BBB Accredited Business since

Kline Volvo

Phone: (651) 481-9600 View Additional Phone Numbers 3040 Maplewood Dr, Maplewood, MN 55109 http://www.klinevolvo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kline Volvo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kline Volvo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kline Volvo
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mike Theisen, General Manager Jan Schulte, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Theisen, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

According to information provided by Kline Volvo, the company offers the sale and service of new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kline Volvo has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3040 Maplewood Dr

    Maplewood, MN 55109 (651) 481-9600 (651) 494-1570 (651) 494-1560 (800) 328-9614

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this dealership and I experienced many problems including transmission failure, bald tires, and poor customer service. I visited Kline Volvo to look at a used 2007 Saturn Aura XR that they had on their lot on June 5, 2014. I ended up buying the car from them that day. I payed a total amount of $8877.10, $3,000 of it on a debit card and the rest by check. I owned the vehicle for less then three hours before the transmission went out. Three hours and 60 miles put on the vehicle and it broke. Kline refused to accept back the vehicle. I had to pay $3,681.43 to put a new transmission in the Aura. I did eventually manage to get $750 from Kline towards the transmission repair. When I got the new transmission put in I got it at a GM dealership, *****************************************, because Kline thought it would be best for a GM dealership to do the repair because Kline had no experience working on Saturns. **** went to work on my transmission and noticed my tires. They took the tires off of the vehicle and actually showed me that the cords in the tires, on the inside of the wheels where I couldn't see when the tires were on, were popping out of the tires. The tires were completely bald on the inside. **** informed me that the vehicle wasn't street safe and I would need to sign a wavier to even drive it off the lot. A second opinion from a family friend confirmed this. I had learned that the vehicle I drove an hour home on the freeway and that had passed Kline's inspection had tires on it that weren't street safe. It cost me $584.44 to put new tires on the vehicle, Kline's only comment to this was "bought as is." ****************, of the **** service department can and will attest to the condition of the tires. I also have a picture of one of the tires. The car was fixed and returned to me by **** on June 17, 2014. After a long and tedious process of getting a new transmission and tires for this car, I was only able to drive my vehicle for about a week and a half before my temporary license paper in the back window expired. I had not received my plates from Kline and after working with the Dealer Unit and the DMV for a week I was able to get my plates myself from the DMV. To their knowledge, Kline had never even put in the order for the plates up to a week after my temp had expired. Since I did this all myself despite my many calls to the dealership I was also refunded $115.50 for my plates from Kline. Through out this entire process I was never in direct contact with the general manager. I left him two voice messages. My case was handled through other employees, mostly **** *********. **** was always polite to me and tried to be helpful through out the process.

