BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Luther Brookdale Toyota-Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Luther Brookdale Toyota-Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Luther Brookdale Toyota-Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 01/01/1984 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ron Murray, General Manager David Luther, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ron Murray, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Luther Toyota City Toyota City and Scion
Products & Services

According to information provided by Luther Brookdale Toyota-Scion, this company offers a complete line of new cars for sale.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 6700 Brooklyn Blvd

    Brooklyn Center, MN 55429

  • 7325 Brooklyn Blvd

    Brooklyn Park, MN 55443 (612) 749-4573 (763) 566-0060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scratches not removed from clear coat after 3 attempts. Signed a "We Owe/You Owe" document with dealer promising they would remove the scratches. We purchased a 2015 Toyota Sienna XLE from Brookdale Toyota on November 28, 2014 and took delivery of it on December 1, 2014. At the time of sale, we noticed extensive swirl scratches, typically from washing/drying the vehicle with a dirty rag. When questioned about it, our sales person, ************, stated that they would buff them out and that they were superficial scratches in the clear coat. The new car sales manager working that night was ***** and he also assured me they would take them out no problem. Based on this, we signed a document (You owe/We owe) during the sale process that stated Brookdale Toyota would take care of the scratches after the sale. As soon as possible after purchasing the vehicle we had the service scheduled on December 10, 2014. The vehicle was sent out to an autobody shop that works for Brookdale Toyota, Luther Colors. When we received the vehicle back, it appeared all of the scratches were taken care of, however, after further inspection, it was apparent that they were not buffed out, but instead the vehicle was just waxed to cover them up. I contacted a sales manager to discuss the next course of action. ******* in the service department called me back to set up another appointment to have the scratches buffed/wet sanded out on January 6, 2015. Upon review of the vehicle after the buffing process, it was apparent that the scratches were still there. New car sales manager **** reviewed the car with me and saw the scratches and said, "that's what happens when you wash a car". He informed me that all of the cars on the showroom floor have the same problem. This is true. However, they shouldn't. I have contacted and been in showrooms of other dealers, including the parent dealer of this one, Rudy Luther Toyota in Golden Valley, MN. This is not a problem in their dealerships. This tells me that something is wrong with the process that Brookdale Toyota uses to clean cars. After viewing the car with ****, he wanted one more attempt to rectify the problem, January 7, 2015. It was to involve an employee at their location to hand washing the car, clay barring it (get all the impurities off) and then apply a protective seal coat they use to protect certain locations subject to sun damage. This to me sounds like "waxing" the vehicle and will only temporarily fill in the scratches not remove them. While the car did look a little better, he ended up putting more scratches into the hood and they swirlies are still not gone, as promised at purchase. On January 7th, I received the van back from sales manager **************. He and I reviewed the van and we both saw the swirlies. His response was "there is nothing more we can do, we've tried three times and have gone nowhere". This does not satisfy me, they did not uphold their end of the agreement.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for one of the following, 1. A full refund 2. A replacement of equal or greater value 3. Cover the expense of having the work done by an autobody shop of my choosing I feel that any one of these options is fair as they have not made good on a contractually signed document that stated their requirement to rectify the scratches they put into the paint of the vehicle. Had I known it would not be "easy" to fix, I would not have purchased the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/02/17) */ We write in response to Complaint Activity Report Case #******** made by **** *******. Mr. ******* did purchase a 2015 Toyota Sienna from us in late November 2014. He has complained to us about "swirl scratches" in the paint on the vehicle. The vehicle has dark paint, and certain patterns in the Clear Coat over the paint can be more pronounced and visible on vehicles with darker paint. However, the patterns are not a defect in the paint, the paint application, or the Clear Coat, but simply a reflection of how the Clear Coat protects the underlying paint from natural wear marks to which the vehicle is exposed. The marks in the Clear Coat are typically only visible under certain light and from certain angles. We do not believe that the swirls in the paint are a result of "washing/drying the vehicle with a dirty rag" as suggested by Mr. *******. In an attempt to satisfy the customer, we performed a number of no charge services for Mr. *******. We did provide him with a "We Owe / You Owe" form to show that we would perform services related to the paint job and clear coat. The "We Owe / You Owe" related to the follow services: Had the Sienna buffed at our facility (no charge) Had the Sienna buffed at the Luther Automotive Group body shop (no charge) Had the Sienna paint sealed at our facility (no charge) We understand that while Mr. ******* believes the vehicle does look better, he is still not satisfied with the vehicle. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction, but in this instance we believe that we have fulfilled our obligations to Mr. *******. The paint on his vehicle is not defective, nor has anything we have done scratched the paint. We have performed services free of charge, as promised, that have improved his impression of the paint job. The patterns in the Clear Coat he sees are naturally occurring, and not a breach of any obligation. At this time, we do not believe we owe him anything further. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2015/03/20) */ Not Resolved. Standoff.

4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice (after filing bankruptcy) from this company in December 2013. On December 30, 2013, I emailed asking to be removed from ALL mailing lists from this company. Today, I received another advertisement from them telling me about the exact same "unique finance opportunity", from the exact same person I had emailed in December. First of all, this letter was a duplicate of the one I received in December, with only the date changed. Second, it was very poorly copied (the copier was running out of toner apparently) photocopy, and that tells me that my name was in a huge database, and they have no idea who I actually am, because they do not care about how they present their company to me in regards to first impressions.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for I want to be taken off the mailing list and I want people to be aware that there are companies like this that just prey on those of us in financial rough spots and do not actually care for our well-being.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ In regards to ***** *****'s desired resolution, we have removed her name from the database which will terminate any future mailings.

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves PASSENGER CALIPER BOOT repair cost of $500.00. It should have been fixed when I bought the car in Jan 2012. I enjoy doing business with Brookdale Toyota, located at ******************* BC, MN 55429, where I purchased my very 1st Toyota Camry in January of 2012, less than 2 yrs ago. They take good care of their customers and the Service Desk personnell including *****, who's the Service Manager is excellent to work with. Last Saturday on 9/28/13 when I went in to get the oil change done, I asked *********** to look at the breaks and the two sets of air filters which they were supposed to check at oil change but somehow, they missed it. I waited about an or maybe 1.5 hrs and then I was told by *********** that it may take longer and they will call me. They were nice enough to give me a loaner car so I can run errands. Around 230 or 300 pm on same Saturday I recd'd a call from ****** on my cell phone informing me that the PASSENGER CALIPER Boot boot is ripped open and dirt got into the piston. They will not be able to install new breaks unless the Caliper is repaired. He told me it was the LEFT Caliper boot and gave me an estimate of approx. $596.00 just for that. The total cost for oil change, air filters and break job was given to me at $950.00. Here's the sad part!! This is a Toyota and I trusted the brand and bought it only less than 2 yrs ago...1 year and 10 months to be exact. I only drove it about 31,000 miles. The caliper boot don't get ripped up like that. When I bought the car from *********, who I believe is now retired, it was mentioned on the checklist that there was a problem with RIGHT (passenger)break. There was something wrong with it. That problem should have been fixed prior to selling the car to me. That is my complaint! I should not have to pay for the Caliper boot like that. The problem existed and it wasn't taken care of. I even asked ***** (Service Manager) this week on Tuesday 10/1, if they could have missed repairing the caliper boot when I was buying the car?, and he said no.

Desired Settlement: As a brand-loyal Brookdale Toyota customer, I want to continue to do business with the dealership and bring my car for servicing. However, I feel that they should refund the cost of the caliper repair incluidng labor and any taxes, approx. $500.00. I actually paid the entire amount of $877.99 on 10/2 when I picked-up my car. I asked *********** which caliper was it. He told me it was the RIGHT Caliper. I am happy to pay for the break job, air filters, oil change and tire rotation. I don't want to go anywhere else. I enjoy their team-work and they do a pretty good job of maintaining customer satisfaction. That's why I am asking them to refund me that portion of the Caliper repair only which is $500.00. That's all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/04) */ This is the response of Luther Brookdale Toyota-Scion to Mr. ******'s complaint received by the BBB on October 3, 2013. Mr. ****** purchased a vehicle from Luther Brookdale Toyota-Scion in January 2012. His complaint arises out of the need for brake-related work on September 28, 2013, some 22 months, and 31,000 miles after his purchase. Mr. ****** is requesting a $500 discount off of his brake repair bill. We have reviewed our file from the time of the sale, which does not indicate any issue with the brakes. Further, it is not remarkable that brake work was necessary on a used vehicle after 31,000 miles, and 22 months. We also believe that the repair work that was done on September 28, 2013 was reasonable and necessary work related to ordinary wear and tear of the vehicle. As a good faith gesture, we have already provided Mr. ****** with a 10% discount on this repair. While we hope that every customer has a completely positive experience, we are not inclined to provide any further discount to Mr. ******. We believe that he has been treated fairly . Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I certainly appreciated the dealership's willingness to offer the discount. That was a good noble gesture. I like the dealership and the staff. However, in the spirit of customer loyalty and keeping in mind such an expensive repair cost so soon after purchasing the car, I feel that the dealership can offer some sort of incentive for me to continue to return to them as a customer.Perhaps they can include a courtesy tune-up, 3 courtesy oil changes or any similar preventive maintenance. Thanks!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Luther Brookdale Toyota-Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)