BBB Accredited Business since

Morrie's Minnetonka Ford/Lincoln

Phone: (952) 546-5441 Fax: (952) 543-7684 View Additional Phone Numbers 13400 Wayzata Blvd, Minnetonka, MN 55305 http://www.morriesmtkaford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Morrie's Minnetonka Ford/Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Morrie's Minnetonka Ford/Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Morrie's Minnetonka Ford/Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 1999 Business started: 12/15/1999 Business started locally: 12/15/1999 Business incorporated 12/26/1999 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Aretz, General Manager Mr. Matt Haust, Group Finance Director Jim Misjak, Service Manager Tom Ryan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: John Aretz, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Matt Haust, Group Finance Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Additional Information

According to information provided by Morrie's Minnetonka Ford/Lincoln, this company provides auto sells and services.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Morrie's Minnetonka Ford/Lincoln has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13400 Wayzata Blvd

    Minnetonka, MN 55305 (952) 977-7020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2007 Lexus GS350 on 3/4/16, 3 weeks later to found out that the Rear Defroster is not working. I contacted the sales person on 3/29/16, he said he will talk to his manager and never contact me after. Brought it in service a week later, they said they will look into but did not fix it because they were busy and didn't have time to fix it. I picked up the car and drop it off again two week later, Sales person said the heating element damaged the glass so now the whole rear windshield have to be replace. Not only dealer did not notified or disclaim on the purchase agreement/add about the car has defective rear defroster, but they also refused to fix it for free of charge. If they have contacted me to let me know that they will not cover the rear defroster on date of contact I would've return the car because I still have a week left on the 30 days buying happy program. They dragged the whole process out so you cannot return the car after 30 days. Used car manager (Kevin) contacted me and offer me $200 to cover the cost of replacing the rear windshield which can easy cost $500-600. I bought the Platinum extended warranty, and they said that the warranty will also not cover it. I'm very dissatisfied in the customer service I have received thus far.

Desired Settlement: Morris's should replace the damaged rear windshield/defroster.

Business Response:

I am having our glass facility contact *** to replace the rear glass.

Thank you,

Matt

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 22 2016, I experienced a breakdown with my 2012 Ford F150 which was purchased new from Morrie's Minnetonka Ford in June of 2012. For convenience, I had the truck initially inspected by *** ****, a local ASE certified mechanic. *** initially though there was something fatally wrong with the timing chain. I had originally purchased the Morrie's Buy Happy Lifetime Powertrain Warranty, and recognized that the timing chain was listed as a "covered" item. I then had the truck towed to Morrie's to begin the claim process. Morrie's inspected the truck, and determined the following: "The vehicle sustained damage stemming from a stretched primary timing chain. The caused the timing to be off to an extent that allowed the piston to hit the valves in the cylinder head." - Jon ********, Morries Service Manager Essentially, the engine was totaled. Upon request of Morrie's, I provided them with all my maintenance records. These records included Morrie's service for the first 2 years of ownership. ************ ********, another ASE certified mechanic performed most of the maintenance after Morrie's. Basic maintenance checks and services have been performed by myself since the original purchase. Upon review of the maintenance records, Morrie's informed me that the claim was denied by their insurance company. They sited the following: 1- There were insufficient records of the air filters being changed per manufacturers recommended maintenance. I was told by Andy ***** at Morrie's, that I needed to show proof of changing the filter every 15,000 miles. The owner's manual recommends changing the air filter every 30,000 miles. Morrie's inspected the air filter at 28,774 miles and at 32,252 miles, and did not recommend changing the air filter. Morrie's inspected the air filter at 46,883 miles, recommended changing the filter, and the filter was changed at that time. Morrie's also inspected the air filter at 54,030 miles, and did not recommend changing the air filter. The air filter was inspected by **********'s at 63,562 miles, 69,714 miles, 75,237 miles, and again almost 8 months after the 75,237 mile check, and did not recommend changing the filter. It was suggested to me by Jon ********, that even though professional ASE certified mechanics (Morrie's included) inspected the filters at the factory recommended intervals, and suggested not replacing them, that I was supposed to disregard their diagnosis and have the filters replaced. It should also be noted that air filters are listed in the Warranty as parts that are NOT covered. 2- There were insufficient records of the tire being rotated per manufacturers recommended maintenance. The owners manual suggests tire rotations at every oil change interval as indicated by the message center on the dash of the truck. I never saw this message on the message center as all oil changes were performed prior to the 10,000 recommended interval. Morrie's inspected the tires and rotated them at the 28,774 mile check up. *** **** replaced the tires at 57,489 miles. And I performed the basic service of tire rotations on my own after all other oil changes. It should be noted that tires are listed on the warranty as a part NOT covered. 3- There were insufficient records of performing the factory recommended maintenance at every 15,000 interval. Jon at Morrie's sited the record in their system showing I was presented with this maintenance at 17,000 miles and rejected the maintenance. I did not have records of this. Morrie's never suggested this maintenance again. It should be noted that Ford, the manufacturer of my F150 does not indicate or suggest recommended maintenance at 15,000 mile intervals. This maintenance does not show up on any Ford literature given to me at the time of purchase. For these reasons, my claim was denied. It should be noted that the warranty contract defines the warrantor at the dealer, Morrie's in this case, not their insurance company. I was told by both Jon & Andy that the maintenance I failed to perform (air filter, tire rotation, or 15,000 interval checks) have no correlation to the failure of the timing chain. It does say in the owner's manual that failure to perform scheduled maintenance specific in owners manual, will invalidate warranty coverage on parts affected by the lack of maintenance. (p.445 Scheduled Maintenance) Jon told me that a truck with less than 90,000 miles shouldn't have timing chain issues, and wanted to see if Ford would contribute to a repair. After a couple of weeks, Andy informed me that Ford would contribute $1,500 towards a repair. Repairs costs according to Jon were $10,620. I asked Jon if there was anything Morrie's would contribute to the repair, and Jon said he could reduce the labor rate from $140/Hr down to $100/Hr. I asked Jon if I could speak to someone else at Morrie's who has more authority to do more. He obliged, and sent me contact information for John *****, the General Manager, Glen ******** , the Sales Manager, and Matt *****, the Corporate Finance Director. I reached out to each of these gentlemen to no avail. I spoke with Glen ******** via phone and email, but never had direct conversation with John ***** or Matt *****. The last conversation I had with Glen via the phone, he said he would have Matt contact me. This never happened. I then received a phone call from Andy that I was going to be charged $20/day for lot fees starting on April 11th. I have contacted contract lawyers, and am preparing for an arbitration hearing to have the issues with my truck finally resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer that the truck be repaired under the lifetime powertrain warranty. I would also accept a mutually agreed upon sell price for the truck in its current condition.

Business Response: We have communicated with Mr. ***** and have come to a resolution.  His truck will be fixed under our Lifetime Powertrain Warranty.  We appreciate his business and apologized for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/13/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Truck had certified inspection stating windshield was good and it was not. Rearview mirror also broke. After driving the truck off the lot I noticed the rearview mirror was bouncing. I had an appointment to get a tonneau cover installed so I called Morrie's and explained the issue and they said they would look at it during the appointment. After the cover was installed they said the mirror was ok. Approximately 2 weeks after driving the truck a crack formed in the windshield. I contacted Morrie's because I never heard any impact while driving nor could see/feel any signs of impact. Morris's examined the windshield and said there was a spot of impact. The service tech showed me a spot that did not have any surface damage from sight or feel on the windshield. I explained my concerns but was told I would have to replace the windshield on my own. I filed a claim and the auto glass tech replaced my windshield. The technician identified several things that were identified as being issues with install. The glue was still wet indicating the windshield had recently been replaced, their was a air break in the seal, cowling clips damaged, and a crack in the bottom of the windshield that was the cause of the crack. The windshield was damaged before Morrie's sold it to me. The technician also identified the rearview mirror was damaged as well. The metal clips/springs were broken off which was causing the mirror to bounce. I took pictures of all of the things identified by the tech. I spoke to a service manager at Morrie's and e-mailed all of the pictures. I'm still waiting for a response. My biggest issue is how Morrie's has handled my concerns. They either are incompetent or have no integrity. The truck went through a certified inspection before I bought it so the windshield either was not inspected as indicated or the damage was identified and not documented. Same with the rearview mirror and other damaged parts. I'm very dissatisfied in the customer service I have received thus far.

Desired Settlement: Morris's should replace the remaining damaged items.

Business Response: Service manager spoke with Customer and we are addressing his concerns.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Service Manager did contact me and said the mirror would be ordered and replaced. An appointment has not been scheduled yet and currently the Service Manager is on vacation. The contact person he listed while he is gone has not replied to my call or e-mails. Waiting for appointment.

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in to be buffed by their body shop. It was returned to me with a broken windshield. I was told that i was liable by tom in service. I took the car in on 11/18 to get scratches buffed out as agreed on purchase. I picked the car up on 11/20. I noticed that the car had a crack in the windshield that wasn't there before. when I called i talked with a Service manager and he said that even though the car was damaged while they had it. that my insurance had to fix the windshield and they were not liable for the damage. He was rude and inconsiderate and pretty much hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my windshield repaired or replaced with factory equipment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/02/03) */ We spoke with ****** and made agreement that we would repair his windshield at no charge to him,

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle which unbeknownst to me had begun to rust on the door. A sales manager said he would work with someone to fix it, but did not. On 6/3/14 I purchased a 2010 Jeep Patriot from Morries Mntka Ford. I test drove it 5/31/14, in the rain, and then decided on 6/2 to purchase it.I came in on 6/3 to sign the paperwork. I did not see the car until after I had signed the paperwork, as it was getting detailed. When I bought it, I did not see a spot on the left rear door where the paint was bubbling and flaking off and rusting.The interior of the door was cracked and rusting too. Estimates from 5 shops were $960-$1100. Frustrating, bc I purchased this vehicle knowing it was marked up $1500 & Morries would not negotiate price.On 7/29 I contacted my salesperson to see if there was anywhere she recom'd I go.She referred me to Morries Body Works, which est'd cost to fix at $1473. That price was very high & I asked to speak with her boss(new car mgr).He said Body Works can take $100 off the estimate, & asked if a touch up is enough for me.I said no, I wanted to fix the area & prevent it from further deteriorating since I would be paying for the car for the next 6 yrs. I would not have bought that car had I seen that.I asked if I covered the cost of repair myself, if there was a way I could get an internal rate for the body work.He said dlr cost is same as cust, they do not have internal rates for repairs, & even if I noticed the spot, they would not have neg'd the price of the car.He recom'd I bring the car in 8/13 to have someone look at it. I left work early and used vacation time to attend this appt.I waited an hour before I was told I would be taken to a different Morries to meet with this person. This was disorganized, I had no idea who I was meeting or the nature of the appt, I also thought there would be a liaison between that person and myself. The man I met did paint touch ups for Morries. He told me that he would not fix it, could not fix it &would not recommend getting it fixed bc it did not make sense to spend $1000 to fix rust. I paid about 15x that for the vehicle, so it did to me. I felt he was telling me what Morries wanted him to say.He painted over the affected area with touch up paint, which I did not want him to do.This was frustrating and it seemed he thought that would be enough to make me go away.He told me he recom'd that I leave the rust alone,& showed me an old van that had rusted quarter panels and said it would take a few years for my car to look like that.I was then driven back to the dlrshp. New car mgr told me that after the paint man's inspection there was nothing else he could do.I left.I did not see or speak to him again. My salesperson came out, with the used car mgr,whom I had not met. He told me he could not fix my car.When I asked why that spot would not have been taken care of prior to sale he said would never pay to have body work done on a used car even if it was a 40K car.I told him I wanted a real solution, not just a paint touch up which I could have done myself.He presented an option to have the interior and exterior door sanded to get the rust off then touch up the paint and reseal those areas.I thought that sounded fine, except that was not what happened.He drove my car out of sight, and then called me over to look at it no more than 5 min later.The exterior rust was not even touched. He lied to me.It was not sanded or taken care of as he said it would.I asked him why and he said they couldn't sand or fix that spot, as you would be able to tell where it was sanded and it needed more work than what they could offer.He had no other solutions for that rust spot, which was my main concern.He told me to wait 15 min for the inside of the door to dry, & leave.He then left me on the lot to wait.After the 2 ½ hrs, I felt like I had been given the run around, disrespected and lied to by the used car manager.He said he would do one thing and didn't follow through and hoped I would not notice.By offering ½ done work is was clear he just wanted me to leave.I left feeling taken advantage of and unvalued as a customer of their business.

Desired Settlement: I thought my original suggestion was fair, some assistance towards getting the door repaired. In no way did I expect them to pay for the entire thing, and I told them that. This was a spot that should have been repaired proir to sale. I am open to negotiation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/25) */ I was able to contact ************ on Saturday August 23rd to discuss her concerns about the rust and paint bubbling on her used 2010 Jeep Patriot. i explained to ***** that we price our used cars based on the condition of the vehicle (including flaws) and current market conditions. Although we do recondition our used cars, we do not attempt to make them in like new condition particularly for cosmetic issues. However, we realize that even though customer's have every opportunity to look over the vehicle at time of purchase they can't always see everything at the time of sale. Since we wish all of our customer's to have an exceptional buying experience, we were able to work out a satisfactory resolution for both parties. Morrie's Minnetonka Ford will cover 1/2 the cost of the paint repairs and ***** can take the vehicle to the repair facility of her choice.

5/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told when I purchased a used vehicle that it had never been in an accident, it is now badly rusting and paint and bodywork is peeling off. On 8/23/13 I purchased an Infiniti G37XS from Morries. I was told that the car had never been in an accident and that the car was thoroughly inspected before purchase. Approx 2 weeks after buying the car, I noticed that there was a rust bubble coming up from under paint on the driver's side rear quarter panel. I immediately brought it back and spoke with multiple managers and the salesperson who sold it to me. They told me that they would do nothing for me and that it wasn't because of a prior accident but that car was just rusting. The rust has now continued to get worse so I have contacted them multiple times and spoken with multiple managers, and they keep telling me that they will do nothing about it. One manager condescendingly asked how old the car was and when I told him that it was five years old, he stated that rust was normal on that age of a car. I have since brought the car into two separate body shops and also an Infiniti dealer. All three of them have told me that the car was in an accident and that there are clearly visible signs that poor bodywork was done and if Morries had inspected the car in anyway they would have noticed this. All of them have stated that either the car dealer did a quick fix to sell the car, or that it was very poorly inspected, if at all All three have advised me to take the car back to the dealer.

Desired Settlement: I would either like a credit to purchase a car of the same price that I paid from Morries, or a refund of the purchase price. I would also be satisfied if they fixed the body damage as long as they warrantied the work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/25) */ In researching the gx37 purchased by Mr ******** on August 26th, 2013. At the time of purchase, we pulled an AutoCheck report which found no evidence that the vehicle was involved in an accident. I pulled another AutoCheck today and the report continues to indicate NO accidents reported. I would be happy to share this report with Mr. ********. It is our policy to properly inspect all of our Buy Happy used cars. Each car goes through a thorough mechanical inspection prior to delivery. In fact, on our Buy Happy cars, we offer to cover brakes, batteries, bulbs, and tires for six months or six thousand miles from date of purchase. We make no such claims for rust protection. However, every manufacturer warrants their cars for rust protection. Infinity has a 7 year unlimited mile coverage for rust perforation. Although we are not responible for any rust issues Mr. ******** is experiencing, we would like to try and make sure he is satisfied with his purchase. If he would like to bring his vehicle in, we would be happy to take a look at his vehicle and will make him an offer to trade out of his current car and into another vehicle.

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We returned a truck, per our contract rights, and Morrie's is not providing a full refund. They are refusing to refund $1099.57. We spoke with a salesman named *********** about purchasing a F350 Super Duty. A woman from Morrie's then called to give me the final numbers for the purchase price on the truck, and asked me if I wanted to add accessories. I said I was going to have the bedliner and cover installed later elsewhere because Morrie's price was too expensive. Then ***** in the accessories department called me and pushed to have Morrie's do the install. He cut the price down by roughly a third ($1475 intially and then dropped it to $1000)if I would have them installed there. I agreed to that price. At no point whatsoever was I informed by ***, the woman that called, or ***** or anyone else at Morrie's that this was non-refundable if I were to return the truck, as allowed for in their policy. I picked up the truck the evening of 3/26/14 and completed the transaction, as *** represented to us that he had driven the truck and it "rides like a dream". I made the mistake of trusting him and took him at his word, and completed the transaction without having driven the truck myself. I brought a preprinted check for the value of the truck, and charged the liner and torneau cover to my credit card ($1099.57 with tax). When driving the truck home, I noticed that the truck was pulling hard to the left and felt unstable when hitting potholes. I immediately reported the problem to the salesman, ***, the next morning, 3/27/14. *** came and picked up the truck that morning and brought it back to the dealership for evaluation. He called at 5:00 p.m. and said that the truck rode fine and there was nothing to fix on the truck. He did not offer to give us a new truck, he did not offer to fix the existing truck - they gave us no option but to return the truck. In the purchase contract there is a "no questions asked" 7 day period for returning the truck, so we exercised our right to do so since Morrie's was not giving us any options other than taking the truck "as is". Morrie's returned the check but refuses to refund our credit card the $1099.57 for the bedliner and the torneau cover. First of all, at no time whatsoever did *** or anyone else at Morrie's tell us that the bedliner and cover were non-refundable charges. They pushed us to add these accessories and now are sticking us with a charge on them. When we told *** that we were returning the truck, he said it was our right to do so. At no time whatsoever did he indicate that we would not receive a full refund. Secondly, the torneau cover is removable so there is no reason whatsoever to not refund the cost of the cover. Thirdly, anyone who buys a full size truck is going to need a bedliner - period. This is a dealership with a large inventory of trucks and cars and there is no reason whatsoever that they can't sell the truck with the bedliner in it. Morrie's needs to do the ethical and right thing and refund our $1099.57.

Desired Settlement: Refund our credit card $1099.57.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ The customer did purcchase an f350 from us as indicated and agreed to install the tonneau cover and spray in liner which he paid for seperately. When he reported the problem with the truck pulling to to left, we picked the vehicle up from the customer and left him with a vehicle to drive. Our initial diaganosis was that everything was within specs and truck was riding fine. Customer did not agree and decided to return the truck. At this time, we contacted the customer and told him we would re-look at the concern. We test drove the vehicle and were able to confirm customer's concern. We immediately had another technician look at the problem. Technician identified that alignment was within tolerance but was on high side of tolerance outside and low side of tolerance on inside causing the vehicle to pull to the left. Vehicle was adjusted to move tolerance to middle of each side. We then had multiple personnel test drive the vehicle and determined it to be working properly. At this time, we called the customer and confirmed vehicle was performing properly. He indicated that he still wished to return the vehicle. At this time, we made it clear to the customer, that he could continue to return the vehicle for a full refund but the customization that was done had to stay on the vehicle and is not refundable. Customer became irrate and irrational and any dialouge after this point was meaningless. We then sent our salesman to pick up the courtesy loaner car and return the customer's check. The customer accepted the returned but refused to return his courtesy vehicle. At this time, the customer began yelling at our salesmen, ripped the key to the courtesy vehilce out our salesman hand and told him to get off of his property. The customer kept the car! We then had to get our salesman a ride back to the dealership. After this we continued to try and work out a resolution through a third party (customer's Brother). We offered to refund him 1/2 of the customization work if he returned the car. I then made the same offer directly to the customer. He told me he would not return the car, called me a few unpleasant names and asked to speak with my boss. I promptly transferred him and he a brief discussion with our General Manager. The customer again was yelling and using foul language. The General Manager ended the call. The next day i called the customer and offered 50% refund if he returned the car by the end of day. For the second time customer refused the offer and did not return the courtesy car. At this point we got the Minnetonka Police and Lakeville police involved. The minnetonka officer called the customer and confirmed we would be picking the courtesy car up. As a result of the customer's harsh treatment of our salesperson, we then had to send two drivers and coordinate with Lakeville police department to pick up the courtesy vehicle. At this point, we feel we made several attempts to resolve the issue but customer was unwilling to work with us. As a result of customer's unwillingness to work out a compromise, his poor treatment of our employee and his unwillingness to return our vehicle, we are no longer willing to refund any of the custom work done to the truck. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from Morries Minnetonka Ford is filled with false and misleading statements. I will restate the truthful facts that have transpired: (1) ***, a Morries salesman picked up the truck and drove it from their Buffalo location to the Minnetonka location on Monday, March 24th. *** reported that the truck drove pristine. (2) A woman from Morries called providing me the total for the truck and asked if I would like to add accessories. I told her I may be interested but would add them later. I later received a call from ***** at Morries offering special pricing for the accessories. At NO time was I told that these were non-refundable. At no time did Morries ask for payment on the front end. The purchase was part of purchasing the truck. This is the ultimate counterpoint to their claim. If I never purchased the truck, they would have never collected on the accessories. Their claim that these accessories are nonrefundable - but the truck purchase is refundable - has no merit, since if I would have decided against purchasing the truck, I would have paid nothing. I never signed any separate agreement for the accessories outside of the truck purchase. (3) I picked up the truck late on Wednesday, March 26 as they needed time to install the accessories. I paid for the truck with a check and I paid for the accessories with a credit card. I requested to use my credit card where I could for the purchase to accumulate miles. (4) I left my 2012 Ford Expedition that was under lease and which was paid through March 31 with the dealership. If I decided to keep the truck, Morries would turn over my leased vehicle to Ford. (5) I drove the truck home and noticed that the truck pulled severely to the left. The wheel had to be held tightly and constantly to the right to keep the truck in the proper lane. There is absolutely no way anyone could drive this truck and not notice this issue. It was truly unsafe. (6) The next morning, Thursday, March 27, I called ***, the same salesman that drove the truck originally, and informed him of the problem. *** picked up the truck and Morries voluntarily left a car for my use while the truck was being evaluated. Roughly four hours later, I received a phone call from *** stating that the truck drove straight as an arrow all the way back to Morries and the technicians found nothing wrong with it. There was absolutely no way that could be the case. The truck had an issue, plain and simple, which they magically found later in the story. I told *** that this is roughly a $60K truck and I was not going to debate this issue. They either needed to get me a replacement truck or refund my money for the truck and accessories. *** stated there would be no problem on a total refund. At no time did *** offer to put me into another vehicle and attempt to work with me in any manner whatsoever. At this point, I had no vehicle as Morries was holding my leased truck which was paid through March 31 by me. (7) I called *** on Friday morning, March 27. I reiterated that he needed to bring back my check and the proof of the credit on the credit card. He acknowledged this. I was NEVER told prior to *** showing up at my place of business that I would not be receiving a refund on the accessories. When *** arrived, he handed me my check back and I asked him for the credit. He then notified me that Morries is unwilling to provide credit for the accessories. Their version is an outright lie. *** stated that this was not his decision and gave me the card of his supervisor, the sales manager (***). I then called *** and he confirmed that the technicians said there was no problem with the truck and that they would not be crediting my card for the accessories. Morries willingly and knowingly put the accessories on a defective vehicle. I told him to bring the truck to me and we will go for a ride together. *** refused. (8) After ending the phone call, I further realized that they had not brought back my Ford Expedition, which I have already paid for through March 31. This could have provided the much needed transportation for my family until I found another vehicle. When I asked what I was supposed to drive now, *** responded that it was not his problem. I then reiterated that he needed to get off my property. He asked for the key for the loaner vehicle and I told him he was not going to get it until I got my assets returned to me. He then removed the dealer plate from the loaner vehicle to ensure I could not drive it and left the premises. Their claim that I ripped the key from the salesman's hand is pure hogwash and is a flagrant attempt to add false drama into the situation. I had the key throughout ***'s visit. Why would I hand it to him and then rip it from his hand? Nice try, but their attempt to lie about such a trivial matter further shows their true colors. (9) Later that day, the Finance Manager, ******, calls me as though nothing is wrong and I explain the issue to him. He is very helpful and states that he will get the General Manager involved. I never receive a call from him. I also left a message with Morries corporate offices and they do not return my call. (10) I do get a call back from *** later in the day stating that they have good news, as they found the problem with the truck. This is over a full day after I was given back my check. I had no vehicle and I had already committed to obtaining another vehicle. When I stated that I could not repurchase the truck since I had committed to another vehicle, he stated that we were back to the same point where they would not be providing a refund for the accessories. I then requested to talk to the General Manager. I was transferred to ****, who stated that he drove the vehicle earlier in the morning and there was never anything wrong with it. I was very confused, as *** just informed me that they did find the problem. In the BBB complaint, they acknowledge in writing that there was a problem, despite all their false claims verbally to the contrary by numerous people. I again asked him for the refund on the accessories and he stated that I own the truck; therefore, I own the accessories. Being that they gave me back my check for the truck a day earlier, I informed **** that they owned the truck and, therefore, they are the owners of the accessories. I also told **** he was a liar since *** just told me there was an issue with the truck. He became upset that I stated he was lying (although that was clearly the case as they acknowledged in writing to the BBB) and hung up on me. As you can see, their claim that they told me they found the issue with the truck prior to coming down to my place of business and returning my check is an outright lie. (11) Later that evening my brother, who has worked in Ford dealerships for many years (not Morries thankfully), calls *** at Morries in an effort to help resolve the situation. *** supposedly offers to refund the tonneau cover ($563.19) if I return the loaner vehicle. I tell my brother that I cannot agree to that deal. Regardless, they need to pick up their own vehicle since, (a) I can't drive the vehicle since there is no plate on it as they took the dealer plate, and (b) I'm in a dispute with these people and the last thing I want to do is touch their loaner car. (12) Their claims that they called me the next day (Saturday), is yet another lie. I was the one who called *** to inform him that if he did not have their vehicle off our lot by the end of day Monday, I was going to have it impounded. *** told me I needed to return the vehicle to them by the end of the day. I told him that was not possible since not only did they take the plate, but I was not going to operate their vehicle when we were in a dispute. After that phone call, we contacted Lakeville police and met with them at our place of business to inform them of the situation. The police also verified that there was no plate or identification that would allow me to legally operate the vehicle on public streets. I should be surprised that Morries wants people to blatantly break the law, but, then again, that is exactly what their ethics have shown. (13) On Monday, March 31, we received a phone call from the Minnetonka police inquiring about the loaner vehicle. We told him it was on our lot and that Morries needed to come and get it, which they did. At no time did we restrict their access to the vehicle in any way. They were free to come and get it at any time with a second key. (14) Morries has the truck, the bedliner and the removal tonneau cover all in their possession, and has had these items in their possession from the time this dispute began. They have numerous dealerships, with hundreds of vehicles with countless options listed on the stickers. Behaving in this manner is truly indefensible, and shows an utter lack of business or common sense and ethics.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor repair job on my vehicle. The jos still isn't done. New Engine. I brought my vehicle to Morries in September or October to have the cylinder head replace and they did that. ($3,400 est.)a few months go by and my veh. is stalling when i stop at intersections, stoplights etc. I bring it back to morries at the end of January and they tell my that its a new problem right below my cylinder head and they wouldn't have caught it and this new reapair is going to be needed to fix the combustion in the engine. I agree to the services and pick the veh. up on 2/6/14. the next day the veh. is stalling. I bring the car back to Morris on 2/10/14 and they run more test and tell me it needs a new engine. I can't believe that they wouldn't notice this on the first round of repairs.

Desired Settlement: I would like morries to pay for the cost of a new engine due to the fact i was under the impression it was fixed in September and October and drove it to chicago and back and madison on the belief that it was repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/19) */ On 09/23/2013 ***** ***** brought his 2010 Ford Escape into Morries Ford Lincoln for the first time with 126,491 miles on the odometer. Prior to having Morrie's Ford perform the work on replacing the cylinder head, it was diagnosed and checked at ************ as well. Morries also performed the diagnostic to confirm what codes were in the system at the time and that the cylinder head needed replacement as ************ also did. Technician's findings were codes P0301, with the pin point test we found low compression and miss fire on cylinder number one. ************ stated that one spring in the cylinder head had broken and also confirmed by Morries Ford. After all diagnostics completed and cylinder head installed, vehicle was completed and picked up on 09/27/13. On 01/27/2014 with 132,035 miles on his Escape, Mr. ***** brought his Escape in for two different concerns. The first concern is his vehicle would stall out and then still restart; the second concern was that there is an oil leak from the engine area. After performing the diagnostic and pinpoint test for the first concern, we did have code P0341 that was stored in the PCM. This was related to a bad Cam Sensor that needed replacement and was authorized to be fixed. The oil leak was caused by a plugged PCV housing unit; this was replaced and oil leak was not present anymore. ***** did return with the vehicle after having this fixed and driven a short time. At this time we did all the necessary base engine checks and found there was excessive blow by entering the intake and causing vehicle to stall. Having the PCV housing unit failing on 01/27/2014 is causing this issue to still be present. At this time it is recommend that a used or new motor is replaced to prevent the stalling out concern. Morries has been very fair and respectful in trying to help the customer with these issues and also looking into at other options. Morries has offered to help out significantly with the repair cost of a used or new engine. Customer was also offered the possibility of trading his Escape and going into a new vehicle, we have not heard back at this time. We do not feel that Morries is responsible for any of these repairs that are needed, but would just like to help out as good faith. Sincerely, *** ******, Service Director Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If the engine couldnt have been repaired then they should have told me when Morries gave it back to me after spending nearly $750. Mr. ****** said so in his text "...Having the PCV housing unit failing on 01/27/2014 is causing this issue to still be present." even though that is why i spent $750 to have Morries repair my engine. One of the service techs even said we should have noticed it when the escape was brought in on 9/23/13. I feel these repairs we not made in good faith and but to make an easy buck.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Morrie's Minnetonka Ford/Lincoln
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart