BBB Accredited Business since

Lupient Nissan, Inc.

Phone: (507) 252-5577 View Additional Phone Numbers 4642 Highway 52 N, Rochester, MN 55901 http://lupientnissan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lupient Nissan, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lupient Nissan, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lupient Nissan, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 2011 Business started: 12/01/2010 Business started locally: 12/01/2010 Business incorporated 11/24/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv, Saint Paul MN 55120
http://www.dot.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-3000
customerservice@mnpass.net

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Scott Dibble, General Manager Jeff Lupient, Dealer
Contact Information
Principal: Scott Dibble, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Products & Services

According to information provided by Lupient Nissan sells new Nissan vehicles. They also sell all makes of pre-owned vehicles. They service all makes and models. They sell OEM parts for Nissan's and aftermarket parts for other models.

Industry Tips
Auto Glass Information Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 4642 Highway 52 N

    Rochester, MN 55901 (507) 252-5577 (866) 249-0714

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a 2004 Nissan Murano SL, and have it serviced at Lupient Nissan in the past 9 years. Back to June 2014, this dealer repaired the issue of "the fuel filler neck very rusty" on this vehicle. Two days ago the dashboard showed "service engine soon", and we drove the vehicle to this dealer today -- their diagnosis is the same issue. They did fixed this issue, however they charged us the same cost. As loyal customers, we do not think this is correct.

Desired Settlement: The same issue happened within 2 years, with the service of the same manufacture certified dealership -- I believe this is not right. Manufacture certified dealership should have much longer warranty than small garages. We are expecting this dealer refund our payment for this service. Thanks.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

I must of missed or overlooked the original complaint.  I usually try to respond to requests as I do realize they do not go away on their own.  I will search our records and see what we have on file for this customer.  It appears the car was repaired for a certain problem and the same problem re-occurred.  

I will respond again with what I find after checking our records.

Thank you,

Scott ******

Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:

They responded as "I will respond again with what I find after checking our records", I am still waiting for their decision.


Business Response:

Good afternoon,

I have instructed our Service Department to reimburse the $156 that was paid.  Check will be in the mail early in the week beginning April 18th, 2016.

Thank you,

Scott ******

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales people lied about the condition of the car and about warranty. They also used our names to apply for loans for cars we never even looked at. On July 17, my husband and I went to Lupient Nissan to purchase a Honda Odyssey 2012. We were told the car had had an oil change, new wipers, good tires, and a 5-year power train warranty. After we bought the car, we checked the oil. It was so dirty that we had to take it in for our own oil change. The people who did the oil change told us that the two back tires were really bad and would need to be replaced. A couple weeks after that, we received a letter stating that our warranty was over. Another thing we received in the mail were letters from a company stating that they could not give us the loan we had applied for for the Honda Pilot. We never even looked at a Honda Pilot!! We also started noticing other things while driving. For example, the window wipers did not work well. Those need to be replaced. The traction light AND the engine light are on almost all the time indicating that repairs need to be made. The eco sensor is also not working anymore. It has only been 48 days since we bought the car. Throughout this time, we made calls to the sales rep, Mike Lynch, and the paperwork guy, Alex *********. They never returned any of our calls. Two days ago, I left a message with the manager of Lupient Nissan. I still haven't received a call from him. Today, Alex ********* called me back. He denied telling us about the warranty. He looked up applications for loans and said that there were two loans under our names for a Honda Insight, both of which were never fully processed. One was denied and the other one wasn't. I asked why they even applied for those loans for a car that we never even looked at. He didn't know anything. He said he wasn't able to look up who had processed the loan or when it was processed. He said sometimes they apply for loans for different cars when their customers don't get the cars they wanted. I assured him that was not the case with us because our credit score was really high and we had already been approved by our own bank. He just kept saying he didn't know and that it was probably Mike that did all those things. I told him they shouldn't have lied to us about the car and he shouldn't have applied for those loans without our authorizations. He said it was our signatures on the forms. I remember signing a form for the Honda Odyssey only, not a Honda Pilot or Honda Insight. As for the warranty, he said he knows nothing about Honda's warranties so he couldn't have told us about the 5-year power train that was left. I told him that he did tell us that and if he didn't know anything, he shouldn't have told us that. The only reason we didn't buy extra warranty was because we thought we still had 2 years to go. Alex said he would talk to Mike and get back to me. After I talked to Alex, I called the manager again but no one answered. I left another message. This dealership is lying to their customers and using their customer's names to apply for loans that were never authorized. They need to be accountable for all of it.

Desired Settlement: The price of the car plus the price of the trade in from our Honda Odyssey 2005. This DOES NOT include the oil change, the extra money we paid for licensing fees that weren't calculated correctly, AND the new tires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/12/15) */ Good Afternoon, I just wanted to let you know that we are in receipt of the complaint. I will recover the transaction papers from our file room and after reviewing them I will consult with the salesperson/finance managers. After I speak with the sales consultant and all dealership personnel involved I will hear all sides of the story. Upon clarification of everything on our end I will respond to the concerns of the purchaser. Thank you, Scott ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did not resolve the issue. I appreciate that they took the time to read my complaint but I would like the issue resolved. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/12/23) */ Contact info for Ms ****: Scott ******, General Manager Contact Phone: ************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 23, 2015/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will have to contact them to see what they have to say. Then decide if I'm fully satisfied with their response.

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are due a balance (unsure of exact amount) on the warranty of the 2009 Jeep Patriot. It has been 3 weeks and counting and NO response. We purchased a 2009 Jeep patriot last summer, which turned out to be a lemon with undisclosed issues. We sold the vehicle recently and are due the remaining balance for the unused time of the warranty we purchased. I have made repeated attempts through multiple phone calls and a visit dropping off the required paperwork, but have heard no response whatsoever. I am unsure of the exact dollar amount due, but they should have record of this.

Desired Settlement: I am unsure of the exact dollar amount that is due from the remaining warranty that we purchased, but Lupient should have exact records of when the warranty was originally purchased, for how much and therefore what is due back to us. The longer they wait to respond, however, the more time that is used up on this warranty, even though we have sold the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/08/24) */ A check for $1616.21 is being issued by Lupient Nissan tomorrow. The warranty company that was used has a new policy in which we have to confirm that it is o.k. to release the funds. This is a new policy that we were unaware of. That has happened now. To expedite the customer getting the funds the dealership will have check prepared tomorrow 8/25/2015. Please let us know if you would like to have us mail the check or pick it up. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/08/25) */ Mr ****** indicates he will stop by the dealership to pick up his check on 8/26. (BBB has advised GM Tory ****** of this.) Mr ****** asked to have noted in his response that his primary frustration was a lack of communication from the dealership over the course of a month or so.

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car from Lupient Nissan and was lied to about the condition of the vehicle and was not given adequate time to inspect the vehicle. On 1/24/15 I visited Lupient Nissan in Rochester MN with my wife and son. We were interested in purchasing a reliable replacement vehicle for our van. We came across a 2002 Cadillac Deville. This car looked like it was in decent shape and upon speaking to the Sales Rep *************, we were told "Its a great reliable vehicle"! Furthermore I asked the sales rep if there was anything wrong with it, to which he responded "No its a great dependable car, ABS doesn't work but other then that its low on coolant". I asked to take a test drive and the sales rep Mr ******* accompanied me. When we began the test drive Mr ******* informed me that I would have to make it quick because they were closing soon. Because of this I felt pressured to take a quick drive on city roads, the test drive lasted only approx 10 minutes due to me feeling pressured to "make it quick". During the test drive Mr ******* and I conversed over the state of the vehicle. Again Mr ******* reiterated "its a great car, nothing wrong with it". He even went as far to point out that "car sounds great and runs great". During the test drive I told Mr ******* that I had just come from another dealership where I had a bad experience. I went on to elaborate that I looked at another vehicle and that I couldn't believe the other Dealership allowed me to test drive it due to it having major undisclosed issues, that the cars engine had multiple cylinder misfires and that I couldn't even get up a hill when I had the pedal pressed to the floor. Mr ******* at that point went on to say that "They, Lupient Nissan, checks over all there cars to make sure they are safe and reliable". Upon returning Mr ******* allowed me to speak with my wife about the vehicle. We believed the car was in good reliable condition. We trusted the sales rep Mr ******* when he said "it was a great reliable car with no issues other then needing to ad coolant and the ABS not working" My wife and I decided to purchase the vehicle largely based on Mr ******* testimony that the vehicle was a safe and reliable choice for my family. After about 30 minutes of signing papers I paid a total of $2599.75 for the vehicle. I was given the keys and left with my wife and son following behind in our van. Before leaving the sun had gone down and I noticed that a headlight was out on the new car. I told the sales rep but he just replied to use my highbeams to drive home. It is illegal in the state of MN to drive with a headlight out or drive with your highbeams on all the time. I didn't know what to say so I left. In the 2 days I have had the vehicle I have run out of gas, this was on the way home from the dealership which is an hour from where I live. Turns out the fuel gauge doesn't work in the new car. It either reads full or empty. Most of the time it reads full. The coolant level in the car is just fine. The car has a sensor issue telling you to check coolant level when the coolant level is just fine. We took the new car to the twin cities the day after we purchased it. On the highway going 55-65mpg the car shutters and sways violently over any bump. The car also feels like its bottoming out when going over medium to large bumps due to the rear shocks being completely shot. The shuttering and swaying that happens makes the car nearly uncontrollable which posses a major safety issue. I tried talking to the Sales Rep this morning but he glazed over my issues and told me I would have to pay for them to diagnose all the issues and look at the car. I explained to him that I was concerned mostly over the swaying and shuttering but he went on to say that they look over there vehicles before selling them and that he'll get me the report to see if anything was recommended to be fixed when they checked it over. I tried calling back after not hearing back from Mr ******* but never got ahold of him. I also tried calling the Sales Manager and have left messages but no one has returned my calls.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would respectfully request that Lupient Nissan fix the undisclosed issues as they directly relate to the vehicle ability to be operated safely. I have a 2 year old autistic child - fuel gauge not working properly increases the risk to run out of gas and be stranded with a special needs child. If the car were to break down with my child in it during winter we could suffer from low-temperature exposure If the vehicle were to stall and run out of gas in an intersection we run the risk of being hit by another vehicle. The coolant sensor malfunctioning poses a safety risk as well, if the coolant ever does get low because of the false reading a person is not as likely to notice, this poses a risk because the car could overheat and stall leading to the above listed scenarios/ The car overheating due to low coolant can also lead to critical engine damage leading to loss of property "the car itself" or increased repair costs. The swaying and shuttering of the vehicle violently at high speeds posses a major issue as the vehicle could become uncontrollable leading to an accident ranging from property damage, damage and harm to other people or loss of life! We bought this car because we were lead to believe it was a safe and reliable replacement for our van. It is not We feel as if we were lied to, manipulated and pressured over this car. We had planned to use this new car to travel up to Duluth Minnesota this week for vacation and to celebrate my 30th birthday. We wanted the newer "more dependable" vehicle because we did not trust our van for the journey. We have since canceled or trip because we do not feel safe driving the new vehicle long distances. As I stated above I would like Lupient to conduct the necessary repairs to bring the vehicle to a safe a reliable state which is what is was marketed as. If they will not do this I want a full refund. I am prepared to bring legal action against them for misrepresenting the vehicles condition!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/28) */ Received business response via e-mail to BBB, 1-27-15: "FROM: LUPIENT BUICK GMC OF ROCHESTER DATE: 1/27/15 TO: Mr. ***** ****, Auto Industry Liason SUBJECT: COMPLAINT CASE#******** Mr. ****, The vehicle Mr. ***** ****** purchased was clearly marked, not only with the proper required AS IS buyers guide sticker but also with a sale Tag marked "PRE-AUCTION AS IS SALE PRICED". Mr ****** signed all necessary AS IS disclosure acknowledgement and documentation before Taking delivery of the 2002 Cadillac Deville with 189,739 miles vin# *****************. The sale did take place right at closing (5pm) but he was Never rushed or pressured by anyone as he was the only customer here at the time and at his discretion could have taken the vehicle to a Mechanic of his choice on the following Monday to have it checked out......we recommend that customers do so on vehicles of this vintage And miles....but it was his decision and his alone that he proceed with the purchase that night. He acknowledged in his complaint that he was Aware there were several warning lites on when he test drove it, that there was a shimmy or shake that he experienced while on the test drive and That the low coolant light was on etc........all of which took place before any paperwork or exchange of funds. Under the terms of purchase we are Unable to warranty the vehicle in any way, but when I personally talked with Mr. ****** on Monday at 4:30pm I offered to diagnos the shimmy/shake issue at no charge and told him if he elected to do any repairs with our facility we would do them at a reduced rate but that would Be totally up to him. He said he would bring the vehicle in on Tuesday(the following day) and have us look at it. Mr. ****** came in later Monday evening and spoke with ************ our General Sales Manager and was made the same offer. We will gladly Honor our offer. My email.....*******@lupient.com ********* ***** Used Car Manager Lupient Buick GMC of Rochester ************* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off I would like to state that there was No "Pre-Auction" sticker or tag on the vehicle. Even if there had been, who knows what Pre-Auction even means. Does it means its about to go to auction and what bearing does that place in terms of mechanical defects. This tactic of placing a Pre-Auction sticker on a vehicle could induce pressure to buy said vehicle before one loses the chance to! This is an irrelevant topic. I acknowledged only that the ABS light was on and that the check coolant was on, those were the ONLY indicators on during my test drive. These were also confirmed by the sales rep as the only issues he disclosed. As stated in my complaint, I did not notice any shaking or shuttering during the test drive! I would deduce that I did not experience that because I did not get a chance to take the vehicle onto the highway and drive the car at highway speeds. This was in fact because I did feel pressured to make it a quick test drive due to the Sales Rep Mr ******* saying, "we have to make this quick, we are closing soon". I was never informed that I could take the vehicle to a mechanic of my choice prior to the sale. Had this been offered I still would not have taken it for inspection because I believed the Sales Rep when he said it had already been checked out, that it was a great reliable vehicle. Mr ***** seems to fail to mention or comment on the fact that their shop did evaluate the vehicle and found numerous defects with it. Some defects which require immediate attention "as noted by them in their report", numerous issues that make the vehicle unsafe to drive. As an agent of Lupient, Mr ******* failed to disclose these defects when directly asked, thus Mr ******* and Lupient misrepresented the factual condition of the vehicle. This is in ways a pretty petty issue on Lupients part, it is a $2599 purchase they would have to refund. I am appalled that they would rather have an unhappy customer and family, lose these customers forever, then simply stand by the quality of their vehicles and refund $2599. Additionally Lupient has their own service center, I am sure it wouldn't cost very much for them to repair the defects themselves. Is Lupient so money hungry that they can't simply refund $2599 or on the flip side perform the repairs as a gesture of good faith. In my opinion this situation was manipulated by Lupient, here buy a great reliable vehicle, oh it has some issues, here bring it in and we'll give you a little discount to fix all the issues that we knew about but didn't tell you when we sold it. Plain and simple, Lupient have clear knowledge of all the defects with the vehicle but when directly asked failed to disclose them. It would appear they are unable to stand by the quality of their vehicles! It would appear they care more about money and sales then about customer satisfaction and safety.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a truck from this dealer and they minimized the mechanical issues that it had. It needs a new engine. I would like to return it. I bought a truck from Lupient, we discussed the check engine light being on and the used vehicle manager assured me it was just a sensor that needed replacing. So I bought the vehicle on Monday 01/19/2015. I took the vehicle to my auto shop on 01/22/2015 and he told me there are many issues with the engine which could mean replacing the whole engine. So I called Lupient and asked to return the vehicle since the problems were way more than what we discussed and they refused to stand by the sale of the vehicle. The Stock# is ****** The PO is *****.

Desired Settlement: I just want to return the vehicle for a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/31) */ We have bought the truck back from Mr *******...On 01/24/2015 ...


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lupient Nissan, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)