BBB Accredited Business since

Luther Westside Volkswagen

Phone: (952) 377-4100 Fax: (952) 374-0675 2370 Highway 100 S, Saint Louis Park, MN 55416 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.westsidevw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Luther Westside Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Luther Westside Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Luther Westside Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1967 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Julie Hose, Controller David Luther, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Julie Hose, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Luther Westside Volkswagen, this company offers new Volkswagen automobiles and used inventory sales and service.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 2370 Highway 100 S

    Saint Louis Park, MN 55416 (952) 377-4100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Merchant refused to cancel order for new key within 7 minutes of placement of order. Manager was very rude and hung up the phone during my call. On December 28, 2015 around 9:00 a.m., I went to the Westside dealership and spoke with an employee in the parts department, explaining that my coat with the car keys inside the pocket had been stolen at the gym on December 27. I also mentioned that a police report had been filed and that the spare key was in my daughter's apartment in Indiana (she drove the vehicle home for the Christmas holidays). The vehicle is a 2014 Jetta Volkswagen Sedan that I am leasing (VIN- *****************) from Westside Volkswagen. I also own a 2012 Jetta Sportwagen, and my husband owns a 2013 Passat; both vehicles were purchased at Westside Volkswagen. The gentleman in parts (Craig, I believe) explained I would need to order a key for a fee of $135 and then pay another $75 to have the new key and the spare key re-programmed. Craig said if I placed the order by noon, the key would arrive to the dealer by December 30. After consulting with my spouse and verifying with the gym manager that the coat (an unusual periwinkle color) had neither been returned nor detected on surveillance video, at 11:52 a.m. that same day (December 28), I called the parts department to order a key. I paid the $145.04 fee via American Express credit card. While I was placing the phone order with an unnamed parts employee, my cell phone was ringing. After the call to Westside, I immediately listened to my cell phone message. It was the gym manager saying she believed they had discovered that another gym customer with dementia had taken my coat. Immediately (my phone records indicate at 11:59 a.m.), I called back the parts department and spoke with a third employee. He politely told me that the order could not be cancelled. I asked to speak with the manager. An unnamed manager came on the line. I politely explained the circumstances. In a rude tone, he said that this is a VIN item and all sales are final. I told him that I was requesting a refund as only been 5 minutes had passed since I placed the order. I also told him I have 3 VW's from his dealership in my driveway. In response, he stated that he didn't doubt that and said in an extremely rude and gruff tone, "WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO ABOUT IT?!" I explained that I wanted him to cancel the order or issue a refund. He refused. When I told this manager that he would be hearing from American Express, the Better Business Bureau, and the Attorney General's Office. He angrily retorted, "Do whatever you think you need to do" and slammed down the phone. I have never been treated so rudely by a merchant -- especially one to whom I have paid thousands and thousands of dollars over the past few decades. On December 30, 2015 my spouse went to the dealership and spoke with the manager of the service department. He admitted that no VIN-specific key would have been produced within 7 minutes and that the manager I spoke with should not have been rude. Yet he did not offer to take any corrective action.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund or credit of $145.04 and an apology for the manager's extremely rude behavior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/01/15) */ We have contacted this customer directly and refunded her payment. I apologise if anyone here conducted themselves in anything less than a professional manner. Thanks! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2016/01/15) */ Advised Ms ******** that complaint will be closed as having been 'Resolved,' given information provided by business. (Also advised Ms ******** that if issues remain to be resolved or if she has additional information she would like included in case file, she may contact BBB or add this information via BBB's online system.)

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased car in Sept and they lost one set keys They said they would order new key for car After several calls to sales person has not returned call there has been no return call from sales person , as he has taken my phone number several times the car was purchased in Sept Its now April and can not get answer I began to wonder if this is the type of dealership any one would care to do business with because of there customer service

Desired Settlement: the key will need to be programed for the car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/24) */ I have spoken with the sales rep that's been assisting Mr. ******* with this key issue. We have had some difficulty obtaining this key, as it is for a make of vehicle that we do not represent. At this point, we have this key on order and plan to meet with Mr. ******* to get this wrapped up on his next visit to MN. If he would prefer, we can also send the key to him, and pay the dealer of his choice to program the key. We do apologize for the delay and are working with our salespeople to make sure issues like this are handled in a more timely manner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Luther Westside Volkswagen owes me my North Dakota license plates and registration as I already paid for them as they are wrapped into my loan. My salesperson was ********** and he hung up on me. I purchased a 2010 VW Jetta TDI (Diesel) on 12/31/2013 from Luther Westside VW and they are not sending me my North Dakota license plates and registration. The ND State Motor Vehicle contact person in Bismarck is *******, ************, and she stated to me that no title paperwork has been sent to her or any DMV in ND by Luther Westside VW or ********. ******** is a separate company that Luther uses to handle the titling and paperwork on their vehicles. ******* ******, ************ or ************, is working with ******* at ******** to supposedly get my ND license plates and registration to me. ******* will not return *******'s phone calls at the ND State DMV in Bismarck, ND and ******* as of 3:45pm yesterday and today, will not return my phone calls or answer the phone when I call her to check on this matter. The VIN on my car is as follows: ***************** and it is financed through ******************************* out of Charolette, NC. My loan administrator is in Burnsville, MN and his name is *************, ************. I was tax exempt also on this vehicle as I am a member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa in Belcourt, ND. The tax exemption form was provided to the dealership and the vehicle was delivered to me on the reservation for tax exemption purposes. ******* at the ND State DMV said that all of the paperwork is supposed to go to her or a DMV in ND and she is able to pull up on her computer screen if in fact any titling paperwork has been sent to any DMV in ND and ******* stated to me yesterday that no paperwork has come into the state of ND anywhere at any DMV for titling on my car. Therefore, ************** at Luther Westside Volkswagen and ******* at ******** are lying to me and they are not sending my titling paperwork to the ND State Motor Vehicle Department for titling and I have already paid for this service as it is wrapped into my loan with *******************************. My original new car sticker that goes on the back window has already expired once and ******* had to fedex me another one for February so I can drive legal and now, the second one for February is expiring as well at the end of this month. I need my North Dakota license plates and ND registration please as I paid for them and they are not sending them to me. Can you up please get to the bottom as to why they are not sending my titling paperwork to ******* and why they are not returning ******* and I's phone calls? The account # on the car with ******************************* is ***********. The current principal balance is $15,997.36 and the 20 day payoff valid through 3/5/14 is $16,528.91 and as of yesterday, I changed the payment due date to the 16th of every month and so the next payment is due March 16, 2014. The monthly payment is $392.20 and the first payment has been paid already. ******************************* ************* Charlotte, NC 28258-0075 and *** **** at Luther Westside VW is the pre-owned business manager and he was rude as well and I feel it is *** **** that is telling ******* and ******* to not mail my titling paperwork to Bismarck. *** sent my family and I down the road with three defective tires and I had to buy $600 worth of new tires and he refused to mail me my second programmable key and vent part which is in my contract. Therefore, *** **** breached the contract with me by not mailing me my programmable key and vent part and as a result, I told him he will not get the van seats on the van that I traded on this car. Nothing was in writing that I owed *** **** two van seats, but it was in writing that Luther owed me a programmable key and vent part. I told *** to mail me $400 as a partial reimbursement for the tires and he said he would give me $400 in person if I drove the two van seats back to Luther and I said no, you mail me the $400 first and then I'll drive the two van seats to you. *** never did mail the $400 and he also did not get the seats.

Desired Settlement: I have already paid for my ND registration and license plates and the only settlement that can result is the dealership, Luther Westside Volkswagen, mailing my titling paperwork to the State Motor Vehicle Department in Bismarck, ND attention ***************. I have already paid the first payment on my car and I need the ND registration and ND license plates in order to legally drive the car. The dealership is in violation of contract law by attempting to withhold my registration and plates.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/24) */ In regard to Mr. *****'s complaint: Much of the delay in Mr. *****'s title processing was a result of Mr. *****'s actions. At first, he indicated that he would like to return the car to us, which we were agreeable to, and naturally held the title work. After he decided to keep the vehicle, we discovered that a couple documents required additional signatures. Our office did contact Mr. ***** multiple times to get these documents signed and returned. Upon receipt of the completed documents, everything was sent to the title service Reg USA for processing. The good news is that Reg USA did get the title and registration processed on 2/20, and Mr. ***** should have received a package with his plates on 2/21. The tracking number for the package is 590218346043, we were able to verify that it was delivered on Friday 2/21. We will make sure Mr. *****'s programmable key is sent out and he should receive within 7 days. Thank you.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my car to this dealer and left items in the car. I was told I could retrieve these items but when I arrived, they stated the car had moved. I sold my car to this dealer and left some items in the car. I called the next morning and was told to come to the dealership around noon to retreive the items. I arrived at 12:15 pm and was told the car had already been moved for processing. I asked why I was told to wait if they were going to move the car and no answer was given. I was unable to retrieve these items, including cash. The dealer's salesperson that I worked with was very unhelpful and obtuse. In fact, he stated, "well, you got a good deal and we paid for a new title, so call it even." I found this horrific and will never do business with such an unprofessional dealership. As a side note, this is not the first time I have had negative experiences at a dealership owned and operated by Luther Automotive.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice if they would return the items that were left in the car and issue an appology letter for their horrific service. I doubt this will occur.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/17) */ As a courtesy to our customers, we do our best to retrieve items that have been forgotten in our trade ins. Many times people just leave behind things they no longer wish to keep. As we are a high-volume dealership, cars are processed and move to offsite storage and vendors very quickly. In this case, our salesperson did see and retrieve an iPod adapter from this vehicle. When speaking to Mr. ******** on the phone in regard to what he was looking for, he was quite vague. It was not until he came in to our store that he mentioned there might be $30 or $20 in change somewhere in the vehicle, he was unable to specify the amount. As we were still waiting to collect $20 from him to obtain a duplicate of his missing vehicle title, we proposed to call everything a "wash" and he seemed perfectly ok at the time. Since he is apparently not OK with this resolution, we will send a check to him for $25.00, along with our sincere apologies.

8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2005 VW New Beetle Convertible Trunk Latch Failed while under warranty and dealer would not replace it We brought our VW Beetle to Westside VW in August of 2012 and had a faulty trunk latch replaced. The trunk latch failed again and we returned to the dealer in June 2013 to have the latch replaced. The dealer refused to replace the trunk latch because they stated it was a problem with the trunk lock actuator and not the latch. It took the dealer an hour to make the diagnosis. We did not agree with the dealer and stated we would like the latch replaced. They refused. We took the vehicle elsewhere and the mechanic there stated the latch was broke in the closed position. It took minutes to make the diagnosis. They replaced the latch and our trunk latch is working well. Luther Westside VW stated they had their oldest, most experienced mechanic look at the trunk problem and yet he still came up with an inaccurate diagnosis. They stated there should have been a $90 diagnostic fee but that they would waive it in this case. When a part fails under warrantee, the consumer should not have to pay a fee to confirm that the part is broken. We have had to pay for three trunk latches in two years. Luther VW should have replaced the latch without incident.

Desired Settlement: We would like Luther VW to honor the warrantee and refund us the cost we incurred to have the latch replaced at a different location. The latch we now have should be covered under warrantee and should be replaced, if it fails within a year, without incident.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/07) */ Hello, I spoke with ***** ***** on Friday august 2nd and agreed that Westside VW would refund her for the repair to her trunk latch, ***** is sending Westside VW her invoice for the repair and at that time I will process ***** refund.Thank you ************* Business' Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/08/07) */ Left VM for Ms *****, advising that BBB will be closing complaint at this time. Advised Ms ***** that she may contact the BBB to have case re-opened if repair is not reimbursed within a reasonable timeframe, as dealership has indicated.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Luther Westside Volkswagen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)