BBB Accredited Business since

Freeway Ford, LLC

Phone: (952) 888-9481 Fax: (952) 887-4390 9700 Lyndale Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55420 http://www.freewayford.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Freeway Ford, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Freeway Ford, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Freeway Ford, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1961 Business started locally: 01/01/1961
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mark Hoel, General Manager (12-2013) Michael Fischer, Owner / Manager Tom Grossman, Owner / Manager Dave Hefko, Owner / Manager Doug Kimbrel, General Manager Janan Lundeen, Owner / Manager Tom Rabiola, Owner / Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Hoel, General Manager (12-2013)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Freeway Ford, this company offers New & Used Car Sales, parts & service.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car

Additional Locations

  • 9700 Lyndale Ave S

    Bloomington, MN 55420 (952) 888-9481

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase fords extended warranty, ask specifically if wheel bearings and transmission, told yes,. Today bearing is out not covered. They mislead. I purchase a used ford explorer, 2010 last spring. At the time we closed on the deal and Freeway Ford offered extended warranty by ford. I ask if it covered wheel bearings, transmission and Lincoln told my wife and I that it did, yes. Today, 10/23/15, I had Superior Ford tell me the wheel bearing on the right rear is out and had to be replaced. I was then told that the Ford Extended warranty will not cover it because its not in the extended warranty plan. I called Freeway Ford, 10/21/2015, spoke with Lincoln (he sold us on the plan) and he says he doesn't recall saying this and that he's sorry. The warranty is a lengthy document, lots of mechanical details which he said today, 10/23/2015, he's just like me, he did does not understand all the specific mechanical parts and if he had a question that he was not sure of... he would of asked service for more details on the coverage. He then said he doesn't recall the bearing request I made in front of my wife. To which at the time he assured us it was covered when purchased. He would do nothing more and again said he was sorry. We relied on his expertise regarding the extended warranty and believed him. I offered a compromise but he was not interested. Refund my warranty payments or cover the repair.

Desired Settlement: Refund my warranty payments made for coverage or cover the repair of $800 ( will have the exact number when I pick it up tonight or Sat.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/31) */ I have reviewed this with *************** he explained the process of covering the extended warranty which he has done the same way at this dealership and previous dealerships for 20 years. We only show the menu and never say that wear items are covered which wheel bearings would be considered a wear item. A wheel bearing would never be covered under an extended warranty so we would not be able to cover this repair.

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Only one key was provided with the vehicle, gas was not filled as promised, lack of key not disclosed at the time of sale. Upon delivery of the vehicle, only 1 key was provided. The lack of key was never disclosed at any point during the discussion or contract signing. Had it been disclosed, I would have had the opportunity to negotiate it into the price, or chose not to buy the car. The dealer wants to charge $300 for a key. Gas was not added as promised and the door code for the key less entry was not provided at the time of sale.

Desired Settlement: I expect to receive a key for the vehicle that is fully programmed and operating correctly, the door code for the car, and all associated shop labor to retrieve the code and program the key. As it was never disclosed at the time of sale, I should not have to pay any extra cost for the above items.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/03) */ I spoke with Mr. **** and reviewed that fact that we include what we recieved from the customer trading the vehicle in and that many times that is only one key. We also have the customer sign a document called a DUE BILL. This reflects anyting else that we are to provide and it is signed by Mr. **** and his wife that the vehicle is SOLD AS EQUIPED. NOTHING FURTHER POMISED. I would be happy to forward any documentation. Sincerely, *********. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As previously described, there was never mention of, or at any point was it disclosed that the vehicle was missing the key and key code. I did not find this information out until after the sale when I was picking up the vehicle. As the salesperson said "we deal with this all the time. When we get two keys, half my job is already done for me". I was told that the door code would have to be retrieved by pulling it out of the computer. This is also not true. The code is listed inside of the fuse panel on the drivers side. I located this code myself. This is a factory installed label, and there is no way that the dealer does not know this. I have also inquired as to the cost to have a key ordered and programmed for this vehicle. I checked with automotive locksmith companies and found that the actual cost is no where near $300 as quoted to me by Freeway Ford. I will not pay for a key that should have been supplied with the vehicle and was never disclosed as missing. I will not pay what Freeway Ford is asking for a marked up retail price either. In order to resolve this, Freeway Ford needs to provide me with a working, programmed, setup key for this vehicle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/11/22) */ We always include a key when selling a used vehicle however many times when a vehicle is being traded in the customer only trades it in with the one key. This is not something that is disclosed. Many customers are fine with having one key as they are the only one driving the vehicle. This is also why we have a customer sign off if there is anything owed which in this transaction there was not. Additionally we we quoted the price of a key we always quote the laser cut key and programing. The key price is 190. and the programing charge is 120. for a total of 310. If the key required is less we would always charge the lower price and would be happy to do that on tis vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I previously stated, I never found out that the vehicle was missing the key until after the sale paperwork was done. As a result, I never had an opportunity to "sign off" on anything being owed to me. It is a very deceptive sales practice and policy to not disclose known issues or items missing from the vehicle. After the fact I found out from your sales person that "this happens all the time". This is something that needs to be disclosed to the customer so that they are aware of it prior to the sale. Had I known that the key was missing, I would have negotiated the cost into the purchase or chosen not to purchase the vehicle. It is very disappointing to me that on the sale of a vehicle that cost me nearly $23,000, I can not get a second key included, fuel filled as promised and the key less entry code provided. I took the word of the sales person that it would have fuel added and I would never assume that a dealer would not disclose to me that the vehicle was missing a key.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they wrecked the transmition on a test drive it was working fine wheit was broght in ive already paid for the computer repair it has been since may I broght my van in to freeway ford in the middle of may.they said the computer was bad so they replaced it I paid with a credit card and left with the van I went 3 blocks and the same problem was still there. They said it was another computer so I was able to get one from a friend of mine I dropped it off at Freeway Ford they put it in and took it for another test ride on this test they wrecked the transmission they called me and said I will have to pay to fix it.

Desired Settlement: I feel they should absorb the cost of the repair on the transmission because there was nothing wrong with it when it went in,it would be like having your car fall off the hoist and the customer accepting a damaged car back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/29) */ vehicle has been here since 04/23/14 it came in with the complaint ( check engine light on extreme loss of power since valve cover gaskets were replaced in Hibbing ) we found it had a bad pcm and other sensors had been left unplugged. we then told customer it still needed more work. the customer chose to take the vehicle but then brought it back. we finished the diag on the vehicle on 04/24/14 and let the customer know it also needed the idm module. the customer then went looking for used parts. when he finaly delivered his used parts we installed and started it up only to see the transmission front pump seal leaking badly. this by no means could of been any thing we done. ***** then told us he had had someone else overhaul the transmission. there is no way by putting a engine module in or test driving could you blow out the front pump seal. whoever rebuilt the transmission either did not put in a new pump or damaged the seal installing it.in the original complaint Steve tried to blame the poor running on whoever did the valve cover gaskets. lets keep in mind this vehicle is a commercial vehicle with 113831 miles on it.i did tell ***** to return the vehicle to who ever rebuilt the transmission, but he authorized us to repair. we have not had this vehicle running long enough to drive of our lot, let alone wreck it. this is the second vehicle that Steve has had in our shop and the last one set here for months also before we finaly sold it for scrap after he mailed us the title.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/17/2014 I bought a as is 2007 Chrysler 300 from Freeway Ford in Bloomington, MN and days later its showing there are engine problems ************ On 5/19/14 I took the car back and they said they would repair it. I said ok and everytime after 2 days they say we fixed your car come pick it up. I drive off the lot and next day I had to bring it back because the light comes back on. This went on an on over a period of times, and is still going on. I purchased the car from *************** and had been working with ***** in service, ****, used car sales manager and *********, General Manager. On 6/10/14 I dropped my car off again after so many times of dropping it off and picking it up; on 6/12/14 they called and said its ready come pick it up but on the 6/15/14 the light came on again, so I dropped it off on 6/16/14 again. Each time they said they were having a Chrysler dealership work on it, but when I picked it up I never got paperwork showing Chrysler. I dropped my car off again but this time it was making a weird ticking noise and ***** the service man said that Chrylser forgot to tighten something up, so I explained that I need my car to be fixed being that I am traveling to Chicago on 6/19/14-6/23/24.had to leave the car with them again, so I called after a couple of days and asked is it ready and they said no, the dealership was closed but it was safe to drive to Chicago with the ticking noise, so I picked it up. They said as soon as I return bring the car back so they can get Chrysler to repair the car. While in Chicago on my way back to Minnesota the car started making a large dragging noise and I thought it was the engine that was about to fall out or something, so I called Freeway Ford and explained the situation and they said take it to a dealership there to get repaired but they will not pay for it. It was me another adult and 4 kids in the car. I took it to a small shop and they put it up on the rack and said I must have hit a hole or a bump that knocked a part loose under the car and it was dragging, so it took them 5 min to tighten it up and I was back on the road to Minnesota. The car has always drove like a dream, but the check engine light scars me. But mind you I am still driving with the ticking noise that "Chrysler forgot to fix". The next day after returning from Chicago I took the car back like they said to fix the ticking noise and after they fixed the ticking noise the engine light came on AGAIN. My car has been in and out of their shop at least 2-3 days every week since I bought it and they continue to say they are trying to fix it since 5/17/14. I am on my second car payment of $360 mo/4 yrs and I am paying $11,000 for a 2007 Chrysler 300 with engine problems. **** the used car sales man has been very nice, but ********* has been very rude and said that they did not have to try to fix it because I bought as is. If I new this car had engine problems I would not have bought it. **** even accused the people in Chicago for cutting up wires that Chrysler replaced which was a lie, if they are even taking the car to Chrysler why I never saw any Chysler work orders; if they replaced the wires that was because they were trying to fix the engine light or engine itself. They have had my car for at least a total of a month and no satisfaction. I asked them to give me my car back with a check for $1500 just in case I have to do some major repairs to the engine and I will sign off saying I will not bother them about the car again. They keep saying they are trying to fix it and it has been 2 months and I don't have my car now 7/17/2014 and I am making payment. The car has 94,500 miles on it I don't care. I DO NOT WANT TO PAY FOR A CAR WITH 94,500 MILES AND ENGINE PROBLEMS. I WANT MY CAR WITH THE CHECK AND TO DO NO MORE DEALING WITH FREEWAY FORD. MARK HOLE, GENERAL MANAGER IS THE PROBLEM

Desired Settlement: $1500 to me and they will not be responsible for the problems with the engine. They know that car had engine issues and they sold it to me as is. They were able to get the engine light when I was looking to purchase, but the next couple of days it came on. I love this car I don't want to exchange it for something I don't want and they said I can not return it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/22) */ Freeway Ford has given **************** 500. and returned her car to her after fixing what issues we could. She has signed off on this agreement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did not fix the issue at all I had my car there over 7 different occasions for thEM to fix this engine light problem and they never, never fixed it. I got so tired of being without my vehicle I told them to give me my car and $1500 just in case I have to repair the car. This engine light was still on after they called me to pick it up and and then called me right back and said no don't pick it up the light came back on and I said I am paying car note on a car that I am not driving, so I want my car back and $1500 so I can get it fixed. The engine light is still on and has been since 3 days after I purchased the car on May 17, 2014. They had my car for a total of about 3 weeks and still not repaired. Rich admitted his self that this is terrible. They kept lying to me saying they were having a electrician expert look at it at a Chrysler dealership. They never at one time when I picked up my car; before after taking it back 2-3 days later when the engine light came back on, showed me any paperwork showing it was at a Chyrsler dealership. So I said since you all refuse to fix my car give me my car and $1500 so I can get it repaired. Mark stated we will not give you $1500 we will give you $500. I took my car and the $500 and is currenly doing my best to save up money to get this problem resolved. THEY HAD MY CAR FOR AT LEAST 3 DAYS EVERY WEEK SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR. I ASKED FOR THE CAR FAX REPORT AND ***** REFUSED. I did buy the car as is, because when I drove it the engine light was not on and the car road smooth. I took it to a shop and they told me I need breaks and rotars all around and my front axle is damaged. My car makes a loud noise in the front I am not sure what it is but whatever it is I will have to use the $500 to repair that. IF I WOULD HAVE SEEN THE CAR FAX REPORT I WOULD HAVE NOT PURCHASED THAT VEHICLE BECAUSE SINCE I HAD IT THE BUMPER FELL OFF AND i SAW WHERE THE BUMPER WAS A USED JUNK YARD BUMPER AND THE ESTIMATER TOLD ME THAT THIS CAR WAS IN A WRECK THAT DAMAGED THE WHOLE FRONT END. I WAS MISLED BY *****. SHE SHOULD HAVE GIVEN ME THE CAR FAX REPORT. I WANTED MY CAR THEY KEPT GIVING ME A LOANER, BUT i WANTED MY CAR; THE ONE I AM PAYING $360 MONTHLY ON IT. WHY THEY WOULD NOT GIVE ME THE CAR FAX REPORT AND IF I NEW WHAT I KNOW NOW I WOULD NOT HAVE PAID $11000/97,000 MILES FOR A CAR WITH THIS MANY PROBLEMS. THEY COULD NOT EVEN REPAIR THE ENGING LIGHT, SO WHY MENTION THE OTHER PROBLEMS. THEY SOLD THE CAR UNDER FALSE PRETENCE. That car was falsely advertised with AutoTrader.com saying this car has been completely refurbished, THAT WAS A LIE. I TRIED TO GET A COPY OF THE ADVERTISEMENT WITH AUTOTRADER.COM AND THEY SAID I NEED A COURT ORDER. BBB CAN YOU GET THAT AD. I WAS PRESURED TO EXCEPT THE $500 BECAUSE THEY KNOW I WANTED MY CAR REAL BAD AFTER THEY KEPT TRYING TO FIX IT AND ME HAVING TO DRIVE FROM BROOKLYN PARK TO BLOOMINGTON EVERY TIME I HAD TO DROP IT OFF OR PICK IT UP WAS VERY VERY TIME CONSUMING NOT TO MENTION HOW MUCH GAS I SPENT. ********* AND ***** SHOULD BE FIRED THEY ARE CROOKS.

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Freeway Ford failed to provide a written warranty and refuses to reimburse for non-Ford dealership replacement of transmission. 9/13/12 Freeway mechanics installed remanufactured transmission with verbal 3-year warranty w/ unlimited mileage. 10/25/12 transmission overhauled because of slippage. 8/12/13 - transmission failed, and AAmco Transmission, Spokane, WA, replaced transmission with a re-built one. Upon returning to MN, I called **************, Freeway Ford's Service Mgr., who told me that I had voided the (verbal) warranty by ;not taking the car to a Ford dealer. I sent a letter to Mr. *******, the general manager, who called to reiterate Mr. *********'s statement. I am now out more than $3,685.00 for a faulty transmission and experienced living without my vehicle for more than a month.

Desired Settlement: I seek reimbursement of $3,685.83, the cost of the original remanufactured transmission.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/18) */ when i sold the re-manufactured transmission to **** *****, i told **** the transmission was a Ford Motor Co. re-manufactured transmission that was backed parts and labor by Ford for 3 years unlimited milage. **** never asked for a written warranty. i told him he only needed a copy of his reciet to have the transmission warranted at any Ford dealer. he would have to present the reciet at the time of service. ************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) when the repair was completed, I was not given a written warranty, nor was I told that I had to go to ford dealership. **** only told me that I had a good warranty. at no time was asked if I wanted one. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/10/28) */ it only stands to reason if you buy a Ford part from a Ford dealer that it can be only warranty by another ford dealer. not GM, not Chrysler, not Amoco transmission.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Freeway Ford, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)