BBB Accredited Business since

Kia of Mankato

Phone: (507) 345-4542 Fax: (507) 720-6549 View Additional Phone Numbers 160 St. Andrews Drive, Mankato, MN 56001 http://www.kiaofmankato.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kia of Mankato meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kia of Mankato include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kia of Mankato
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2010 Business started: 01/04/2010 Business started locally: 01/04/2010 Business incorporated 01/04/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Joe Radosevich, General Manager Ragy Elshaboury, General Sales Manager Terry Johnson, Owner Bradford Skytta, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Joe Radosevich, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mankato Auto Center, LLC
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Kia of Mankato, this company offers new and used car sales.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 160 St. Andrews Drive

    Mankato, MN 56001 (877) 789-4542 (507) 345-4542

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They claimed it was certified, but it wasn't. The vehicle was never cleaned paid $300 to have interior cleaned and warranty. I also purchased the undercoating for the car which later tjey claimed i didnt. I get car home to realise parts were falling off and there was over $3000 worth of damage to the front end. Had appointment to get interior cleaned, which literally took from 8am to 6pm. I supposibly purchased the highest end vehicle yet they give me the cheapest cars on lot for "rentals" They take the car to fix front end,do undercoating for the entire weekend. I get my car back and it was missing cap for rim, part by wheel well had pins ready to fall out, there's glitter, animal hair and several spots on my interior which I haven't had anyone in the back seat since cleaning and looked like they drove on gravel roads the whole way to my home. I purchased a "new car" so I wouldn't have to deal with this kinda stuff. This vehicle should have been cleaned and repaired before they placed it on lot to be sold, or should have disclosed all the damage.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like some type of compinsation, i want a billing adjustment! I was mislead into believing that this car was inspected and was certified, this car was never even cleaned, it still had agreement in glove box from previous owner, nothing was reset back to factory. They just parked it on the lot. They lied in every way possible to get me to purchase this vehicle and extend past my 30 day lemon law return policy.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** purchased the vehicle 3-21-2016, per the records attached the vehicle was inspected and certified on 01-26-2016 and finished on 02-04-2016. This vehicle was Certified before Mr. ******** purchased the car. Unfortunately there was miss communication between us and the body shop where the car was supposed to be brought to get the front bumper fixed. After finding this out, we made the necessary repairs.  We are very sorry about that part, and as an apology, we went ahead and did the undercoating protection package for the customer at no additional cost to them. There was absolutely no lying to the customer, just a set of unfortunate circumstances. We will love the opportunity to have Mr. ******** bring his car in at 60,000 miles and we will take care of the entire 60K check up at no cost to them. This service is a $329.00 service. Also, we will do a complete detail of their vehicle at that time.  That is a total value of these services total $449.00. 

There is not a  30 day lemon law clause on Pre- owned cars, so we would have no interest in causing any delays. This is was not intentional and KIA of Mankato has done everything to fix the initial issues.

Please feel free to call with any questions

Thank you

Ragy **********

12/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unwilling to correct an issue with information that was not disclosed but asked about prior to purchase regarding an improper back seat. We were pressured to purchase a 2010 Kia Sedona SWB in March of 2014. We asked if there had been any accidents, repairs or replacements done to the van. We were told no, other than tires and oil changes. After we complained of the seat belt in the back not working, they finally offered to repair the seat belt for free. After 2 and half weeks with possession of the van, they were unable to remedy the situation but we were then informed (by **** in service) that the original owner of did, indeed, replace the back seat in the van and the wrong back seat was installed. This has caused major problems with our children's car seats. Their solution was to trade us out of the van but telling us it has to be a 2015. We looked at the numbers and they are only willing to pay off part of the van we own, stating the back seat is not their problem, it ours and that we need to install the car seats properly. This is impossible due to the location of the seat belt buckles in the seat. So now we have a van that our children are forced to ride in illegally, since it is the only vehicle we have and can afford. They are not willing to do anything else for us other than force us to buy a 2015 Kia Seonda from them bumping our payments from $273 to $483. They will only give us $7,00 for our 2010 leaving us with a remaining pay off of $3,300 and a van that is still not safe for our children to ride in. They are not willing to try and fix the issue any other way and are very pushy about us buying this 2015 for a payment we cannot afford. They would not look around for any other options and stating that this is all they can do and it's not their problem that the back seat in unsafe, even though they sold us the van stating that it was all original. Now they say they knew that the seat was unsafe and not proper (per ********** sales manager and service manager ***). I had contacted ***************** (the sales person who sold us the van originally, with major pressure to purchase) with no response. This issue needs to be resolved and I do not believe that we should have to carry over negative equity on the van they sold us with an improper back seat with the impression that to begin with everything was all original. We have tried for weeks to resolve the issue only to be told it is not their problem, it is ours even though they sold us the van by lying about it's condition and the fact that the vehicle is no longer safe. I believe there could be a resolution to this issue, which shouldn't involve their very pushy sales tactics, other than us entering into the purchase of a brand new van, that we cannot afford, and without having to carry over $3,300 negative equity dollars. Not to mention that we originally traded a van in for $500 and $1000 down right off the bat of the purchase of the vehicle. I do not feel as though they are doing anything to resolve the issue and the sales manager (**********) admittedly said that he would not put the 2010 back on the lot, he would auction it off because he will not be able to resale the van. The first date of contact on this issue was August of 2014. The last date of contact to resolve the issue is November 8, 2014. Furthermore, we have explained that I could be ticketed or worse if I were to get pulled over by law enforcement because the back seat is not proper and my children's safety seats do not fit properly. ********** stated, I know that but it's not my problem because you purchase the vehicle. When I responded that we were never informed that they seat was replaced and that it was original, we did not see any reason to be concerned until we found that the car seats do not fit properly and started to question it. Had we known, when we asked, that the seat had been replaced, we would have looked into t=it long before purchase and ultimately would not have purchased the van.

Desired Settlement: We believe in the least that the company should buy back the van for what we purchased it for and the $1500 we put down (trade in value on a 2003 Pontiac Montana and $1000 cash/check). Given our financial situation, we cannot afford to purchase a new/used vehicle in conjunction to the one we already have. I believe they lied to us about the condition of the vehicle, used pressure tactics and continue to do so and because it has caused us stress, emotional and mental strain and inconvenience they should have to put something towards the purchase of a new/used vehicle, at our discretion, other than the pay off amount of the 2010 Kia Sedona SWB and the original down of $1500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/18) */ Seat was replaced under warranty with the proper seat by original owner but the design of the van is a 6 passenger not a 7 passenger van, and allowing for 1 car seat to be placed in 3rd row. On November 14, 2014 ***************** purchased a 2013 Dodge Grand Caravan and traded in their 2010 Kia Sedona. We were able to make them 100% satisfied with... Trade allowance of $9625 Affordable payments $365 (including a service contract and Gap insurance) Allowing them to swap their brand new tires they put on their Kia Sedona with the 2013 dodge grand caravan (to be scheduled) ***************** have agreed this is a good solution to their issues with Kia of Mankato

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: agreed to do repairs but did them and incomplete with missing parts I purchased a 2003 Chevrolet trailblazer on oct 4th 2013 stock#********* front bumper cover was loose and damaged. **************** was my salesman who told me it needed a couple clips, I told him it needed a new bumper cover and 2 brackets and a air deflector and 4 new clips. he agreed to fix that and change the oil.when I picked it up they told me they took it to a body shop in le Sueur mn, and had it all fixed, me and **************** went out to look at it he told me they replaced the bumper cover with a brand new one and they even painted it.i looked under the front bumper and noticed that the passenger bumper bracket was still missing and the air deflector was also missing and one clip,when asked if they were going to finish the job and do it right *** said he didn't think they would put anymore money into it, but he would ask *****.when I called back a week later *** said it was fixed and there was nothing wrong with it.i called 2 weeks later I asked for the general manager and I got the finance mngr and he said he remembered me, I gave him all the information and he said that they would take of it, he would call back its been 3weeks haven't heard from them.my opening offer was 5300.00 dollars cuz I new what it would take to fix this bumper and I even told *** the salesman and the finance mngr and they both said it would be a couple clips. the body shop put on a new bumper but mounted it with machine screws and missing parts.we settled at 5685.00,payment was made with a check from a local credit union.

Desired Settlement: that all repairs be done correctly by a reputable body shop or by myself with all new parts

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/26) */ We met with Mr. ******* and *** from the body shop at about 3:45 on November 25. We examined the car and we realized there was a bracket missing based on the diagram that *** picked up at the Chevrolet Dealership. It was also missing the Air Dam that was on back order that *** brought with. We looked at the wheel well where *** had screwed into the black plastic part of the well to the underside of the bumper to give it more support because of a bad design that Mr. ******* acknowledges at this time. Mr. ******* wants clips where the screws were put in, but Chevrolet does not offer any such product. That is why screws were used. The screws are located in the wheel well and not on the outer part of the bumper. This is the proper place to screw into the body. We offered to install the air dam and missing bracket at no charge for Mr. ******* but he denied it. We have fulfilled everything we promised in relation to the bumper and would like to put the air dam and bracket on to finish the job. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) jim from the body shop had no clue that there was a missing bracket on the passenger side until I told him. the screws that are in question are not factory design and I did acknowledge it is a poor design on this vehicle, as far as them saying that the screws give the bumper extra support is there way of trying to justify that jim the body guy ruined a 350.00 bumper cover. they offered to replace the shiny screws with black ones so that the sightly blemish on the 350.00 bumper cover would,nt be seen.I would like this vehicle back to the factory design and I can do the repairs myself,all kia needs to do is get me the parts that are needed or write me a check for 750.00 dollars that will cover the new bumper cover, the cost to paint the bumper cover and the air deflector,and right side bracket.

11/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: blown motor Bought the car as is, but they did not disclose there was a junkyard motor in it, which is now blown. Ive had the car less than 4 months

Desired Settlement: I would like the car to either repaired (with no out of pocket cost to me) or exchange for one of equal or greater value that does not have issues

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/11) */ In regards to the complaint filed by ***************** on 9/23/2013 stating that the motor was bad when she purchase it, requesting us to repair her vehicle. The vehicle she purchased on 5/18/2013 was inspected by our service department on 5/02/2013 and we completed the following work. We changed oil, installed a new air filter, cabin filter, installed a new clock spring and changed and flushed the transmission fluid. There was not any evidence of any motor issues or any concerns that the vehicle may have mechanical issues. When she purchased the vehicle, we offered her a extended warranty on two different occasions at a discounted price. She made the decision to purchase it at that time. The next day she returned and decided to cancel the warranty and said she has second thoughts. We once again asked her to reconsider and she declined. She had called 4 months later at the end of September and informed us that the engine in her car had gone bad and wanted us to repair it. At that time we reminded her that the vehicle was sold as is because of the miles that were on the car when she purchased it. There were 89726 at time of purchase. We offered to have the vehicle repaired at our internal cost. At that point she said we were not trying to take care of her and she hung up. It is always our intention to sell only good, quality automobiles- that is why our vehicles offered for sale are inspected by our service department and we offer extended service agreements on the vehicles we sell. Unfortunately, sometimes things just happen and then the warranty covers it or the consumer bears the responsibility for the ownership. It was Ms. *******'s decision not to protect her investment. We have tried to contact her and it wasn't until recently she returned our call. We have now found out she is having it repaired elsewhere. She did not give us the opportunity to continue to assist her. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Kia states that the vehicle was inspected and that there was no evidence of an issue with the motor... there was a junkyard motor in it (which was not disclosed to me). It is obvious because of the big bright yellow numbers on it. They also stated that they called me and said they would repair the problem at cost. This is true, but why should I have to pay any more for a motor that was bad in the first place? I gave them every oppertunity to make this right. This has caused me tons of anxiety and stress. When I purchase a vehicle for this amount of money, I expect a dependable car. This is not the first problem I have had with cars from this company. The first one I bought had to be returned due to mechanical problems and was trades for the one I have currently. I had to take out a $3000 loan to repair this vehicle that was paid in full. All I had been asking for was to have the motor replaced by Kia with no additional out-of-pocket cost. **************** called my cell phone and asked if we could work out some sort of deal, I told him I would call him back. I did in fact call him back that same day (within minutes), twice and left voicemails with no response on his part.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kia of Mankato
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)