BBB Accredited Business since

North Country Ford

Phone: (763) 427-1120 Fax: (763) 259-2261 View Additional Phone Numbers 10401 Woodcrest Dr NW, Coon Rapids, MN 55433 http://www.northcountryford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that North Country Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for North Country Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on North Country Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Mike Swoboda, General Sales Manager Mark Beithon, General Manager Tom Glansman, Service Manager (1/2013) Richard Lien, Manager C. David Luther, President Charlie Odden, Recon Manager Tim Reil, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Tim Reil, Manager
Principal: Mike Swoboda, General Sales Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Anoka Motors LLC Luther North Country Ford Lincoln Mercury North Country Ford Lincoln Mercury
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Luther North Country Ford Lincoln Mercury, this dealership offers new and used vehicle sales, service, and parts.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

North Country Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10401 Woodcrest Dr NW

    Coon Rapids, MN 55433 (763) 427-1120 (612) 490-4531

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car went in for a recall and ended up being there 3 days and came home with a significant coolant leak. My focus went in for a transmission recall, in the process it failed a test so they replaced the clutch. When they were putting the transmission back in, they broke a wiring cover of some sort. On day 3 they put everything back together, did the update and as they were checking everything over noticed my coolant was down significantly. Never once did they notice a leak over the 3 days. We get the car home and it never leaked before we brought it in and now it's a significant leak. My husband noticed wiring and clips for the heater block, coolant tank were in disarray and believes that this leak was caused by the service tech and the service manager refuses to acknowledge that. We believe that the dealership is at fault and want them to take responsibility and cover this repair free of charge as it was not an issue before. On November 14th my car was in for an oil change with "the works" package and everything checked out okay then as well. We would notice if our car was leaking fluids all over our garage floor.

Desired Settlement: We want the leak repaired

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2016/02/19) */ Received business response via e-mail to BBB from Tom ********, Service Director: "I have looked at the service records and found that Ms. *********** was advised that the block heater was leaking when we repaired her vehicle. The block heater is neither disturbed nor removed when replacing the clutch. Additionally, all of the electrical components for the one touch are within the interior of the vehicle and all of the components for the clutch repair are on the outside of the vehicle. It would not have been affected by the repair If you need any further information, please feel free to contact me. Sincerely, Tom ******** Service Director North Country Ford Lincoln ****************** Coon Rapids Mn 55433 (763) ******** Direct (763) ******** Fax (763) ******** Service ***************@lutherauto.com"

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Ford edge limited has 28,200 miles. The service dept claimed I needed new tires and charged me despite the tires having a 50,000 mile warranty Last week my girlfriend ************ brought her 2012 Ford Edge Limited in for an oil change at North Country Ford in Coon Rapids. She is the original owner and the vehicle has approx. 28,200 miles. While the vehicle was at the dealership, a female employee notified her that a rim was damaged and needed to be replaced. The female employee texted her a photo of the damaged rim. ****** told the female employee to go ahead and replace the rim. Later, a male employed called her and told her she needed new tires. ****** questioned this since the vehicle only had 28,200 miles. The male employee said she would not make it through the winter on those tires and they needed to be replaced. ****** looked at the photo that was sent to her of the damaged rim. The tire is clearly visible and it appeared to have sufficient tread. ****** explained this to the male employee and he insisted that her tires needed to be replaced stating again that she wouldn't make it through the winter. He also made comments that Ford doesn't put expensive tires on and they don't last that long and they needed to be replaced. Because of his comments, ****** told them to replace the tires. When ****** arrived at the dealership to pick up her vehicle, she looked at the paperwork and noticed a charge for the oil change. She had purchased an additional warranty that covered oil changes so she asked to have that removed. She then saw a vehicle inspection checklist that showed the tread on the tires was good. She started to question the expressed need for new tires but was told she needed them. She asked to see her old tires and was told they wouldn't know where they were so they couldn't show them to her. A few days later, she called me. I looked at the photo of her tire sent to her by the female employee. There is sufficient tread. The tires are Pirelli Scorpions, which are the factory tires. These tires carry a 50,000 mile tread warranty. I was livid that this dealership lied to her and basically committed an act of fraud to get her to pay $1,300 for new tires she didn't need. ****** called the dealership to complain and ended up speaking to a Mr. *********. He told her the checklist she had showing the tires had sufficient tread was done after the new tires were put on. She asked where the initial checklist was and he said he didn't have it. She offered to send him the photo sent by the female employee. He did not want to see it. He then said her old tires were still at the dealership in a pile and he could have them put back on. She asked how he could guarantee they were her old tires and he could not provide an answer. ****** asked for a full refund of the new tire cost but was offered a 50% refund. ****** explained that was not acceptable because she was defrauded into purchasing the tires in the first place. I called Mr. ********* the next day and left a voicemail stating that I was shocked the dealership would defraud a customer and asked them to give her a full refund for the cost of the tires. I received no return call. ****** received a call from another male employee who said if she had "buyer's remorse" they could put her old tires back on. Again, she explained she didn't have buyer's remorse, she was deceived and defrauded into getting the tires in the first place. She asked about the 50,000 mile tread warranty on the tires and the employee would not answer that question. Sincerely, **************

Desired Settlement: I just want them to refund me the price of the tires.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2016/02/16) */ Reached consumer by phone, to get 'update' on situation with dealership. Ms ***** indicates that North Country Ford *did* ultimately refund the price of the tires in question. Though she is not pleased with the amount of effort it took to get her concerns addressed, she indicates she now considers the matter resolved.

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: More than 3 days. 3rd time for same issue. Damaged when putting back together causing delay in vacation. Hail damage. Poor customer service! Brought vehicle in for 3rd time for the same issue they found during oil change (something leaking). Same process each time. They checked leaking oil, the transmission, steering fluid, ect). They could not get it right. Apparently it is a gasket or something this time (we will see). Have to delay vacation. They had the vehicle more than 3 days. After 3 days, they informed me they broke something while putting it back together causing a longer delay. Will not loan me a truck that allows pets. Dog will be coming on vacation so I am stuck without a usable vehicle. They are not willing to work with me at all. I have to pay for hail damage that occurred while my vehicle was in their care. Hence, trying to get them to pay the $500 deductible. Their insurance should pay for it in full but I am willing to just take the deductible. If I can take care of their rental while it is in my care, they should take care of my car while in their care. If they sold me a quality product and/or knew how to diagnose and fix an issue the 1st or 2nd time, my vehicle would not have been in their care when it was damaged by hail. They STILL have my vehicle. Spoke with management of their service department, Roy Reynolds, and he would not help me at all. He would not let me speak to anyone higher than him and he would not assist me with finding the Luther Ford main office number or the Ford office main number. Very poor customer service!

Desired Settlement: Their insurance SHOULD pay the full price for the hail damage though I am willing to work with them and just have them pay the $500 deductible. My insurance will take care of the rest. There should also be some kind of compensation for the poor customer service and poor service with my vehicle causing me to leave for my vacation at least a half a day later than planned. A gas card for at least $200 would be nice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/07/20) */ MR. *****'S VEHICLE ARRIVED ON JUNE 29, 2015 AND WAS RETURNED TO HIM ON JULY 2, 2015. OUR RECORDS SHOW THAT THIS IS HIS SECOND TRANSMISSION LEAK REPAIR, HOWEVER, THEY WERE TWO DIFFERENT FAILURES. THE FIRST, WHICH WAS REPAIRED JULY OF 2014 ON OUR REPAIR ORDER NUMBER ******, WAS A TORQUE CONVERTOR SEAL. THE CURRENT REPAIR ON RO NUMBER 454239 DATED 6-29-15, WAS TO THE TRANSMISSION OIL PUMP SEAL. WE DO NOT SHOW A THIRD REPAIR OR COMPLAINT. THE ONLY OTHER MENTION IS OUR RECOMMENDATION TO HAVE THIS CONCERN ADDRESSED. THAT RECOMMENDATION WAS ON 4-23-15. WE DID NOT HEAR FROM MR ***** TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 6-18-15, WHEN HE MADE THE APPT FOR 6-29-15. TO ADDRESS THE PART WE "BROKE," THE CURRENT REPAIR REQUIRED REMOVAL OF BOLTS FOR THE TURBOCHARGER. ONE OF THE BOLTS WAS SEIZED. DESPITE OUR EFFORTS TO HEAT AND REMOVE, THE BOLT SNAPPED. GIVEN OUR CLIMATE, SEIZED BOLTS ARE A FAIRLY COMMON OCCURANCE. WE DO OUR BEST TO REMOVE THEM USING HEAT AND OTHER METHODS, BUT SOMETIMES THEY DO BREAK. IN THIS CASE, THE TURBOCHARGER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THE BROKEN PORTION OF THE BOLT BEING STUCK IN THE MOUNTING. ACCORDING TO OUR RECORDS, MR. ***** WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PARTS DELAY AS SOON AS WE WERE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF HIS DOG RIDING IN THE LOANER, MANY OF OUR CUSTOMERS SUFFER FROM ALLERGIES, SO WE DO NOT ALLOW PETS OF ANY SORT, NOR DO WE ALLOW SMOKING IN OUR LOANERS. MR.***** DROPPED HIS VEHICLE OFF ON THE 29TH, WHICH WAS THE DAY OF THE HAIL STORM. MR. ***** SIGNED THE REPAIR ORDER WHICH READS IN PART THAT NORTH COUNTRY FORD "...IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR LOSS OR DAMAGE TO THE ABOVE VEHICLE, OR ARTICLES LEFT THEREIN; IN CASE OF FIRE, THEFT OR OTHER CAUSE BEYOND OUR CONTROL..." WE ARE ADVISED THAT WE CANNOT PAY HIS DEDUCTIBLE DUE TO LEGAL CONCERNS. WE WILL, HOWEVER, AS A GESTURE OF GOODWILL, PROVIDE MR. ***** WITH A $200 LUTHER GIFT CARD WHICH IS GOOD FOR SERVICES, PARTS, ACCESSORIES, OR VEHICLE PURCHASES AT ANY LUTHER DEALERSHIP. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would have preferred a gas card as I know I will use it. This acceptance is contingent upon: 1) As stated, is good at any Luther dealership for goods and services, parts, accessories or vehicle purchases. 2) Does NOT have an expiration date 3) Is mailed to me as I don't want to pick it up. 4) Is mailed ASAP. In case the address in not on file: **** ***** ***************** Andover, MN 55304 Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/08/06) */ We have sent Mr. ***** his $200 gift card as of 8-6-15. If you need any further information, please feel free to contact me. Tom ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on North Country Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart