This business is not BBB accredited.

Mike Motors Chevrolet Buick

Phone: (218) 365-6156 Fax: (218) 365-5340 View Additional Phone Numbers 908 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


According to the information provided by Mike Motors, this company offers new and used vehicles including medium duty, full service and body shop.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike Motors Chevrolet Buick
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2003 Business started: 02/06/1979 Business started locally: 02/06/1979 Business incorporated 02/27/2009 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity


Business Management
Donald Hilligoss II, President
Contact Information
Principal: Donald Hilligoss II, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tires - Commercial Sales & Service Auto Air Conditioning Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Warranty Service Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services - Oil & Lube

Alternate Business Names
Mike Motors of Minnesota, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Glass Information Auto Repair and Services Auto Service Contract - Extended Warranties Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations


    908 E Sheridan St

    Ely, MN 55731 (800) 569-4186


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was scheduled for a installation of a remote start and never was installed. I ordered and scheduled remote start equipment to be installed on December 17th 2015. On the morning of the install I called Mike motors to ask when they wanted my vehicle to be brought in ( because they did not specify a actual time) I was informed that they only had one tech working so they would like to have it in the afternoon but he had to check with his tech to see if he knew how to install it, I then told him to call me when he found out. Hours went buy and they were getting close to closing so I called him back and asked "what is going on"? He said he forgot all about it! He told me to bring it in again the next day, I said it will get done first thing? He said yes. So I arranged to be without my vehicle and brought it to them when they opened on December 18th.I was told it would take 1 1/2 hours to install. I waited 6 hours for them to call me and they didn't . Thinking they lost my phone number I called them back only to be told they did not even start the job and asked if I'd like to re- schedule. I was furious because this sort of thing seems to ALWAYS happen to me when I deal with mike motors. I kept my composure And went to Mike motors to retrieve my vehicle. I walked in and told them I want my vehicle, to which they told me it was in there garage with another vehicle blocking it in. I asked how long? After a few minutes they got it out and I went on my way. The reason why am filing this complaint is the put their service in the spotlight so everybody knows how I got treated. My family and I bought more vehicles from Mike motors than I can count and this is just appalling. I will not be returning.

Desired Settlement: all I would like is an apology from the Business owner of Mike motors. Only from the owner will I except, that way he knows how his dealership treats people.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/22) */ ******, First of all I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention. My staff should and will fulfill commitments; in your case returning a phone call promptly or getting a accessory installed in a timely manner. Al said he reached out to you Monday about getting the accessory you ordered installed but no one called back. I apologize for this inconvenience if you still want this part please call Al he will take care of this promptly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike Motors Chevrolet Buick
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)