This business is not BBB accredited.

Duluth Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Phone: (218) 720-6123 View Additional Phone Numbers 4755 Miller Trunk Hwy, Duluth, MN 55811 http://www.duluthdodge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duluth Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Duluth Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 01/19/1993 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tom Jubie, General Manager (7/2014) Pete Stone, General Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Tom Jubie, General Manager (7/2014)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt

Alternate Business Names
Duluth Dodge Inc Duluth-Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Duluth Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, this company offers sales of new and used vehicles. Sales, service and parts.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4755 Miller Trunk Hwy

    Duluth, MN 55811 (218) 720-6123 (800) 708-6537

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Dodge Challenger from Duluth Dodge on 03/06/2015. The salesman I worked with was Mike ***. Upon calling on the car, prior to driving down to look at it, I talked to a lady on the phone. She proceeded to tell me about the car, how good of shape it was in, the low miles, etc. She said it had a clean CarFax report. Never once did she mention it was in an accident nor offer an actual CarFax report on the car. The next day I drove down to Duluth Dodge to look at the car. While working with Mike *** on a test drive, learning the features of the car, working out the final price of the car, etc., never once did he tell me it was in an accident or actually offer a CarFax report on the car. After dealing with Mike, I walked back inside and again talked to said lady who again mention there was a clean CarFax report. After this I purchased the car. I listed the car for sale and had a prospective buyer lined up on 4/13/16. This buyer wanted to run the VIN # to make sure the car was clean, which I stated it was. This buyer then came back to me stating the car was in an accident on or before 10/12/2011 which involved a rear-end collision, involving right front impact with another motor vehicle. Severe damage was reported and the airbag did deploy. Upon learning of this, the buyer would only be interested at $10,000 below my asking price, which I could not do. I too ran my own CarFax report to verify the problem myself. I have had a few other potential buyers interested but when I disclose the accident they are no longer interested. Now, I cannot sell the car for anywhere close to what I need based on Duluth Dodge not disclosing the previous accident.

Desired Settlement: Since I cannot sell the car for anything close to what I purchased it for, I would like Duluth Dodge to purchase the car back or give me the difference in my purchase price and what I am eventually able to sell the car for.

Business Response:

Response received via fax to BBB -- scan is attached; text of letter reads as follows:

"Re: case #******** ***** ******

This was a used car purchase and the customer should have requested the Carfax if they were concerned. The car was purchased for $17,200 and at the time the book value was $20,950. It currently has a NADA value of $18,950 and a Kelley Blue Book value of $20,056. There are no standards in place for diminished values on pre-driven cars because of prior accidents. This car did not and does not have a branded title so there would be no decrease in value.

I deny any wrong doing and we are not willing to make any adjustment to the customer. It seems out of line to even make a complaint of this nature and after 15 months of ownership. There is no loss to the customer and I hope that they can understand that.

Sincerely,

Thomas *****

General Manager"


Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

The General Manager is missing the point. It was TWICE told to me by the salesman that the car had a clean CarFax. The ONLY reason I even know it was in an accident was because a possible buyer ran a CarFax and told me that it was in an accident. Duluth Dodge TWICE said it was clean when I purchased the car 15 months ago but that was not true. I cannot sell the car for even close to Blue Book value do to this accident. Every possible buyer as been scared away from purchasing it due to the accident history I was not informed about.

***** ******

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False representation of a 2007 Nissan Pathfinder advertised as superb condition ended up with more problems within 4048 miles after my purchase. I have purchased an up kept 2007 Nissan Pathfinder advertised as superb condition even with minor dents, scratches and tiny rust bubbles that seemed to be covered up and the tire light flashing which I was told will go away after driving for a while it was doable. I've financed vehicle in Dec 2014 with the option of a 1 year warranty topped on top of the vehicle which raised the vehicle cost when it is understood warranties does not accumulate interest so I felt they were trying to get me to pay more for the vehicle I ended up getting my warranty elsewhere. I was given a hard time before the final purchase kept being persuaded to have my fiancé co-sign by one of the managers giving me the run around. After buying vehicle on the 1st oil change that's when things begin to go down hill once one problem was found after I requested they look into the tire symbol which hasn't gone away and currently still on. I've been two 3 different shops just for other opinions which came problems after problems costing $5030.00 in repairs and now I have an addition $1000 for the 4 bad tire sensors and another 3000 for a radiator/transmission issue that seemed to be the same way it was when I purchased it due to me only adding 4080 miles on the vehicle. which makes that a grand total of $9030 on a supposedly superb condition vehicle. So the new repairs needed which comes straight out of my pocket is $3000 and the $1000 which totals $4000 which is to repair the transmission and replace the radiator. I was under the impression that dealers should be responsible for financing lemons to customers especially when it is clear it is a lemon under the 4000 miles I placed on vehicle. I have went to the dealer and tried to negotiate they take care of the lemon they have sold me and it is ridiculous that a more than a million dollar a year salary dealer can't take responsibility of what they have sold me. They have denied a person that went to them fair and square as if I haven't took a loss myself due to them $9040 will be placed on the vehicle once the $4000 I am forced to pay otherwise have no vehicle by the end of the year and a loan that is just a little over the repair cost. I will speak to the media about this if necessary because if they have sold me a lemon who know how many others have been sold one as well and had to take a kick where the sun don't shine because dealers feel they can get away with these kind of things whether sold as is, with or without a warranty just be double cheated on the value of the car let alone have just about the same placed on the vehicle to call it reliable. When it is indeed currently unreliable the transmission can go any time just as much as the radiator can go if it over heats so now it just sits until I am able to come up with such a surprising cost in repairs.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund in the amount of the $800.00 I have already placed on the vehicle plus an additional $1000.00 for the Tire sensor and $3000.00 for the Transmission and radiator issue totaling $4800.00 dollars out of my pocket in repairs. They said I were purchasing a superb condition vehicle even with the run around of a week before the deal was made I want them to make it superb like I have on file actual documentation stating that. I would have requested a full refund of all repairs made which is ($4240.00) my warranty paid with what I will have paid by the end of the year ($4800.00)which is a grand total of $9040.00, So that would be a superb deal. I will await their response since they were willing to be harsh when I was doing my best to go to them like a dissatisfied customer hoping to be satisfied only to leave the dealer feeling the same way I've went in unhappy. One voice leads to many ears and if denied my refund of $4800.00 an as is deal for the repairs I have made out of pocket and repairs I will make before the end of the year so that I can actually have a dependable vehicle they've seen the documents they've done me wrong and it should have been settled right and not this way I was being fair in person and now they are being fed what I was forced to eat. $4800.00 refund I'm not sure if they will cut the check I do have documentation of all repairs made and needs to be made even the dealers sale documentations as I've mentioned before. Once I receive a decision of the case and it is denied yet again I will speak to the media and make it known Duluth Dodge have sold me a undependable vehicle and if others are out there as well to file a complaint with the BBB so matters can be taking in other hands they will have no control of only they know how many dissatisfied customers they have out there I am one of them. Duluth Dodge do have my work file on record they know where I work and they should know that I am associated with the media once it is on the news there is no going back so too Duluth Dodge you know I have went to you personally, so you know what I have written here is no lie no gimmicks no bluffs it is up to you to correct how you wronged me $4800.00 for my superb vehicle or a possible dramatic loss in customers if possible from media exposer which will add up is sales until the point you make the worst dealership of the year 2015. I await a response! Sincerely, *****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/31) */ The vehicle in question was purchased "As Is" We do offer extended service plans an recommend them to our customers as we cannot for see what may or may not go wrong with the vehicle. We would be happy do discuss this with the customer but I am not sure if he has contacted one of our managers Tim ******** or Steve ******, but again the vehicle was purchased as is. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/09/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Before the car was purchased there had been no "as is" documents on the current vehicle as me/my fiance "witness" and the sales person went over that and the sales person even had a confrontation in front of me about this with the person assisting him "Pat" So unless that document have been removed upon clean up for presentation that does not fall on me. Another thing Dealers are not allowed to sale unreliable vehicles which are considered a lemon, if Duluth dodge wants to play the "as is" card it should have never been advertised as superb condition let alone impressive performer so therefore by Duluth Dodge "as is" card should have be sold as is in Superb condition. A vehicle that needs a new radiator let alone a new/rebuild trans is not superb. The only reason the 'as is" form was signed although it wasn't advertised on the vehicle was because the car wouldn't have been sold to me otherwise. Duluth Dodge also stated they would be happy to discuss this with me yet when I went into the office after I had Duluth Dodge Service named "????" to take another look at the vehicle for the repairs ******* found within the same month it was at Duluth Dodge for repairs they eventually saw what ******* mentioned and was denied any further actions from Duluth Dodge Managers that is when I went to my dealer named "????" and put a deal on the table for the cost which was 50/50 when my dealer went to the managers and returned after 10-15 minutes the results was NO. So mentioning they would be happy to discuss this is only a cover up. The vehicle was rusted and corroded before I purchased it. If rust and corrosion can not be seen by the so called 125pt inspection it may not have been done as mentioned and someone should have seen something. It is not about what may or may not go wrong, it is about what was WRONG with the vehicle. A lemon is a lemon and as I mentioned money has already been placed on the vehicle more than enough so I had options to trade in and have decided to go against it because by placing so much money into this vehicle for another dealer to make more of a profit from the repairs I had done already was just another lost I would have cost myself. Just to clear up this "as is" lots of dealers like to use it seems there is a lot of meaning when it comes to that and that could be as is: because it doesn't have a warranty. as is: because it has minor/major damage to the interior/exterior. but to be sold as is your paying us for a vehicle that won't make it through the year let alone under 5 months of the 4000+ miles placed on it after the purchase. That is more of a mechanic special which I have seen dealers advertised on cars that will need major repairs and this was not sold as a mechanic special. Every car is sold as is whether Purchased or leased the only difference is newer vehicles come with a 3,5,10,20 year warranty so no worries besides the back and forth to the repair shop with an deductible if no warranty or an exteded warranty. Anything you bought is sold as is with or without coverage. I do have a warranty and it is for 3yrs 2yrs more than Duluth Dodge 1yr. and like most extended warranties they do not cover pre-existing repairs like the rusted and corroded trans and radiator. I have sent in 2 attachments to the BBB for review showing the 'superb condition' ad, and the 'great performer' and it wasn't either. Sincerely, *****

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2003 Dodge 1500 from Duluth Dodge on Saturday April 5, 2014. I test drove the vehicle and found that the passenger side window switch was broken. One of the repairs that was done to the vehicle was that same window switch. Obviously it wasn't fixed. Duluth Dodge also says that every trade-in they have they do a 120 point inspection and an oil change...Oil wasn't changed. So, Duluth Dodge said that they would fix the switch and do an oil change for free and to bring it in Monday April 7, 2014 to get it fixed. The night of April 5, 2014 I started the truck up at work and was going to put the defrost on and the vent direction wouldn't change. So when I brought the truck to Duluth Dodge on Monday April 7, 2014 I told them that the switch for the vents was broke to, and **** the Sales Manager said that they would look at that as well. So, I got a call from Duluth Dodge Service Department on Friday April 11, 2014 saying that my Blower Housing and Doors needed to be replaced and that it would cost $1500 and that out of good faith Duluth Dodge would pay for half the cost. I told them that I would talk to the dealership and get it worked out. I called ***** the salesperson I bought the truck from and she was going to talk to the General Manager to see what they could do. I called back today April 14, 2014 and spoke to ****, Sales Manager, and he told me that Duluth Dodge would only pay for the parts....I little different story than what Service told me the Friday before. I called Dodge direct and that didn't help. All I know is that the parts they're paying for isn't near the cost I'm going to have to pay in labor for it to be installed, cause I talked to the parts guy at ***************** in Superior, WI and he told me that it's an all day job. If Duluth Dodge does a 120 point inspection they would've known that Housing was broken. I never touched the heater till that night I bought the truck. Product_Or_Service: 2003 Dodge Truck

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want the truck fixed with no charge to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/05/20) */ This customer purchased a 127,498 mile used vehilce "As Is". They were informed of this at time of purchase and had ample opportunity to check the truck out. After talking with my salesmanager ***** *******, we agreed to cover the parts for the repair and we were told that the customer had someone who could do the repair for "little or nothing" compared to our shop. The cfustomer stated that that was satisfactory and would be happy with that. Again, a 127,498 mile vehilce that was purchased as is> Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not have ample time to check the truck out. If you would look back at my original complaint Duluth Dodge wouldn't honor the price quoted to me the day I looked at the truck if I brought it to my mechanic to get checked out. I know that there's lemon laws in Minnesota and I could have returned the truck the day I brought it back to get it fixed...the problem was that Duluth Dodge didn't tell me what was wrong with it for 5 days. Bought it on Saturday, April 5, 2014, brought it back to get fixed Monday, April 7, 2014,told them the problem I found, and was told what was wrong with it on Friday, April 11, 2014. Also it's not a little or next to nothing fix. With the parts in hand it's still $700.00 to fix. Duluth Dodge quoted me $1500.00 to fix. I had the truck for 8 hrs and they say I had ample time??? If the dealership was open Sunday I would've brought it then.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought part from Duluth dodge. Installed it. Truck worked fine for 3 days! Have been trying to return for a refund on failed part. They have my part Duluth dodge. I bought my part master slave cylinder from Duluth dodge on 12/14/2013. Installed it that afternoon. Used my American Express card for $255.82. Drive the truck for 3 days and on my way into town, it stopped working. Called Duluth dodge for a replacement. They did not have one. Stranded, I found an aftermarket one. Installed it, I have NOT had any issues since! Brought the old part and my receipt back to Duluth dodge for a refund on a failed part! The first guy (*******) said you should get your money back and I don't see how this should be a problem! Unfortunately he is new enough he had to call his boss *****. Something happened on the phone and ******* said we need you leave your part and receipt here. The boss will take a look Monday. After much disagreement I left it. I was told to call back Monday and I did, they said they weren't willing to give my money back yet. Ok a few days later, I tried to get my money back. Same response. Now at this point I have gotten Chrysler involved. Chrysler came back and said well you haven't returned your failed part yet, that's why they can't issue it. I told Chrysler that I indeed return it on Saturday 12/20/13. And left my failed part with the receipt as instructed! They called Duluth dodge and said it's the original part off my truck. I told Chrysler, my original part is sitting in a dump at this point. And if the part they had in their possession was original, why does it not have any rust on it, like a truck with 98,000 miles would have?!?!? why is the rubber boots still brand new and shiny. Chrysler then told me. We can not force Duluth dodge to give your money back because they are privately owned. All I want is my money back for my failed part. $255.82

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back for a failed part they sold me! You buy something from somewhere else that fails. When you return it, you get a choice of a refund or replacement. At this point I have I use for a replacement! I just want just want my money back. $255.82

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ The part that was presented and left for return does not apper to be the new part sold. It has faded tags, dirt and grime build up and rust spots on the metal portion. This could not have occured in just a few days. The part that *********** presented for return is in our parts department at this time. I just personally inspected it and with the faded tag, paint wore off the cap and dirt buildup we feel that this is the original part that failed and had been on the truck for quite some time. Certainly not three day! Chrysler as well does not ship parts to us in this condition. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They insist it is my original part, it is not! I have told them Duluth Dodge is the part I purchased. My original part has an object directly below the master cylinder that is shaped like a air gauge on an air compressor. If I could dig it out of a dump I would! They have the new part and keep on presenting their story.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Duluth Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)