BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/20/2011

BMW of Minnetonka

Phone: (952) 303-7500Fax: (612) 435-6247View Additional Phone Numbers15802 Wayzata Blvd, WayzataMN 55391-1411 Send email to BMW of Minnetonka

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/20/2011

BBB has determined that BMW of Minnetonka meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BMW of Minnetonka's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BMW of Minnetonka

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were charged over $1,000 for services we do not believe were needed or completed. Same issues reoccured one week after service completed.
Vehicle had intermittent issues with passenger mirror automatically changing its position on its own and the radio would quit working. BMW of Minnetonka diagnosed and said that we needed to replace the radio for over $1,000 and they repaired mirror under warranty. Less than 1 week later both issues reoccured. We took vehicle back to dealership and was told the new radio had also failed and would need to be replaced. We think that either: 1) the original radio wasn't faulty as diagnosed (may be directly linked to electrical problem that is causing mirror issue instead) or 2) the dealership did not replace the original radio as they claimed and charged us. They are also now telling us that they can not find any problem with the mirror and that it may have been from ice. However, this issue has also occured during the summer months, so the ice diagnosis is incorrect. They refuse to return our calls or try to resolve this issue with us directly, so we are asking for your intervention.

Desired Settlement
Since we have good reason to believe that the original radio was not faulty (but rather a faulty diagnosis on their part), we would like a full refund. We asked them to remove the new radio and give us back our faulty radio instead, and they claim they can not do that.

Business' Initial Response
We were able to come to a mutual arrangement to resolve the issue of the charges for the services provided. The customer is now happy with the results.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We received a refund of 66% of the cost of the repairs.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund of charges, $342 ortinal plu $129 for second mechanic, to repair low beam headlight.
Made appointment to repair low beam headlight in 2005, BMW330 ci. After waiting for two hours, the service representative reported that the replacement of the bulb did nto fix problem. He told me he will charge me $342 and it is not repaired. He did offer to keep evalauting the issue at $150 per hour. I told him I was nto willing to gamble at $150 an hour to see how long it woudl take them to determien the problem. I told them top put the uinit together and I will seek help elsewhere. I reluctantly paid the $342 which now a regret. I tem took the csr to ********* in Wazata. They told me they woudl chrge me $129 to evaluate. After 30miutes the reported that all hardware was workign and that they had to reset teh codes to get the headlight to function. Resettign the codes should have been on the top of the list for the BMW dealership.Based on the incompetance fo the service technician, I feel a full refund it due.

Desired Settlement
$342 for orignal charges from BMW of Minnetonka plus teh $129 from the second mechanic at ********* in Wazatay.

Business Response
Mr. ********** provided us with the receipt from the Aftermarket Shop that ended up making the headlight work properly. We issued him a check for the $130 to reimburse him for the money he spent at that shop. *********** followed up with the customer on 5/21/14 and the customer accepts that resolution as a fair conclusion to his complaint. Please close this complaint as resolved. Thank you.

11/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is a letter to inform you that my wife purchased a certified used vehicle from BMW of Minnetonka on July 31,2013. According to the pre-owned vehicle inspection checklist 8/2013 version the tire thread depth required BMW of Minnetonka to replace 2 out of the 4 tires. After owning the vehicle for 1 week we noticed a loud tire noise from the front tires. We brought the vehicle back to them to take a look at it and one of their sales representative stated the two front tires are cupped which is not covered in the pre-owned vehicle inspection. I have since talked with other dealerships and they stated when 2 of the 4 tires need replacing it is highly recommended for the dealership to replace all 4 tires. We brought the vehicle to a local repair shop and their technician states that some of the causes for tire cupping could be bad shocks or front end problems. With this information, I communicated with BMW Minnetonka and have not received a response from them.

I feel BMW of Minnetonka is not treating me like a valued customer so this is why I am entering a formal complaint with BBB of Minnesota regarding BMW of Minnetonka and they may find a solution to have customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement
See above.

Business Response
We have had discussions with the customer about the tread depth of the tires and the normal wear patterns of tire wear. Unfortunately it is a used car and used cars, certified or not are not brand new cars.
At this time we are not willing to replace the tires.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/2010Business started: 01/31/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133
Saint Paul, MN 55101-2142
(651) 201-7000
http://www.dps.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Bruce Bonine (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by BMW of Minnetonka, this company offers sales of new and used cars and service.

Alternate Business Names
TCA Imports, LLC
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Buying A New Car
USED CAR WARRANTY LAW
BUYING A USED CAR

If you choose to do business with BMW of Minnetonka, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BMW of Minnetonka

15802 Wayzata Blvd

Wayzata, MN 55391-1411

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15802 Wayzata Blvd 

    Wayzata, MN 55391-1411(952) 303-7500
    (877) 902-6966
    Fax: (612) 435-6247

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BMW of Minnetonka is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 902-6966
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying A New Car
USED CAR WARRANTY LAW
BUYING A USED CAR
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.