BBB Accredited Business since

Luther Bloomington Acura Subaru

Phone: (952) 881-6200 Fax: (952) 881-3462 7801 Lyndale Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55420 http://www.bloomingtonacura.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Luther Bloomington Acura Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Luther Bloomington Acura Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Luther Bloomington Acura Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1986 Business started: 04/16/1986 Business started locally: 04/16/1986 Business incorporated 12/14/1992 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mark Rosenthal, General Manager David Luther
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Rosenthal, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Bloomington Acura Subaru Luther Car Dealers Rudy
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Luther Bloomington Acura Subaru, this offer new & used cars.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 7801 Lyndale Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55420 (952) 881-6200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint received via letter to BBB, 11/30/15. (Note: Customer's original letter dated 10/7/15; appears that this is customer's 2nd letter to BBB, and that 1st attempt may have been lost in mail.) Scan is attached; text of letter reads as follows: "October 7, 2015 Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota 220 S River Ridge Circle Burnsville, MN 55337 Greetings, BBB I spoke with Brandal *******, service advisor, for Bloomington Acura, *************************** Bloomington, MN 55420, on June 5, 2015, regarding invoice #ACC *******. I had an expired coupon good for 25% off the price of brake repairs which was not presented at the time repairs were made on 06-05-15 and asked if he would accept it after the fact. He stated he would. I sent the coupon and cover letter on 06-12-15 and never received a response from him, even after multiple e mailings and leaving voice mails on his direct phone line. I then contacted the service manager, Lisa **********, and went through the same process with her. No responses. After multiple attempts at making contact, she finally credited $20.00 toward the nearly $800.00 invoice, not 25% as previously promised by Mr. *******. I then contacted Mark *********, the general manager, who, in step with the two other employees, failed to respond. Ms ********** later responded and would not credit the 25%. Since Bloomington Acura initially agreed to credit the expired coupon, they should keep their word and follow up with the remaining balance, which would be approximately $180.00. Thanks very much for your assistance in this matter. Sincerely, ***************** ********************* Woodbury, MN 55129-5292 ************ e-Mail: ***********@comcast.net"

Desired Settlement: "Since Bloomington Acura initially agreed to credit the expired coupon, they should keep their word and follow up with the remaining balance, which would be approximately $180.00."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/02) */ Mr. ****** did indeed come in on June 5th 2015 for brake repairs. He spoke to shift supervisor Brandal ******* about a 25% off brakes coupon that he had at home and asked if he could use it. Mr ******* said he was not aware of any such coupon and asked Mr. ****** to mail it in so we could take a look at it. Our shift supervisor never promised he could use it. After reviewing the coupon recieved from Mr ******, it was noted to be expired as of 6/25/2011. We respectfully declined honoring it as it had expired over 4 years earlier, however we offered to extened our current special to to client which he accepted. We do not feel that we have to honor expired offers and have met our obligation to the client. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/12/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business advised they would accept expired coupon. Period. Just send it in. They then refused to respond until multiple calls, letters, emails were sent to various levels of management. Their version remains inaccurate. My trust in the dealership has completely eroded. Thanks for your intervention and assistance. It is much appreciated.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subaru employee gave me bad information that cost me $13,000 in bad reapairs.Subaru said the repairs were good and charged me more for incorrect fixes It started out with me taking my car in there for boost issues. A technician there Christos told me to go to his buddy Dave ***** that has worked for that Subaru dealer and others. Cristos also told me he worked on Porsche's, Ferrari's and other high end cars. Dave did a compression test and I was having some issues in a couple cylinders. About a month later the idler pulley failed sending all the internals off kilter, bending valves and sawing into the oil and water pump. I had the car towed to his place because he was confident he could do it. He had the engine out right away, but wouldn't help me with ordering the parts. It took him over 3 months to get it done, charged me way too much, charged me for work he didn't do and said he misplaced a few parts such as my quick drop oil release and a rail for my intercooler. When I picked up my car the first piston set I got, which were the wrong size, he failed to return because he said he didn't have time. So I had to eat that, and I still have an unused set. I asked him about the check engine light I was having and he told me it was in the tune, when my car was already tuned. Also went back to him for oil leaks because it was leaking all over and he said it was coming from one spot and replaced 1 small O ring by the filter.I took it back to Acura/Subaru, because I was sick of dealing with that guy. I told Subaru about Dave and that Christos recommended him to me, and that I was very upset with the work that Dave did. Subaru said it was leaking everywhere, like I was telling Dave. Subaru had to replace all the seals, that means they had to open everything up. I asked them to check everything out inside to make sure Dave put the engine together correctly and I had the correct parts. $2,000 later replacing the bad seals I told them I received, they said everything was fine. I contacted Cometic about the seals and since I didn't have any seals to send them and Subaru didn't tell me that I should send them seals my refund from them was $0. I was still getting a check engine light and Subaru told me it was because I had done too much work to the car which is far from true. Basically was an STI in a 2.0 engine. They told me it was in the tune so I took it to a tuner and they reprogrammed my ECU using an open source software instead of using my COBB V1. He also fixed a couple boost issues that Subaru nor Dave could figure out. Still having a check engine light.I moved to Denver last year and was failing emissions and have been working with shop out here. They fixed a few more seals that Subaru missed, the timing belt was off by 2 teeth, I through the last bit of money I had left into a 2.5 bottom end and they checked the heads. The rods that Dave put in were too long, causing knocking. The new valvetrain I put in was not set up correctly. They were either too tight or too loose. The Brand new heads that Dave put on were supposed to be ported by Hot Heads and there was no head work done. They put the motor together. I went to tune it again and the really good tuner here and he did not want to tune it, because there was still something going on in the heads. All that could have been figured out if Subaru would have checked the engine when they replaced my seals.I am saved up for a complete swap, because putting $5,000 into new heads wasn't worth it. Between The work that Dave was suppose to do to my car, parts and tunes and lots of other diagnosing that isn't cheap, I cold have bought a brand new STI. When I could have done a full swap, installed and a tuned for $10,000 or less.I have tried contacting Bloomington Acura/Subaru a few times with no response. I then contacted Subaru corporate and they got to me right away. Corporate said they would contact Bloomington. I waited two weeks for a response before corporate got back to me, telling me that Bloomington was not responding and I had to contact them. Only to put me in a back and forth game. Help..

Desired Settlement: I would like the cost of the improper work done on my car by Dave, the repairs Subaru claimed to check and do on my car. Also for my time and headache for the whole period this has been going on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/22) */ Mr. ***** had his vehicle in to our dealership on July 28th 2011 for what he thought was a noise in his clutch. A technician took a quick look at this vehicle and determined that the noise was coming from his engine and not the clutch. The customer was advised on tear down costs, which he delcined and he elected to have the vehicle towed out of the dealership and to another location. The customer elected to have Dave ***** who was no longer affiliated with the dealership repair his vehicle. The dealership feels that if this customer has issues with the quality of the repair work performed on his vehicle by another facility he needs to contact the person who performed the work. To address the customers issue with the dealership not identifying oil leaks, the dealership did not miss the leaks,it was documented on 2/27/12 that the vehicle is modified to boost well beyond factory levels. It is the opinion of the dealership that it is this excessive boost causing the customers repeated oil leak concerns. It is also the opinion of the dealership that the customers repeated check engine light issues are due to the modifications that he has had performed on the vehicle. The dealership is not responsible for reimbursing the customer for work done elsewhere nor the services provided to him for repairing the customers oil leaks in February 2012 or April of 2013.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When performing a diagnostic on my vehicle the service technician left my car's battery damaged and drained. Seeking diagnostic refund When performing a diagnostic on my vehicle the service technician left my car's battery damaged and drained. When vehicle was picked up the starter barely turned over and when car was returned home the battery was dead.

Desired Settlement: Amount charged to me for the diagnostic work

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/03) */ This vehicle came to us to diagnose a power steering noise/leak & Tire pressure light on with an error message. Plus they had damaged one of the outside mirrors and wanted an estinate. We called Mrs. ***** and told her the power steering pump was noisey and failing and one of her power steering hoses was leaking. The tire pressure issue was being caused by 2 failed tire sensors located in her tires. We also discussed the mirror which had a broken housing and actuator. We then continued to go over our complimentary multi point inspections, which we do at every visit. There were several items noted. One of the items discussed was the battery's state of performance. We explained that it had failed the batter test and she would be in need of a new one. The battery tested 320 out of 550 cold cranking amps. The battery replacement was declined as were all the other recomendations, including brakes, tires, wipers ect. We have not done damage to Mr. *****'s battery or electrical system as he states, the fact is that this battery was weak and failing when it came to us. Which again was discussed with them. We have tried to resolve Mr. *****s complaint and explain to him that there is nothing we could have done to make his battery go dead and even offered him $100.00 off towards future service as a goodwill gesture, but Mr ***** declined. Mr ***** also states he took this vehicle to another qualified mechanic with confirmation of "damage" but when asked to review such documents, Mr ***** refused. He stated to me in an email that in exchange for a full refund he is willing to: 1. Pull his review off of Yelp and Google 2. Not send information to Acura USA 3. Not file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau 4. Not include additional compensation to repair the damages done to my electrical system in my vehicle. We do not agree with reimbursing Mr ***** for the diagnostic work that was agreed upon and completed on his power steering and TPMS concern. We feel we have no obligation in this matter as his battery was weak and failing upon arrival.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Luther Bloomington Acura Subaru
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)