BBB Accredited Business since

Merit Chevrolet Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (651) 739-4400 Fax: (651) 702-9230 I-94 and Century Ave, Maplewood, MN 55119 http://www.meritchev.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Merit Chevrolet Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Merit Chevrolet Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Merit Chevrolet Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1976 Business started: 12/01/1949 Business started locally: 12/01/1949 Business incorporated 12/01/1949 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chris Rinkel, General Manager Bruce Rinkel, President Terri Sanford
Contact Information
Principal: Chris Rinkel, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Merit Chevrolet, this company offers sales, service, and parts for new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 2695 Brookview Dr E

    Maplewood, MN 55119 (651) 739-4400

  • I-94 and Century Ave

    Maplewood, MN 55119

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not satisfied with how a recent service issue was handled. I purchased a 2010 Impala LT from Merit in October of 2011. I have had the vehicle only serviced by Merit since purchase. In April of 2015, I brought the vehicle in for a scheduled oil change. When the service was complete, I was advised that I should have a service tech look at it further as there seemed to be oil seepage going somewhere. I was informed after the service that some "trainees had performed the oil change and that no tech was on duty. I was not informed prior to the service that it would not be a qualified tech performing the service. I brought the vehicle back a few days later and after a couple hours of checking they advised that to repair/replace upper and lower gaskets would be $2400.00. I was shocked when told this. It also seemed odd that this repair was just now noticed shortly after my warranty had expired. It really left a bad taste in my mouth about Merit and will be very hesitant to ever go back there again. I very much felt I was being taken advantage of. I can't help but wonder if the "trainees" really knew what they were doing and if they were not being supervised they may have caused the problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the money it cost me to have the diagnosis done by Merit.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/09/28) */ Received voicemail from ***********, indicating that dealership is now actively working with her to address her concerns. BBB will close complaint at this time, but Ms ***** can contact BBB to have case re-opened if necessary.

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY car was towed to this dealership because of location and my vehicle was hit by another insured party. Month and days later car returned unsafe. On 4-19-2014 my vehicle was towed to this location on 5-02-2014 where it set a month to be repaired from another insured party hitting and leaving severely rear and side OVER tire damamaged.1st complaint was I asked before my car was started to be able to take pictures of the under case for any damamge before repairs, that was not honored. I received my first call when third party from other insured party who hit my car complained who is ******** Inc. in Roseville why my car was not finished and they told me Merit Cheve.Ms *** that the first box of parts were broken and they were waiting on new parts.I asked why I didn't get that call to take pictures no real answer. I get a call from Merit Chev. on Tuesday June 3rd that my car was finish and I was out of state upon return picked up car on June 10th and my car was unsafe with major shacking issues,I immediately returned after payment and Ms. *** saying bring back if any issues,25 min after driving less then a mile due to car making a knocking noise and shacking. Next day June 11th Merit Chev. called me and said pick up car and my car shuck because it set outside and my rear brakes and rotors had rusted out and needed repair.I came to merit Chev, with my own Mechanic and after he drove the car asked about some repairs due to the area of damange and none of these parts or labor was preformed for example a spindled ,or suspension in tire where we can hear and feel not corrected. On June 12th I am told I need to pay additional money for brakes and rotors before more work could be done to make care safe. I ask if this is what needs to be done then before my car was put back together because I have pictures and right rear tire was bent outwards from other insured party and any tire issue should have been address to me at that time not after some issues and not all. I also called Attorney General and main concern is SAFE. this car is not safe and Merit Chev,says to me pay us more money out of your pocket and then we will fix the brakes and rotors and then if your car still runs Poorly then we will fix something else but,we Merit Chev. will not touch or continue to fix anything else and the body looks good but, it is unsafe to drive on road. My complaint now is why was I not given a call due to brakes and rotors if needed to complete a good repair that was not my fault and is being repaired by law from another insured party who was responsible for the other damange and tire is serious. MY car also goes in door garage. rusted rotor and brakes is reason for no more work now to make car safe.!really

Desired Settlement: My car to run safely for me a single mother of two sick children to continue to get to many jobs to continue to take care of my family due to someone hitting my car while I was at work at that time. I have been beat out of money and car repairs due to me being a female with little knowledge my car is being not repaired properly.I will be left to lose employment and be homeless with my children because I need my car to be like it was before being hit. my car repairs was 5000.00 and above and need it corrected. Please and Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/19) */ Ms ********** vehicle was in a collision on 4/19/04. It was towed to our facility on 5/2/14. An estimate of repairs was supplied for us by the liable insurance company which is ********************. Upon the vehicle arrival, we took 4 corner photos and 2 photos of the point of impact. The car was hit on the right rear, behind and just above the wheel. There was no damage to the tire or wheel, but the quarter panel required replacement and because of the area of impact, an inspection of the suspension was done and a 4 wheel alignment performed. The length of the repair was due to the quarter panel being a discontinued part. We were able to get a replacement, but it took several days and then the part arrived with severe damage and we weren't able to use it. We received a different replacement part on 5/19/14 and began repairs. I spoke with ***** when I learned of the parts delay, and I also spoke with ******* from ********************. I then e-mailed the insurance company a photo of the damaged part that was received in order to support the extended time in which the car was in the shop. We completed the body repairs and then had the car checked for suspension damage, of which there was none, and had a 4 wheel alignment performed. The tire and wheel on the right rear were not impacted and neither part required replacement. ***** was contacted that her car was completed on 6/2/14. We left her a voice mail message. The following day, she contacted us and said she was out of town and would pick up her car when she returned. ***** picked up the car at the end of the body shop business day on 6/10/14. She returned shortly after stating that her car was shaking and needed to be rechecked. On 6/11/14 her car was driven and re-inspected. The technician stated that the car drove fine, and went down the road straight, but that when her brakes were applied there was a shake in the rear. We brought the car back in the shop, inspected for any other possible damage related to the insurance claim and also looked at the condition of the brakes. Both of the rear rotors are heavily rust pitted and warped. When I contacted ***** with the information about her brakes, she was unhappy and disagreed with our diagnosis. She returned with a mechanic friend, ***, again at the end of the body shop business day, who looked at the brakes and agreed that the rotors were in fact in bad shape. He also took the car for a road test and when he returned he agreed that the shaking was likely from the brakes, but had some questions regarding some of the rear suspension parts that he thought may be of concern. I told ***** and *** that the Service Manager would be happy to contact one or both of them the next day to talk about the car, and also asked if *** would be available to come down earlier in the day to inspect the car with the Service Manager and the technician. He said he would be available to do that, and ***** wanted us to just deal with him. We brought the car in again the next day 6/12/14, our Service Manager contacted *** to talk about the car. He agreed that the car needed brakes and after discussing repairs with our Service Manager he didn't feel he needed to come back and re-inspect the car. The condition of *****'s brakes is not from the loss, and ******************** will not pay for a repair that is considered a wear item or maintenance. The car however, will continue to shake until the brake issue is dealt with. Merit recommends the rear brake rotors and pads be replaced.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Merit Chevrolet Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)