BBB Accredited Business since

Lupient Kia of Brooklyn Park

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 424-9100 Fax: (763) 315-4590 View Additional Phone Numbers 7910 Lakeland Ave N, Brooklyn Park, MN 55445 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lupientkia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lupient Kia of Brooklyn Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lupient Kia of Brooklyn Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lupient Kia of Brooklyn Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 27, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Jesse Bishop, GM Denny Quinn, VP Leigh Quinn, HR Director
Contact Information
Principal: Jesse Bishop, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

According to information provided by Luther Kia of Brooklyn Park, they offer new car and truck dealership.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lupient Kia of Brooklyn Park has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7910 Lakeland Ave N

    Brooklyn Park, MN 55445

  • 7911 Lakeland Ave N

    Brooklyn Park, MN 55445

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2015 Kia Optima burns off the front tires, has a steering issue, and wears through brakes rapidly. I purchased a new 2015 Kia Optima in July of 2015. The car itself is pretty amazing. The issue I have is with the front end and the service department. By the time I had 1700 miles on the car, the front tires were showing quite a bit of wear. I brought it in and was told I am driving too aggressively, there is nothing wrong with the car. At 3300 miles, the tires were now so worn they were illegal to drive on. Again, I brought it in to Lupient KIA and they told me there was nothing wrong with the car, that it is my fault. The so called inspection for the front end issue consisted of checking the alignment. There was no road test or anything else done to see why the front end pulls to the left, even when in alignment, or why the steering wheel feels like it is resisting the driver from driving the car. I then brought it to another dealer and 3 independent shops. No one can find anything to cause the excessive wear, but they refused to say it was my fault. All of them said there is a problem, they just can't find it. I went to a tire shop to purchase new tires, since Lupient KIA would do nothing for me, but fill out a tire form, and they were completely dumbfounded at a business that would blame the customer first. They too believe that there is an issue with the car, not the driver. The next issue I had was the front pads wore out in 4700 miles. When I brought it in to have it inspected, Lupient again blamed me instead of truly looking for a problem with the car. This so called inspection consisted of the mechanic taking the tires off the car and looking at the pads while still on the car. They did not take anything off and check any of the individual parts for an issue. They then wanted almost $400 to replace the front pads and turn the rotors. I did them myself. I will never buy another car from this dealer and will probably never buy another Kia due to the lack of customer service, failure to accept responsibility for a car that obviously has an issue, and the apparent policy of blaming the customer when the mechanics don't have the training to diagnose a problem.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to accept one of three settlements. Replace the car with a new one, take this car in and actually tear it apart and find the issues and fix them, or take the car and reimburse me for it, paying off the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/02) */ Mr. ********* brought his vehicle in for inspection on 8-19-15 to address excessive tire wear. The front tires had shown significant wear, and measured between 5 and 6/32nds on the front two, and 9/32nds on the rear two tires. We checked tire pressure and the vehicles alignment. No issues were found with either. The alignment was still within manufacturer specs, and no adjustments were necessary, or performed. We had advised Mr. ********* at that time that the vehicle exhibits signs of being driven "aggressively". He stated that he was not the normal driver of the vehicle and that his son was. Kia does not warranty the original equipment tires that came on the vehicle, they are warranted by the tire manufacturer only. I advised Mr. ********* that since there was no issue with the vehicle, and he believes there is something wrong, that he should contact Nexen direct, as they are the tire manufacturer. He told me he had contacted them, but he was unwilling to drive there to have them inspected. I advised him he could also seek a second opinion. he stated he discussed this with Barnett Kia, and they had advised him if they also found nothing wrong , he would be charged for the inspection. Mr. ********* stated he declined that inspection. He also mentioned that he had taken the vehicle to Hoover Wheel Alignment, a shop that specializes in suspensions and alignments. They also found no vehicle issues. On 10-22-15 I invited ****** in to meet with the Kia District Parts and Service Manager. He agreed and brought the vehicle in. The vehicle at that time had 3,300 miles and the front tires had worn to zero tread remaining. They also showed feathering past the tread face and continuing out onto the sidewall of the tires. This usually only occurs under aggressive driving habits. At no point were the tires claimed as defective by Kia or Lupient personnel. However, as a courtesy to Mr. *********, we contacted the tire manufacturer on his behalf. They forwarded a claim form with instructions on how to proceed with the claim. We took pictures of all tires, filled out the claim form, and sent it in on Mr. *********s's behalf. As of this date, I believe Nexen has not found the tires to be defective either. On 12-8-15 Mr. ********* brought his vehicle in (winter tires now on vehicle) concerned with a brake issue. the vehicle at that time had 4,659 miles. The front brake were worn out, nearly a metal on metal condition. Inspection of the braking system revealed no issue with the vehicle. Mr. ********* declined to have the brakes replaced here, and said he would take care of it himself. Within 5,000 miles, someone has worn the front tires bald, and the brakes to near metal on metal. Unfortunately this has made Mr. ********* dissatisfied with his vehicle, but all inspections have shown no issues with the vehicle, only in which the manner it is being driven. Please contact me if I can be of further assistance. Sincerely, Craig ******** Fixed Operations Director Lupient Kia ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not resolved anything with their response. As I pointed out before they continue to blame me. irst as even Craig has admitted by not stating it, his techs did not do anything more than to look at the problem areas and at most put the car on the alignment machine, no one took anything apart to try to find what the problem is. When the vehicle was first brought in for a tire issue, all they did was look at it and labeled me an aggressive driver. When I brought it in the second time, same thing, look at it and then my account and said as it has been noted this is from aggressive driving. When I brought it in for the brake issue, before they even looked at the car, the service rep mentioned that this car is driven aggressively and that is likely the problem. After the tech only looked at the car to verify the brakes were worn out, they again said this was from aggressive driving. Now it seems that I have been labeled an aggressive driver and from this point on anything that goes wrong with the vehicle will be due to aggressive driving and will not be covered under any warranty. The next question I now have is, if I am such an aggressive driver that I am wearing out the front tires at an incredibly fast rate, then how can I also be riding my brakes so much that I wore them out at almost the same incredibly fast rate? What a way to cover their butt and not anything else, by blaming the customer. That must be the new customer service 101. As I stated before, I have never been given a definition as to what aggressive driving is by KIA standards. When all this came about, I even offered to let them take my car and drive it for several thousand miles to see if they would get the same results. Apparently, driving a vehicle to determine a drivability issue is not what they do. I have talked to other dealers to see if my expectations were off base. Everyone I have talked to has said the same thing. When it comes to the tire issue, they would have done a lot more than just put it on an alignment machine, for starters they would have driven the car to see if they could feel the same things I feel whenever I drive the car. When it comes to the brake issue, they would have torn the system apart to try and determine why the brakes wore out so fast. If KIA had done that, they would have discovered that there is an issue with the brake calipers and noticed that the brake fluid was quite dirty. When I had the brakes done at a brake specialty shop, these are things they discovered by doing their job. I am including a copy of the job invoice as proof. I spent $412.48 to get my brakes done right when this should have been covered by KIA. I now want to be reimbursed for the work done at a third party shop, in addition to my other desired resolution option. Instead of continually blaming the customer and backing their obvious lack of technical ability in the technicians, they should actually look into why this one car has these problems. I am not out for money, I just want this car to perform as it should, like my other 7 cars do.

12/31/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase agreement 10-21-2015-"new car" Key tag marked "Used" Title for car was filed for on 10-13-2015 Purchased a "new car" 2016 KIA RIO LX VIN#***************** on 10-21-2015 from Lupient KIA ******************* Brooklyn Park,MN 55445. Sales Consultant Aminah ********-Deal #******-Stock#******.Total purchase price after trade in/pay off/License fee/Title fee/Doc. Admin. fee/Electronic Transfer fee/Delivery Fee/MN. Transit Tax and Extended Warranty=$20781.25.Car purchase price $17040.00. Car was being delivered from Luther KIA ************* Inver Grove Heights,MN 55077 on 10-22-2015 to Lupient KIA. I was notified on 10-22-2015 by Lupient KIA that car delivered was not the car that was initially purchased-same make-model and options but different car VIN#*****************.New contract signed on 1-22-2015-only changes made on contract was VIN# and a different Finance Manager signed new contract 10-22-2015.I accepted the car with the assumption it was a "New car". License Plates were put on my car 10-22-2015 by Sales Consultant-only received 1 key and was told that Dealership was in contact with Luther KIA trying to locate 2nd key. Went in on 10-26-2015 to pick up my garage door opener that I had left in trade in car-at that time I was presented with having to sign a new Finance agreement due to the initial one they filed did not have the Finance Companies logo clearly shown-all info. stayed the same-just needed to be refiled. THEN-Sales consultant informed me she had to remove my License Plates and give me a Temporary Paper License for the window D/T they were not the correct plates and no further explanation. Still had not located the 2nd key to the vehicle. After a few days and having people asking about my License plates being taken off the car I became concerned and pulled paper work and at that time noted that the Plastic key tag I had removed from my key/remote opener had 2 boxes on it-1 is noted "NEW" and 1 is noted "USED"-The "USED" box is clearly checked.I unfortunately had not noted this on the day of picking up my car 10-22-2015. I notified my sales consultant Aminah immediately-I am not sure of the exact date but it was the beginning of Nov,2015 and she assured me she would inform her sales Manager Joe of this and they would look into it.I was NEVER kept updated.I had called Sales Manager Neil at Luther KIA and left a voice mail on 11-13-2015 inquiring of above and never received a call back.A title H286C0160 was processed on 10-13-2015.This is clearly prior to the day I purchased the car as "New". After several other customer frustrations with this acr purchase I again called Aminah on 11-25-2015 and informed her I would like to speak with someone who could do better follow up/resolve to this issue. We decided on me receiving a call from Sales Manager Jessie on 11-30-2015.After speaking with Jessie he informed me he would look into it and get back to me-I received a call from him on 12-1-2015-message left stating-They would be collecting the title from whom it was sent to/File a miss title to the state of MN stating Did not buy-Did not sell and retitle it on my purchase date of 10-21-2015.I did then call and speak with Jessie and stated that I would be in on 12-2-2015 to have my plates put on-now that they are FINALLY available and further discuss my concerns that I feel there is miss representation of this car due the filing of a title prior to my purchase date/plastic key tag and that I will still be seeking legal advice.

Desired Settlement: My resolve would be to cancel the whole purchase agreement-be free of doing any further business with KIA due to above. This I will further pursue with Legal consultation/representation. I will be filing a complaint of poor customer service due to other issues that came up during this whole process.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/12/14) */ Ms. *****, Since our meeting on 12/2 when we got you your 2nd key and plates we have been in contact with the dealer that incorrectly titled the vehicle they traded to us for you. They called us on 12/3 and said they have the title back from the customer that it was incorrectly titled to along with a "did not buy, did not sell" form. They are now waiting for a lien release from the bank listed on the title. Once they receive that they are sending all the necessary documents to us so we can correct this situation with the state. I am very sorry for the trouble this has caused and please know we are doing everything in our power to correct it. I do not know why the dealer titled the car then traded it to us but we are in contact with them to expedite a resolution. I will reach out to you again once we have submitted the documents to the state. If you have questions in the meantime please don't hesitate to call or email me. Thank you. Jesse ******

4/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misdiagnosis of timing belt - locked up engine.I told them to change timing belt. Refused, said it was a $1000 sensor.T.Belt went out.Engine Locked-up On or about Feb. 10, 2015, I asked the Lupient Kia service department to check out my timing belt. Car making noise. Two mechanics looked at it. They agreed to each other it was a $1000 sensor and that I could drive it, no problem, but things would stop to work. BUT, the they laughed at my diagnosis--I thought it was the Timing Belt. Three weeks later, the car stopped. Had it towed to Lupient Kia. They said it was the Timing Belt and the engine locked up and I needed a $3000 engine. THIS GETS WORSE: I don't trust Lupient Kia, so I'm taking the car to a mechanic to get a new engine. BUT, Lupient Kia wants $75 for diagnosis of the vehicle for when I had it towed there...BEFORE I can have it towed to a reputable mechanic I trust. Why couldn't Lupient Kia diagnose the Timing Belt 3 weeks ago. Does a Timing Belt wear out/away within 3 weeks? I do't think so. Why wouldn't they put in a Timing Belt when I asked them?

Desired Settlement: I think they should replace the engine and negate the $75 "diagnosis" fee. They think My diagnosis was so hilarious---they should pay for their mistake. I was willing to pay for the Timing Belt...but no, they had to be adamant that it was a Sensor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/04) */ To Whom It May Concern, I have reviewed the letter from Ms. Olson dated March 26, 2015. Upon review of our records I found that the last time Ms. Olson's vehicle was in our service department with an open repair order was 5/28/2011. We have no record of inspecting the vehicle on or around February of 2015. The next repair order we opened was on March 14, 2015. At this time the vehicle was pushed into our shop and diagnosed with internal engine damage because of a broken timing chain. We respectfully decline to install an engine at our expense but we are willing to work out a fair price for an engine replacement. ************ General Manager

11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car at the end of May and the dealership has not submitted the proper paperwork with the state of ND for license plates to be issued. I purchased my car from Lupient Kua at the end of May and they insisted that I pay for license and registration through them and they would take care of submitting the correct forms to the state of North Dakota. When I still hadn't received my plates at the end of June when my temporary tag expired I contacted both my sales person ****** and ******** a sales manager. I was told the paperwork was submitted and it would take a couple weeks for ND to process it. I called the Department of Transportation and discovered that Lupient Kia didn't submit the paperwork for 3 weeks after I purchased my car which mad it impossible for me to have it processed ion time before my tag expired. When my tag expired Lupient Kia refused my request for another tag so I have been forced to drive my car with an expired tag as it is my only mode of transportation. After a couple more weeks I received an email from the ND DOT informing me that the proper paperwork was not submitted and they cannot issue my license plates until it is received. Io informed Lupient Kia of this and they apparently submitted more paperwork however it still isn't correct. The ND DOT still needs the Reassignment/Odometer Disclosure form completed and signed by the dealership and myself in order to issue the license plates. I have contacted ******** to inform him that the paperwork is still not correct and that someone at the dealership should contact the ND DOT to get this resolved now as it is well beyond the point that this should have been resolved. It has been a week since I contacted him via email and I have received no response at all. I am at my wits end and feel that the sole responsibility for resolving this issue lies with the dealership. This has been the worst car buying experience I have ever experienced and at this point I just want my license plates so I can be driving legally. I don't think that's too much to ask. If I had promised someone I'd do something, I would make it my top priority until it was done. This dealership has proven that once they get your money they are no longer concerned with providing customer service. I hope that the BBB is able to assist me in getting this resolved as clearly it's not going to happen with just me making the request.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the license plates for my car that the dealer promised to take care of on my behalf.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/11/17) */ My sincere apologies. I received a fax on 11/10 informing me of this case number. It was my first notice of the open case. The issue with Ms. *******s plates has been resolved. I received a phone call from Ms. ******* on 10/9 and responded to her request with an email later that day. We were able to acquire the additional paperwork from the ND DMV, signed it and sent it to Ms. ******* on 10/15. This form will allow her to get her plates issued from the ND DMV. I have been in contact with Ms. ******* and she is confident the state will mail the plates directly to her but have also asked her to call me once she has them on her vehicle.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the sales person we dealt with to buy a used van. told us that the van was in good shape and that they spent money fixing the sensor problems. we bought a Plymouth grand voyager on oct. 8th 8:30 pm 2014. the sales person told us that it was in good running condition. that the dealer ship had fixed some sensors and replaced a battery. on oct. 12 at 7:30 AM 2014 while I was driving the van the dash board shut off and the car died. the power steering and power brakes did not work, I was able to get the car safely to the side of the road. after tuning the key off then on again the car started and drove 3 miles home, the dash board worked and all seemed fine. The mechanic I brought the car to said this was something that the dealer had surly noticed. and the it would be expensive to fix. I bought the car "As Is" but this is not a defense of fraud. they knowingly sold me a defective car. when I asked to return it on oct. 15th 11:30 AM 2014, they told me it was my problem now. I have put no more the 100 miles on the car, and they don't want it back? I told them I would pay any reasonable cost for the miles I put on. that it had been less then a week. I don't have a lot of money and this car was to get me and my 4 small children around. I don't know what I will do now.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to take the van back. give me my old car and a refund so I can get a safe vehicle for my family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/22) */ *****, Thank you for your time on the phone today. I was not able to find your name in our system but now I know it's because you didn't buy a vehicle from us. Let this letter serve as our response to your letter dated 10/15/14 about ******** ********'s purchase of a 1998 Plymouth Voyager on 10/7/14. I have reviewed Ms. ********'s file. As you know the vehicle was sold in as-is condition. Our policy regarding these vehicles is explained to prospective buyers before they pay for and take delivery of the vehicle. I have signed copies of this policy but I am hesitant to share them here because your name is not on any of the paperwork. If Ms. ******** would like a copy I can provide them via email or in person at anytime. It is our hope that every vehicle we sell does not break down at all, however the fact is that most vehicles priced under $3000 have mechanical issues. If Ms. ******** would like to trade this vehicle in for a different one please have her contact her salesperson, **************, or ************* our Used Car Manager. We would be happy to work something out on a vehicle more suitable to her needs. Kind Regards, ************ General Manager - Lupient Kia ************ ************@lupient.com

6/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had 6 free oil changes from when I purchased the vehicle. I was charged $70.74 for this free oil change. I called and scheduled a "free" oil change that came with my car on 5/28/14. On 5/30/14 I brought my car to the 12:15 p.m. appointment. They checked the car in and I went and sat in the waiting area. About 45 minutes later I asked the man who checked me in what type of oil they were putting in my car, as I have a Chrysler 300 SRT-8 and it requires a specific type of oil and I wanted to make sure that they were putting the right oil in. At that time he told me he wanted to talk to me about the oil, and he then explained that their tech had done all the checks, put the car on the lift and drained the oil but "forgot" to check to see what type of oil that it required. He then told me I would have to pay the difference for the cost of the oil as the car was already up on the stand and drained of the oil it arrived with and they were "stuck". As he indicated there was no other option but to pay for the oil I told him to go ahead. I was charged $70.74 for a free oil change. I was never told prior to this service or the appointment line that there would be "upcharge" for oil. They said everything was fine and then told me about this charge after they were "stuck" with the oil drained from the car and I wouldn't be able to drive it. They left with no options but to pay this fee since their mistake of performing services that I did not OK or would have since my husband is a very qualified mechanic to perform the services at a fraction of the cost they charged me even with this "Free" oil change.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back and an apology for pressuring me to purchase this up-charge at a insane marked up rate. I would also like for them to stop telling customers that they are giving them free oil changes to later charge them more then a rate at a local quick oil change location. I know a scam when I see one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/04) */ Ms. ******, I have reviewed your complaint dated 5/30/14. First of all I do apologize for the lack of communication about your recent oil change. We should have recognized a potential problem before we drained the oil from your car. It appears you purchased your vehicle on 2/25/12 and were given the 6 free oil changes with purchase. It looks like this is the first time you have come in for one which is why this was not addressed earlier or prior to your appointment. I started as the General Manager in July of 2013 and we have since made a number of changes to our processes. We do still offer the 6 free oil changes with any new car and any used car under 75,000 miles but there are some exclusions as with other free oil change programs in town. Specialty vehicles like yours would fit into the exclusions because of the amount and the type of oil that should be used. I want you to know that we do not scam customers and that is never our intent. In this case it was simply a change in policy. I definitely think this could have been handled differently on our end and will use this situation to make the necessary changes. I will process the refund for your oil change as you requested. Please contact me directly if you have any further questions/concerns. Regards, ************ General Manager - Lupient Kia ************@lupient.com ************

5/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the dealership through my employers website,filled out all information and applications over e-mails.Then recieved an e-mail from ***** Moore,the salesman,to come in and pick out a car.I went to the dealership and picked out a car.I was advised I was accepted and given a loan.***** and ****,the finance manager,asked me to put down 700.00.I wrote out a check,that was cashed the next day.Signed all paperwork and contracts and left with my new car.SUPER HAPPY!About 4 weeks later I contacted the dealership to find out about my plates.Nothing yet.Another week goes by and still no plates.Im starting to get upset because now my temp tag has expired.***** asks if i can come back in because something was wrong with the loan so they needed me to sign new papers.I should have never gone back in and did that.They get me another loan and i go and sign these papers now too.Well, its been 2 months now since ive had this car and i still do not have plates.I call again to inquire what is going on.I then get a call from ****,PROMISING me my plates will be there in 2 days.4 days later i still have no plates.I call ***** and he advises me my plates are there!YAY!I go back to the dealership and guess what!! STILL NO PLATES!!3rd time i have been there!I approach ***** who then turns and blames **** for everything.Saying he was asked by the 1st bank to ask me for more money down!NOW!?Neither of them have approached me for more money down.At the time of sale or in the 2 months since ive had this car!I have mailed in a payment for my car on my 2nd loan now and I still have NO plates!My 2nd temp tag,that i had to force them to give me is now expired too!I spoke to someone who claimed to be the General Manager but I STILL HAVE NO PLATES!Since then i have been doing some investigating,find a sales sticker in my glove box that lists the car at about 2000.00 less then what i am paying for the car!***** advised me the 1st loan has not released that yet so the 2nd loan wont pay them.looking i have 2 loans on 1 car. Product_Or_Service: 2014 Kia Soul

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my plates!At this time after all i have done and been through over someone not processing or forwarding information correctly.I dont care if the dealership has to finance me!I want one of the 2 contracts i have signed to be honored!To think this could have all been avoided if they would have just asked me for more down.This is THEIR ERROR!!***** and ****!They have done nothing to make this correct.I also found out im supposed to have certain warranties and oil changes for my car!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/29) */ Ms. ****, I have received and reviewed your letter dated April 21, 2014. First off on behalf of everyone here I would like to say I am sorry for the way this has been handled. There is no reason you should not have gotten your plates by now. I will use this situation as a learning opportunity for everyone involved. This is not the level of service I or anyone else at Lupient Kia wishes to provide. I understand **** spoke to you yesterday and informed you that we now have your plates. He is mailing them to you as requested and you should see them when you return from your trip. I am also pleased to inform you that the loan is finalized and there should not be any further issues. You will in fact only have one loan for the vehicle. The other issues you mentioned are the oil changes and some questions about your warranty. We do provide 2 years of oil changes with the purchase of a new car. I have upgraded you to the 4 year package at no charge and am sending your rewards card to you with your license plates. If you have other questions regarding your warranty please contact me directly. Once again thank you for your business and your patience with us to get this resolved. Regards, ***************

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to send License Plates for vehicle purchased On December 30, 2013, I purchased a 2013 Subaru Outback from the Lupient dealership in Brooklyn Park, MN. I was pre-approved with my bank and given a blank check to use for the purchase of my vehicle. The whole process was quite simple and everything including tax, license, and plate were rolled into my loan, until recently. I picked the car up late at night so they weren't able to give me plates on the spot like they stated they do for others and they would have them mailed to my house. I was given a 21-day permit that was set to expire on January 20th, 2014. As of today I have yet to receive my plates or any communication to where they are. I have left a few messages with a bunch of different people (*****, ******, Titles Dept, and ******* at the Corporate Office) and no one ever calls me back. My 21-day permit expired over a month a go now and have no idea what the status is on the plates. When I asked the salesperson (*****) about the status he stated that they will take care of the issue and that the dealership would pay for any tickets I receive. How is that a resolution?? Not sure how the phrase "Sorry for the inconvenience and we will send you another 21-day permit" never crossed their minds. I have been pulled over twice now and got out of both tickets because I showed the officer the text I got from the salesperson about the dealership paying for tickets. Both Officers stated they never heard of such a thing and let me know that I was driving illegally. This is the only car I have and have no choice to use it to get to and from work. I was late to a job I just started less than a month ago both times I got pulled over (not a very good impression for something I can't control). How am I going to get compensated for something like that? This is getting ridiculous that I can't a single phone call back to the point where I called the cops and they told me it was a civil matter. So before I went the judicial route I figured I would try this first. Also, I'm kinda confused as to why I got over 6 letters in the mail that I tried to open an auto loan with Kia of Brooklyn Park. I went there with a blank check and they ended up running my credit without my permission to obtain financing with them. I didn't okay this - why else would I have a blank check from my back already, which they ended up using anyways. Not only would I like my plates but I would like to be compensated for the lack of customer service and the two days I was late to work from being pulled over. Otherwise, I want a full refund for the vehicle and I will gladly take my business elsewhere. Thanks!

Desired Settlement: Not only would I like my plates but I would like to be compensated for the lack of customer service and the two days I was late to work from being pulled over. Otherwise, I want a full refund for the vehicle and I will gladly take my business elsewhere. Thanks!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/03) */ ******, I have received your complaint dated 2/25/14. I am sorry that this was not resolved prior to your letter. There is no excuse for someone not calling you back with an updated status and I can certainly understand your frustration. As of today I understand that you now have your plates. We overnighted them to you on 2/27 and it shows they were received on 2/28. Unfortunately there are a few cases similar to yours where we are unable to obtain license plates before the 21 day permit is expired. We can not issue multiple 21 day permits as instructed by the state but it is normally adequate time to get them. In this case we were waiting on a lien release from the bank that the previous owner had the vehicle financed with. Once again this is not an excuse but rather a brief explanation of what happened. We should have called you back and kept you up to date. I am not sure what type of compensation you are looking for at this point but I can be reached at ************ if you would like to discuss it further. I hope all is well and that you can start enjoying your new vehicle. We appreciate your business. Regards, ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Lupient Kia of Brooklyn Park
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart