BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 2001 Business started: 11/07/2001 Business started locally: 11/07/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Scott Spaeth, General Manager Jim Haertzen Scott Hanson, New Car Manager Bill Love, Service Manager David Luther, Owner Kerry Spah, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Scott Spaeth, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Brookdale Chrysler, Jeep Dodge Brookdale Dodge Inc Brooklyn Center Motors Luther Boulevard Auto Credit Luther Brookdale Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Products & Services

According to information provided by Luther Brookdale Chrysler Jeep Dodge, they offer sales and leasing on new and used vehicles. They also provide service and parts for all Chrysler Jeep Dodge products. They are a dealer of Chrysler, Jeep and Dodge vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8188 Brooklyn Blvd

    Brooklyn Park, MN 55445 (763) 535-5200 (763) 560-8000 (763) 222-2750

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when i bought my 2012 ram from this business i also bought a package of 24 oil changes for over $300. a little over a year ago i traded that vehicle in for a 2014 model at this same dealership. when i recently went in for a oil change they said they would no longer honor the oil change package deal i made with them. I had only used 8 of the 24! they want to pass me off to Chrysler corp instead of handling this issue themselves! i paid them! they received the benefit! they're keeping my money! they say the package is by vehicle vin but never explained i'd be losing that deal when i traded it in to them. they made a lot of money off me on the trade and the purchase of another new vehicle 2 years later. they don't know what "honoring" a deal is and refuse to live by the "intent" of the package i purchased.

Desired Settlement: They need to honor the criteria of the original oil change package i bought PLUS TWO for my dismay and trouble and cost in funding my last oil change myself!

Business Response:

 

In response to *****'s request.  In the interest of customer satisfaction.  I have decided to issue ***** another Essencial Care Policy of 12 oil changes.  This package is good for 6 years or 12 oil changes which ever comes first.  It is only valid on the recently pruchased 2015 Ram ending in VIN number ********.  These policies are all VIN specific which is the reason we have the issue at hand.  As with any service contract policy, gap insurance policy, car insurance policy or any other policy in our industry.  Unfortuantly they are all specific to the vehicle the policy was purchased on.  I know of no exceptions to this.  With that said.  In this instance I have decided to issue another policy to ***** free of charge due to the apparent confusion which appears to have accured here.

I will be mailing out today a copy of the new policy.  Please have ***** call me with any questions

Thank You

Scott ******

General Manager

Luther Brookdale Chrysler

###-###-####

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

must be that new math. . .i just don't get it!  1) i bought 24 oil changes for $359.   2) i used 8 of them. 3) that leaves (this county bumpkin thought) 16 oil changes. 4) Brookdale Chrysler, Scott ******, is only offering up 12 oil changes 5) that's a difference of 4 oil changes! 6) Luther Brookdale chrysler continues to want to jerk me around, but this time over 4 - 6 oil changes!
I've been to "their" dealership twice over this issue, had 4 to 5 phone calls over it, and now extensive correspondence via the BBB.  Still Mr ****** wishs to play  games over 4 oil changes.  I guess having one or two employees in conciliation court for 1/2 day is cheaper than 4 oil changes.  Boy, business sure has changed a lot!
also, he probably doesn't realize that as a result of all this the dealership is causing me ALL KINDS of ADDITIONAL WORK!   I argued with Keith ****** over this and now the General Manager wishes to take exception to me.  Like i said, Mr ****** wished to argue with me rather than accept my contention that i have a 2014 Ram. . .he insists it's a 2015, as does Mr ******.   So. . .even though i have the window sticker saying 2014, even though the MN title says 2014, i now have to inform the state, my insurance company, the IRS. . .that Mr ****** and Mr ****** just made my truck one year newer.
also they don't understand the genesis of this package. Chrysler wanted to stop leaving money on the barrel head concerning oil changes and wanted some sort of lump sum payment for a bunch of them. Corporate has the lawyers and expertise to put together a national program doing this. so they did. They never intended this program to screw individuals if they purchased a 2 year newer vehicle from the same dealership and having the exact same motor, et al!  i guess the saying they always put on correspondence "we appreciate your business" is just that, a saying. . . nothing to really believe or practice.  This is exactly the kind of thinking of plywood minnesota, Clark gasoline, embers, bridgemans. . .oh wait. . .they're all gone or nearly so!!! 

2/5/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer failed to honor agreement of repairs. In July 31st-2015 I purchased a Ford truck F350 VIN *****************, deal #*****, customer #*****, miles on vehicle when purchased 144479, price $21,997.00, with auto dealer used vehicle warranty of 30 day or 1000 miles, after purchased I drove the vehicle for 30 minutes or 36 miles, turn engine off to get gasoline, then vehicle engine would not start, it took several attempts to get it to start, after it did started, it did not perform normal, it showed "major lack of power" and it would not go over 55mph, I returned with the vehicle on August 1st-2015, I expressed to the sales manager Brian **** my desire to want to return the vehicle due to the issues in such short time, I expected good since it was within the warranty time period and mileage period, first words I received from sales manager Brian **** was "WHAT DID YOU EXPECT WITH 144000 MILES", I then asked for my options, he verbally reply that my options were to either to exchanged the vehicle for something in their inventory or that "THEY WILL FIX THE ISSUES I WAS HAVING WITH THE VEHICLE" I told Brian **** that I did not want to keep the vehicle and that I would like to return it for a comparable vehicle in their inventory, he looked for a comparable vehicle and told me that the only option they had for me was a $55,000 vehicle ( $30,000 more than my vehicle ) this I could not afford, so my only option was to take the Brian **** offer to have my vehicle repaired, before a agreed to he's offer I was very specific and asked him what if the issues they were going to fix were to reoccur, like say a month later and after the used vehicle warranty time period, he did replied and verbally committed to, he said " IF YOU COME BACK WITH REOCCURRING ISSUES THAT WE FIXED, WE WILL HONOR THE REPAIR AND FIX IT", at that point they kept my vehicle for several days, I received a phone call to then to pick up my vehicle repaired, I went to pick it up on 8/04/15, they claimed vehicle drove as designed, they attempted to deliver my vehicle with " A MAJOR REAR BUMPER DENT " that they did not disclosed to me (UNETHICAL)this dent was not there when I drop off vehicle ( documented ) I requested they fix it, they agreed but would have to order part, from that time on I end it up spending 4 months dealing with them and more time with the vehicle in their service department, for one issue or another ( all documented ) " THE LACK OF POWER ISSUES WERE NEVER RESOLVED" and other issues that they attempted to repair were not repair either, then claimed the vehicle drove as designed, when all the issues they attempted to fix to this day January 8th-2016 are still present, by then my used vehicle warranty had expired, so I could not exchanged it and they would not honor the repairs warranty, in other words they physically removed and replaced components in my vehicle attempting to repair it, since they could not repaired, they than claimed it drives as designed, they have contacted me to offer me to take care of my concerns by taking my vehicle as trade in and sell me another vehicle, well, so they made money on my vehicle that I trade in to begin with, then they made money with the vehicle that they sold me and now because they do not want to honor the used vehicle warranty or warranty on the repairs they did, then they want to make money twice again ( VERY UNETHICAL ). They claim the repairs they attempted were not covered under the used vehicle warranty and that they did the repairs under a good will and that is why they can not help me now, well warranty or good will they removed and replaced components in my vehicle, my claim is : 1;" As of today I STILL HAVE THE LACK OF POWER ISSUES AND IT WAS DOCUMENTED WITHIN THE DEALER USED WARRANTY PERIOD, THEY SHOULD HONOR THEIR WRITTEN WARRANTY" 2; WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO RETURN THE VEHICLE " VERBALLY THEY OFFERED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE SO THEY SHOULD HONOR THAT " 3;" THEY ATTEMPTED TO REPAIR IT AND DID NOT, SO THEY SHOULD WARRANTY THE REPAIRS ".

Desired Settlement: 1; Fix the lack of power issue that was documented within the used vehicle warranty period. 2; Since they physically removed, replaced, installed or changed settings in my vehicle attempting to fix other issues and they could not fix them (documented), I want them to then honor the repair warranty and fix these issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/14) */ Mr. ****** purchased a 2008 F350 with a turbo diesel engine. The vehicle had a 30 day or 1000 mile limited warranty at the time of purchase. Initially, Mr. ****** had a problem which we did cover for him and the vehicle was running per Ford Specs. Secondly, the limited policy he received at the the time of purchase clearly states the diesel engine is not covered. The form was signed at the time of sale by Mr. ******. Despite all of that, we still stand behind our offer to allow him to trade out of the vehicle at current market trade in value against the purchase of another vehicle on our lot. We have offered to trade him out of the vehicle. The truck now has an additional 10,000 miles since the date of purchase roughly. If Mr. ****** is interested in trading the truck in he can stop in anytime and we will be responsive in an attempt to get him into a vehicle he likes and is happy with. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Luther's offer to take the broken vehicle that they just sold me as trade in for me to purchase another vehicle, will allow them to make profit out of my loss for the 4th time " VERY UNETHICAL ": Profit #1 Luther made profit out of the vehicle that I trade in to then purchase their defective vehicle, Profit #2 Luther made profit out of the DEFECTIVE vehicle they sold me; if I take their offer they will give me trade in value for the defective vehicle they sold me, this is $4000 to $6000 loss for me and profit for them. Of course they want to make more money even that they know that I as customer is loosing, they rather do this than take responsibility. First they claim they repaired the issues, yet when they could not fix it they rather claimed it drove as designed ( VERY UNETHICAL ), and to this day the truck still has the same issues, Secondly they claim that this being equipped with a diesel engine is not covered, this is what their warranty states for limitation in regards of diesel components : " Luther Advantage Limited warranty does NOT cover: Oil use, tires & alternative fuel : Oil use, clutch and related components, tires and any vehicle RETROFITTED WITH AFTERMARKET EQUIPMENT to use alternative fuels including but not limited to : LPG, CNG, Methanol, Ethanol, RFG, or an engine designed to use diesel fuel. The vehicle that I purchased from Luther was equipped with original manufacturers components and it did not have any " RETROFITTED EQUIPMENT " to use diesel, the engine is the original engine. And even if Luther finds a way to not cover diesel vehicles, based on the described above ( which happens to be not true or clear ) the limitations do not exclude other components in the vehicle that can potentially cause lack of power. Luther claims that the vehicle has 10,000 mile since I purchased it, that as of result of every time they gave me the vehicle back from repair I would have to drive it to then find that the issues came back. To this day since they could not fix the issues, they would not even look at the vehicle to troubleshoot. Luther made repairs to my vehicle as they stated in their response to my claim ( documented ) and claimed it was fixed, well it was not fixed and proof of it is that within short period of time ( documented ) I returned the vehicle to their service department, and still not fixed, well, since they worked on my vehicle, had it in their service facility, changed and adjusted components, Luther has Liability from the time they started removing and replacing parts and for making these repairs that did not fix the issues, for that I WANT LUTHER TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR LIABILITY AND FIX WHAT THEY DID NOT FIX (documented). Luther does not want to invest one dollar to do the right thing, and rather make thousands by being unethical, probably not legal and careless.

11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ************* ****************** Brooklyn Center, MN 55430 ************ ******@gmail.com Dealership- Luther Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge ****************** Re: 2011 Dodge Avenger-VIN# *****************. On August 24th,2015, I noticed that my car was making a high pitched whining noise. I took it to a local shop to be diagnosed on August 27th, 2015 and was told that the noise was coming from my transmission (the shop that I was at does not do transmission work) so I took it to the Luther dealership in which I purchased my car. I also took it to the dealership as my car is still covered under the "drive-train" warranty.I left my car there and was later called by the dealership stating that it was my alternator and they could fix it for $455.00 in addition to the $130.00 that I paid for diagnosis. I picked my car up and brought it to the local shop for $100.00 less than what the dealership quoted me. Unfortunately, the alternator was not the issue and I was out of $500.00. I called the dealership and told them that the alternator was not the issue and my car is still making this obnoxious noise. I spoke with Mike the service manager who advised me to bring my car back and they would re-diagnose it. I did, and was then notified that the issue was a pulley. This would cost me another $195.00 dollars in which I later did get waived. Once that part was replaced I went back to pick up my vehicle and the noise was still present. I spoke to several Managers, including the General Manager at Luther and they decided to re-diagnose my vehicle. I then received a call stating that the noise is "normal" and there is nothing that could be done. In the same conversation Mike (the service Manager) said "Well, it could be coming from the engine but we would have to take it all apart." I asked that they do that as my engine is under warranty and I really would appreciate if my car were fixed. Luther replaced many parts in my engine. When I picked up my car the noise was still present and still to this day is. This process started on 8/27/15 and today's date is 9/24/15. My car is still making this horrible, high-pitched winding noise and I CANNOT stand it!!!!! Luther has informed me that they will no longer work on my vehicle as their "internal support" group at Chrysler has told them this noise is normal and just comes with time. How does Chrysler know that if they have never heard it ??? I refuse to accept this as an answer. I am not willing to accept this as a response and just live with this obnoxious and embarrassing noise that my vehicle makes. I sound like I am riding a scooter. I did not buy my car in 2012 with this noise and I know that it is NOT normal. I have reached out to Customer Care at Chrysler. Everyone that I spoke with was extremely rude and completely un-helpful. I am sure you can appreciate, I rely on my car for transport and apart from the inconvenience, this problem has also caused me to incur additional cost (I have kept the receipts as proof). I just want the noise gone. I literally cringe every time I have to get in my car. I look forward to settling this matter amicably. *************

Desired Settlement: I just want the noise gone.I just ask that you step in and see that my vehicle either gets fixed (this is just being fair) or simply replace it (that would be going above and beyond to make and keep a happy customer). It is not right to expect me to just accept "it's normal" as a response when my car has NEVER made this noise before.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/05) */ The noise the car was making was compared to like cars. The noise is present in all of the cars compared with. Chryler determined it may be a normal noise for this engine. They authorized a reapair in attempt to change the noise for the guest as a Goodwill gesture. The noise did not change when the parts were replaced. Geust is stil in contact with Chyrsler Cooperate in regards to the noise. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not sure who they spoke with at Chrysler,but after speaking with Mike at the Chrysler executive office he advised me that it is NOT A normal noise and he wanted me to get a second opinion. I brought it to another Chrysler dealership on Saturday Oct. 3rd 2015. Within 30 minutes they found that the noise is due to a bad transmission. They are currently fixing the issue. At this time, I want to be reimbursed $130.00 that Luther charged me to diagnose my car as the were wrong. I am also asking you be reimbursed the $377.00 that I paid to have the alternator replaced, as it was NOT need and was NEVER the problem. I have all documents stating Luther advised it was the alternative in addition I have the paperwork showing that I paid for that to be replaced based on Luther mis-diagnosing my car. Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2015/11/11) */ Our GM has talked with **** and has agreed to refund her the amount of $130.53. This is the total amount spent here at our Dealership. He is not willing to refund her any additional for work she had done elsewhere. She did not need to come in and the check request has been submitted and will be mailed out to the guest. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 30, 2015/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree with the response. I had the work done at a different shop because they charged $100.00 less than what Luther was going to charge for the job. The only reason I had the work done was based off of the diagnosis from Luther. However, no matter where the work was done, I am out $380.00 for the work and it was not needed. The only reason I got the alternator replaced in the first place was because Luther told me I had to. Unfortunately, it was not needed. I do not feel like I should be the one out of money for my car being diagnosed wrong. (I do have paperwork documenting that Luther told me I had to replace the alternator) Thank you, ****

11/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep attempted to charge me for a fault that was caused by a previous recall. Cashier / Service Dept misinformed Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep attempted to charge me for a fault in the transmission that was caused by a previous recall on the car. Cashier / Service Dept misinformed me on which bill i had to pay. I brought in my car after calling the Chrysler recall center, after inspection and diagnosis I was informed by cashier I'd only need to pay for the towing and that the shop would take care of the repair. Upon completing the repair Steve & Brian asked for $2300 yet the cashier and supervisor had informed me that I'd only need to pay for the tow and diagnosis. This led to them holding on to the car and reaching them was a pain as they never pick up. The service dept, specifically Steve says I have to pay for repair yet the cashier said otherwise. I'd like to get my car out ASAP.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the car released ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/20) */ The car was towed for a transmission concern on 7-31-15. At that time we daignosed it as needing a transmission. **** came in paid the diagnosis and towing and at that time did not know if he wanted it fixed. He then came back Steve gave him pricing options for new and used transmission. The guest decided to go with the used parts for a total authorization of $2500.00. We completed the repairs and have tried to contact him several times to inform him is was done as it has been sitting on our lot for almost two months with no storage charges. The recall on this car was for a gearshift cable and was commpleted on 12-1-08. This is not a repair for internal transmission failure. The repairs the guest authorized have been completed. I called the Chrysler recall center in regards to this as well. The only information they have about guest calling is July 23rd. They advised to bring it in and have it diagnosed and if it was not the shift cable the cost of repairs would be at the owners expense. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep informed me when I stopped at their shop that repairs on the vehicle would be covered by the shop. I agreed to pay for the diagnosis. To this day they have held on to the car requesting for $2500 payment for a USED transmission. I have seen other similar complaints around the web and on BBB about this business so I guess this how they do business. I'll be seeking legal action if the vehicle is not released by end of this week as this is total fraud and needs to stop.

5/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: a major transmission leak I went in on 2/2/2015 to the dealership to look at the 2008 lexus rx 350. the original date the cars battery was dead, so once they jumped and started the car, we went on a test drive. the salesman said that they did a 70 point inspection on all used cars. at that point there was fresh snow on the ground and the oil had just been changed, so I did not notice a leaking problem. my oil change was ue on 5/2/2015 so I brought it in to get the oil changed (not at the dealership) and brought to their attention what i thought to be a major oil leak. they then explained that I had 2 leaks in the transmission, one of which requires 14 hours of labor and complete removal of the engine and transmission, I called the dealership and was forward to a voicemail on the 90 day mark. I received a voicemail the next day, saying that i did not purchase an extended warranty and that they would not cover the repairs needed. this leak was so bad that I had to have it towed to a transmission repair where it currently is waiting to be repaired. I believe that this issue which had a TSB since 2010 was not addressed or brought to my attention upon purchase of the vehicle. I believe that the dealership knew of this problem, but since it was the winter, passed it off considering i would not do an oil change for 3000 miles. this leave was so severe that it would not have surfaced in that short amount of time. Im hoping that luther will take responsibility for the issue.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that Luther cover the cost of the repair at an outside repair shop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/12) */ ******* purchased her 2008 Lexus RX350 from Luther Brookdale Chrysler on 2-2-2015 with 159,314 miles at the time of delivery. We did a satety inspection on 11/05/2014 and replaced a light bulb and a seal on the right front axle seal. There were no problems found during the inspection. The vehicle ******* bought is clearly stated to have a 30 day or 1000 mile limited warranty (whichever comes first) At no time has ******* brought the vehicle to Luther Brookdale Chrysler during or after the warrranty coverage period mentioning this issue. We would certainly be willing to offer ******* a discounted rate on the repair and offer a free diagnostics on the vehicle at our facility. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel as though the problem was so major that it could not have been missed when doing the initial inspection at their facility. I brought it in after winter for an oil change and tune up and the problem was so bad, I had to have it towed to the facility and have it fixed immediately before the transmission failed. The cost of the repair was around $2300 which I attached in my previous message. I feel like this issue was hidden from me and now I am worried what else they found and decided not to disclose.

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our car in for service and they never communicated any information regarding it and they FAILED to put the engine cover back on our car. Service date 3/14/15 2012 Dodge Caliber Went to them for an oil change and alignment check. They Failed to communicate status of repair or any problems to us. When we finally got the car back 2 hours after the estimated time they gave us the car was running very loud. When we got home we opened the hood and found that they FAILED to put the engine cover BACK on our car. Since the service advisor was extremely rude we are NOT comfortable with him or the repairmen at the dealership touching our car again. This is the third time they have not completed the repairs to our statisfaction!

Desired Settlement: We would like all charges refunded as well as compensation for our time and for them to pay for a qualified service department to complete the repairs and put the engine cover back on. Not Luther Brookdale Chrysler as they have failed repeatedly to complete the repairs and are extremely rude to the customer!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/03/30) */ Mr ******* called in Monday morning after his visit on Saturday. We looked for the cover and were unable to locate the cover here at our store. The cover was ordered in and recieved the same day. The cover was delivered by one of our empmloyees to Mr *******. When they went to install it the bolts that the cover was supposed to attach to were not there. We needed additional parts that should have been on the car. Those were ordered as well and shipped to the guest. This was done at no cost to the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While the engine cover was a portion of it and they did replace the cover that they lost at no cost to us. It does not excuse the fact that the service requested was not done to our satisfaction. We asked for a wheel alignment all the mechanic did was drive my car and say he didn't think it was pulling. They had the car for 3 hours and basically did the oil change only. Yet they charged us $85 for a job that was only partially done. We feel that a refund for the problems that we experienced is fair.

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: have my car in shop for repair almost 2 months now charge $650 to diagnise with agreeble of $2500 to get the car fix.then shop asking $2000 more than repair shop asking 130for diagonise my 2007 durango then warranty company want the shop did pressure test this cost 300 and warranty said thats not enough want the head gascet opened which cost 600 and i agreed but all this goes towards repair if i choose to repair then final estimate for repair 2500 then the day that i suppose to pick the car up then the shop is asking for almost additional 2500 more and the purpose of diagonise is to see if i can afford repair or not

Desired Settlement: to fix my car to what estimate i was given initially

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/25) */ Customer had vehicle towed did not run wanted diagnosis. pushed in shop vehicle turned over no start. Check first hour of diag checked spark fuel pcm for codes and still no start with all above checked. called customer to get approval of compression test with 4 hour of added diag time customer authorized. Customer does have extended warranty. after diag no compression found left bank in 1 cylinder needs cylinder head to fix problem . called into extended warranty not a covered item customer authorized 2500.00 repair wich 500 is covered bill was to be 2000.00 ok'd repair with ***** m customers advisor. Parts ordered not a stocking item showed in 4 days transfered all parts reinstalled head vehicle starts and runs. Technician on start up waited for proper temp rechecked all work started hearing tick noise from opposite side of engine he then informed me and advisor of nosie. Let sit restarted tick noise still present. Called customer to inform of issue. Cust stated that we should have found it. the customer stated to me that he drove it till it died. we did our diag to find out why the vehgicle would not run witch was caused by the left bank cylinder head failure. There was no way for the technician to find out it had a tick noise in the engine due to it not running when arrived. we where not able to listen to the engine until left bank cylinder head was replaced due to no compression/no start condition. I have spoke to the customer and his daughter since he is unwilling to pick vehicle up or pay bill or authorize repair of the engine. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/08/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i never said i drove the car till it die ,i fook the car ther i told them ther was a knocking and and getting over heat thats why its being towed and the engine is misfires and engine light is on to me they should have known when diagonise that its both gasket is bad if i was told that both gasket were bad i wont autorise to fix thecar for $4000 dollars.i was told $2000 dollars now they want additional $2000

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle on December 26, 2013. The vehicle has been in the repair shop 3 times for the same problem. I purchased the vehicle December 26, 2013. I immediately begin to notice the front passenger tire loosing air. I first thought it was due to the cold weather but it was loosing an extreme amount if air where I needed to air it up at least twice daily. After a week of dealing with this I called **** **** whom I purchased the car from. He informed me to bring it in. When I brought it in they were backed up and I couldn't get in until January 11th. During that time the car had another issue where a reduced engine speed light came on and I couldn't drive but 20miles. Tow trucks were backed up hours I went in a meeting came out and the light was off so I drive home and arranged to have it looked at the following day which was January 8th. I was told nothing was wrong went home 2 days later I was stranded again same problem. The car was towed in the shop and I picked it up Wednesday the 15th went home. As I was driving the car to work same issue happened again. The car is now in service to be fixed for the third time with the same issue. I was told the tire was replaced with a new tire but when I picked it up the 2nd time the air pressure was slightly down again which concerns me being that they have not repaired the other concern.

Desired Settlement: At this time I believe that I have a car that is no good being that it took 3 times to fix the same problem. Each time the car was returned to me I drove under the duress of thinking the car was going to break down on me. I now gave a we hicks that I don't trust will operate effectively so when I drive it I don't feel as though I'm going to make it from point A to B without the car giving me some problems. I would really prefer a replacement vehicle that is in good running condition which I went to that dealership under the impression that I would receive a car that operated. Along with the far not operating I also had to deal with some very bad customer service from the manager, other staff I interacted with as well as the service person at Luther Chevrolet where my car was shipped to for repairs being that the car is a Chevrolet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/22) */ I have been assisting ****** with her repairs and it has been in 3 times to get the problem solved. We offered replacement transportation at no cost to the customer and have picked up th cost of both tows in an effort to make the situation as painless as possible. I got the vehicle back from our chevrolet store on 1/21 and drove it home, with the customers approval, to ensure that it was indeed fixed this time. I had no issues with the operation of the vehicle in my drive home and back and believe the vehicle to be safe to drive from this point forward. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, they have picked the vehicle up and given me a replacement vehicle. The concern is on the first time I was told there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and that there was nothing wrong with the tire. By the time I made it home the tire pressure dropped over 15 pounds and the next morning driving the vehicle it presented the same driving problem. When the vehicle was in for the second time I was told the tire had a small hole on the side and needed to be replaced and was at first told I needed to pay for it. When I stated that I had the problem with the tire from day one it was agreed they would pay for it. My concern is I don't feel as though the vehicle is being properly looked at to resolve the problem because for one the tires issue was ignored one dealership told me nothing was wrong and a day later now there was something wrong with the tire and second I don't believe that it should take 3 trips to have diagnosed the problem with the driving issue so again I don't believe that the car is actually being looked at. I still to this day have not been told with the problem is or was just that a part was ordered and it's fixed which is the same thing I was told on the second trip and the vehicle did the same thing again the next day. It seems to be some secrecy in letting me know fully what is or was wrong with the vehicle and therefor I don't trust that the vehicle is or has been properly fixed. At this time I would like a replacement vehicle because I don't believe the car has been fixed properly or that it can be fixed also the emotional stress of leaving for work at six in the morning and wondering if my tire is going to be low or even if I will make it to work and the customer service that I had do deal with being laughed at, on the first occasion given a vehicle that was terrible and had to turn around and bring it back and finally being lied too from the first time the vehicle was brought and being told nothing was wrong with it and sending me back in the cold to drive with my children to be stranded and second and third time.

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was left in the care of the dealership. Part of my sound system had been removed from the vehicle with no signs of forced entry. I brought my truck into the dealership and asked them to diagnose an issue. When the issue was diagnosed, I went to pick up the truck 01/03/2014 and the truck would not start. I returned on Monday 01/06/2014 and drove my truck home to find that part of my sound system (subwoofer, amplifier and a controller) had been removed from the truck. $310 worth of installed equipment. There were no signs of forced entry into the vehicle which would lead me to believe that the vehicle had carelessly been left unlocked. I have contacted the general manager and his response was that the liability falls to the customer and or their insurance as it would had you left your vehicle overnight in a parking ramp. He said that they simply do not know what happened and that to claim otherwise would have no merit. They realize that I believe otherwise and that I have a right to the perspective. He also explained that they service over 2000 vehicles a month and these sort of circumstances still arise on occasion as with many retail businesses in the community. Or in a simplified form, "It's your fault for trusting us and leaving your vehicle here." He sent me a copy of the RO that I had signed when I brought the vehicle in. The portion that I had signed was under original customer estimate not the disclaimer that he referred to which states that... "Not responsible for loss or damage to cars or articles left in cars in case of fire, theft, or any other cause beyond our control." These were items that were installed in a truck that if it had been locked, nothing would have gone missing. In my mind locking a vehicle is not beyond their control. If I would have known that their disclaimer attempts to rid them of any liability to a vehicles entire interior and all of its workings as a result of their own negligence, I would have gladly removed my entire sound system! There has been no offer towards a resolution only empty handed apologies and what appears to be responses that all state that they do not care. Mention of a close working relationship with the local authorities and a security system is about the only thing they said in regards to finding out what happened.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate it if someone would extend to me a refund for the equipment that was installed in the vehicle. Simply because it is not beyond the control of the dealership to ensure that customer vehicles are locked. Had it been a parking ramp that I had left my vehicle in, I would have locked it myself. This comes down to an understanding between customer and employee that when handing over the keys to personal property, the customer can TRUST that simple steps will be taken to ensure that their vehicle would be locked just as if they (the customer) themselves had parked it in a parking ramp. I am not angry and mean no disrespect. I simply seek an effort towards resolution that exceeds a simple apology and statement of understanding. I understand that things happen and that considering that the vehicles are parked outside that there is a limited amount of protection that a dealer can guarantee it's customers. My simple point here is that there are absolutely no signs what so ever of forced entry into the vehicle. The truck does have an alarm. I would have greatly appreciated it had someone told me that any stereo equipment should be removed/uninstalled and taken home prior to me dropping off my truck. Only mention of personal items and articles left in the car are apart of the disclaimers. These are items that were installed in the truck and considered a part of the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/15) */ ******* complaint that stereo equipment was missing from his vehicle upon picking it up after a service visit needs to be turned over to his insurance company. We are not leagaly liable nor are we even aware of how and when this equipment went missing. I have fully explained our position to Daniel already. Secondly I forwarded a scanned copy of the repair order he signed at the time he dropped off his vehicle, which states our liability in these instances. Our position will not change given these facts. Thank You ****** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To turn this over to my insurance company would be redundant. My deductible is $500 and the items that went missing were valued at less than that. In any of our conversations not a single employee had discussed any effort what so ever in even looking at security footage or turning over the footage. The scanned order that I had signed at the time of the drop off is signed only on the line for original customer estimate and not under the liability section. It is not beyond your control to lock my vehicle when it is left in your care. I will not be satisfied with the continued path that the dealer is taking by continually stating that they are not responsible. It is their obligation to lock the vehicle and in this case would be greatly appreciated if they would simply make an effort towards attempting to find out what happened or to extend some sort of a token of apology without me having to tell them exactly what I would be fine with. Their every response seems to be as if they believe that someone would go through this much trouble for no reason. I am a single father of a 1 year old child and do not have money floating around to replace the items that went missing and therefore am truly upset that they have gone missing while under the care of the dealership.

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor service in car transaction. A year ago i bought a car from Luther brookdale and i traded in my old car Nisan Altima. I wile ago i received a parking ticked form State of Minnesota Violations Bureau. Parked ticked was issued 5 month after i traded in my old car. I am not exactly sure what kind business running this dealer. As a person who is trading in car i am expecting some paperwork which is involve removing my name from the title. I stopped by in Luther brookdale and i was promised that the somebody will take care this situation but unfortunately no body likes an idea to pay own tickets.

Desired Settlement: Pay ticket and something for big sorry

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/03) */ The vehicle that Mr. ******* traded was wholesaled to Minneapolis Auto Auction on December 2, 2012. The Vehicle was "Held for Resale" with the state of Minnesota to show that it belongs to the dealer waiting to be sold and title to be transfered. It looks like that vehicle was purchased from F and M Car Brokers and also "Held it for Resale" as of April 23rd, 2013. The customer did come into the dealership several months after receiving the ticket and talked to a sales person who then contacted the title clerk. The title left the customer a message but he never returned the call. We were not given a copy of the ticket. If the customer would like to give us a copy of the ticket we can contact that municipality to clear the ticket for him. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes it was a sales person who I talked too but after that no body left a message for me. I think in additional to poor service I can add liars are working for Luther Brookdale. I believe by spending $17000 in car dealerships I should me legally covered for everything. You need a copy of the ticked? I will be happy to give you a copy. Any time you can stop at my home address and just take it. I am assuming you are not going to ask me come to your dealership for fifth time since I purchased a car.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to replace defective part in vehicle while it was under warranty. Even though it was taken to dealership due to failing multiple times. The service department at Luther Brookdale Chrysler Jeep Dodge put a new motor in my Jeep Grand Cherokee three years ago for roughly $5000 in January of 2010. It came with a 3 year/100k mile warranty. Ever since I had the motor replaced I have had multiple problems with my oil pump consistenly failing. I brought it back to the dealership multiple times because the oil pressure gauge kept dropping to zero from time to time as I was driving. The first time they said it was a faulty oil pressure sending unit and billed me to install a new one (parts & labor). That was not the correct fix yet they kept my money. Another time they said it was bad oil and charged me for an oil change. That was not the correct fix yet they kept my money. I had been back a couple other times as well and was finally told by the service rep that until the oil pressure gauge drops down to zero and stays there that they would not repair it. I was instructed to drive it until that happened to where the pressure stayed down and bring it back it when that occurred. Well now that 3 years have passed and we are 4 months beyond the warranty it finally went out completely. Even though there is documented proof in their system showing that they initially installed a faulty oil pump and they never properly repaired it during any of the times I brought the vehicle back into the service department while it was still under warranty, they will not resolve the issue and include it under their warranty now. I would think that since they pushed me to pass on the proper repair while I was under warranty coverage, which they should have completed the initial time that it was detected as faulty, that they would be obligated to resolve the issue appropriately. Instead they want to charge an additional $1700 for the replacement of the oil pump. There is also a concern that when I dropped off the vehicle on June 17th, 2013 they were not able to find any documentation in their computer system showing that they had even replaced my engine. It was not until 4 days later on Thursday January 20th, 2013 that they were able locate the info.

Desired Settlement: To have the oil pump properly replaced under warranty as it should have been during any of the attempts I make to bring in the vehicle while it was failing and under warranty.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */ Mr ****, On 1/11/2010 at 120603 miles we installed a TriStar remanufacutered engine. This engine came with a 3 year warranty from TriStar. On 2/11/2011 at 139928 miles the vehicle waa brought in with a complaint of the oil pressure gauge drops to zero. Our technician tests and verifies that the oil pressure sending unit was not operating. We replaced the sending unit and verified the repair. On 2/16/2011 at 140146 miles, it was found that the oil pressure sending unit that had been replaced was defective. This was replaced and covered by Chryslers Mopar Parts Warranty. We also performed a maintenace oil change as stated on the invoice. On 7/1 2011 at 144122 miles ststed that the oil pressure gauge drops. Our Chrysler Technician tested and found the oil pressure to be at specifications. We were unable to duplicate the oil pressure gauge issue. On On 6/17/2013 at 171381 miles the customer states the oil pressure is reading zero. Our Chrysler Technician tested and found that the oil pressure is at 4psi at idle, this is within specification. However, when increasing the engine speed the oil pressure did not increase. With the Sludge build up noted on the filler neck/oil cap that there is most likely a sludge build up in the engine and oil pan. This would cause the oil tube pickup screen to be blocked and not allow for incease in pressure as the rpms were increased. We would need to lower the oil pan to further diagnose the issue.. however,according to our Service Advisor the owner would not authorize this be performed and came and took the vehicle. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/07/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The service department did drop my pan and investigate furher. I was informed by *********** there was a sludge build up on the engine and there was nothing they can do to fix it. No options for them to repair it were given. I then asked him if it had anything to do with the constant dropping of the oil pressure since a couple of weeks after the engine was installed and he proceeded to inform me that the oil pressue problem was repaired by installing a new pressure sending unit that they charged me for. I told him that did not correct it because it kept happening. He said they did replace the sending until again since the first one was faulty. I told him that never fixed it because it continued to happed all they way up to it dropping completely and there was documented proof that I kept returning due to the same issue. His only response again was it was fixed. Even after I informed him again that it was never fixed he did not respond to me. They made the decision to push me away rather than address the issue. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/07/16) */ Received call from Service Manager ***********, indicating that dealership is still willing to drop the pan (with Mr ******'s consent) and determine appropriate repairs / 'next steps'. Mr ****** needs to contact service department at Luther Brookdale to make arrangements to have pan dropped and issue diagnosed.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor Customer Service by sales manager ********** and the Service Department. Took over 3 weeks to fix the car. Car still not fixed,same issues. Purchased a used 2007 Saturn Vue, V6 AWD on 3/27/13. Within a few days return the car for service due to grinding sound with brakes, passenger side back door was vibrating while the car was idling. Car was due back for the dealership to correct the passenger airbag light that stayed on (this was noted when car was purchased0. Couple days later called that the vibrating issue was corrected and was due to pits in the rear rotors. That the car will have to go to another one of their shops to fix the passenger light issue. The car was supposed to be completed 4/5/13; however did not receive car back until 4/23/13. During those 3 weeks, I had to follow up with the dealership. The rental provided did not operate correctly and I had it switch out 4/22/13 for another car. All the time service man *********** either provided incorrect information in regards to when my car would be ready or never called back. On 4/25/13 when I began to hear the grinding sound again I called salesman ************ and he's response was "Well. ****, which made me very upset and I stated I would be bringing the car back in for service and needed a rental. He stated he'd called service in the morning as it was already closed. I called service in the morning 4/26/13 and spoke to *********** and informed him I would be bringing in my car later in the afternoon, after work and to have a rental ready as I had to pick up my sister n law at the hospital and I also wanted an itemized invoices of the work done on my car at their shop and the other shop. He informed me he would the other invoice faxed over. I get to the shop around 5:30 pm, there was no rental waiting nor a copy of my invoices (as they still had not provided me a copy of the invoice of the work they did at their shop). An older gentleman drove my car around their lot and stated he could not find anything wrong. He then spoke to sales manager, who he said would speak to me. The sales manager ********** told me point blank, he was not obligated to provide a rental and if I wanted to have it look at now, I would have to get a rental from them or have someone pick me up. He continues to speak to me in a rude, unprofessional manner and several times rolled his eyes and sighed as if I was wasting his time. It appears since there were other men in the office he had to save face. At one point he felt comfortable and in his right to call me "dear." That is very offensive and I informed him my name was **** ***** and better yet he should call me Ms. *****. He made comments that alluded to the fact, that even if I left my car or brought it back, they would find nothing wrong. I was treated like trash and disrespected in front of other salesmen. ********** was very rude and unprofessional and when I asked for both invoices, with distain he printed off the one for their shop and informed the other invoice was not in the computer yet. How strange when *********** was getting it faxed over that morning. When I asked for the owner of the dealership he stated "It's ***** Luther, it's not like I have his personal cell phone number." poor customer service. Finally I left as I had my two young nieces with me and had to pick my sister-n-law from the hospital. My brakes are still grinding, the back passenger door still vibrates while idling. Based on the treatment I received at the hands of ********** and the service department, I believe they will only seek to humiliate me, not fix the issues of my car and intentionally do damage to my car if I bring it back for service. I have never been treated in such a manner and to think I just purchase a car from their dealership. Guess since it was used car, ********** felt he could treat me as he saw fit. I have never had a person call me "dear" in a manner of disrespect until 4/26/13. All I want is my car fixed as it should be under the Luther warranty and to never be subjected to such treatment again by Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge.

Desired Settlement: Simply want my car fixed as it should be under the Luther warranty. Prefer to have the corrections to the car performed at another Luther location as I don't trust or feel safe taking my car back to Luther Brookdale after the treament I received from ********** and the Service department.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/05/17) */ After taking another look at the brakes on the vehicle we have decided to replace the current new aftermarket pads with NEw OEM factory pads from GM. This is scheduled to take place within the next week as I understand it. The delay in response to the inquiry has occured due to the delay in re-inspecting the vehcile. Thnak You ******* Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/05/07) */ The General Manager- ************ contacted me yesterday Monday 5/6/13. He is working with me to get my car service and apologize for the behavior of his Sales Manager. Based on our conversation yesterday, I feel Mr. ****** will ensure my car is serviced properly and ensure his staff is respectful and professional with all customers. Will submit another update once my car is serviced.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Luther Brookdale Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart