BBB Accredited Business since

Miller Auto Plaza

Phone: (320) 251-8900 Fax: (320) 529-4194 View Additional Phone Numbers 2930 2nd St S, Saint Cloud, MN 56301 http://www.millerautoplaza.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Miller Auto Plaza meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Miller Auto Plaza include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Miller Auto Plaza
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 2001 Business started: 10/15/1979 Business started locally: 10/15/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chance Haakonson, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Chance Haakonson, CFO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Boat Dealers Boat Equipment & Supplies Motorcycles - Dealers Trailers - Boat Boat Repair

Alternate Business Names
Miller All Line Leasing Inc. Miller Auto Marine Sports Plaza
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Miller Auto Plaza, this company offers auto dealership, sales and service of new and used cars, marine and power sports.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 2930 2nd St S

    Saint Cloud, MN 56301 (800) 337-1363 (320) 251-8900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Miller Auto pressured me into purchasing a vehicle I did not want by lying about its features and now refuses to offer a reasonable resolution. On or about October 14, 2015, I contacted Miller about my need for a three-row SUV. I informed Miller that I have a one-year old and am concerned about safety and would prefer a vehicle with all wheel drive (AWD). I was expressly informed by Miller that they have a Dodge Journey with three-rows and AWD for "a good price." I told the agent that it is difficult for me to travel from Minneapolis to St. Cloud after work with my one-year old, so I wanted to be certain that the car met my specifications and he assured me it did. After the nearly 70-mile drive, I arrived at Miller around 7 pm. The Journey they had did not have three rows; nevertheless, the agent persisted for an inordinate amount of time in telling me about how the Journey had extra space and could accommodate my needs. He continued to push me to buy the Journey, indicated that it was very safe, had just been serviced and would come with a full tank of gas. Ultimately, I was pressured/deceived into buying the Journey that evening. Finally, after being talked into buying an additional warranty (twice I unequivocally said I did not want a warranty and asked the agent to leave the room because I felt so much pressure), I got the one key (Miller "forgot" that they did not have a second key) and got in the Journey to head home. I immediately noticed that the gas tank was nearly empty and had to knock on the doors (Miller had closed at this point) to get a manager to fill the tank. After a few weeks of driving I noticed that the Journey skidded on slippery or snow-covered surfaces. I then pulled out the contract and realized it was a FWD and not AWD. Additionally, a few weeks later the oil change light went on and I brought it in for an oil change. Apparently, Miller had not fully serviced the Journey. I had to purchase an oil change and learned that the air filter was completely corroded. I tried to do an exchange with Miller for a different vehicle but they completely refused. In fact, they had the audacity to offer to buy back my vehicle for nearly $3,000 less than I paid only a few weeks earlier. I tried to reason with them, but they kept calling me a liar and refused to negotiate.

Desired Settlement: I simply want to trade the vehicle in at a fair price (close to what I paid 6 weeks ago) and purchase a new vehicle from them or another dealer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/28) */ In response to Consumer's complaint, please note the following: Our dealership has had several communications on this matter; however, very little with Consumer - the majority of conversations have been with Consumer's spouse. Deal was consummated with Consumer's spouse. We have email correspondence from Consumer's spouse, further corroborated by conversations with our staff, that Consumer's spouse knew that the vehicle had no third row before she arrived at our dealership. In addition, we have similar correspondence from Consumer's spouse that she knew that the vehicle was FWD, not AWD, before she purchased the vehicle. Consumer's spouse was offered $19,000 as a trade for a vehicle in which they paid $20,750, a difference of $1,750 (not $3,000 as stated in complaint). We have offered to refund Consumer's spouse for any service bills they have incurred related to an oil change, air filter and cutting of a second key. We sell around 300 vehicles per month, and our complaint record is evidence to show that we do all we can to keep customers happy (This includes cases of Buyer's Remorse, such as this). We have tried to negotiate a deal that is fair to both sides; however, we unfortunately have not been able to do so in this case. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As with their prior correspondence, Miller's response to the pending BBB complaint fails to address the main issues and is filled with misrepresentations and completely irrelevant points. Miller's response consists of 5 total paragraphs and I will address each one below. In their first paragraph, Miller takes issue with the irrelevant fact that my husband submitted the BBB complaint on my behalf. While Miller states that they "had very little communications with" him, that is only because Miller refused to respond to his voice mails and emails. He is a financial services attorney who wanted to help resolve the issue, but Miller refused to return his calls. Again, this issue is ultimately irrelevant and shouldn't have even been raised by Miller. In response to their second paragraph, as I stated before, I was told that the vehicle had a third row before I left Minneapolis on the 70 mile trip to St. Cloud. At some point I received a call stating it did not have a third row, but I finished the drive to see if there was any other options. Upon my arrival, Miller applied consistent pressure to purchase the Journey, including misrepresenting that it had just been serviced, was very safe, and could accommodate my space needs despite the fact it lacked what they had initially promised in a third row. My initial point remains that Miller promised something and didn't deliver on that promise. If they didn't even service the vehicle or put oil or gas in it, how am I supposed to be satisfied as the customer that this car will last? It had less than 20k miles, so I had hoped to have it for at least 5 years, but after uncovering all of these deficiencies, I have no confidence in the vehicle and demand an exchange. Miller's actions constitute deceptive business practices and their lies and accusations are undeserved. In their third paragraph, Miller wrongly attempts to discredit my calculation that I would be taking a nearly $3,000 loss under their proposed resolution. Miller admits in their response that I would incur a $1,750 loss, however that figure must be supplemented with the accompanying tax, title and license fees, which bring the total to nearly $3,000 loss after only owning the vehicle for less than two months. I have explained this to Miller on numerous occasions but they continue to throw insults at me while they misrepresent the loss. Again, this issue highlights their misrepresenting the truth--or at the very least--not trying to find common ground. In their fourth paragraph, Miller asserts that they have "offered to refund any service bills incurred," but this is yet another example of Miller misrepresenting the truth. I have informed them on numerous occasions of the costs associated with their failure to service the vehicle and they have made no effort to pay these costs. In their fifth and final paragraph, Miller attempts to support their credibility by stating that they "sell around 300 vehicles per month," and that that somehow justifies their wrongful actions in this case and calls my credibility into question. However, the number of vehicles they sell per month is completely unrelated to my specific circumstances. Certainly Miller is aware that any such information would be completely irrelevant if this were to continue to litigation (under the Rules of Evidence). Also, Miller's false accusations that I have "buyer's remorse" are but another example of the way in which they have mistreated me. Instead of trying to reach a fair resolution, they insult me with disrespectful and accusatory statements. I do not have buyer's remorse. I have a complete lack of trust in the product I purchased based on deficiencies I uncovered after making the purchase and based on the way in which they have treated me throughout the process. In sum, this is a case where Miller continuously made false promises about the qualities and characteristics of the vehicle (e.g. oil change, second key, tank of gas, air filter, third row, front wheel drive, good gas mileage, etc.) in order to influence me to make the purchase. I did not know that the Journey existed before the day I mistakenly drove out to St. Cloud and was pressured into buying it. Miller cannot deny that their only effort at resolution is for me to take a nearly $3,000 loss for less than 2 months of owning the vehicle. This is unacceptable and does not resolve my claim. It should be noted as well that while Miller boasts of trying to help me resolve the claim, we brought the Journey to another local dealer who offered the same amount for the trade-in. So how can Miller say they are trying their best to resolve this when a neutral party that is not at fault is offering the same terms? Clearly, Miller thinks they do not have to negotiate any terms and should just impose a huge loss on me and my family. I am still hopeful you can assist in this regard.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've ordered a new van, promised 2 weeks, it's now 4 weeks and still haven't received the van. I ordered a Nissan NV Cargo van on 9/30/14 from salesperson ************** at Miller Auto in St. Cloud, MN for delivery in 2 weeks. I put $1000.00 down with financing the rest of the balance. I also ordered it to be custom fitted with some racks/boxes which would make it usable for an HVAC company vehicle. I was told these would be complete by Miller Auto's service department and I would still have the vehicle in 2 weeks. On 10/13/14 I emailed *** asking what the ETA would be on the van. He emailed back stating that all parts are due in Wednesday and they can have them installed and we can get the van on Friday. Thursday I emailed *** again to check on the van and when on Friday I would be able to come up and get it, he responded that all parts came in& I'd be able to pick it up sometime Friday. Didn't hear anything from him, so I called him at 3pm & he stated that they weren't going to get it done. He stated he got someone to come in on Saturday to finish van up & I could pick it up at 3pm Saturday. At 5:45pm Friday, he emailed me that they are missing parts & would not be able to get them until Monday morning from North Central Truck Equipment. I did not hear from him Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday so I sent *** an email & never got a reply so I then called and was given the voice mail of the General manager and got no response. I called again and was told by a lady that I would receive a call back later today. After 2 hours I called back and was told by the GM's assistant that I would be getting a call from her or the GM - ******. As of 2:30pm on Wednesday 10/22/14 I still haven't heard back from anyone nor have I received the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Refund or the van delivered today


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Miller Auto Plaza
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)