BBB Accredited Business since

Burnsville Volkswagen

Phone: (952) 892-9400 Fax: (952) 894-6229 View Additional Phone Numbers 14550 Buck Hill Rd, Burnsville, MN 55306 http://www.burnsvillevw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Burnsville Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Burnsville Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Burnsville Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Jay Radue, General Manager Cathy Mohlis, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Jay Radue, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Luther Burnsville Volkswagen Inc
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Burnsville Volkswagen, this company offers sales, parts, and service of new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car

Additional Locations

  • 14550 Buck Hill Rd

    Burnsville, MN 55306 (952) 892-9400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Price gouging with parts and high pressure to complete work On 30 July I went to Luther Volkswagen to get my Beetle looked at for making a strange noise. A couple hours later they found they problem and I told them I had to talk with my husband before the work could be done. The tech made it sound like a pain that they would have to put the car back together to put it outside to wait. So I said do whatever you have to do. They did the work and the part cost $306.25 which can be bought for $45 on Amazon and to change this part was $309.15. My husband was not happy that he was not told of this work being done and called in to the service manager Shannon Adams. The service manager told them that they wouldn't do this work without proper authorization or they wouldn't get paid. My husband asked them why they would have to take the car apart when we could see it in plain site. The tactic of pressuring because work has been started seemed a little wrong as the service manager said no work would be done without authorization but seems as work had already been done and the tech made it seem like it was halfway done. So my husband called me back to see what my story was since what the manager was telling him was different. After that he called the manager back and left a message, that was Aug 5. No return call has been received.

Desired Settlement: Would like the part removed and refunded. Will pay for the diagnostic check and even the Freon recharge, even though my husband recently checked it before it came into the shop seeing if that was the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/25) */ We contacted Mrs. ****** with estimate to repair vehicle, she stated she was going to speak with her husband to decide on going forward with repair, but that he was asleep. Service rep stated, ok-we will put outside and wait for your reply. She then stated-no, go ahead and repair vehicle.(asst. manager was the one that made call, tech was present as well as he was waiting on instruction. Both confirmed they were told to proceed with repair) Mr ****** contacted myself after repairs were completed and was unhappy with cost of repair.After reviewing bill, stated he could have had repair done elseware for less using aftermarket parts. we are a VW dealership and quoted factory replacement parts,and were given authorization to repair vehicle. We serviced vehicle as quoted and stand behind our repair. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They had started the work prior to making the call or would not have said they had to put the vehicle back together for it to go outside, that was the only reason it was given the go ahead. For the price of factory replacement parts and high labor charges the fan could be replaced almost 14 times. Just because "we are a VW dealer" doesn't give you the right to gouge customers. Will not be going back to this dealership or any in the Luther family nor recommending to anyone.

1/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Luther Burnsville Volkswagen sold me a well-documented defective, unsafe, certified 2010 Volkswagen CC R-Line with faulty DSG transmission. I'm actually sorry it has to come to this. I actually like most the people I dealt with at the dealer, especially my salesperson ***********. I'm not the typical auto consumer, I always take care of my vehicles way beyond the average owner would. But the reality is, they sold me a vehicle with a defective DSG transmission that has given me ongoing major problems, literally since day one on June 7, 2013, with only 31,xxx miles. If you're thinking of purchasing a VW with DSG, DO YOUR RESEARCH! THEY ARE DEFECTIVE AND UNSAFE! Don't take my word, there's hours of reading for you on this issue. And if you're having DSG issues, PLEASE SPEAK UP! Volkswagen has recalled over 2 million cars with DSG issues, globally. One woman is believed to have died do to her VW losing power on the highway, and was rear-ended by a semi-truck. The official word was, VW wasn't at fault, but the truck driver testified in court her brake lights were not on when her VW suddenly slowed, and he crashed into her, killing her. Please search that incident, it took place in Australia. And that incident prompted VW owners who had the same experience to speak out. This is one issue my vehicle recently had, it happened twice in one day on 10/16/14. The first time, I was trying to leave for work, I put the vehicle in gear, and it wouldn't move, it would just rev. and the gear selection was flashing. I immediately called my service adviser while it was happening (I have video of the DSG incident), she told me to turn off my car and restart, that temporarily solved it. There was no concern that I should immediately get my CC in for service. It happened again a few minutes later as I was driving on the highway (ironic), I lost power for a few seconds, and I actually did have someone right on my tail (ironic), could have easily been my last day on earth. It was as if the transmission went into neutral and wouldn't come out. I shifted through the gears a few times, finally it kicked back in on it's own. This defect is well-documented, has happened to a lot of DSG owners. I had to tow my CC to Burnsville VW it was UNSAFE TO DRIVE! Yes they did the band-aid fix, they replaced the Mechatronics unit, the brain for the DSG transmission. This is my 2nd Mechatronic unit in 10,000 miles, they are defective and very expensive. This repair out of warranty is thousands of dollars. My certified warranty is up in less than a year, am I supposed to keep replacing this unit out of my pocket? No, I shouldn't be. I had my car in a week prior for hard shifting issues, the assistant service manager rode with me, and he felt it, but said it was due to high RPM shifting from 3rd to 2nd, sorry 2500 rpm's is not high. I asked to drive a new CC, and guess what, absolutely no hard shifting. I've driven three or four CC's to compare, and no hard shifting. They refused to repair, I believe one of the clutches is failing, but they won't investigate. Again I like the staff, but my requests for repair have to get to the point of a near accident before they will repair. My CC with DSG should not have passed their certification, I honestly can't see how they can refute this. I had major transmission issues on the day I took delivery (6/7/13). About an hour after leaving the dealership, my CC was stalling and bucking after starting from a stop, and I was almost rear-ended. It would shutter, stop, shutter again, stop, and then proceed. Can you imagine this happening with traffic on your tail? It was as if the computer didn't know how to operate the clutches. I called my my sales rep, long story short, they had to replace the defective and expensive Mechatronic unit (1 of 2). Again my car should not have passed their certification, absolutely not. I told them I didn't want the car, I was within the return period. They sweet talked me with $500, I reluctantly took it (stupid me). My car has been in a few times. My car should have been part of the U.S. recall, I have the exact issues! MY CAR IS DEFECTIVE!

Desired Settlement: I have calmly and respectfully spoken with the used car manager **************, he had absolutely no interest in accepting any responsibility. The only offer he had, was to buy my car back for thousands less. I contacted VW and had a case open requesting a buy-back, they didn't care at all, and said no (surprise). I feel Burnsville should switch me to another CC, without a DSG transmission at their cost, or buy my vehicle back for what I paid. Or work with VW to extend my DSG warranty to 10 years or 100,000 miles, like they did with the U.S., China, Australia, the Global Multi-Million DSG recall. What I'm asking is only fair. As a consumer, I expect the product that I purchase, to operate as advertised, and it's my right. My VW CC hasn't since day one, and still isn't 100%. They have the position that my car is currently operating according to their specs, but the reality is it isn't. It's not a matter of if my DSG will have major issues again, it's when. And I'm sure it won't be long. My CAR IS A LEMON BECAUSE OF THIS DEFECTIVE DSG TRANSMISSION! Because of all the documented issues I'm having, this will definitely make it difficult to sell, and bring resell value down. I certainly wouldn't purchase this car if I saw the repair tickets. The NHTSA started investigating these DSG transmissions a few years ago, I believe this is what prompted the U.S. recall. There are still plenty of us out here, not part of the recall, that have the EXACT ISSUES. There needs to be another investigation, and another recall!There needs to be another investigation, and another recall! Again don't just take my word, the research is very easy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/29) */ The 2010 Volkswagen CC Mr. ***** purchased on 06-07-13 is operating as designed after having the mechatronics unit replaced and our dealership has never refused to repair Mr. *****'s CC as stated in the complaint. Mr. ***** speaks of a woman being killed in Australia however the accident is not DSG related...she was driving a Golf with a manual transmission and it was not the fault of the vehicle when rear ended by a truck. Our offer to Mr. ***** would be based on a trade or purchase @ KBB excellent trade in value subject to ************** looking at the trade Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I absolutely do not accept the response from Burnsville VW or Volkswagen itself. This, in all honesty, is and open and shut case. The fact is, that I was sold a vehicle with a defective DSG transmission. I was sold a vehicle that exhibits the exact issues as the vehicles in the VW recall, exact! Why would VW not offer me the 10 year/100,000 mile extension as they did with the recalled vehicles? My vehicle is defective, just as the ones recalled. These DSG transmissions are unreliable, defective and unsafe. If they weren't, why would VW extend the warranty 10 years? Because they have major issues. Just google "VW DSG failure", you'll find plenty of information to back me up. Again, I didn't want to complain to the BBB, and I like the people at Burnsville VW. Unfortunately, I was sold a vehicle that should have never passed VW's certification. If my vehicle was inspected properly, it would have never passed certification. Again, I had major DSG problems, literally from day one. And major DSG problems are still happening. I am still having hard shifting issues, and yes, Burnsville VW refused that repair. My car has lost power twice, once while on the freeway (almost rear-ended), and yes they do temporarily fix the issues with the defective and very expensive Mechatronic unit. I'm not falsely accusing Burnsville VW or VW, I have documentation, I was sold a defective vehicle, plain and simple. Did I expect Burnsville VW or VW to offer a fair solution here? Unfortunately no. They simply take the position my vehicle is repaired (it's not), or offer to take my vehicle on trade or purchase at a huge loss. Unfair business practice! I feel it's my duty as a consumer, to let others know how defective and unsafe these DSG transmissions are. Yes, my Mechatronic has been replaced, twice within one year. TWICE! This repair is a few thousand dollars, and it's going to keep failing. VW knows this, yet they won't extend my warranty as they did with the recalled vehicles. So I'm expected to pay for their defected part moving forward. I ask you, is this fair? This is the first time I've ever submitted a formal complaint about a faulty product, I'm not the type of person who would do this (I am now). But I've been wronged in such a bad way, I feel I must inform current and potential VW owners, of the DSG defects. Did either Burnsville VW or VW refute the fact, my vehicle should have never passed inspection? No they didn't. My car is stored in my garage, I don't drive it. It's a shame, that I'm paying thousands of dollars of my hard earned money, for a vehicle I can't enjoy. I ask you, is this fair? Is this good business practice? Absolutely not. For all of us that are having these DSG issues, we need to speak up. Volkswagen of America needs to issue another recall. PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE NHTSA IF YOU'RE HAVING DSG ISSUES. There are plenty of us who are having the same issues as the 1.6 miilion global recall. Burnsville VW and VW should be held accountable for selling these defective DSG transmissions to the public. PLEASE FOLLOW THE LINK BELOW TO THE NHTSA INVESTIGATION OF VW'S FAULTY DSG TRANSMISSIONS AND RECALL INFORMATION. IF THE LINK DOESN'T WORK, YOU CAN EASILY FIND THE INFORMATION ON THE "safercar.gov" WEBSITE. MY VEHICLE HAS THESE EXACT PROBLEMS, AND I HAVE DOCUMENTATION. YET VW WILL NOT DO WHAT'S FAIR, AND EXTEND MY WARRANTY. I KNOW FOR SURE I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE, MANY COMPLAINTS ARE FILED. http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/defect/results.cfm?action_number=PE09035&SearchType=QuickSearch&summary=true


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Burnsville Volkswagen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)