BBB Accredited Business since

Carlson Toyota

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 427-3200 Fax: (763) 427-8242 12880 Riverdale Dr NW, Coon Rapids, MN 55448 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.carlsontoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carlson Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carlson Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Carlson Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1994 Business started: 12/01/1994 Business started locally: 12/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Jeff Doonan, Service Director Mark D. Carlson, Owner William L. Carlson, Owner/General Manager Mary Kimlinger, Controller (8-2013) Donato Vecere, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jeff Doonan, Service Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Carlson Toyota, this company offers sales, parts, and service of new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Carlson Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12880 Riverdale Dr NW

    Coon Rapids, MN 55448

  • 3815 Coon Rapids Blvd. NW

    Minneapolis, MN 55433 (763) 427-3200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carlson Toyota has my vehicle flagged as "held for resale by a dealership" 2 years after I purchased it from them. 1) On December 28, 2015 I attempted to renew the tabs for my 2010 Toyota Corolla online and received an error message. 2) An email was sent to the MN Department of Vehicle Services (DVS). I was informed that, "This vehicle is currently flagged held for resale by a dealership." 3) In calling the MN DVS I was informed that the flag had been placed on my vehicle on July 8, 2015 and that I may submit a scanned copy of the title or work with the dealership to have the flag removed. 4) I called Carlson Toyota at ************, where the person who answered was not certain how to route my call. She eventually routed me to a sales manager named Mike *******, who did not pick up the phone. 5) A second call to Carlson Toyota at the same number was answered by someone different, this time I was placed on hold while I was still talking, and when she came back on the line I was asked who I was holding for. At this point I hung up the phone. 6) I purchased this vehicle from Carlson Toyota in January of 2013 and it is still and has always been in my possession. Carlson Toyota had no reason or right to flag my vehicle. 7) Currently I am unable to use my vehicle as I cannot to renew my tabs due to the flag which Carlson Toyota wrongfully placed on my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: None requested at this time, if any fees are incurred due to my tabs being expired I will expect those to be reimbursed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/30) */ Carlson Toyota has removed the dealer flag placed incorrectly on Mr. ***'s vehicle. This was a clerical error by our staff. We will take immediate steps to ensure this error in not repeated in the future. Mr. *** can now purchase his tabs without issue. I will contact Mr. *** to follow up that he has purchased his tabs and see if he needs any further assistance.

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a used car on Saturday afternoon, discovered some things wrong with it that night, and tried to return it Monday morning. We purchased a 2006 Toyota Corolla about 1:00 in the afternoon on Oct. 31, 2015 for $6100 ($6638.75 after taxes and fees). Prior to signing the papers, we asked our salesman Nick if he could get floor mats for the car, which had none. He stated that he'd go find another Corolla and get them from that car for us. After signing, Nick said he couldn't find any floor mats. Not wanting to dicker any further, we left with the car. Once we took the car out that night, we found a few other issues: - The suspension seemed bad. The tires made a noise going over even small bumps. This is a noise not heard in our other cars on the same roads. - A backseat headrest was missing. - The front bumper was broken - sheared in half. This was not obvious at the dealership either because it was put together, or we didn't notice in the rain. My wife called and talked to Nick at 9:41 Monday morning (Nov. 2) and requested to bring the car back for a refund. Nick said he'd talk to someone and text her back. He never did. She called again at 11:45 on Tuesday morning and left a message. Again, no return call. I brought the car to the dealership that night. The front desk told me that the used car manager (Tom ********) was not in, and they gave me his number and said he'd be in on Wednesday. I went in with the car again Wednesday night and talked to Mr. ********, emphasizing that we really just wanted our money back. He claimed he "had no return policy". He did agree to have the shop take a look at it and gave us a loaner car. The car was "ready" on Saturday, and my wife picked it up. The bumper was fixed, but none of the other problems (suspension, floor mats, headrest) were addressed. I sent the following e-mail to Carlson Toyota on Saturday (Nov. 7) afternoon through their web site: To Tom ******** My wife just picked up the Corolla. The bumper was fixed, but we had other problems that were not addressed. I had told you the following: - there is something wrong with the suspension. Every time we go over even a little crack in the road, both the front and back of the car make a noise - no floor mats as were promised by Nick prior to us signing anything - no back headrest added As we've said numerous times, we would just like our money back. As a reminder, after purchasing the car last Saturday at about 1:00. My wife called NIck to request a refund at 9:27 Monday morning, then called back at 9:41 and talked to Nick. He promised to get back to her, but never did despite another call at 11:45 on Tuesday. I went in Tuesday night ("no one could help me"), and talked to you Wednesday night. If we don't get our money back, I don't see any other recourse but to go to the BBB. END EMAIL We feel that this company should have taken the car back when we asked (within 8 business hours of purchase). While repairs of the issues might seem a fair settlement, at this point, we don't trust them to do them correctly.

Desired Settlement: We would like to return the car and receive a refund of $6500. We are willing to take less than we paid because we have had use of the car for 10 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/23) */ We have been working with Mr. ********* since the purchase of this vehicle. It was sold "AS IS" with no express or implied warranties. Customer understood that it was sold "AS IS" at time of purchase and still came back with multiple items and demands. We did agree to address his concerns and have tried working with him ongoing to satisfy his concerns. It appears that Mr. ********* had buyers remorse and wanted to return the car in an effort purchase something elsewhere. We did go beyond our obligation and repaired most items he referenced. We believe that this consumer is happy at this point. We are no longer willing to provide any additional consideration to this and consider the matter closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/11/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We paid a premium price to buy the car from what we thought was a reputable dealer. They had said the car had been looked over by their shop. So, we believed we were driving away with a car that was in good working condition. We understood that if something broke a week later, it was on us. But, we feel that we drove away with a bad car. Here is a summary of their "attempts" to work with us. Oct. 31 - bought car Nov. 2 AM - called to request a refund. No return call. Nov. 3 AM - called again. No return call. Nov. 3 PM - went to dealer. Used car manager not there, given his number. Nov. 4 - again went to dealer. Used car manager agreed to look at car and gave us a loaner. Nov. 7 - came back to pick up car. They had fixed a broken bumper, but promised floor mats were not included, and car still was a very bumpy ride (shop report said they had checked for "banging", but heard and did nothing). E-mailed that we were still unhappy and wanted refund. No response. Nov. 10 - filed BBB complaint. Nov. 11 - Got call from Carlson saying they were working with the previous owner to get the missing headrest, but that would take a week. Told us to come back on Nov. 18. They would give us a loaner car, get us the headrest and floor mats, and have the shop look at the bumpy ride. Nov. 18 - brought car in, they were ready with a loaner. Again reiterated that we just wanted a refund. Nov. 19 - invited back to ride the car with the service manager. Nov. 20 - came in, rode with service manager, who had looked at shocks, suspension, wheels, etc. He believed any roughness to the ride was due to the Michelin tires. Floor mats and headrest were NOT delivered as had been promised. Called used car manager and left message. No response. Nov. 23 - Carlson officially responds to BBB complaint. So, in summary, after being strung along for 3 weeks, despite numerous phone calls and 5 post-sale trips to the dealership, the car (other than the bumper) has not been improved. We still believe a reputable business would refund the money the morning after a sale.

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Faulty Certification Bought a certified Corolla 1-13-15. Immediately after I found out I had a loose bumper (causing the car to drive jerky) and an issue when filling up my gas tank. Clearly the certification inspection was not done accurately or at all. Weeks later still waiting to get these issues fixed. (had to go elsewhere for the bumper) With the gas issue, they were unwilling to fix the part until it could be tested (After filling up with gas and charging me for the gas...but the tank had to be half full). They told me to come back later. After waiting two hours with no communication, they told me they couldn't fix any of my problems today. They also lost my trade-in title.

Desired Settlement: At very least they need to be paying for all repairs to the gas issue and the bumper. I also don't trust the certification, so any other problems that come up should be covered as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/03/19) */ The vehicle was brought into our Service Department and was repaired to the Customers satisfaction. In addition to the repairs the vehicle was inspected again and reviewed with the customer. The vehicle was also detailed inside and out and was filled with gas.

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Faulty fuel gauge on 2014 Toyota Tundra. Fuel tank warning light engages prematurely. Inaccurate MPG and DTE (distance to empty)calculations. Fuel tank warning light engages when there is 6.4-7 gallons of fuel left in a 26.4 gallon tank resulting in wildly inaccurate MPG & DTE(distance to empty)numbers. When tank is full the calculations are 25-30% off of advertised mileage. When the warning light is on the DTE is off by a factor of 3 or 4. MPG is always around 14 regardless of driving conditions. Manual calculation of MPG results in advertised estimates. The owners manual states that the warning light should engage at 4 gallons or less. I called Toyota customer service and confirmed that the owners manual information is correct and they initiated case #********** which I provided Carlson Toyota. I have provided pictures of the warning light and DTE issue along with a gas receipt showing that I can only put in 20 gallons of gas when warning lamp is lit. It's been almost 3 weeks since my original appointment to fix the issue. I have had numerous emails with both the service manager and the general manager with no progress. The issue seems to be held up by an elusive field technician that holds all the decision making power. I was hoping to deal with this issue directly with the dealership but have grown frustrated with the lack of progress. The warranty is an integral part of the new vehicle purchase and consumers should know that it is difficult to get any warranty work performed. I will be forwarding this complaint to the Minnesota Consumer Protection Agency as well.

Desired Settlement: Replace or repair. I don't care as long as the part works as intended.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/05/19) */ Our Service Manager contacted the Toyota Factory Field Technical Specialist regarding Mr. ****'s concerns with the low fuel level warning light and the distance to empty indicator. The Toyota Field Technical Specialist advised us that Mr. ****'s vehicle is operating within Toyota Manufacturer's specifications and no action is warranted at this time. We at Carlson Toyota appreciate Mr. ****'s position but Toyota has no technical instructions or adjustments available. Toyota has advised us that if we replace the parts the same operational conditions will exist. Additionally Toyota states that the low fuel level light indicator comes on when the vehicle has "approximately 4.0 gallons of fuel remaining" and that 6 gallons is a marginal difference. We will continue to monitor all Toyota Factory Bulletins and messages, if technical instructions do become available that allow us to adjust the system we will notify Mr. ****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Using the current readings that the fuel gauge is generating the DTE estimate is 100+ miles off of actual gas in the tank when showing "empty". I don't believe that is a marginal amount. Additionally, the owners manual states that the warning light engages at 4 gallons OR LESS. Using the upper limit of 4 gallons vs. the 6.4 I'm experiencing is a variance of 60%. Also not marginal. Toyota has never addressed the constant MPG readings of 14-14.5. Interesting to note that GM issued a recall recently for the Traverse/Acadia/Enclave line for exactly the same issue; an inaccurate fuel gauge. Their solution is a reprogramming of the engine control module (ECM).

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With the help of the bbb i thought we had an agreement to go to arbitration. I found out by mail that was not possible. Filed a complaint against Carlson Toyota in july of 2013 because of steering issues with my 2010 toyota corolla. With the help of the bbb i thought we had an agreement to go to arbitration. I found out by mail i was denied arbitration. They said my warranty was up. I do have the extended warranty. Tried emailing scott the customer relations person at carlson. He will not answer my emails. We had an agreement. He lied to me.

Desired Settlement: Refund for 2010 corolla with unsafe steering.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/05/02) */ BBB received call from ***** ******* of Carlson Toyota, with reference to Mr *****'s case. Mr ******* states that Mr ***** has brought his Corolla into a different Toyota dealership for service on one or more occasions, and the other dealership was unable to duplicate the reported steering issue, or determined that the car was performing within manufacturer specifications. He adds that there have been no additional bulletins or recalls on the Corolla. Mr ******* says that when Carlson learned that Mr *****'s Corolla was not eligible under Lemon Law, it invited him to bring his Corolla in to discuss the possibility of a trade into a different vehicle, but he declined this offer. He says the offer still stands, and Mr ***** is welcome to contact him at Carlson to discuss options. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/05/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response by Carlson Toyota does not solve the problem. Carlson wants me to trade the car in and buy another one. I would have another five years of payments after paying four years of payments on my corolla. I could do that at any dealership. The steering on this car is not safe. I would like a full refund for the car.

10/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to resolve problem with radio We purchased a Toyota Prius the first week in May, 2013. From the moment we accepted delivery, we have had a problem with the Toyota Entune system not working. I have had the car in several times without success. Carlson Toyota said the problem was with my phone. I discussed this with both my service provider, ATT and the phone manufacturer, Samsung. Both have checked out the phone and indicated that there was no problem with the phone. I relayed this information to the service manager at Carlson Toyota and was told he would do some research and call me back. About 3 weeks later I contacted him again. He reacted like this was the first he had heard of the problem, and quickly transferred me to someone else who had no idea why I was calling. It was suggested by Toyota, that I pin down the service mgr as to a definite time he would have the regional manager and a rep from Samsung in to review the situation. I contacted the service manager the week of Aug. 12, and was told he would have both in to look at he car the week of Aug. 19. Today is Sept, 24, and I have yet to hear from anyone at Carlson Toyota.

Desired Settlement: I request that Carlson Toyota be required to resolve this issue within 30 days from today. I would also like to request compensation for the many trips (30 miles one way) and time spent to bring the car in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/01) */ While the vehicle was in the repair shop the technition did confirm the Customers phone was not working. The Technition tried other phones and they worked with out problems. The Service Manager contacted the Customer and has set up a appointment for The Customer to meet with a Toyota Field Tech Specialist on Oct 15th. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, the car was in several times and yes they finally, after several requests, did set up an appt with their field rep. The service manager did acknowledge they have received several complaints from other car owners over the same problem.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Carlson Toyota
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart