $30. went to complain to used car side, they said too bad-shaun doesn't work here any more. left a message for manager but never heard a thing. want my two oil changes.

12/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased vehicle in June. 4 mo. later replaced all tires. Spare rim is totaled and rim used on vehicle is bent. Want 1 new rim at their expense. In June, 2013 a vehicle was purchased thru Tom Kadlec Honda. Delt with ***** in sales. Purchased vehicle thru finance. 4 months after having the vehicle needed to replace all 4 tires. In the process had found out the spare rim was totaled and cannot be used. The front driver's side rim was bent and not recommended for long use driving. I called up the Dealership and they noted they did a 21 point inspection, which should have included inspecting the tire balance. Rims were ignored and put on the vehicle and sold. The vehicle purchased was a 2011 Toyota Rav 4. We purchased the vehicle for $18,000.00. I wish to have the Dealership ship at their expense a new rim to replace the totaled one. Having the bent rim is the reason why tires do not last to their full mile capacity.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Dealership to ship at their expense a new rim to replace the totaled/unusable rim they sold with the vehicle. If they are unwilling to ship a new rim, I would like a check in the amount of the purchase of a new rim and I will purchase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ I have left a voice mail for the customer, on 11/26/2013 at 1:25 pm. We respect the customer's concern and will make every attempt to come to a positive resolution. I will provide a complete response after speaking with the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Returned a call and left a voice mail to call me and provided two numbers to be reached at. Waiting to resolve this issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/03) */ We have spoken with the consumer. In the form of goodwill we have agreed to provide the funds to the customer per their request. We believe this should provide a positive resolution for them.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesperson did not inform me, the consumer, of all the specials being run and I lost out on 5700.00 due to it. I went in to Tom Kadlec Honda with the intention of purchasing a new vehicle. I took my truck with me to trade in if necessary for a down payment on a new vehicle. The salesperson, a younger man new to the business and whose name I don't recall greeted me in the lot. I had decided to check out the CRV's for the gas mileage, and started by looking at one of the top trim models. It was the only one I was directed towards. I decided that I liked the car and we began the buying process. While in negotiations, I had been told that they would give me 12,500 for my 2007 Honda Ridgeline that I owned. That would leave me approx. 3700.00 for a down payment. I also was given 500.00, after pointing out to them that I was a loyal customer. He came back and threw numbers at me. Within that conversation he showed me what it would cost if I just leased that particular car. He never once told me that they were running a special on leasing CRV's where I would not have had to put any money down at all. This meant I would not have had to trade my truck in and I would not have had to put an extra 1500.00 down towards the car that I took out of my pocket to bring down the lease amount. If I had been told about the special, I never would have made the decision I did. I would have signed a lease for a new CRV with a lesser trim for nothing, rather than giving them my truck and 1500.00. They also made a mistake on my initial contract by charging me more for the vehicle than what was on the car itself. I went back in after I realized this when I looked up the Honda website to make a payment on the new car and saw the special Honda was running. I then went back to Tom Kadlec and they argued it was my own fault and would not do anything in return. They argued it was my fault and it was all about the trim model I chose. They could not see my perspective that this choice would not have been made if the salesperson had made me aware of the lease special. They did correct the original sales price and this lowered my payment by 20.00 a month, but did nothing about the money they made off of me for my pick-up and 1500.00 down payment I made. As a consumer, I feel totally ripped off. I had bought 7 vehicles from them prior to this and had been loyal for over a decade. I will never go back, and when this lease is up, the keys will be given to them and I will walk down the street to a dealer that has integrity.

Desired Settlement: I believe that I should be given back my 3700.00 for the trade-in value of the pick-up as well as the 1500.00 I took out of my own pocket.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/01) */ In every transaction at Tom Kadlec Honda we try to give our customers as much information as possible so they can make a decision that they are comfortable with. We presented a worksheet to Mr. ******** displaying 16 payment options with different loan terms and down payment amounts. We also presented 4 lease options with different down payment amounts - which Mr. ******** signed prior to the lease contract. We would like to apologize if we didn't fully explain that the money used from trade equity and cash down were simply used to lower the monthly payment. Mr ******** could have just as well kept the cash and equity from his vehicle and had a higher monthly payment. If Mr. ******** is unhappy with the transaction, Tom Kadlec Honda will either switch vehicles (as he indicated he would have chosen a "lesser" model) or buy the vehicle back. He is free to contact me at anytime if this is what he wishes to do. I can be reached by phone at ************ or by email at ttkadlec@me.com. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do believe the point by Tom Kadlec is being missed here from the consumer side of things. Even though I was given a sheet with various options on it, never once was I told about the lease special being run by Honda. If I had been told that I could have purchased a lesser trim model for 0 dollars down and 0 dollars the first month, my decision on trading in my vehicle and putting money down would have been different.If I had just stepped in off the street that day without anything at all, I could have driven away with that vehicle. But, I was never told of that option. Here in-lies the difference. That lease special had been running for a month, and Tom Kadlec should have made me aware of that.I was deceived by them throwing numbers at me that always included trading in my truck. Instead, they took everything they could get out of me, including my vehicle, and what good does it do me to give back the car I have now. They are still getting my truck and money. In over 125 people that I have told about this, they have all agreed that I got ripped off. I am getting ready to go to all the social media websites with this if something isn't done.I have been waiting patiently for a resolution. It took Tom Kadlec the whole month of Sept. to respond. Why? An apology doesn't cover 5700.00 dollars. Why doesn't Tom Kadlec put themselves into my shoes and try understanding? And I have been into Tom Kadlec to try to resolve this and nothing has come of it, so why call? That is why I went to the BBB in the first place. I am an educator and coach, and my job is to inform people. I understand that value. Obviously, Tom Kadlec Honda does not. Those that I have told from my church to faculty at my school have been appalled at the deception of this business. There is a thing called the ripple effect. And I am pretty sure that if this doesn't get resolved, Tom Kadlec is going to feel it. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but in the future. And if they think keeping my money is worth it to them, so be it!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tom Kadlec Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)