Desired Settlement: I believe that the line of events I have detailed prove that the vehicle I bought from Kline Volvo was neglected by the dealership from day one. They knew there were problems with the vehicle which they ignored, they priced the vehicle to sell, I bought it, and after purchasing it they continued to distance themselves from the car that they sold me that only lasted three hours. At this point, I am seeking to be reimbursed the $584.44 that I spent to put new tires on the vehicle. I test drove that vehicle on the freeway, my father did as well, and everybody else who test drove the vehicle before me might have as well. I drove it home at 70mph on 35W, and during all of this the car had tires that weren't street safe, tires not safe to be driven on. Tires so bad that I would have had to sign a safety waiver to drive the vehicle off of Saxe's lot just a few days after purchasing it off of Kline's. Kline Volvo's neglect of this car through out this entire process in obvious in many ways. Legally there isn't much I can do in regards to the transmission, but they sold me a car that they promoted as street ready which had a major safety issue that if they had actually inspected the car they would have noticed. Either they didn't inspect the car like they said they did, or they did inspect it and chose to ignore the bald tires. For this reason, I believe that I am entitled to be reimbursed the $584.44 that I spent on new tires, at the very least.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/28) */ The tires on Mr.******'s Saturn measured on the front 5/32 of tread left and 6/32 on the rear of tread left. Well within the legal limited and above recommended replacement. We do have a copy of our inspection to verify this information. We are happy to provide Mr. ****** a copy, if desired. Kline Volvo will not be able to reimburse for the tires Mr.****** replaced. Since 1968, U.S. law has required that a raised bar be molded across all tires. When tires are worn enough that this bar becomes visible, there's just 2/32" of tread left.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my vehicle to Kline Volvo. I was told at the time of sale I would be paid in "1 or 2 days". it is now > 14 days and I have not been paid. When I agreed to sell my vehicle to the dealership I was told they would pay off the loan and pay me the difference by check in "1 to 2 days". based on that I agreed to sell my vehicle and the dealership took possession. I have corresponded with them multiple times since and have now been told they will not pay me until they receive a lien release from Postal Credit Union (which received payment in full for the vehicle on 11/1/2013). They claim a sale is not complete until that happens. However, they took possession of the vehicle based on my belief in their false statements and have it listed for sale on their website. I spoke with the general manager today and he refused to back the statements of his sales staff. I believe I have at a minimum been mislead and feel that they should not be listing a vehicle for sale that they have not paid off to me and want payment immediately for the car.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking payment for my vehicle immediately or return of the vehicle until I am paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/25) */ Mr. ******** did sell his XC90 to us, Kline Volvo on 10-28-2013. We paid off the loan on 11-1-2013, but the credit union that is listed as the lien holder can not legally give Kline Volvo the lien release just because we paid the loan off.It can only be provided to the person(s) listed on the title. In a normal car sale when a customer trades in a car, they sign a form that requests the security holder to release "security interest" and forward certificate of title and/or security release, with this form then bank will give the dealer the lien release. This form was not used in this transaction because Mr. ******** sold the XC90 to us with out purchasing a vehicle. Because of privacy laws Mr. ******** will need to get the lien release from bank himself, as the release can ONLY be given to the individual in whose name the loan was written. I did inform Mr. ******** we have his check here and ready we just need him to provide us the lien release, which we can not get for ourselves.

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into Kline Volvo on 9-7-13 for an appointment at noon. I asked them to check a noise that I had while shifting, my break pads, and my rear wiper blade. About 30 minutes after I dropped it off, **************, from Kline Volvo, called and spoke with my boyfriend. He had it on speaker, so I was able to hear the conversation. He said the noise while shifting was not something that needed repair at this time, but the break pads were needing to be replaced. My boyfriend said to go ahead with the pads and fixing the rear wiper blade. It was estimated that the blade would be around $80 and the breaks would be $540. About an hour later, I saw that I had a missed call from Kline Volvo. I called back and spoke with *****. He informed me that my ebrake needed to be replaced and that aside from the $540, it would be an additional $230 for the ebrake. I told him not to do the ebrake. He said they would be done shortly and we could come and get the car. When we came back to pay for the repairs, the bill was $1531.02. Instead of doing the pads, they also did the rotors. This was not authorized by myself or my boyfriend. I called on Monday, September 9th and spoke with ******* about the problem. She had ***** call me back and he offered to refund me for the labor and alignment. ( the alignment was not authorized either) the total for that would be $500. I said that was not an acceptable amount. He said he would talk with ******* and get back to me. An hour later, I called ***** back and left a message. Thirty minutes later, he called and offered me $350. I again said no and he transferred me to *******. She said that there was an estimated $700 in work that was done without authorization and that she would meet me in the middle. Again, I said no. If you agree that $700 was charged that shouldn't have been, I should be refunded that. I never agreed to have these repairs made, and I told her that many times.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be refunded for the repairs that were made without our permission. The alignment was $99.95, the front rotors were $ 268.54 plus $200 in labor, and the back rotors were $240.54 plus $200 in labor. Assuming the labor cost would have gone down, $700 is a fair refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/12) */ The customer called the bbb before talking with me (************ the general manager) and after we discussed what happen we came to an agreement and we agreed on a $425 dollar refund and that has already been done on 9-10-13 as well as 100 dollars of target gift cards she was owed . She accepted that resolution. We then received this case so I called her and she told me she did this before she spoke with me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Kline Volvo
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart