BBB Accredited Business since

Fiat of Minneapolis

Phone: (952) 367-4400 1820 Quentin Ave, Saint Louis Park, MN 55416 http://www.fiatusaofminneapolis.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fiat of Minneapolis meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fiat of Minneapolis include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fiat of Minneapolis
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 20, 2012 Business started: 12/01/2010 Business started locally: 12/01/2010 Business incorporated 12/01/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Brett Farrell, General Manager David Luther, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Brett Farrell, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Additives & Sealants Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Carburetors Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Financing Consultants Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Wheels Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Fiat of Minneapolis, it offers new and pre-owned inventory vehicles. Also provides financing.

Industry Tips
Auto Glass Information Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 1820 Quentin Ave

    Saint Louis Park, MN 55416

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was taken in for an oil change and tire rotation only which I approved. My computer ECU was flashed, not approved and I was not notified. I brought my 2013 Fiat Abarth to the dealer for an oil change and tire rotation for which I approved and signed off before the service was performed. After paying for this service for around $110.00 I proceeded to leave the dealership. Once driving my vehicle the performance was terrible, gas mileage decreased and it was not the same car. My fiancee can attest to this as well. I immediately contacted the dealership the same day asking what they did to my car. Nothing was disclosed until I proceeded to ask if they did something to my ECU or computer. I am in technology so familiar with the process. After looking on there end they stated yes we did an upgrade to your computer software. I asked why they did this without my approval and they said it needed to be done. They also stated it should not effect any performance on the car. Well it did and it is not the same car. They later sent me an email stating the computer has to relearn my driving and the performance would return in 8 to 10 days of driving and over 2 weeks later it has not. They stated in an email one of their techs also had this issue but the performance returned in time. That being said, my situation is a bit different in the fact I had my car performance tuned years before taking it to this dealer. Previous to this I always took my car to Brandon Fiat in Florida where I purchased the vehicle and never had a service problem since the day I bought it as they were always informative and asked me about anything that was going to be done on my car with my approval. I have been continuing to communicate with this dealership and Fiat Corporation about the issue. I informed them I had a performance tune on my car and this unauthorized repair made by them changed everything negative so the car is not the same. I have asked them to fix my car and they informed me they could not. I also know that the only way for this to be fixed now is for the car to be performance tuned again in the amount of $500 which they need to pay for at this point. They then had the gull to ask me for a receipt from my previous performance tune from almost 3 years ago which I have no clue where that may be unless I can pull credit card statements from 3 years ago online to access this. This is their mistake not mine, they did the unauthorized repair to my car otherwise I would have never had that done. This seems to be a constant concern by many people as I have researched other individuals that have had these same issues with unauthorized repairs. I am here wasting my time doing things like this because this dealership took it upon themselves to assume it was okay to upgrade and repair my computer without my knowledge and approval. On top of that they damaged my wheel but they did agree to fix this by repairing the wheel. I purchased this vehicle new and my wheel should also be new instead of having to be repaired by their mistake. I have owned 3 Fiats, the very first concept car from the Chicago Auto Show called the 2012 Fiat Stinger 500, then my 2013 Abarth as well as a Fiat 500L currently. I have enjoyed the vehicles very much and my Florida dealer when I resided there was top in its class with service. After relocating to Minnesota and taking my vehicle to this dealership my opinion on service has really changed for both this dealership and Fiat overall. I also considered purchasing the new 500X which when we were there discussed with the sales person. After all this and if my Abarth is not rectified, I will never by a Fiat or Chrysler product again and will do whatever I have to and make sure people are aware of this service level. I would like my car back the way it was before this dealership did an unauthorized repair on my car. On top of that there was never a recall on my vehicle and I never had any problems with my vehicle. I don't understand why this unauthorized repair was done without my approval and why I was not even notified. Poor service

Desired Settlement: Simply put I would like my vehicle back the way it was and that will require a performance tune in the amount of $500 which the dealership or Fiat needs to pay. Since the dealership did this unapproved repair I no longer have the same vehicle I had before I brought it to the dealership. As well I am wasting all this time of mine to have to deal with a mistake the dealership made. The point is I want the dealership to pay for my performance tune so my car is the way it was before I brought it to the dealer. I just want my car back the way it was and so I am not out $500 because of the mistake the dealership made of performing an unauthorized repair without my knowledge or approval. Why should I have to pay another $500 out of pocket to bring the car back to the way it was before taking it to this dealership when the dealership made an unauthorized repair to my car. This has become a very expensive oil change and tire rotation. $500 I'm out for losing my performance tune due to the unauthorized repair and $110 for the actual oil change and tire rotation. $610 for all these headaches, never again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/08/10) */ We have two concerns: performance tune and a scratched wheel. We certainly want to come to a good resolution for all involved and have offered to repair the wheel to like new condition (common practice with cosmetic damage of this nature) and we'd like to be able to address the concern with the performance tune on this vehicle. In addressing the performance tune we have asked for any type of documentation that will help us get ****'s vehicle back to the way it was prior to performing the factory update. Documentation is not readily available though we do understand that his ECU was tuned by Tork Motorsports and we're willing to pay for that service to restore his performance tune. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do accept the dealership response but first before closing this, I would like to know how to proceed and how this is suppose to be resolved with my performance tune with the dealership or Fiat paying for this? Should I submit an invoice to the dealership or fiat for payment or how should this be handled instead of the response "we are willing to pay for that service to restore the performance tune." Fiat was suppose to get back in touch with me Monday and I have yet to get any further response from them. Before closing this I would like further confirmation on how to proceed with the performance tune to restore my car back to the way it was before bringing it to the dealership. The wheel I understand and will have to make an appointment to get this part resolved at the dealership. I really appreciate the dealership standing behind what they did with regard to the unauthorized repair and not communicating with me before hand what exactly was being done to my car when it was only there for an oil change and tire rotation. I am not one that wants to complain but I would also suggest in the future to communicate everything to a customer before any kind of service on their vehicle. Please let me know how I am to proceed with this performance tune? Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2015/08/24) */

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Luther has failed to adequately resolve an issue with my vehicle's sunroof even though the issue was discovered during the full warranty period. 2008 Mini Cooper VIN:***************** 5/25/13-Initial test drive was conducted and papers signed to purchase vehicle. Awaiting down payment check to take custody of vehicle. 5/27-Customer delivered down payment check, signed final papers, and took possession of vehicle. 5/28-5/31-Customer out of town for work. Vehicle was parked in a garage and not driven during this period. 6/1-Customer attempted to open sunroof for the first time since purchase. Sunroof failed to open. Customer called Luther and spoke with ************ (sales rep). ****** consulted with his manager, who said the sunroof should be covered under the full 60-day warranty. Customer requested to call back at later time to schedule appointment due to busy schedule. 6/8-First service appointment (Invoice FICS202778). Technician repaired a blown fuse and inner fender liner clip. Sunroof tracks were lubricated and cleaned. 6/11-Customer experienced issue opening sunroof. Another appointment was made online for second service appointment at Brookdale Fiat. 6/12-Customer inquired if service could be done at Bloomington Fiat location because it is more convenient. Rescheduled for 6/13 at Bloomington location. 6/13-Technician replicated sunroof issue and believed it was due to sunroof track binding. Technician needed authorization from management for repairs (Invoice: **********) 6/18-****** left message for customer stating an estimated $1800 repair cost. Informed customer that Luther would contribute $300 towards repair. Customer returned call and questioned why the repair was originally stated to be covered, only now to be informed that it would not. ****** informed the customer that it was due to the fact that it cannot be determined if damage was present at time of sale because the sunroof was not opened during test drive. 6/22-Customer made a trip to the Luther dealership to further discuss why the repair would only be partially covered even though it was discovered in the warranty period. There had recently been some movement of managers, so the new manager was unaware of the situation. The manager said the reason the sunroof may not be covered is due to the warranty statement that "reduced performance due to normal wear and tear" is excluded. Customer questioned how an inoperable window is normal wear and tear on a vehicle, since much older vehicles do not have this issue. Customer stated that any repair on a vehicle can be said to be "normal wear and tear", and expressed his feeling that this was just a way for Luther to not honor the warranty. The issue was discovered on the second day of driving the vehicle, so there is no way that the issue was caused by the customer. ****** and manager both personally went out to vehicle to look at the issue first hand. They could not determine the root of the problem. Manager said that he would do some further digging, talk to the service technician and previous manager, and get back to customer within a week. 6/29-Customer followed up with manager via phone. Manager assured customer that he was still looking in to the issue and would be in contact soon. 7/8-Customer received call from ******. Customer was unable to answer phone so ****** left a general voice mail to give him a call back. 7/10-****** left another voice message for the customer. In this message ****** informed the customer that after looking into the issue further, Luther Fiat's final offer was to send the customer a $300 check. The customer could then choose to look into the issue further or just pocket the money. Again the reason for this decision was due to the "normal wear and tear" argument. No urgent time frame was given, so the customer decided to take some time and think about his options going forward. 7/12-8/1-Customer out of town and unable to use phone to discuss the issue any further with Luther. 8/6-Upon return from vacation, customer brought vehicle to Motorwerks Mini for expert opinion.

Desired Settlement: As the warranty states, "Luther automotive will repair or replace covered parts that fail or malfunction during the warranty period at no charge...for the first 30 days or 1500 miles, whichever comes first, Luther Automotive provides comprehensive coverage...all parts of your vehicle are covered". Nowhere in the warranty does it state that 16.67% of the repair cost will be covered; the $300 of $1800 offer from Luther Fiat amounts to just that. It is truly unfortunate that an auto dealer does not feel that they should be responsible to cover a vehicle malfunction so soon after the purchase date. I did not think to open the sunroof during the test drive due to the weather conditions, and it is highly unlikely that I would have pursued the vehicle purchase if I had known about the sunroof issue. Additionally, I extremely doubt that the dealer would have attempted to sell a vehicle on their lot disclaiming that the sunroof was inoperable. If it had still been owned by the dealership, they would have needed to repair the sunroof before the sale. But after the customer drove it for 2 days, now they don't feel responsible? This seems like terrible business practice to me. I have been more than patient and cooperative throughout the entire process. I have not rushed their decision and gave them adequate time. I have even had to take steps into my own hand, and spend my own money to get an expert opinion from a Mini service technician. I have talked to a total of 3 mechanics (2 friends and 1 Mini Technician) that have all said they can't believe that Luther is trying to avoid covering this under the warranty due to "normal wear and tear". When I first brought my vehicle to Luther Fiat to get the sunroof repaired, they fixed both a blown fuse and replaced an inner fender liner without question. Why are these repairs not considered "normal wear and tear"? A fuse gets blown over time due to normal use, and fender clips break off due to normal driving. However, there was no question with these repairs. My assumption is that it all comes down to the sticker price of $1800 that Luther does not want to cover. I spent $135.96 out of pocket to get a quote on mini sunroof at Motorwerks Mini. The technician ran test of vehicle computer and found no indication of motor failure. Quote for parts and labor to fix the sunroof totals $1863.80. I am seeking that Luther Brookdale Fiat cover the entire cost of the repair, as the warranty says they should. Preferably, I would like to take the vehicle to Motorwerks Mini in Bloomington, MN to get the repair completed. The staff at Motorwerks completed my inspection and were very knowledgeable about the sunroof problem. I cannot say the same about the Fiat technicians, due to the difficulty they had in diagnosing the problem with the vehicle. I understand if honoring this preference is not an option under the warranty. Having some type of warranty when purchasing a vehicle was a great selling factor for me, as I felt assured that any problem with the vehicle that existed at the time of purchase would be covered. The warranty has turned out to be nearly negligible as I am still stuck with a sunroof that does not operate correctly. Luther Automotive can rest assured that, as the issue stands, I will never purchase a vehicle from Luther under the assumption that I have a warranty. Nor will I advise friends or family to purchase a vehicle from Luther with the same sense of security that I had.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/06) */ **** and I have been in communication over the past couple of weeks regarding his MiniCooper. We have an appointment set up for tomorrow Sept 7th at 11am to find a resolution. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/08/30) */ 8/30 - Customer received call from Luther Fiat manager to call back to discuss BBB complaint. Business' Final Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Luther Auto and I have been in contact over the past few weeks. We have come to the agreement to get a 3rd party opinion on the sunroof and move from there. This issue has been seen in Mini Coopers before, so we are unsure if the recommended repair will actually resolve the issue indefinitely. Once we receive a 3rd party opinion, we will discuss either (1) going forward with the repair or (2) striking a monetary agreement to compensate for the inoperable sunroof. If everything proceeds as planned, I will consider the BBB complaint to be closed and be satisfied with the resolution process with Luther Auto.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fiat of Minneapolis
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)