BBB Accredited Business since

Luther White Bear Acura Subaru

Phone: (651) 481-7000 Fax: (651) 251-0451 View Additional Phone Numbers 3525 Highway 61 N, Saint Paul, MN 55110 http://www.whitebearacurasubaru.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Luther White Bear Acura Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Luther White Bear Acura Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Luther White Bear Acura Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 1989 Business started: 09/02/1988 Business started locally: 09/02/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dan Moen, General Manager Chris Boehlke, Service Manager David Luther, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dan Moen, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Acura Subaru of White Bear White Bear Acura & Subaru
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Luther White Bear Acura Subaru, this company offers new and used vehicle sales, service, and parts.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Luther White Bear Acura Subaru has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3525 Highway 61 N

    Saint Paul, MN 55110 (651) 481-7000 (651) 481-0230 (651) 621-1122

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of that dealership for over 10 years. I received delivery of the 2015 Acura RDX march 21 2015. Over the summer I had a couple of foul balls hit it and I was not happy with the way the car looked. It was going to cost me around $500 out of pocket so on Thursday March 24th 2016 I took it to **** Auto in Bloomington. The dents were looked at then what was found was a pre-existing problem with the roof. It was riddled with hail damage. I park my car in the garage at home and at work and not once did I drive in a hail storm. Funny thing about the findings is that the hood had been repaired but not the roof. $5,000 worth of damage and I carry a $1000 deductible. I took it to the dealership(White Bear Acura Subaru) to show them the damage. They reply to me "when was the hail?" Then have their guys look at the car and give me conflicting reports about my car. I lease so I will be stuck with the damage on the back end of lease. I don't trust them to fix a thing any longer and will not allow them to do anything. After 4 leases and being the best repeat customer....Meaning I never test drove or even went over a car with a fine toothed comb because the cars are new. You assume as it's a new car that it's perfect when you drive it off the lot. Had I not taken it to **** auto to be repaired for the dents that I acquired I would have never known this issue. I am not trying to pocket anything. I just want my deductible paid and I want to take it to a body shop that I feel comfortable with. The sales manager is a super fast talker that got me so upset I couldn't even think straight and I couldn't even get a sentence in without him interrupting me. As for now I will have to have this taken care of and it will come out of my pocket. The dealership delivered the car to me like this except for the damage that I planned on having fixed. I will not ever go there again unless they take responsibility for this and pay my deductible.

Desired Settlement: My deductible is $1000 so that's what I want.

Business Response:

When I met with the customer he said that someone at **** Auto Body in Bloomington had pointed out hail damage to the roof and right side of the car. There was no damage to the hood of the car. The **** employee explained this by saying that the hood had been repaired using paintless dent removal. The customer said that the damage must have happened while we had the car and that we had fixed the hood, but not the rest of the car. He wanted us to pay for the repairs.

I had the person at our dealership who does our paintless dent removal look at the hood and he said the hood had not been damaged, or repaired. He said that it was likely that the hail had affected the roof (the hail left numerous marks, but was shallow), but had not damaged the hood because the metal is thicker on the hood. He had seen this happen on other cars in the past. I then checked our records and found we had not done any repairs on that car. I also checked to see if the car had come to us from another dealership where the damage could have happened. The car had come directly to us from the factory. I then noted the we received the car in mid-January of 2015 and the customer picked it up in March of 2015. This is a time of year that we don't get hail in our climate.

Given all these factors, I told the customer that White Bear Acura is not responsible for the damage to his car.

Tim ****, Sales Manager ###-###-####

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charging us for parts that did not solve the problem to fixing our car and then refusing to refund our money. In the beginning of January 2014 we noticed that all the lights and the speedometer did not work in our car. The Check engine, ABS, and brake lights all came on. We have a 2004 Subaru Impreza. We took our car into Luther White Bear Acura Subaru dealership to take a look at the issue. Subaru charged us $412.18 to fix the issue. On their receipt dated 1/3/14, they stated that they checked the electrical connections and found moisture and plus it was frozen. They claimed they cleaned out the connectors and tested the speedometer and it was then working. They also stated that they checked the ABS and Brake lights and found poor connection and so repaired it. They also repaired blown light fuse. On the receipt they specifically stated that they "checked the harness and connectors for short circuits-found none". We went to pick up the car and drove it for about a week. The same issues came back on again. Lights and speedometer were not working and the check engine, ABS, and Brake lights coming back on again. SAME Issue. We brought the car back to Subaru again because the issue was not fixed. This time they charged us for a bad alternator. Spoke with **** who said in his professional opinion it was probably the alternator that is causing the problem and "by replacing it, it will fix the problem". We were charged $412.40 to fix the alternator on 1/21/14. We drove the car out of their parking lot that day ONLY to find the same issue again. No lights turned on. The speedometer was not working along with the check engine lights, ABS, and brake lights turning back on again! We turned back around and went right back to Subaru and explained to them that the problem was not solved. They refuse to pay us back our $412.40 stating that they will look further into the problem. This third time they said that it was the harness that was bad and wanted to charge us $3,000 to fix it! Their reason was that the bad alternator caused the harness to be bad and would not refund our $412.40. This is outrages because they stated in their FIRST receipt that all connectors and harness was fine. If the alternator caused the harness to go bad, then why didn't they find the issue from the beginning and instead charged us over $800 before saying it was the harness. Which apparently was fine when we first brought it in. We made a complaint to their customer service. On 2/3/14 spoke with *** in customer service about not being satisfied with the service. She said that she would check with service manager and get back to us. She then called and left a message on my cell phone stating that she spoke with the service manager and also feel that it was the alternator that caused the harness to be bad and that they had already done all they can for us by not charging us for extra labor that was put into our car. How can that be when their first receipt stated that there was nothing wrong with the harness? I believe they did not thoroughly diagnose the car from the beginning. Spoke with *** who called us on 2/3/14 to go pick up our car and he stated that we were charged because it is their "process of elimination" they use to find the issue. That is ridiculous! So how much are they going to charge us for every elimination that they "think" is the cause? The car was poorly diagnosed from the beginning. We already put over $800 into the car and we still have the same issues. Every time we bring it in, we get a different answer as to why the problem occurred. They did not fix the issue and we want our money back. That is all we are asking.

Desired Settlement: $825.24

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ On 12-31-13 the customer brought in their 2004 Subaru Impreza Wagon with a concern about the speedometer not working, and the ABS/Brake light being on. Also noted the lights front and back were not working. This is the first time the vehicle had been brought to our Service Department: however the Technician noted that the electrical system had been worked on previously. There were wires that were not taped, and routed inproperly. He also noted the Speed sensor had been replaced somewhere else. At this time we found a connection that had moisture inside both ends and had frozen. We cleaned up the connection and reistalled it. Using the Subaru scanner we were not able to communicate with the ABS / Brake Module. We found a bad connection at the module and cleaned and reconnected the ends. We found a blown fuse for the lights, and a bulb that was burned out. We replaced the bulb and the fuse. Checked the wire for a short and there was not a short present at that time. Test drove the vehicle and everything worked properly at that time. The vehicle had 161,462 miles on it. The Technician spent 3.2 hours working on this repair and we charged $412.84. On 1/15/2014 the customer returned with similar conditions. At this time the vehicle had 161,827 miles on it. We checked and the fuse for the lights was again blown. We replaced the fuse and the lights began working. Per Technical Assistance at Subaru we tested the alternator and found it was putting out a high amount of A/C current. We replaced the alternator and retested the output was good. Test drove the vehicle and everything worked as designed. the Technician spent 4.2 hours on this repair and the charge for the service was $412.40, the alternator was $337.39 of the total. The customer returned with the vehicle shortly after with the ABS and low beam headlights not working. We checked the fuse and found it had blown again. Traced and unplugged all components on that circuit. Found that the short was now present at all times. Traced the visible wires and checked connections. Short is somewhere in the main harness. This could hvae been damaged by the alternator spikes in A/C current. Subaru Technical Assistance confirmed that the main harness replacement would be the correct repair. An estimate was given to replace the harness. The customer declined further repairs. The technician spent 8.2 hours on this diagnosis and tracing wiring and we charged $0. The customer picked up the vehicle on 1/31/2014, he asked if I would speak to his Brother who is a Certified Technician, i agreed and explained all of the repairs and proceedure used to repair and diagnose the vehicle to his Brother. We provided all of the documentation along with diagrams of the shorted circuit to the customer who took his vehicle at that time. We have spent several hours of time that we did not charge the customer for in an effort to determine this intermittent failure. We feel that we have made every effort and have kept the customer informed of all necessary repairs and received authorization for every charge prior to performing any work. Electircal issues are very hard to diagnose especially when they are intermittent or are caused by other failing parts. We are confident in that what we have done to this point was necessary and that the repair we are recommending is the proper repair for the vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After reviewing Luther White Bear Acura Subaru's response, I do not agree that they had done all they can. On 12-31-13 when I brought the car in, Luther White Bear Acura Subaru stated that there were no faults in the wiring harness and or connectors. Luther White Bear Acura Subaru just replaced a couple fuses and cleaned a couple connectors and then said that it was fixed. There was nothing that was mentioned, in the invoice of bad harness/connectors, being worked on or not being tapped. On 1/15/14, I brought the car back for the same issue, with the same symptoms it was having on 12/31/13 (ABS, Brake, and speedometer not working). Luther White Bear Acura Subaru answer, to me, was that the alternator was bad and that in their professional opinion this was what was causing the issues, and by doing this repair it would resolve/fix the problem. I took their advice, and had them replace it. Luther White Bear Acura Subaru called stating that the car was fixed, so I went and picked it up. As I was driving out of their garage (not even 50 ft.) the problem happened again. SAME SYMPTOMS. After Luther White Bear Acura Subaru failed to fix my problem and throwing parts at my car at my expense ($800 +) and not knowing where the problems was. I drew the line. They weren't able to tell me exactly where the short was, but just kept on stating that the alternator caused a short somewhere and then expected me to pay $3000 on a harness with no evidence that this was the problem, and replacing it would actually fix the issue. 1/31/14 - I took possession of the car and took the car to a local shop (************** Subaru) which found the problem within 4 hours and got the car up and running in 3 days. TBS finding was that there was a short in the wiring harness which Luther White Bear Acura Subaru failed to find in their diagnostic on 12/31/13 thru 1/15/14. TBS was able to provide pictures of the where and what was causing the issue was. This was their findings: "It was finally discovered that the wiring harness between the under dash fuse panel and the engine pay fuse panel/power distribution block has a ground fault failure. While we cannot be sure what caused this, it is a combination of poor wiring practices from the Subaru Factory and some sort of corrosive material siting on the wiring harness (salt, dust, dirt, etc.) and causing the harness to rub on the chassis frame and rub through wires insulation. We do not believe that a faulty alternator caused this fault in the physical wiring in any way; it is conceivable that the wiring fault caused an errant condition to be read at the alternator however, but it is unlikely this fault actually made the previous alternator go bad." After the wiring was repaired, the car now runs great! I feel I paid for diagnostics that were poorly performed, and also their inability to find/troubleshoot the problem. I believe that replacing the alternator, at my expense, was an unnecessary repair.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Luther White Bear Acura Subaru
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart