BBB Accredited Business since

Lupient Chevrolet of Bloomington

Phone: (952) 884-3333 Fax: (952) 884-0351 View Additional Phone Numbers 1601 Southtown Dr, Bloomington, MN 55431 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lupientchev.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lupient Chevrolet of Bloomington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lupient Chevrolet of Bloomington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Lupient Chevrolet of Bloomington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1970 Business started: 12/01/1956 Business started locally: 12/01/1956 Business incorporated 01/16/2004 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Mike Hokanson, General Manager Leigh Kennedy, HR Director Denny Quinn, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Hokanson, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Towing - Automotive Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup

Products & Services

According to information provided by Lupient Chevrolet of Bloomington, this company offers the sale, service, and parts for new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Glass Information Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lupient Chevrolet of Bloomington has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1601 Southtown Dr

    Bloomington, MN 55431 (763) 544-6666 (763) 513-5560 (952) 884-3333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was taken in for an oil change and oil was not put back in; drove away in the vehicle without oil. Motor is now ruined. I brought my vehicle, a 2002 Nissan Altima, to Lupient Chevrolet for an oil change. At that time no other service was required. I had owned the vehicle for nine years and it was always a perfect car. It was meticulously maintained and I never had any problems. At the time I worked at Lupient and did most of my regular maintenance with them. When my vehicle was done being serviced I paid the bill and went home for the evening, that was on a Saturday. Lupient Chevrolet is in Bloomington, MN and my residence is in Cottage Grove, MN; approximately a 30 mile drive. By the time I got home the check engine light was on, and that had never happened before. The next day the vehicle was running rough: it was noisy (extremely loud), there was a loud ticking sound, and the overall performance of the vehicle was not good. It didn't drive well at any speed. I brought the vehicle back to the service department and told the service writer that the vehicle was running rough and that the motor was making loud noises. He informed me that he would have a technician look at the vehicle and let me know. Later that afternoon I was approached by the service writer with the bad news...the technician who worked on my car drained the oil but did not put any oil back in. Again, no oil was put back into the vehicle. I drove the car without oil! The service writer told me that the motor was probably shot. The service manager was informed of the situation and took very little responsibility in the matter. His opinion was it might have been an oil consumption problem. He performed a full diagnostic and found nothing irregular, but still thought it might have been an oil consumption problem. His idea was to put 4 quarts of oil back into the vehicle, seal the engine to prevent tampering, and have me drive the vehicle for a month. This was an unpleasant experience considering it was driving so poorly. He told me he refused to do anything until they could rule out the fact that it was not an oil consumption issue. I was left with no choice. Four quarts of oil was put back in and I drove the car for four weeks. At the end of the four weeks my vehicle was driven back into the service department and the service manager unsealed the engine and checked the oil himself. 4 full quarts! No oil consumption. At this point he knew that oil was not put back into my vehicle at the above mentioned oil change. He felt that the only viable option was to have the motor rebuilt back to original working order. Because it was a General Motors dealership he thought it would be better to have this work contracted out to another facility. The used car manager at Lupient Southtown Bargain Lot recommended a location where he had done a lot of business. My Altima was taken to ARCs; the Automotive Repair Center (ARC) claimed to have rebuilt the top half of my motor; but they did not do anything with the lower half, seals, gaskets, rods, etc... My Altima was with them for several weeks. When I picked up my vehicle it was still making noises: loud ticking, rattles, etc... And the overall performance of the vehicle was poor. Even the used car manager (and all of the other managers) at Lupient admitted that the vehicle was not properly fixed. All of them had an opportunity to look, listen, and drive my Altima. I was not happy.

Desired Settlement: The advice given to me was to try selling the car myself to see how much money I could get. This really was not fair to me. I did take several pictures of the vehicle and put the vehicle for sale on Craigslist. I put the sales price at $4,500.00 and received more than 25 phone calls and text messages in the first week. I did meet one potential candidate at Sonic in Bloomington, MN, so he could look at my car. I informed him that the selling price was $4500 firm and that I wanted it in cash or a money order. He asked me if I had the title and the lien release, and I told him that I did. When we met he asked if he could drive the car. When the vehicle was started he obviously heard the noise coming from under the hood. After our test drive he said he was not interested in purchasing the car. Instead of wasting anymore of my time (and selling a vehicle with a bad motor to somebody), I decided that I was not going to sell my vehicle myself to anybody. In the meantime, I had to purchase a used car for myself because I did not have a vehicle to drive. That was very upsetting. My Altima then sat for weeks with nothing being done. Weeks turned into months. At this time I was still employed with Lupient Chevrolet and always assumed it would be handled. The last time I tried starting the vehicle it would not start. The vehicle had sat for so long the battery was dead. Even after being jumped the battery would not stay charged. Every time the vehicle was shut off it would need to be jumped in order to start. And the vehicle had been sitting for so long the front brakes were shot; severe rust had developed on the rotors and the entire vehicle shuddered when applying the brakes. I had also put on brand new tires (before the mishap oil change) and all four tires had flat spots. I again went to the service manager (now there was a new service manager because the old service manager was fired) and he said the battery, brakes, and tires could be looked at and he was going to see what he could do in order to help. Again, nothing was done. I am no longer employed with Lupient Chevrolet and my Nissan Altima is still sitting on their lot. I have called and texted the service manager, the used car manager, and the general manager at Lupient Chevrolet and nothing is being done. I have had two personal phone calls with the general manager and he told me he would make a decision and have this handled... Have not heard from anybody in weeks. At this point I want to be paid for my vehicle, it is ruined. When I took my vehicle in for an oil change it was a perfect car. Now it is undrivable and unsafe. In working condition this Altima would sell for $4,500 - $6,000 and that is a fact. Seriously, they did not put oil back into my vehicle and it was driven! The motor is shot! They then put oil into the car and made me drive for another 4 weeks; ultimately causing more damage! The vehicle was not fixed properly! Now the vehicle has been sitting and there is more damage (lot rot)!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/10/28) */ In reviewing the service records for the 2002 Nissan Altima which Mr. ********* states was a perfect car I have found multiple repair orders for multiple issues with the cars check engine light on, misfiring, and stalling out at speeds of about 30 MPH, this was by no means a perfect car. I have also attached the used car purchase log which shows Mr. ********* personally valued his car at $3000.00 back on February 28,2015 when he was an employee here not $4500-$6000 which he states in his complaint, we do not feel the value of his car has increased by more than 50% in the last eight months. I have also attached the repair order that he had produced when he was an employee of Lupient Chevrolet showing that his car was a car in the inventory of Lupient Chevrolet as to not have to pay for the services he requested. We are still awaiting payment on the $286.81 that is owed to Lupient Chevrolet. The vehicle has been left on our lot by Mr. ********* for 241 days and no storage fee has been paid to Lupient Chevrolet. We would ask that Mr. ********* please arrange with Mike ******** to pick up his car prior to November 15, 2015, so we do not have to proceed with the action of a mechanics lien on his vehicle for the total owed of the repair order and storage totaling $8721.81(241 days at $35 per day $8435 plus the open repair order of $286.81). Mike ******** General Manager Lupient Chevrolet c-************ o-952-887-9320 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Nothing in Mike ********'s response is anywhere near the truth. At the time of my supposed oil change my vehicle was in perfect working order. Previously (months before) one issue was the vehicle was running rough and not running properly at higher speeds..one of the sparkplugs was fouled so all four were replaced and the vehicle was back to perfect. Fact: Oil was not put back into my vehicle. Fact: The vehicle has not been fixed. My vehicle has been at Lupient because my vehicle has not been fixed! Paying a lot fee for having my vehicle on their lot...seriously? Is this a scare tactic? I chalk this up to terrible and unethical practice. Why would any consumer take their vehicle if it was not fixed? When started you can hear how bad the motor sounds; why would I take my vehicle in this condition? Go and start my car, take it for a drive; tell me it's been fixed...it does not run! Knocking...loud...rattles...poor acceleration...etc... Putting a new battery in the vehicle so it starts does not fix the real issue...my motor has been destroyed. Lupient fully admitted that oil was not put back into the vehicle and made arrangements to have the motor rebuilt, but the motor was not rebuilt...it has not been fixed properly. At one point Lupient agreed to take my vehicle for $3000.00, in hindsight I probably should have taken the money (considering the unprofessionalism, waste of time, and lack of accountability I have seen thus far). That was not a fair value for my vehicle though, considering the car would sell for much more retail. In working condition (previous to the oil change) the vehicle would sell for way more than the amount offered. $3000 might be the 'trade in' value, but it is certainly not the market value. I refuse to take delivery of my vehicle at this point because it is not in the same working condition as it was...again, my vehicle was driven without oil. That is the only fact, period. I have had lengthy conversations with Pam ********, Pete **** and Dave ****** (the General Manager, General Sales Manager, and Used Car Manager) at the time of this event; all of them will testify to the facts previously documented. There are also several (current) managers/employees who can/will be called upon to discuss the events regarding my vehicle.

3/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2011 silverado from lupient that had a bad engine from the start. I bought a 2011 silverado that was a couple thousand cheaper then anywhere else. I was skeptical but they showed me a car fax report that showed a clean record. two weeks after I bout it the check engine light came on. I took it to lupient and they said it needed $3000.00 worth of work!!! after talking to the managers they said that it only needed a simple repair and that they would cover it....ok... A two week after that the light came on again and I took it back. They said it had a bad sensor. I paid $500 to replace it... Then they call me to tell me the whole engine needs to be replaced!!!!! I later talk to a master GM mechanic (does not work at lupient)that informed me to pull a vehicle inquiry search which GM has on every vehicle that they service. I learned that this data base is available to anyone as long as they ask for this record from a GM dealership but regular people like me and you do not know about it. Anyway after pulling this record I found out that the truck had this very same problem under warranty but they preformed a fix that was not the solve. This repair of a valve cover was not on the car fax when they showed me at the time of purchasing this vehicle. The repair was done at a GM dealer so it was not like some small shop did the wrong fix. After battling for a bit GM offered to help with the cost of the engine but lupient basically told me that they would not help cover anything and I was out of luck. I ended up paying 3,000 dollars to get my truck up and running without really driving it very much. I knew that the price was too good to be true but hey I go and buy a used car from a dealer ship to have a little confidence that someone is not selling me a vehicle that is about to blow up. I knew that dealership rip you off some times but now they even sell you vehicles that are ready to blow up!!!! People please be careful with this dealership!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I feel like the dealership should of atleast paid half of the repair cost. They just left out to hang. I am the sales manager at my company and if a product that we sell fails we stand by it!!!! At the very least help in anyway possible, I make it work for both parties. If they would of paid for half of the repair cost($1,500) I would of never even came on here because I would of thought that lupient cared about their customer that they sold a lemon truck to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/20) */ This vehicle was traded in to Lupient Chevrolet on 9/5/14. It is a high mileage vehicle that would be sold from our Bargain Lot. We performed the Bargain Lot Inspection on 09/12/15.(attached. Mr. ***** purchased the vehicle on 10/8/2014,at that time Mr. ***** opted to add a Service Contract(attached)He brought the vehicle in on 12/22/14 with an engine light concern (attached #627915)This repair was paid for by Lupient Chevrolet as a customer courtesy. His next visit was on 1/17/15, the vehicle needed and oil pressure switch (#****** attached). The extended service contact did not cover, Lupient Chevrolet discounted his bill $100.His cost was $425. Mr.***** then decided to cancel his Service contact and a received a refund. He brought the vehicle back into Lupient Chevrolet on 1/27/15. It was determined the vehicle needed to have the engine replaced, this would have been covered under his service contract. Lupient Chevrolet attempted to get the contract reinstated for Mr. *****, but for obvious reasons Vehicle One does not reinstate cancelled contracts. We contacted General Motors and opened a case for Mr. *****, GM generously paid $3590 and Mr. ***** paid $2450 (#****** attached). I have also attached the GM transaction history on this vehicle (attached). There was nothing in the history or anything found during the inspection to indicate this vehicle had an engine problem. I believe General Motors and Lupient Chevrolet have been very supportive. We also offered to trade Mr. ***** out of the vehicle, he declines once we helped him receive assistance. Please contact me for any additional information. Thank you. ************, General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/03/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes lupient did try and buy the vehicle but at a very reduced rate. The vehicle is valued at 23,000 to 24,500 on kbb and lupient offered me 15,000..... Please let me know how that would even make sense to let lupient buy back the truck when I could just pay to get it fixed and still be ahead. When lupient showed me the car report there was nothing on record. Once I asked for vehicle inquiry search from lupient I saw that valve covers were replaced before. So when they do an inspection report after it is traded you don't check what types of repairs have been made in the past? I will make sure that if people ask to buy used from lupient, to let them know the issues that they might run into.

7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought my vehicle in for an oil change. Noticed scratches inside the next day. I brought my car to the dealership for an oil change. I noticed scratches inside of the vehicle near the shifter the next day. I have made multiple attempts to speak with someone at the dealership via phone and email. Have not gotten any response to the matter. I would like to have the scratches repaired as my vehicle is brand new.

Desired Settlement: I want the damage fixed.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a vehicle in good faith from Lupient Cheverolet. State Patrol confiscated vehicle stating it was a stolen vehicle. Informed Lupient immediately when the State Patrol confisicated the vehicle. Requested a loaner car as we worked through a solution. Lupient was non-supportive. Needed to rent a vehicle to replace the stolen vehicle I was sold.

Desired Settlement: Full cost of the vehicle and taxes as it should never have been sold to me in the first place. Full cost of rental (approx $600) as these were damages incurred as a result of the issue above. If I had not been sold a stolen care in the first place, I would not have needed to have the rental.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/29) */ Although this unusual situation is still pending with several insurance companies and the police department. Lupient Chevrolet in good faith made an attempt on January 10, 2014 to refund 100% of the monies paid by the consumer. It was refused by the customer. Lupient did not depreciate the vehicle for miles or time used. The consumer also refused another vehicle in exchange. Lupient Automotive Group continues to try and resolve this situation with the numerous insurance companies involved. This has been a difficult situation for all involved. This vehicle had a clean Minnesota title, that was traded into the dealership with no knowledge or standard process checks indicating it was a stolen vehicle. Lupient Chevrolet feels offering a 100% refund to the consumer after driving the vehicle for 7.5 months if fair and equitable. A check for the full purchase price of the vehicle, showing no depreciation for time or mileage added, has been available for the consumer since he declined it on 1/10/2014. It is ready to be picked up at his convenience. Below is an outline of the steps Lupient Automotive Group has taken to resolve the situation. 12/17: Sgt. ********* stopped in the Lupient Chevrolet store and said they had taken a vehicle we sold to the consumer. The state of Illinois had been looking for this vehicle. There was no paperwork given to Lupient Chevrolet at that time. Three different messages were left at the three numbers Sgt. ********* had provided. 12/18: Three more messages were left at the three numbers for Sgt. *********. 12/18: The consumer contacted*************. *** asked if he had any paperwork showing the vehicle had been taken by the Minnesota State Patrol, he said he had none. The consumer asked how this would be handled; *** did not have the answer at this point as she was still trying to contact Sgt. *********. Documentation was needed to send to the insurance company. *** also suggested that Mr. ***** contact his insurance company. 12/19: Three more messages for Sgt. ********* were left. Sgt. ********* finally called back and said he would get the report. 12/20: The consumer was contacted and told the report had still not been received and anything he could do to encourage Sgt. ********* to finish the report would be helpful. Lupient Chevrolet still had no documentation regarding the seizure of the vehicle. The report was received that afternoon from Sgt. ******. ********** (Office Manager) sent the information to Lupient Automotive Group. 12/27: Travelers initiated contact regarding the claim via e-mail. The consumer was cc'd on all appropriate emails. 1/8: *** spoke with the consumer and agreed his check would be ready by 12pm on Friday. 1/10: The consumer signed all state documents and was offered a check for 100% of the monies he paid for the vehicle in April of 2013. The consumer refused the check because it did not include rental fees. Any questions, please feel free to contact*************. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Lupient Chevrolet in Bloomington continues to demonstrate poor customer service. The facts remain the same. I was sold a vehicle that was deemed to be stolen. I was denied an immediate refund so I could buy a different vehicle. I was denied a loaner car until they could refund my money. I was left with no transportation and incurred a $600 rental charge. Lupient Chevrolet needs to take responsibility for the full cost of the vechile and the short term rental fee incurred following the state patrol confiscating the vehicle. This case remains unresolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Lupient Chevrolet of Bloomington
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart