Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2012

Fiat of Minneapolis

(952) 367-44001820 Quentin Ave, Saint Louis ParkMN 55416-1629 Send email to Fiat of MinneapolisView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2012

BBB has determined that Fiat of Minneapolis meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fiat of Minneapolis' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fiat of Minneapolis

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/16/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Luther has failed to adequately resolve an issue with my vehicle's sunroof even though the issue was discovered during the full warranty period.
2008 Mini Cooper
VIN:*****************

5/25/13-Initial test drive was conducted and papers signed to purchase vehicle. Awaiting down payment check to take custody of vehicle.

5/27-Customer delivered down payment check, signed final papers, and took possession of vehicle.

5/28-5/31-Customer out of town for work. Vehicle was parked in a garage and not driven during this period.

6/1-Customer attempted to open sunroof for the first time since purchase. Sunroof failed to open. Customer called Luther and spoke with ************ (sales rep). ****** consulted with his manager, who said the sunroof should be covered under the full 60-day warranty. Customer requested to call back at later time to schedule appointment due to busy schedule.

6/8-First service appointment (Invoice FICS202778). Technician repaired a blown fuse and inner fender liner clip. Sunroof tracks were lubricated and cleaned.

6/11-Customer experienced issue opening sunroof. Another appointment was made online for second service appointment at Brookdale Fiat.

6/12-Customer inquired if service could be done at Bloomington Fiat location because it is more convenient. Rescheduled for 6/13 at Bloomington location.

6/13-Technician replicated sunroof issue and believed it was due to sunroof track binding. Technician needed authorization from management for repairs (Invoice: **********)

6/18-****** left message for customer stating an estimated $1800 repair cost. Informed customer that Luther would contribute $300 towards repair. Customer returned call and questioned why the repair was originally stated to be covered, only now to be informed that it would not. ****** informed the customer that it was due to the fact that it cannot be determined if damage was present at time of sale because the sunroof was not opened during test drive.

6/22-Customer made a trip to the Luther dealership to further discuss why the repair would only be partially covered even though it was discovered in the warranty period. There had recently been some movement of managers, so the new manager was unaware of the situation. The manager said the reason the sunroof may not be covered is due to the warranty statement that "reduced performance due to normal wear and tear" is excluded. Customer questioned how an inoperable window is normal wear and tear on a vehicle, since much older vehicles do not have this issue. Customer stated that any repair on a vehicle can be said to be "normal wear and tear", and expressed his feeling that this was just a way for Luther to not honor the warranty. The issue was discovered on the second day of driving the vehicle, so there is no way that the issue was caused by the customer.

****** and manager both personally went out to vehicle to look at the issue first hand. They could not determine the root of the problem. Manager said that he would do some further digging, talk to the service technician and previous manager, and get back to customer within a week.

6/29-Customer followed up with manager via phone. Manager assured customer that he was still looking in to the issue and would be in contact soon.

7/8-Customer received call from ******. Customer was unable to answer phone so ****** left a general voice mail to give him a call back.

7/10-****** left another voice message for the customer. In this message ****** informed the customer that after looking into the issue further, Luther Fiat's final offer was to send the customer a $300 check. The customer could then choose to look into the issue further or just pocket the money. Again the reason for this decision was due to the "normal wear and tear" argument. No urgent time frame was given, so the customer decided to take some time and think about his options going forward.

7/12-8/1-Customer out of town and unable to use phone to discuss the issue any further with Luther.

8/6-Upon return from vacation, customer brought vehicle to Motorwerks Mini for expert opinion.

Desired Settlement
As the warranty states, "Luther automotive will repair or replace covered parts that fail or malfunction during the warranty period at no charge...for the first 30 days or 1500 miles, whichever comes first, Luther Automotive provides comprehensive coverage...all parts of your vehicle are covered".

Nowhere in the warranty does it state that 16.67% of the repair cost will be covered; the $300 of $1800 offer from Luther Fiat amounts to just that.

It is truly unfortunate that an auto dealer does not feel that they should be responsible to cover a vehicle malfunction so soon after the purchase date. I did not think to open the sunroof during the test drive due to the weather conditions, and it is highly unlikely that I would have pursued the vehicle purchase if I had known about the sunroof issue. Additionally, I extremely doubt that the dealer would have attempted to sell a vehicle on their lot disclaiming that the sunroof was inoperable. If it had still been owned by the dealership, they would have needed to repair the sunroof before the sale. But after the customer drove it for 2 days, now they don't feel responsible? This seems like terrible business practice to me.

I have been more than patient and cooperative throughout the entire process. I have not rushed their decision and gave them adequate time. I have even had to take steps into my own hand, and spend my own money to get an expert opinion from a Mini service technician. I have talked to a total of 3 mechanics (2 friends and 1 Mini Technician) that have all said they can't believe that Luther is trying to avoid covering this under the warranty due to "normal wear and tear".

When I first brought my vehicle to Luther Fiat to get the sunroof repaired, they fixed both a blown fuse and replaced an inner fender liner without question. Why are these repairs not considered "normal wear and tear"? A fuse gets blown over time due to normal use, and fender clips break off due to normal driving. However, there was no question with these repairs. My assumption is that it all comes down to the sticker price of $1800 that Luther does not want to cover.

I spent $135.96 out of pocket to get a quote on mini sunroof at Motorwerks Mini. The technician ran test of vehicle computer and found no indication of motor failure. Quote for parts and labor to fix the sunroof totals $1863.80.

I am seeking that Luther Brookdale Fiat cover the entire cost of the repair, as the warranty says they should. Preferably, I would like to take the vehicle to Motorwerks Mini in Bloomington, MN to get the repair completed. The staff at Motorwerks completed my inspection and were very knowledgeable about the sunroof problem. I cannot say the same about the Fiat technicians, due to the difficulty they had in diagnosing the problem with the vehicle. I understand if honoring this preference is not an option under the warranty.

Having some type of warranty when purchasing a vehicle was a great selling factor for me, as I felt assured that any problem with the vehicle that existed at the time of purchase would be covered. The warranty has turned out to be nearly negligible as I am still stuck with a sunroof that does not operate correctly. Luther Automotive can rest assured that, as the issue stands, I will never purchase a vehicle from Luther under the assumption that I have a warranty. Nor will I advise friends or family to purchase a vehicle from Luther with the same sense of security that I had.

Business' Initial Response
**** and I have been in communication over the past couple of weeks regarding his MiniCooper. We have an appointment set up for tomorrow Sept 7th at 11am to find a resolution.

Consumer's Final Response
8/30 - Customer received call from Luther Fiat manager to call back to discuss BBB complaint.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Luther Auto and I have been in contact over the past few weeks. We have come to the agreement to get a 3rd party opinion on the sunroof and move from there. This issue has been seen in Mini Coopers before, so we are unsure if the recommended repair will actually resolve the issue indefinitely. Once we receive a 3rd party opinion, we will discuss either (1) going forward with the repair or (2) striking a monetary agreement to compensate for the inoperable sunroof. If everything proceeds as planned, I will consider the BBB complaint to be closed and be satisfied with the resolution process with Luther Auto.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Wheels, Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Financing Consultants, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Carburetors, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Tire Additives & Sealants, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/20/2012Business started: 12/01/2010Business started locally: 03/10/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133
Saint Paul, MN55101-2142
(651) 201-7000
http://www.dps.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2010, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Doreen Fischer (General Manager)Customer Contact: Brett Farell (Customer Contact) David Luther (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Wheels, Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Financing Consultants, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Carburetors, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Tire Additives & Sealants, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Fiat of Minneapolis, it offers new and pre-owned inventory vehicles. Also provides financing.

Alternate Business Names
Luther Automotive Group, BC Motors LLC
Industry Tips
Buying A New Car
USED CAR WARRANTY LAW
BUYING A USED CAR
Auto Repair and Services
Auto Glass Information

If you choose to do business with Fiat of Minneapolis, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fiat of Minneapolis

1820 Quentin Ave

Saint Louis Park, MN 55416-1629

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1820 Quentin Ave 

    Saint Louis Park, MN 55416-1629

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fiat of Minneapolis is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.