Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2001

Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi

Find a Location

Phone: (763) 566-5600Fax: (763) 566-6161View Additional Phone Numbers7235 Brooklyn Blvd, Brooklyn CenterMN 55429-1243 Send email to Luther Brookdale Mazda MitsubishiView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2001

BBB has determined that Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle purchased was delivered with a scratch. Dealer initially offered to repaint area, but then retracted offer.
I purchased a brand new Mazda CX-9 vehicle from this dealership on Jan. 25, 2012. Upon arriving home, I noticed a scratch in the paint above the rear window on the passenger side. I returned to the dealership on Feb. 4, 2012 to have the scratch removed. I was told by the sales consultant that the scratch could not be buffed out and that the effected area would be repainted by the dealer at no additional cost to me. I was told to find a time that would work for me and that a "loaner" vehicle would be provided to me while the repair was being performed. I attempted to make an appointment for the repairs on Apr. 4, 2012, but was told that the time between drop off and pick up of the vehicle (3 days) would be too long. On Apr. 11, 2012, the sales consultant agreed to have me drop the vehicle off on a Wednesday and pick it up on a Saturday; however, the specific dates that he suggested did not work with my schedule. I again attempted to schedule the repair on Sept. 3, 2012 with only one day between drop off and pick up, but the sales consultant stated that he would no longer repaint effected area at this point because of the time that had elapsed. He did offer to "touch it up" instead. This offer was unsatisfactory to me. In a follow up message, he stated that the dealership's "we owes" are only good for 90 days. I do not know what a "we owe" is and I was never told that there was a time limit that applied to the original offer to repaint the effected area. I believe that the dealership scratched the vehicle by removing a roof rack that had been on the vehicle, but that was not included in the sale. I believe the dealership was aware of the scratch at the time of the delivery and purposely failed to bring it to my attention. The scratch remains on the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I would like the dealership to repaint the effected area as the sales consultant stated that it would do. I would like the repairs to be made to my satisfaction, including proper paint matching, and for the work to be guaranteed with the usual and customary guarantee that is provided by the dealership for this type of repair.

Business' Initial Response
We will certainly paint the vehicle roof or if Mr.. ****** would prefer based on the location of the scratch, we would touch-up the scratch, provide a bottle of factory touch-up paint & give him a check for $500. Mr. ****** needs to contact *********** or ************* to inform us on how we wants to proceed.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accepted the dealerships offer of a $500 check (no touch-up requested) and have received that check.

04/05/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor warranty, failure to provide pictures of repairs (customer request), invoice amount more than 10% higher than estimate, poor service
My vehicle was towed to this Mazda dealer after the engine would not start and my regular mechanic told me the engine was leaking oil from the front main seal and that this was a matter for the dealer as it should be covered under the warranty. After it arrived at the dealers shop I was told they were able to get the vehicle running and pull it into the shop. The dealer called me after running their "diagnostics" which only revealed the oil leak. (Not that the engine had low compression or was blown. A compression test should have been run according to the other Mazda dealership I contacted.) The service personnel I spoke with informed me that the oil pan gasket had failed and needed to be replaced to stop the oil leak prior to any further work (phone estimate $250). After the oil pan gasket was replaced I was contacted again and told that the spark plugs were fouled and needed to be replaced(phone estimate $350). I refused to have these done as I had just had plugs, wires, and coils replaced at another Dealer. Within 10 minutes of me refusing the plugs I received another phone call explaining how now their mechanic had found out that the motor was no good and it would be a costly repair. I was baffled about this as I had told them from first contact that this was a warranty issue. I reminded the employee of the warranty and he said he would have to look into it. When he called me back, informing me that the warranty would not be honored due to the oil leak. Interestingly at this time he informed me that the oil pan was dented and needed to be straightened in order for it to seal properly?!?! Myself and my mechanic had seen the bottom side of the vehicle prior and there was no damage. The damage he explained to me would be next to impossible to ever happen. (99% sure I can prove there was no damage) The inconsistencies in the stories from the multiple service employees I spoke to is very concerning to me. I had asked for pictures of the repairs to be taken only to be told there will be none provided. It seems this is their way of performing unnecessary repairs only to leave the customer high and dry without a vehicle and out his/her paycheck. I have done some research online and learned that this is a common way Mazda dealerships try to escape the responsibility of honoring these warranties.

Jeremy Barnes from Mazda Public Relations stated: "We will not walk away from any Mazda owner." He hopes the recall action by Mazda will show owners that Mazda is doing the right thing after all. (on the subject of the 2004-2006 Mazda RX8 engine failure issues.)

In this case it's obvious to me this dealership does not intend to do what is right.

Desired Settlement
At this time I feel the appropriate thing to do would be to honor the warranty and replace the engine as the warranty specifies. Out of good faith I would still pay the dealership for the diagnostics testing.

Business' Initial Response
Luther Mazda submitted Mr. *******'s warranty claim to Mazda USA and the claim was denied due to the engine was 3 1/2 quarts low of oil when Luther Mazda inspected the vehicle. It is never the dealers choice if a power train component is warrantable, it is the manufactures decision.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again they fail to point out the main issue. What was the reason for the oil being low? The front main seal a component of the motor which is covered under the warranty is leaking. With this seal being compromised which is listed in their warranty they are required to honor the warranty by law.
The Mazda representative I spoke with informed me that Mazda is not willing to work with me and will not alter the decision they have made. Although he never directly told me to take this to court he made it very evident that this would be the only way Mazda would honor their warranty. It seems as though integrity is a word that has been lost in todays society.

11/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/03/1998Business started: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133
Saint Paul, MN 55101-2142
(651) 201-7000
http://www.dps.state.mn.us

Contact Information
Principal: C. David Luther (Owner)Customer Contact: Gary Peterson (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

According to information provided by Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi, they are a full service and used cars dealer.

Alternate Business Names
Brooklyn Motors, LLC, Luther Brookdale Mazda, Ryan Mazda, Luther Brookdale Mitsubishi
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Buying A New Car
USED CAR WARRANTY LAW
BUYING A USED CAR
Auto Repair and Services

If you choose to do business with Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi

7235 Brooklyn Blvd

Brooklyn Center, MN 55429-1243

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 7235 Brooklyn Blvd 

    Brooklyn Center, MN 55429-1243(763) 566-5600
    (800) 775-9754

  • 7417 Brooklyn Blvd 

    Minneapolis, MN 55443-3202

  • 8099 Penn Ave. S. 

    Minneapolis, MN 55431-1316

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Luther Brookdale Mazda Mitsubishi is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 775-9754
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.