BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Luther Bloomington Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Luther Bloomington Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Luther Bloomington Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 02/07/2009 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Leonidas Checheris, GM Amy Erickson, Controller Amanda Foerster
Contact Information
Principal: Leonidas Checheris, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Luther Bloomington Hyundai, this company offers new & used vehicle sales, parts and service.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Luther Bloomington Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4801 American Blvd W

    Bloomington, MN 55437 (952) 881-5100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership did not make payment to Ally Bank I gave them. Briana ***** of Luther Bloomington Hyundai told me I needed to give them my first car payment, and they would make the payment to Ally Bank. On October 15th, 2015 I gave $410.00 to Eric ****** in financing because Briana was not available. Eric did not give me a receipt of payment at the time. I was contacted by Ally Bank a month later, and asked where the October payment was. I told Ally Bank I gave the payment to the dealership, and they said they would make the payment to the bank. Ally informed me that I should not have given it to the dealership, and that they never received the payment. I spoke with Briana ***** at the dealership about a receipt of my payment and why they did not pay the bank. Briana emailed me a receipt for $390.00 cash payment and said they would overnight payment of $408.74 to Ally Bank. As well as a letter stating I was not late on my payment. Its been a couple days now and the bank still has not received the payment from the dealership. I am now 32 days late on my payment and the bank is gonna have to report it to collections. Also on the verge of getting the car repossessed.

Desired Settlement: I need the dealership to clear this up with the bank, and make the payment of $410.00 I gave them. Also this is affecting my credit, and I don't want the car to get repossessed. I feel like I have been ripped off, and mistreated at this dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/15) */ Received response from Luther Bloomington Hyundai via uploaded attachments -- includes copy of payment receipt, check to Ally Financial dated 11/16, copy of FedEx delivery confirmation showing delivery 11/17. Text of accompanying response letter reads as follows: "********* came into the dealership Saturday Nov. 14th. She expressed concerns regarding her first payment on her recent auto loan. We collected the first payment at the dealership a couple weeks prior to her coming in. Unfortunately, we do not have office staff available on Saturdays, so we were unable to check the status of her payment. She became very agitated. We did ask her to leave when she began to raise her voice and swear on out show floor. First thing Monday morning, we did see that the check had not been issued to Ally to cover her first payment. We issued a check in the amount of $408.74 for her first monthly payment. That check was sent over night to Ally. We emailed her the receipt for the cash she gave to the dealership in the amount of $390. She did not receive a receipt originally. It was offered to her, but she declined. As a dealership, we do not normally collect the first payment from the customer. However, it was necessary in this case because of how long it took to get final approval on her loan. It took a couple months to get the loan finalized because the income Mrs. Lee stated on her credit application was not supported by the documentation she provided us. The check was delivered to Ally on Tuesday, Nov. 17th and signed for by Ally. It cleared our bank account on Wednesday, Nov. 20th."

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought a car a week ago and had to bring it to repairs twice in that week. I bought a car at this dealership on February 19th. Two days later I notice the car is shaking really horribly on idle and upshifting hard. I bring it in wary of this car considering of using that 5 day exchange or refund warranty because a car shouldn't have those kind of problems. There is another car just like that one with fewer miles but the exact same features I had with the car I bought. It cost $4000 more but they did there sales routine trying to keep me in this car where they do the repairs free and give me a loaner car until it's done. I felt very uneasy about this as I felt obligated to do that because they would not help me get into the car with the same features and that was the 5th day so I couldn't return or exchange due to there policy. Which I feel like they played me. So, I take the car home and on 02/25/15 My car isn't starting. I wait in my car in the freezing cold trying to start it. It finally starts after 10 minutes of trying and this happens 4 times over the next 24 hours. At this point I don't want this car anymore because what else could happen. Is it a lemon? Did they sell me a bad car. I call the service department to get it fixed. They tell me I can't get a loaner car till Monday. I have midterms and work 45 hours a week and also have to pick up my brother from the airport. I need a car and who knows when my car just may not start and I am stranded with a broken car. So, I call the sales manager (*****) and tell him how I don't want this car anymore and he first says he can't return it. I tell him that how am I suppose to keep a car that I have to take to the service department twice in one week and how is that fair. After a long heated discussion he offers to pay for an enterprise rental while they look at my car and if it is anything serious we can talk about a return. I figured I was stuck in a lose lose situation so I bring it in and he tells me he has got a car for the same value and same miles and same features we can switch me into. He shows it to me. It has 7000 more miles and doesn't carry every feature I signed up for. Then instead of talking it over he just left me at the service department and sent me on my way to enterprise because he had family things he had to do. I understand family is very important but I felt like all I am to this dealership is someone they just want to push away and not care about. I feel like I have been dooped and tricked. I really don't care if they fix the problem because how am I suppose to feel confident in a car I had to take to the shop twice in one week. I had to miss a day of school and work because of this car. I lost out on money and participation points towards my grades at school. They didn't seem to care about what I am going through as a person or that I am unsatisfied with my vehicle. If they want to save face I would like to return my vehicle or exchange it for stock number 67553A at the same cost for my troubles. I shouldn't have to lose pay, waste gas, lose grade points on a vehicle which they claim had a 151 point check guaranteed and fixed. I doubt they will meet my request but I feel like they really tricked me into a bad car.

Desired Settlement: Either let me return the vehicle or retain my loyalty to hyundai and exchange it for stock number 67553A at the same cost of the vehicle I bought for the troubles and lost money and time and points for my grades.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/03/03) */ To whom it may concern, Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. *****'s concerns. It is extremely important to our staff that our guests get treated fairly and with respect at all times. Our commitment to this can best be illustrated by our Better Business Bureau A+ rating. Any concerns and reasonable requests are fully heard, researched and a fair and equitable solutions given. In most cases, we err on the side of going above and beyond what is considered reasonable in finding and presenting solutions to our clients concerns because we understand the service and satisfaction of our clients is more important than anything else. This is why we have the 5 day- 500 mile return or exchange policy in place. We want our clients to feel good about the selection that they've made. In addition, all of our vehicles are inspected and reconditioned to the best of our abilities and are put out on our lot for sale in what we believe is good working order. If a car does not meet our high standards, we do not retail it. In fact, in those instances, we send it to the auction and in other cases, to be properly disposed of. With that being said, regarding Mr. *****'s concerns, we have acted immediately upon learning of any and all concerns he has presented to us. Please see below what has been done to remedy any concerns that he has had as well as our effort to go above and beyond reasonable to satisfy a valued client. The original purchase date was 2-18-15. On 2-23-15 Mr. ***** contacted us and informed us that his vehicle was running rough. We told him that we'd be glad to run a diagnostic on it and to bring it in, at which point we provided him with a new car service loaner at no cost to him while we began diagnosing his vehicle. While he was at our store, Mr. ***** expressed interest in another vehicle that was priced $3,000 above what he had previously purchased. At his request, we made an effort to provide financing for him which, we were able to acquire. Due to privacy rules, we cannot provide any more information regarding that other than to say Mr. ***** decided the options did not fit within his budget. Ultimately, we were able to correct the rough idling by replacing an ignition coil and three spark plugs. On 2-27-15 Mr. ***** contacted us to inform us that his car did not start in the morning. He did say that after his initial attempt, he waited 5 minutes and then it started. Although the temperature that morning was 10 below zero (-10) we asked him to bring in the vehicle so we could see if there is a new issue that had developed on his used car. We gave him a new service loaner again to use at no charge while we performed diagnostic procedures on his car. We decided that the starter, because of being older, combined with the extreme cold, would best be replaced with a new one and provide many years of service. We completed the repair and to spare Mr. ***** any further inconvenience, we drove his vehicle out to Coon Rapids and delivered it to him and drove our no-cost service loaner back to Bloomington. As we hope this illustrates, we have met all of Mr. *****'s requests with calm, professional and thoughtful results, providing him with repairs and service at no cost to him in an ongoing effort to satisfy him and provide him with a reliable used vehicle at a low cost. We have presented him with additional options as well as provided results to options he has requested of us. Our hope is that Mr. ***** is able to reflect on prior events and see how we have attempted multiple times to both satisfy and provide solutions to his requests. Thank you for your attention, time and consideration in this matter. Please feel free to inquire about any additional information you may need. Respectfully, ******** (*****) ********* General Manager of Luther Bloomington Hyundai Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My only issue if the car was inspected right I shouldn't have to miss time at work and school to have the car serviced twice in one week. I feel like the car was not inspected to their and my standards. The car is driving fine now but I am just crossing my fingers that I do not need to head to that dealership ever again. I feel like I was just pushed to the side and my thoughts and feelings weren't considered. They didn't consider that I like 35 minutes away and how much of my gas was used to drive down there and for them to drive it up to me. Also a technician drive it home. The least they could of done is filled it up. So besides the miss day of work and the day of school it still came to a cost to me l with gas money and personal time. I feel like they didn't live up to their gaurentee as stated on there website. I didn't get a reliable car and it didn't perform. I will just warn my customers and friends never to go here that they don't care about the people just the money they get by getting cars off there lot and making money. I just really hope all the issues with the car are done I do not want to go to a place that treated me as a dollar sign and not a person.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Luther Bloomington Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart