BBB Accredited Business since

Burnsville Toyota, Inc.

Phone: (952) 435-8200 Fax: (952) 435-2534 View Additional Phone Numbers 14730 Buck Hill Rd, Burnsville, MN 55306 http://www.burnsvilletoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Burnsville Toyota, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Burnsville Toyota, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Burnsville Toyota, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Business Management
Richard Sjoquist, President Tony Brown, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Tony Brown, General Manager
Principal: Richard Sjoquist, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Burnsville Toyota Burnsville Toyota-scion
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Burnsville Toyota, this company offers sales, parts, and service for new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Burnsville Toyota, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 14730 Buck Hill Rd

    Burnsville, MN 55306 (952) 435-8200 (952) 435-8478

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my Scion XB from Burnsville Toyota in 2009. New. There is a warranty issue, with the engine burning oil. I found out about this last oil change. I brought in a letter I received from Scion. The man told me to put 1100 to 1300 miles on my car and come back to see if it burned oil. I came back June 30, yesterday, to have it checked. They said it passed. It still burn a quarter to a half a quart. That seems like a lot to me. They told me I needed to have one more oil change. Then do the test again. I have to do all this before October 31st. So I have to put 5000 more miles on my car, get oil changed, then put 1100 to 1300 miles on my car. All this in the next 4 months. What a JOKE! I only put 10,000 miles on my car in a year. I'm going on a trip to Canada. Hope my car doesn't blow up. I can't add oil because the test wouldn't work. My car only has like 78,000 miles on it. I smell burning oil all the time. We all know the car isn't working write. It needs to be fixed under warranty. What a waste of my time. I was there 1 1/2 hours yesterday, for them to check it. I thought Toyota was a GREAT Co. Not any more! They don't stand behind there cars!

Desired Settlement: The service man said, if the car burns oil, the engine would be taken apart and fixed. That is what needs to be done. No car should burn 1/4 to 1/2 quart of oil in 1164 miles.

Business Response: Although we understand *****s concern and frustration, we are obligated to follow oil consumption procedures set forth by Toyota Motor Sales USA.  These procedures can be provided upon request.  If *****s vehicle falls in the parameters set by Toyota, we will be happy to repair it as the guidelines state. 

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:
My car is burning oil, it is obvious.  On 1,164 miles to burn 1/4 to 1/2 a quart of oil is a lot.  That is not acceptable to me.  My car should not burn any oil.  I have never own a car that burns oil.  I bought this car new, got the oil changes done at Burnsville Toyota, and it burns oil.  That would be about a quart per oil change.  That is terrible.  They should stand behind what they sell.  They are also put a time limit on it.  I don't put a lot of miles on my car.  I'm NOT Happy at all.  Very dissatisfied customer. 

Business Response: At this time my Parts and Service director, Mr. Paul ******, will reach out to Toyota Motor Sales USA on ***** *******'s behalf.  Although the processes and procedures regarding the oil consumption bulletins are very explicit and strict, we will attempt to get special consideration for *****. Please know that Toyota dealers do not have authority to perform any of these repairs outside of the manufacturers guidelines.  We will do our best to get an exception for *****.  Our wish would be to expedite this as quickly as possible, but we will most likely need some time.

8/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 2015, I brought my 2009 Toyota Camry to Burnsville Toyota repair shop. At the time, there was a engine failure and I took it to the shop to get diagnosed. Toyota diagnosed the car with left engine knocking. Which meant the engine needed to be replaced. My insurance gave me two options on the situation. I would consider the car total loss (b/c I had MBI insurance) or replace the engine. Since this car is the first car I ever bought, it meant a great deal to keep it as long as I could. I got an estimate from the repair shop to replace the engine. I had to two options: 1.get a rebuilt engine 2. Buy a used engine The estimate was above the threshold my insurance was going to pay at the time. The repair shop representative gave me an option of a used engine. I asked him about whether there was a way to track down the history of the car. He said there was no no way of finding out that information. They only know that it was a 2009 Toyota Camry engine with 150,000 miles on it and that it came from AAA. It was a "like for like" engine". I asked the representative the history of the engine and he said that was all they had. I put my trust with the Toyota repair representative. On July 15, 2015, I got a used engine from AAA. On August, I brought my car into the shop to notify them about oil leakage i notice on my driveway. They diagnosed the issue as a front axel seal. The representative said he would replaced the oil pan gasket as well since there was oil leak. The axel was replaced but no oil pan gasket was replaced. I kept smelling oil burning but i didn't think much of it. At the time I did not realize nothing was done. On Jan 2016, I brought my car again to the shop and noted the oil was leaking. After talking with the Manager, I paid for the oil pan gasket. Several months later, On april 2016, i took my car to the shop again. This time, there was no drop of oil on the dip stick. They changed the oil and off i was again. After noticing my oil burning in my car and smelling burning oil while driving on the road, i began to enquire about what kind of engine was put in my car. I walked and spoke with a representative about the history of the engine and they would not provide me with information. I talked with toyota parts accounting and they said they only had the part number of the engine. So I began to search AAA website for the parts. I searched for pump steering motor and stumble on the VIN of the pump. I needed the pump so i went to the parts store and bought the product. I received an invoice with both the part number, VIN and year the car the part came from. I began to search for the VIN associated with the part number and after jumping through multiple hoops, I got the VIN of the engine on my vehicle. I ran a carfax report on the VIN and it turned out to be a 2008 Toyota Camry Engine that had a head on collision. I walked over to the manager of the repair shop and asked if he could provide me with information of the VIN of the engine that was used on my car. He said that is not information we normally get. I asked if he can get the history on the engine I bought and he again did not have that information. I then showed him the invoice i received from AAA parts store showing the part number had an associated VIN which could ID the vehicle and the part came from. Here is the problem, when I was buying the used engine, I specifically asked for the information about the history on the used engine. The representative specifically said that is not information they have and that the information provided at hand is it was a 2009 toyota camry engine with 150,000 miles. To confirm this information, the manager of the repair shop acknowledge this is information they don't have or provide to customers. However, contrary to what the representative and manager said, this is information the repair had and should have provided to me. If I had known the history of the engine I would not have bought the used engine. Second, I should not have paid for an oil gasket because the part was defect when they sold the part. Toyota has one of the best quality standards and this is a scam. I have been led to believe they sold me a used functioning engine but in reality it was used engine from a head-on Collision. I was misinformed and i've had to deal with a lot of issues along the way. I do not appreciate this scheme of pretending to not know where the part of the engine came from. I strongly believe, I was misinformed in order to have the representative make a commission of the sell of the engine.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like a refund for the oil gasket. I have never head an oil leak until my engine was replaced. I strongly believe the used defective engine is the reason why the oil leakage and oil burning is occurring. 2. I was misinformed about the history of the engine. I was told they "do not know" the history of the engine and VIN number. In reality if the representative took the time to search AAA website or review the invoice, they would clearly know that the VIN number is on the invoice. This information would have helped me to make a decision as whether I should or should not have buy the engine. I clearly would not buy this engine knowing full well that the engine was in a head-on-collision. I would like a full refund or replace my engine with a 2009 engine that is free of accident.

Business Response: The oil pan and gasket are not mechanical engine components covered by the AAA Auto Salvage warranty.   That is why Mr. ******* was charged for their replacement.  The Toyota 2AZFE is a 4 cylinder motor used in Camrys from 2007-2009 whose 5th digit is E.  Mr. ******** Camry VIN is *****************.  The correct motor was installed in the vehicle.  We are not provided data regarding the vehicle that used parts came from when we purchase the parts.  A copy of the AAA Auto parts invoice can be provided upon request.   The engine still functions as designed.  There will be no reimbursement to the customer.  This has been communicated to Mr. ******** in writing.

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

This statement is extremely flawed. What Toyota Burnsville is doing is trying to distance itself from the issue at hand.

1.     They sold me an engine which they said they did not have the VIN number of the engine. In other words, they knew the VIN prior to the sale of the engine.  They said they did not have the history of the engine and take it as is. I trusted them as an honest business. In reality, they had the VIN but they refused to give me the VIN. A run of the VIN in CARFAX would show the car had a front on head collision. Burnsville Toyota admitted to the fault and still does not want to rectify the mistake.

2.     If Burnsville Toyota ran a CARFAX, then they would not make the statement “the oil pan and gasket are not mechanical engine components covered by AAA”.  The engine was defective prior to the engine being installed in my car. The obvious reason AAA is not covering the warranty is simple; an oil leak voids the warranty. This is a statement coming from AAA directly.  Also, since Burnsville Toyota bought the engine, there is no way I could communicate directly with AAA auto parts.

3.     We are not provided data regarding the vehicle that used parts came from when we purchase the parts.  A copy of the AAA Auto parts invoice can be provided upon request.” This is another flawed and contradicting statement, if Toyota Burnsville took the liberty to look at both AAA auto parts website and their invoice, then they would know the history of the engine. They would know the year, make and model including the VIN number of the car the engine came from. I have an invoice from AAA auto parts for another part. It will show all necessary information I requested of Toyota Burnsville. They sold me a 2009 Toyota Camry and said it was another 2009 Camry engine as a “like for like” engine. In reality, the engine in my car is a 2008 engine and this is a fraudulent practice.  If they had the invoice of the car when they bought the engine, why did they not share that information? Why did they withhold this information? I bought my car from Burnsville Toyota and I have service my car with them for the past 7 years. There has never been a time where I have had an issue of leaking oil pan or any issues with oil leaking.  They sold me a defective engine, they lied about not having the VIN number of the engine and history of the engine. They are continuing to lie about what took place. They acknowledged they made a mistake and I have proof to show that what they are doing is fraudulent and misleading consumers into believing they are making the best practice. 

I initially wanted to have Burnsville Toyota rectify the mistake they made, however, after receiving a declining letter from them, what I want is my reimbursement from so that I can get another party to fix the mistake. I will not accept some company to make mistakes and not hold themselves accountable for their mistakes.  I am hurt by their lies and deceptive practices. 

 

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged my credit card $500 as a down payment on a vehicle. I walked out when the numbers changed, they promised in writing to refund. I met with their sales re ka'bah, and decided on a vehicle. He took my cc number for a $100 down payment. I sat with their finance girl, she was rude and changed the numbers so I left the dealership without signing any papers and without a car, my sales guy was with other customers. i found out later I got charged $500 as a downpayment. I emailed the general manager Tony ***** and Ka'bah and was told in writing they issued a refund and it would take 3 days. A week later I followed and neither the sales rep nor the general manager will respond to my calls and emails. I have not yet been refunded.

Desired Settlement: $500 refunded to my credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/13) */ A refund of $500 was issued on august 6th to the credit card number given to us by *************. We apologize for our oversight and accept responsibility for not taking care of this in a more efficient manner. If a copy of the credit slip is needed, we will be glad to provide it.

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The last two services I had performed on my vehicle were not adequate. Services that were checked off as completed were not actually done. I brought in my 2003 Toyota Corolla for a service package. I indicated that my brake light was out and needed to be replaced. I informed the agent of this. After the service was completed less than 45 minutes later, I was handed a bill indicating an hour worth of labor. I was unhappy with this, but had no time to dispute it due to prior engagements so paid and left. Upon arriving home, my neighbor came over and told me that he noticed my brake light not working. I checked my service sheet and the technician I had, ***, checked off the box that my lights were working fine. Either he didn't do the actual work, or he did a poor job. When I called in and informed an agent, ****, of the issue, he asked me to bring it back and that they would take care of it for me. I brought it back, they replaced it, and proceeded to charge me for the additional labor of replacing it. There should not have been an additional charge for that. An over charge for labor and a job not performed or at best, performed poorly.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the up charge in labor for both the last service I received and for the additional labor charged for when I had to bring the vehicle back to have the light changed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ We have made numerous attempts to contact Mr. ***** in hopes of resolving his complaint. Phone messages have been left at the number provided on the BBB complaint form as well as the numbers he provided us when he was here for service. We intend to keep trying until we can make contact with him.

9/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car and they took it to wash it and lost the clicker used to unlock the doors. They refused to replace the clicker. I purchased a used car and they took it to wash it and lost the clicker used to unlock the doors. The sales rep said they would find it and call me. After several days and no call I contacted the rep who said it was lost and may have been run over but either way, I was out of luck and nothing could be done. She said there was nothing she would do to help resolve the situation even though I was dissatisfied

Desired Settlement: I would like Burnsville Toyota to provide me with a new clicker to replace the one that they lost.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/10) */ Received call from ********** (GM), indicating that the dealership has reached out to Mr **** and will be making arrangements for him to pick up a replacement "clicker" for his vehicle.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Burnsville Toyota, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart