BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kline Auto World meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kline Auto World include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kline Auto World
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Rick Kline, Owner Jan Schulte, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Rick Kline, Owner
Customer Contact: Jan Schulte, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motorcycles - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Kline Nissan Kline Volvo Maplewood Detail
Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, Kline Auto World offers sales, service, and parts for new and used vehicles and motorsports equipment.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 2610 Highway 61

    Maplewood, MN 55109

  • 3040 Highway 61

    Maplewood, MN 55109 (651) 481-9600 (800) 657-6314

  • 3090 Maplewood Dr

    Maplewood, MN 55109 (651) 379-4300 (800) 569-5135

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresented the degree of engine and body work needing to be done on a used vehicle Recap of events verbatim from letter email sent to Kline Volvo and CEO of Volvo US: "I am responding to your voice mail message of September 17, 2014 regarding repairs on my 2005 Subaru Outback which I purchased from you July 1, 2014 and was finally able to drive it home July 9, 2014. After weighing my options, I have decided to have a reliable repair shop fix the head gasket even though it was more than your quote, for two reasons: First of all, I no longer felt that I could rely on the the work done correctly by your service department as they don't seem to know the difference between a leak and a spill, especially not bothering to do a dye test, of which I also had to pay for (or possibly just being deceptive); and, second, the place that is doing the work was willing to do a payment plan. The reason for the time delay from the time I signed the paperwork to when I actually got to drive my car home was to supposedly proceed with more repairs that you were going to do, according to ******. Within a few days I noticed a sharp burning smell and brought it into your service department at which they stated it was a spill and said they "wiped it up." Within the next couple of weeks I brought it in with the same complaint except the smell getting stronger. The service department said that it will burn off in time and shouldn't be a problem. Also, after driving my car for approximately a month I noticed that the car bounced around when driving over larger road irregularities and I wasn't sure if this was normal for an Outback. I waited until I felt more sure that it was possibly more than just something characteristic of a Subaru, I had your service department look at it a few weeks after bringing it home. They said it was the struts and sway bar links and Kline was willing to come down on your repair price since ****** and I were friends. When you gave me a number of around $1200 and you would do it for around $900 from a second quote of $1600, it ended up to be much less expensive doing it elsewhere and was with a car repair place that had done work for me before. This place does not normally do engine work but when I took my car in for new struts on 9/4/14, I asked them if they would take a quick peek to see if there was, indeed, fluid spilled somewhere that was creating the odor that I twice brought to your attention, or if there was a leak. Their response was that there was definitely a leak. I immediately brought the leak issue to *****'s attention and she, in turn, brought it to your Service Manager's attention as well as yours. Your final offer on 9/17/14 via voice mail message stated that you "talked to everybody" and came up with $2,000 ($500 up front and balance due before I could pick up the car). I made it clear to you that I don't have $2,000, especially after having to pay for the struts and links. You based those numbers off an estimate done by my service people, which I faxed to you on 9/9/14. It was another week after that before I heard from you. I was furious that you would so readily send me off with a vehicle that could have easily left me stranded on a remote highway with an engine that would blow up." I sent a copy of the full complaint letter to Kline Volvo 10/6/14 with no response; copy of this letter to the CEO of Volvo US 10/28/14 who's customer service department responded a couple of days later to tell me there was nothing Volvo could do to intervene since Kline Volvo is an independent business.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for at least 1/2 of the repairs I had to pay for

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/03) */ This is a unfortunate incident for *******. We offered her the opportunity to have her service work done at Kline Volvo at a discounted rate on the labor, and parts that would have saved her $500.00 on the repair. We did inform ******* she could perform her work at Kline Volvo's service shop to receive the discount of $500.00. She choose to have the work done elsewhere. ******* purchased her Subaru Outback as-is with no warranty. She was offered a 3 year/36,000 mile extended service policy that could have covered the repairs needed. She declined the extended service policy at the time of purchase. Kline will not be reimbursing any money on *******'s repairs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told that repairs had been done when I signed the "As Is" paper. Kline lied to me when they said there was no leak in the engine; it was just something that had "spilled." This was an outright lie. I ended up having to put a new engine in the car which cost over $3,000. I will NEVER do business with this company again. And,by the way, others that have done business with this company are in agreement with me that Kline is not to be trusted.

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No title/registration paperwork filed so far after almost 30 days of the purchase of new vehicle. Temporary tag will expire and cost financial loss. I bought a new car from Kline Volvo on July 17. Kline promised (as listed on the contract) to file title, tax and registration for me and collected corresponding fees in full. I received a 31-day temporary permit. However, I have verified that till today (August 13), Kline still have not filed any paperwork to my local vehicle registration office. I called Kline several times and did not get a certain answer as to when I could receive the license plate and registration. Today I called again and was told that they are not able to find the Manufacturer Statement of Origin (MSO) of the car and it might take a few more weeks to request a duplicate copy from Volvo. No further explanation or expected date is given. It is the Kline's responsibility to guarantee a timely delivery of the promised paperwork as part of the sales. Now they are violating the service agreement. It is obviously the Kline's fault.

Desired Settlement: Kline Volvo should immediately file all the necessary documents on be half of me to designated offices as listed on the contract, and notify me the date when they filed the paperwork. Also I reserve the rights to collect compensation due to time and financial loss caused by this delay. Also, Kline should arrange a new temporary permit mailed to me before the current one expires, and promise in written format that they will pay any fines/citations I receive due to driving a car with expired registration.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/27) */ Kline Volvo filed all the documents on 08-18-2014 for Mr. **** on his Xc60 with the state of Iowa. Kline Volvo will pay for any fines from the state of Iowa because of the delay of the paperwork. Kline Volvo also fedex a new permit before the old permit expired.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting 3 months for a extended warranty refund due to incorrect and incomplete paperwork being submitted to the warranty company by Kline On 9/24/2011 we purchased a 1997 Infiniti I30 with 171,357 miles from Kline Nissan in Maplewood. During the purchase of the car we were told that *********** would not finance the car without the finance amount being higher. Nissan presented an extended warranty to us. We didn't want an extended warranty due to the added cost but we needed a car and the only way to get the financing was to add on the warranty. The amount of the extended warranty was $1540.00. On 7/1/2013 we traded in the car for a different one. The amount left to pay off on the 1997 Infiniti was $1497.02. Basically the amount of the extended warranty. I contacted the warranty company, ************************************* to see about a refund. I was told I needed to go to the dealership that sold it to process the refund. I went to Kline Nissan on 7/3/13 and signed the refund request. At that time I spoke to ****** regarding wanting a full refund and why. She said they wouldn't normally give a full refund due to the bank needing more money to allow the finance but she would look into it. I was not given a definite answer at that time and had no idea how much the refund would be for. I was told it would take 6-8 weeks for the refund as the request would need to go to the warranty company, then the refund to Kline, then to ***********. If the account was already paid off then *********** would issue the refund for the overage to the account. I waited the full 2 months and heard nothing. On 9/3/13 I called the warranty company to check on the status of the refund. At that time I was told that the paperwork was filled out incorrectly and incomplete by Kline Nissan. The make and model of the vehicle were listed incorrectly and the mileage was not submitted. The warranty company needs the mileage in order to calculate a prorated amount of refund. I asked them why I wasn't contacted and they said they had tried to contact Kline multiple times and got no response. I then called Kline Nissan and left a message for *** to call me. I called him again that afternoon and could not reach him. I then called again on 9/4/13 and left him another message. As of 9/10/13 I still had not heard back from him so I called again. I explained the situation to him about the incomplete paperwork and why I was looking for a full refund. He straight out said "no, not going to happen" to the full refund. I again explained to him that we never used the warranty and never wanted it in the first place. He then apologized that we felt mislead on why we needed to add the warranty on in the first place and that if this was a life insurance policy we couldn't request a refund because we didn't use it. He told me that the sales person should have just told us that the car was not financeable. I told him we at least wanted the prorated amount we should have already received as soon as possible. He then told me that he was not even the correct person to speak with and that he would check with ****** about resubmitting the request. He called me back later that day and said the request had been resubmitted. On 9/24/13 I contacted the warranty company again to verify they had received the request. I was told a check, #*******, was cut to Kline on 9/19/13. I then called Kline to verify. I was then told by ****** that a check was cut to *********** on 8/30/13. That made no sense to me since Kline didn't even know there was a problem until 9/10/13. On 9/28/13 I was told by ****** to contact *********** to see if they received the check. I contacted *********** this morning 10/1/13 and they have no record of a check. I then called Kline and spoke with ****** (who cuts the checks) and she was going to verify that *********** had not cashed the check and would then recut a new check directly to me in the amount of $582.29.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the refund be in full due to selling us a product we never wanted in the first place but felt we needed to purchase in order to purchase the car. I would like Kline Nissan to be aware of the confusion that can happen in this kind of transaction and hope they will not offer this to other people or explain it better or even in writing. I also want Kline Nissan to be aware of the slow customer service responses as this has been a 3 month process to get the partial refund I was told I should be receiving soon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/11) */ Better Business Bureau Case # ******** To whom it may concern: In reference to the letter received regarding the case number referenced, Kline Nissan at no time made it a condition the customer purchase a service agreement in order to gain financing. The customer saw a value in the service contract considering they were purchasing a 1997 Infinity with 171,537 miles at time of purchase and chose to include it in the financing. Regarding the time frame between the time they requested the refund and the service agreement was canceled did not effect the amount the customer received. The refund was based on the cancellation date 07/01/13, not the date the company received it or processed it. We apologize for the length in time it took to facilitate the cancellation, however it did not effect the amount the customer received. They had the benefit of the service contract for almost 24 months and a flat cancellation of the policy is not applicable. They have up to 90 days from the date of issue to cancel the service agreement and receive 100% refund. Thank you for addressing the customers concern, if you should have any addition questions please feel free to contact the dealership. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were under the impression that the bank was requiring the warranty in order for the vehicle to be financed. It's difficult to see value in something you felt you were required to purchase. We never wanted the warranty as that increased the amount of the monthly payments. As for cancelling the warranty, it never crossed our minds because we thought the bank was making us carry it. It wasn't until we sold the car and were told it wasn't transferable to a dealership that we found out a refund of the remaining time was possible. When we sold the car and explained the warranty situation to the new dealership they explained that a bank can't make you take the warranty. That's when we decided to question the entire warranty transaction and ask for a full refund. The warranty was never used and we thought it was there as a back up for the bank since they financed such an old vehicle. We are still seeking a full refund for this product.

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to be removed from Kline Volvo's direct mail list. I've spoken directly with Kline MANY times about this over the last three years. I would like to be removed from Kline Volvo's direct mail list. I've spoken directly with Kline MANY times about this over the last three years.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be removed from Kline Volvo's direct mail list. I've spoken directly with Kline MANY times about this over the last three years.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/28) */ As of August 28th, 2013, Kline Auto World does not have *********** in our direct mail list files. I have verified that his information is not in our system. We wanted to let everyone involved also know, that we do use outside advertising companies that purchase lists of possible vehicle owners from the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles, so it is very possible that if the Minnesota DMV has information, they are selling that to advertising companies.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kline Auto World
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)