BBB Accredited Business since

Luther Brookdale Honda

Phone: (763) 331-6800 6800 Brooklyn Blvd, Brooklyn Center, MN 55429 http://www.brookdalehonda.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Consider yourself cordially invited to come on over and see what's new from Honda. Because Luther Brookdale Honda has relocated - it's brand-new, inside and out. So stop by soon, and see all of the Honda models in their very special new home.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Luther Brookdale Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Luther Brookdale Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Luther Brookdale Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jim Haertzen, General Manager Joshua Glynn, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jim Haertzen, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Brookdale Honda Luther Brookdale Honda Inc
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Luther Brookdale Honda, this company is a full service Honda dealer with new and used car sales, offers financing and has a full service and parts department.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Luther Brookdale Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6800 Brooklyn Blvd

    Brooklyn Center, MN 55429

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2007 Honda CR-V with a recall issued on it concerning the airbags being unsafe. I called the dealership to have it repaired before I driving from Minnesota to Colorado to New York where I will be living for a job until late December 2016. I was told there were no parts available to fix my car. The recall states if this is the case I would be given a rental car free of charge. I explained to them that if they could not fix my car I would need a rental car I was able to cross state lines in, and would be able to return it late December 2016. They told me on 6/7/2016 that they would provide the rental car for me until December 2016 and be able to cross state lines. Then on 6/8/2016 they said they could not repair my car or provide a rental vehicle by 6/17/2016. I went in to talk with Bryan ****** the customer service manager. He said the recall wasn’t a big deal, and Honda made it sound worse than it was. He said I should just drive my car out to New York, and he could do nothing for me. I told him the recall said it was a safety issue, and if it could not be repaired they would provide me with a rental as needed. I told him that it is unfortunate that I need the rental until late December 2016, but that is my situation and it cannot be changed. I asked that he have my car repaired by June 17, 2016 by noon or have a rental car available to me until late December 2016 that I can cross state lines in. He said he could not do this for me. I have called and went in to the dealership a total of 10 times since June 2, 2016 at this point to try to resolve this matter, and nothing has been done.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 2007 Honda CR-V airbags repaired by 12:00pm on June 17, 2016 or a rental/loaner car the equivalent size of a CR-V issued to me free of charge, authorized to cross state lines, and available to me until late December 2016 by 12:00pm on June 17th, 2016.

Consumer Response: BBB left VM for Ms ****** (6-20, 11:30 AM CT) advising that case will be closed 'Resolved' at this time (as it appears recall work has been completed), but she can contact BBB to have case re-opened if issues remain to be addressed.

Business Response: The recall was performed per American Honda instructions and procedures.

11/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had 2 issues after servicing my car. 1. The valve core of tire was loose and I had an unsafe condition on the road. 2. The car was scratched. Customer Name: Dr. ********************** Customer Number: ****** Phone number: ************ Car Number plate: ****** Car Make/ Model: Honda Accord 2012 I did a paid servicing of my car at Luther Brookdale Honda (referred as 'dealer' in the following text) on 19th October 2015. The services done include filter and oil change, check of tire air pressure and condition, inflating tire with 35psi pressure, visual check of under carriage, and a Honda multi-point inspection. Also the car was washed after the service. It took about 1 hr in total for the service and car wash. The service started ~7.45pm and was finished by 8.45pm. I had 2 issues happened due to the car service on 19th Oct., as detailed below. Issue 1: Soon after the repair, I returned to my home at St. Paul (as I was waiting for the car service to finish, with my wife and infant). After reaching home I had a visual check of the car and noted a series of scratches, mainly on the right top exterior of the car, which looked fresh and new. I was sure that it happened during the car wash/ service / lifting of the car. The scratches were mainly at the top of the car, which cannot happen on the road or while in a parking lot. I reported the issue over phone to dealer's customer representative on 19th Oct. night itself, soon after noting the scratches. I was told that I will receive a call in response to this issue on 20th Oct. morning, but I didn't receive any. In the afternoon of 20th Oct. I mailed the General Manager and Service Manager (and to 2 more mail ids automatically included) in response to their request for feedback on the service. After sometime I received a call from dealer. The person called me had a too irritating conversation with me as if I have done a big mistake. He was 'scolding' me for the feedback I gave. He neither allow me to talk nor listened to me. The only point he told is he couldn't find anything abnormal from the surveillance camera they have (and I don't think any camera will capture such minute details). I cancelled the call as he continued scolding me without listening to me. Later I e-mailed the team asking to send video/ snaps of the scratches BEFORE the car was serviced, if they are sure that their camera will capture everything. But I received no response from them. Later from dealer's website I came to know that the person called me was the general manager. I was very surprised to know that. How a general manager can be so rude, irresponsible and impolite to a long term customer like me (note that I purchased my car from this dealer in Nov. 2014). Issue 2: I consider the second issue as more critical and serious as it was related to safety. I had a very unsafe, inconvenient and shocking incident when I drove my car for the first time after the service day. I didn't drive the car on 20th and 21st, but on 22nd. I was traveling from St. Paul to Maple Grove with my wife, kid and friend's mother. I noted some unfamiliar sound while driving, but I thought it is not an issue, as I just serviced my car from Honda dealer and as the sound seems to be minor (in spite of the usual road noise Honda Accord has). But after driving ~35 miles on freeway, I realized that it is not a negligible issue. As the sound turned abnormal and as I felt stiffness on the steering wheel I took the next exit and drove to the nearest mechanic. The mechanic told the tire valve core/ stem was loose/ was not fixed properly and due to this my tire was almost flat. As I was just 2 miles away from Brookdale Honda at that time and as I was sure this was a mistake by the mechanic who serviced the car on 19th Oct., I decided to drive to Brookdale Honda, after filling the tire with enough pressure for a 10 min ride. At Brookdale Honda the service advisor helped me to fix the issue. I was not charged for the repair, may be because he realized that it was the service mechanic's mistake.

Desired Settlement: I am detailing the reason for seeking the settlement first, the settlement I am seeking is listed at bottom. I couldn't attend the function I wanted to attend on 22nd evening and I was stranded on the road with my family- Everything just the after-effect of a car service at Brookdale Honda. I am thankful to God for avoiding an accident on the freeway. I might have lost my family (as well as my own life) if something was happening, as I was driving at the speed limit of the freeway. Note that my car didn't have any issues such as this from the date I purchased it (28th Nov.14) to the date I did this car service. On the 19th Oct. report the car odometer reading was 36446 miles and on 22nd Oct. report it is 36506 which shows I didn't drive the car other than my trip from Brookdale Honda to home at St. Paul (~20 miles, on 19th) and ~40 miles drive on 22nd. These facts supports the conclusion that the mentioned issue was an after-effect of the car service on 19th Oct. I have the service reports of both the car service done on 19th Oct. and the repair done on 22nd October which can be produced as evidence, if necessary. I have the names of both service advisor and technician which I am not including here as my complaint is not personal / against them. Dealer already knows my case as I contacted them several times to try a direct resolution. I hope they will be able to retrieve the case details using the customer number mentioned at top. The general manager had a second conversation with me on phone on 23rd Oct. and he told they will block me and my car for any future service at their place, which forced me to lodge this complaint against them. How can he scold and threaten me like this when I pointed out a mistake from their side. I told him that I will go ahead with a complaint. I also informed the service manager over e-mail that I will go ahead with this as a complaint if they are not ready to address it properly. I didn't receive any repose from them on this. I am seeking the below settlement from the dealer. 1. I had a very unsafe condition and extreme inconvenience on the road as detailed above. I could not attend the evening function as planned. In addition I value my time I spent for the arguments with the dealer and also for lodging this complaint. I am asking $1000 as a compensation to this condition and loss. To make it convenient to the dealer (and also as I don't want to take any monetary benefit other than related to car service out of this incident), I am fine with the dealer giving me 4 Luther gift cards each worth $250, which can be used for car services/ spare parts at any Luther shop. 2. I want the dealer to paint and polish all the scratches which the car service/ car wash has produced. I want them to do it in my presence. 3. I want the dealer to do a thorough inspection of the car (especially the front right tire rim), for any possible damage due to the above incident, and do any repair if found necessary.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/05) */ Mr. ********* had his 2012 Honda Accord in our shop for an oil change and tire rotation on October 19 2015. The next afternoon sent an email claiming we had damaged the top of his car.He described a series of scratches on the right top exterior of his car. He suggested many possibilities of how this could happen, including our car wash. I sent him a reply stating that our car wash could not damage a car in this manner. We also reviewed our video of his car the entire time it was in our shop and at no time was anybody or anything near the top of his car. I gave him a call to report my findings and invited him to watch the video for himself. He declined. Then on October 22 he arrived at our Service Center near closing time with a tire that was losing air at such a rate it could be heard "hissing." He claimed that this was the result of his service three days earlier. That is not possible as his tire was losing air pressure at such a rate it would have been flat in minutes. Our technician did notice a scrape around the radius of the alloy whell where it appears that the wheel had hit a curb. Possibly hitting the valve stem ? He has also threatened to leave negative reviews on as many Dealer as he can find. We find Mr. *********'s accusations random and not supported by any facts.His manner when dealing with our staff is very disruptive to our business setting. We accept no responsibility for his issues and have respectfully asked him to service his vehicle elsewhere. We now consider this matter closed and he can expect correspondence from our legal counsel to affirm our position. We take our reputation very seriously and if he follows through on his threat to publish unfounded allegations and negative commentary on Dealer review sites he can expect us to use all legal remedy's available to us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have gone through the dealer's response to my complaint. Dealer's statements are not convincing. It seems to me that the dealer just want to close the case even before opening it or studying what exactly happened. Also I noted that there are many hidden facts/ false statements in dealer's response. Below is my brief rebuttal to the dealer's response. I have quoted dealers response wherever necessary. I hope the dealer will understand the case more accurately and take it more seriously. 1. "The next afternoon sent an email claiming ...." - The e-mail I sent on 20th Oct. was a second communication from my side as a follow-up to my first communication about the issue over phone. I reported the issue over phone on the day of servicing itself (19th Oct.), about 45 minutes after the service completion (~9.45pm). I was told that someone from maintenance will contact me on the issue next day before noon. However I received no call and so I sent the e-mail detailing the issue in the afternoon of 20th Oct. 2. "We also reviewed our video of his car the entire time it was in our shop and at no time was anybody or anything near the top of his car." This is unbelievable. How does a car wash work without this (also note in my complaint that the scratches are not exactly at top, but top right side)? 3. "..and invited him to watch the video for himself" This is also not true. I was just told by general manager that he is not able to find anything in the video. And I don't expect such scratches to be visible in the video. However if the dealer think such scratches will be captured then they can show me the snaps/ video of the scratches BEFORE the car was washed/ serviced (say when I parked the car in the check-in hall, I parked there for more than 5 min). 4. "..his tire was losing air pressure at such a rate it would have been flat in minutes" As already mentioned in my complaint, my tire was flat and I filled air from another mechanic 10 min. before reaching Honda dealer. The first mechanic told me that air pressure is good enough for a 10-15 min. ride, as the leak was slow (may be because the valve stem was only loose, but not fully out). 5. About the comment on randomness of the issue - I am not stating that the dealers car wash/ service system has any permanent fault or issue. I agree that what happened may be a random event (say the car wash captured some metal particle from a previous car wash which scratched my car). Whether it happened random or not, once it happened the issue should be addressed properly. 6. About me writing review and dealer's legal action against my review - First of all I don't have any plan to do anything illegal. My plan is only to do honest reviews, which may be helpful for other customers. And yes, I mentioned to both general manager (over phone) and service manager (over e-mail) that I may go ahead with a complaint with BBB and also with the reviews, as I don't want to give any surprise to the dealer. I considered this as a courteous action. Also I wanted to check whether the dealer want to resolve the issue between us, without involving a third party. However I can stop myself from writing any negative reviews if the dealer is willing to address the issue and resolve it properly. I hope they will do this. I am open for a discussion with the service manager at Brookdale Honda, mediated through BBB.

11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was falsely charged for a procedure that was later shown to have been a warranty issue. On October 21, 2015, I brought my 2013 Honda Pilot into this dealership (where we had purchased it along with an extended warranty) because the check engine and traction control lights had come on. The technician said that he would run a diagnostic test to determine the cause of this. After about an hour, the technician informed me that the test did not show anything specific, but he claimed that the vehicle's oil was 2 1/2 quarts low and that this was what had triggered the lights. Because of this, he stated that the diagnostic test would not be covered under the warranty and that I would be charged $140 for it. He also stated that he had performed an oil change, which I had not requested nor approved and which also eliminated my ability to check the oil level. Because of this, I had no way of verifying his claim that the oil level was extremely low, which had never occurred previously or since that time with this vehicle. The next day, both lights came on again, so I made the first available appointment with the same technician, returning to the dealership on October 27, 2015. The same technician talked with me, saying that he needed to run a more detailed diagnostic test. On this occasion, the technician informed me that the test showed a defect in a sensor and that the repair would be covered by the extended warranty. He also asked my permission to perform the repair prior to completing it. When my husband arrived to pick up the vehicle, he asked for a refund of the $140 fee I had been charged during my previous visit, as the issue was obviously related to the defect since the initial "repair" was ineffective and the problem resumed immediately. He was told that the technician had already left for the day so there was nothing that could be done. He then asked to speak with the manager of the dealership. After my husband explained the situation, the manager reviewed the paperwork related to the repair appointment and stated that it "seemed legit." In this paperwork, the technician stated that he had just added oil to my vehicle, although he repeatedly told me that he had performed a complete oil change. Despite all of this, the manager refused to provide a refund of the charges for the initial visit.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a full refund of the $140 charge I was assessed for the first appointment. I believe that this is completely justified as the original problem recurred the day after the appointment. This indicates that the cause was a defect in the vehicle, not a low oil level as claimed by the technician and should therefore have been both covered by the extended warranty and accurately repaired on the first visit instead of requiring a disruption in my schedule to return to the dealership for an additional appointment. Furthermore, the technician performed a service (the alleged oil change) that I had not been informed of nor approved and that made it impossible for me to determine whether or not the oil level in my vehicle was actually low. Additionally, according to his own paperwork, the technician did not actually even perform a complete oil change on the vehicle, although he told me several times that he had.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/11) */ I am sorry your recent visit was not so smooth. I agree that you are due a full refund for your original diagnostic fee. You can expect a check soon and a $100.00 Luther Brookdale Honda gift card. Please accept my apology for your experience. Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/11) */ Advised Ms ****** that the dealership has indicated she has a refund check and gift card on its way to her. Closing case 'Resolved' for now, but advised Ms ****** that if she hasn't received her check / gift card within a reasonable timeframe, she may contact BBB to have case re-opened for follow-up.

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made it clear I didn't want my credit pulled and never gave permission to do so. They pulled my credit anyway. I bought a car 9/22/15 from Luther Honda. I made it clear I was going to pay cash and was in the process of buying a house so I didn't want my credit pulled, and if it was pulled, I was going to wait to buy. The sales person told me my credit wouldn't be checked because I was paying cash. Well the salesperson deceived me and had my credit checked anyway which made my score change. I never knowingly gave any employee at Luther Honda any permission to check my credit score at any time and made it very clear I didn't want any inquiries added to my credit. Since they in fact did run my credit after telling me they would not, I have to believe they fraudulently did so or used deceptive tactics to trick me into signing something that was not explained to me truthfully or correctly.

Desired Settlement: Remove the credit inquiry immediately from my credit report. Inform employee to stop using deceptive practices to sell cars.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/07) */ Auto dealers are subject to a number of Federal Laws that require we verify the identities of our customers. Mr *******'s claim is that he never gave permission to access his credit history, when in fact he signed a form that very clearly spelled out that we would and provided an explanation of why. Mr ****** also states he told his salesperson he did not want his credit pulled. Our salespeople know better than to tell a customer that a credit report would not be pulled and have no role in the process. He also claims he paid by "cash" indicating that somehow that would not require a credit check. In fact, he paid by personal check with a number below five thousand. It is our policy to verify credit on all personal checks used to pay for vehicles due to the large amounts of money involved. Mr ******* makes several references to deception, fraud, etc. I will not speak to those comments, but it would be hard to imagine a more transparent process than ours. We are sorry that he is concerned that his credit status was checked, but the reality is it is standard procedure. To help alleviate his concerns, a single pull on a credit bureau will drop the score less than five points. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes I paid with a check. Yes I signed a piece of paper that I guess I should have looked at more closely. I put to much faith into a salesperson and I should have done more research myself. I will accept responsibility for the mistakes I made and take my business elsewhere in the future.

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A vehicle was sold to us without full disclosure of the issues it has. We asked on numerous occasions for the information and still do not have it. I purchased a vehicle on 5/12/15. This was a 2012 Honda Odyssey with 11k miles and I knew it was listed for a good price. I wanted to purchase it before someone else did. The vehicle was in paint when I went to look at it and the sales agent said it was probably minor issues. When I finally saw the vehicle I noticed some flaws around the gas tank and asked if that is what was fixed and he told me that probably was it. Later when we went to purchase it he gave me a receipt that and said there were some minor repairs. 6/17 I noticed that the vehicle was two different shades of black, I went back to check my receipt to see what was done and noticed it was the receipt for the wrong vehicle. I called my sales agent and now he says the front and rear bumper were re done, also some clips for the bumper were missing. He said they could replace the clips. I keep noticing more and more wrong with the vehicle, now 7/4 paint is chipping of the door and there is no evidence of damage to that area. I now contact the sales manager and he says paint isn't warrantable. I don't believe this is a warrantable issue but a customer service issue and falsely representing a product issue. I have now asked for the repair receipt 6 times and still don't have it. The sales manager now tells me a quarter panel was also done. I said I wanted an even trade in on the vehicle, Ryan assured me on 2 separate occasions that we would get an even trade in and we wouldn't have to put any money down once they found a vehicle for us. Now that they have found a vehicle, the finance person tells me I have to put $5000, down. I said I wasn't going to do that and he said, "just a minute, I just had another lender contact me and say they can do $3500 down" Strange, since the lenders were all closed. I still said I wasn't going to do that, I was told I would get an even trade with no money down. Ryan the sales manager than calls me and says he can do it for $2000 down. I said this is still not good enough. He says he is going to speak to his GM. Ryan calls me back a little later and says the GM approves $1500 down and $500 short of the original purchase price for trade in. This still is not what he told me he would do to solve this problem. After all that we have been through with this purchase, in the end they are still trying to make money off of us instead of trying to fix their mistake. We do have a chronological timeline of events and conversations of our entire buying process and are extremely upset. Now 2 1/2 months later still after several requests we don't have the receipt of the repairs made to our vehicle.

Desired Settlement: At this point we don't want this vehicle anymore because we cannot trust what they are saying about it. They have exact same vehicle waiting for us and we want an even trade ending in the same loan amount with no money down/out of pocket.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/08/11) */ Received e-mail from Jim ******** at Luther Brookdale Honda: "We reached a resolution in this case. Thanks" BBB will forward this on to customer for confirmation.

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service/Sales Advisor used high-pressured sales tactics when I went in for just an oil change. On April 15, 2015, I went to Luther Brookdale Honda for a regular oil change for my 2010 Honda Civic. Customer #****** and Invoice #**********. I left the service center extremely disappointed, upset, and confused. The service/sales advisor Tyler S******** used harsh and high-pressured sales tactics. I came only for my regular oil change and tire rotation, usually totaling $50-$60 per visit. After Tyler inspected my car; he advised me I need more than just an oil change and tire rotation. He stated I needed an 'advanced checked'. He made it sound like 'advanced check' was adding windshield fluid and air into the tires. He then stated that he would add two air filters to my service. I said I did not need it, but he kept pressuring me that I needed it and it would hurt my car if I didn't replace it. I asked him what an 'advanced check' was and Tyler did not explain it to me in detail. He made it sound like my car will break down on the road if I didn't go with what he said. As a woman who has little knowledge of car repairs/service, I went along with what he said for concern that my car will break down on the road. As I was waiting in the customer waiting room, I stopped Tyler, and stated that I forgot my wheel lock key at home. When my car was done, the cashier told me my total was $207, much more than what I expected. I looked at the receipt and they charged me the tire rotation. I reported to Tyler that I was charged and he simply told me to come back another time to get the tire rotation. I believe his response was irresponsible and unprofessional. To prevent an argument and confrontation, I left the service center. I contacted one of my friends who work at the same service center, and he stated that I did not need an 'advanced check' and those two air filters since my was still clean. Luckily, I have a relative who was willing to rotate my tires at my residence. Secondly, the technician Scott B*******, threw my belongings in the glove compartment all over my seat and car floor. I don't know why this happened, but I came into the car with mails and documents thrown inside of my car. I believe he did this in attempt to change the air filter or find my wheel lock key, but it was unprofessional to throw a customer's belongings around. I had a male friend come in on April 21, 2015 for an oil change and Tyler assisted him. Tyler did not offer him an 'advanced check' for his vehicle. I believe Tyler used his high-pressured sales tactics to financially gain from customers who have little or no knowledge of vehicle service/repairs. I made a complaint to Luther Honda about this issue. The 'manager' 'Brian' (service manager) left me a voicemail on April 21st at 2:29 pm. I called Brian back but was sent to his voicemail. It's been over a month and no response from service manager Brian.

Desired Settlement: My family and I have been coming to Luther Brookdale Honda for the past 12 years for services and repairs. I do not know Luther's sales practices, but I do know that other Luther advisors have been great to me and my family in the past. I believe the actions of the sales advisor and the sales manager have been poor. Sales manager has not left me any e-mails nor voicemails/calls. I am requesting that Luther Brookdale Honda refund me $164.96 for unnecessary services. I am willing to pay for my usual oil change which is $42.04.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/29) */ We have reviewed the customers concern regarding leaving personal items on the floor that should have been placed back into the glove compartment. It was necessary to remove the items from the glove compartment in order to replace the cabin hepa filter and unfortunately those items did not get replaced as found. We pride ourselves in good customer service and we also would agree this is not up to our normal standard of service. In regards to the claim that we used high pressure sales tactics to sell other services we would disagree with this claim. The advisor was using factory recommended guidelines as to the services due on the vehicle in order to maintain the vehicle and insure it continues to operate in a safe and driveable manner. Although we were able to perform some of the recommended services due we were not able to perform all of them. We would like to offer to send you a gift card in the amount of $100 to use on your next service with us. Thank you and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept Luther Honda's offer of a $100 gift card. The BBB requested Luther Honda to explain why the tire rotation was charged to the invoice while the tire rotation was not performed. Luther Honda's service department manager has refused to answer this question by both myself and the BBB. This is an act of unprofessionalism by Luther Honda's service manager and may be seen as a fraudulent act by charging a customer for a service that was never perform.

2/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for a brake fluid flush which resulted in damage to my clutch system. I originally went in for a brake fluid flush on December 8, 2014 i believe. Around the last week of december my clutch just got stiff all of a sudden while i was driving, then later it softened up again. It went off and on for a few more weeks then it just stayed stiff. I didn't really think anything of i because at that time is near below zero temperatures and all clutches usually stiffen up, but softens again after driving. This went on for about 2 more weeks or so. As i was driving to work i merged onto the highway and started to accelerate. As i was trying to shift into 3rd gear i stepped on my clutch and it would not go down all the way, i felt a little resistance like the clutch was trying to push back. At this time i was in the fast lane on the highway and i slowed down dramatically since i could not engage 3rd gear, there were about 3-4 cars behind me and a semi truck to my right, i was going about 45mph. I could not go anywhere. I kept trying to step on my clutch but it kept resisting so stepped on it as hard as i could and i hear a loud popped, then my clutch got soft and i was able to engage 3rd gear and accelerate to the slow lane. As you can imagine, it was a extremely scary experience as i could have caused a major accident on the highway. One of my relatives i a master tech at Subaru so i asked him what the problem was. He said it could be a number of things but he has a friend who works Honda and who may know more. A couple days later he gets back to me and says that my brake system and clutch system are directly tied into each other. Ironically, that same Honda mechanic works at the same Honda dealership I am filing the complaint. I will not reveal his name due to privacy reasons. I also have a friend who's older brother works at another Honda dealership as a Master Tech. He says that exact same thing. After knowing all that I sent an email back to Brookdale Honda stating the issue. The gentlemen who helped me was named *****. I do not remember the exact day since it has been a couple of weeks since. I have been contenplating this whole time about filing a complaint with BBB, and finally decided as a customer, it is my duty to file a complaint so this wont happen to anyone else. During this time, i looked up numerous resources and came across another source on a honda civic forum "http://www.civicforums.com/forums/171-general-honda-civic-forum-archive/305537-how-does-dealer-change-brake-fluid.html". This just further confirms what happened to my vehicle. I really believe that whoever the tech was that did the service did not know he/she was doing. I also noticed that they have signs posted all over stating that all their techs are "factory trained". This is false. If they were factory trained they would have known to bleed my clutch when they did my brake lines. As i was talking to *****, all he did was offer to reflush my brake lines. This made no sense because you can flush it 1000 times it would still not diagnose the issue. He insisted he wanted to do it just to rule it out. After they finished he sent a tech to tell me that my work has been done. At that point I had had enough. I felt he knew exactly what i was talking about but did not want to check my clutch system because it would confirm exactly what I had been telling im all along. I do not trust them to touch my car going forward and would appreciate it if they give me a full refund of the brake flush service.

Desired Settlement: I want a full brake fluid flush refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/13) */ Mr. ***** You have expressed dissatisfaction with your brake fluid flush service performed on December 11, 2104 and have requested a full refund. I have issued check #****** for $139.86, the full amount of brake flush and oil change, this morning February 13 and have mailed it to **** *****,******************* St. Paul, MN 55106. I believe this action should fulfil your desired resolution. Sincerely, ************** General Manager

11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a new Honda Odysey car and later found that my new car had patched tyre Bought a new Honda Odyssey car on Jan 27th 2014 for 42 K dollars on a loan by Honda corporation. On Mar 11th, when I was taking my kid to their class, I got flat tyre on 394W high way. When I took my car to Brookdale Honda service center, technician told that the tyre, whcih got flat is patched tyre and needs to be replaced. When I started questioning on how can my new car get patched tyre, they said they dont have any clue and they agreed to replace it with new tyre without any cost that evening itself. But after checking inventory they told me they dont have that tyre and they would replace it next day and gave me a rental car (free for me) to drive back home. Technician clearly told me that this is patched tyre and we should not patch it again. After coming back home, as I was so irritated/frustrated to know that my 40+ K new car was delivered to me with a patched tyre, I wrote a big complaint mail to my sales manager and sales person, questioning each and every part of my SUPPOSED to be new car. Next day morning another sales manager called me at around 9 AM CT and told that technician informed me wrong and it was not a patched tyre and does not need to be replaced. When I told him that I dont trust them now as no technician would give diagnostic without confirming it and that too with clear statement that we shoudl change the tyre and should not patch it again. He said he is sorry for technician's mistake. I aksed him not to do anything with my car as I wanted to get my tyre checked with some other service center to find out if it was really patched tyre on my new car. He said ok. But within 5 min he called me back and said by mistkae we have patched your tyre and its ready to go. I got really irritated and asked him how can he make a decision on an owner's behalf. If agreement was to replace it with new tyre, why did he patch it again? And when I clearly asked him to keep my tyre as is so that I can get it checked at some other place, why did he patch it. Answer was simple - its my mistake. First was technician's mistake and now its manager's mistake. I clearly told him that I felt that to hide previously patched tyre, he deliberately patched it again so that I can not get confirmation of tyre condition. I went to showroom on Mar 12th evening and talked to that manager, he repeated same thing that original tyre was not patched it was technician's mistake and then it was his mistake that he took decision on my behalf inspite of me asking him not to touch my car any more. Then he asked what he can do to satisfy me, I said I dont trust my other tyres as well so he should change all tyres. He said no. I told him I am going to find a place where I can officially file a complaint, he said you can go and do whatever I want to do. He behaved very rude now and sort of asked me to leave his office. Very frustrated with experience with them and after spending 42 K dollars, I dont know what all parts are not good in my car. I felt that to give me more discount, he changed original tires with some other tires. I feel like I am cheated and then thrown out as well. Can you please let me know what can be done in this case. I am 100% sure that after seeing my big mail, they came up with this story. Sales manager had told me that he had taken my tire pictures, when I sent them a mail to send me pictures, I am not getting any response. THey did not respond to my any mail so far.

Desired Settlement: At minimum, replace my car tires (all 4) with new one as I don't trust any tyre now and don't want to risk myself/my family. And they need to behave well and have to be responsive in all my future interactions. They can not just wash their hands after I bought the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/16) */ Mr. *** arrived at our Service department with his spare tire mounted on his vehicle and a flat tire on a wheel needing repair. The nature of the damage to his tire was an almost perfect circular hole in the tread that resembled a previous patch repair. Unfortunately this "first look " opinion was shared with Mr. *** without being confirmed.Once the tire was separated from the wheel it was discovered that it had not been previously repaired. Mr. *** would not accept our explanation. In spite of the fact that He had hit some kind of road hazard not covered by warranty we offered to replace the damaged tire with a new one. he refused our offer...Instead he got upset that we repaired the tire he had brought to us to get fixed. Regretably Mr. *** feels that all his tires are somehow affected by this misunderstanding. Although we cannot replace all his tires as he requests...We will honor our offer to replace the tire damaged by the road hazard he ran over. We believe we have provided a reasonable and factual explanation of a simple misunderstanding regarding a common flat tire repair. It is unfortunate that Mr. *** has chosen to turn it into something more. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/04/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Just changing one tyre is not what I want.. They have done something, which they should not have. They can not just get away by saying first their technician did mistake adn then their manager did a mistake. And they are Sorry for both. Getting one tyre changed costs around 60 $ with all my insurance. If I can spend 42 K I cna easily spend 60 $ more.. So not accepting their offer. I want them to learn from this so that they never do that again with any customer. 1. Had it not been new car, as per their technician I would have spent 300+ dollar to get my tyre changed. So Sorry is not enough. 2. How can manager make a decision to patch my tyre without my approval, when the alignment was they will change my tyre. My understanding has been that no service center should make any decision without owner's alignment. So Sorry is not enough. 3. The way the manager talked to me on that day was not acceptable. I will not tolerate that attitude from a shop, where I spend 40 Cents.. why the hell I would accept from a shop, where I am paying 42 K dollars. 4. The tyre gave me the problem within a week and went to their service center and they sent me back by filling some more air and said everything normal adn within couple fo weeks afetr that tyre gets flat. So not buying their argument that it got flat and was not already aptched tyre. So not accepting it. I want them to realize their mistake.. They have stopped responding my mails as well.. So their attitude has to improve towards their customers.

3/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used Honda with leather seats that were peeling and cracked. Company is refusing to replace the seat We brought the car back within the 4 day window and were misinformed about the seriousness of the damage to the leather seat. The company patched to seat and told us it was fixed to get us past the 4 day return period. The issue came back within 2 weeks. We took it back again, they patched it and it was peeling before I even got in the car. The manager said they would never replace the seat but would rather pay $100 per visit to keep patching the seat which obviously was not working. In the second attempt, they also dyed the seat a different color than the original and now it does not match the rest of the vehicle. I also get residue from the patching compound they used on my clothing EVERY time I sit in the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like the to replace the entire seat cover on the dirver's side or take the car back at full price including all taxes, fees and financing costs I have had to incur.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/11) */ I have met with *****, inspected and realized her concern. We have replaced both the seat back and seat bottom covers on the driver seat with brand new covers from the manufacturer. This repair has been done to the customers satisfaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Luther Brookdale Honda
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart