BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/30/2011

Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

Phone: (952) 888-9541Fax: (952) 885-2782View Additional Phone Numbers8000 Penn Ave S, MinneapolisMN 55431-1376 Send email to Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/30/2011

BBB has determined that Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
12/15/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They will not cancel a deal even though they can't deliver the vehicle.
After a week of waiting for the vehicle we purchased to be repaired we finally requested that the deal be canceled. The GM refuses to cancel the deal and says he doesn't care if we sue him. It has now been ten days since the paperwork was signed and still no vehicle. They also processed the load paperwork immediately which means they have already been paid for the vehicle they can't deliver. I have a payment book for a car that I don't have keys for! These people have no clue what customer service is and I have no intention of taking delivery of any vehicle from a business that doesn't care about customer service.

Desired Settlement
Cancel the contract you have already breached and return the money to the bank.

Business Response
Our General Manager at Bloomington CJD has since been in contact with the consumer and apologized for any ill will. We taken the necessary steps to cancel the contract per the customer's request.

01/15/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Several months ago, I purchased a brand new 2013 RAM 1500 from Larry Reid's Bloomington store. Within days of receiving my truck, I noticed a small dent in the back side of my box. I was perplexed, given that I had essentially only driven my truck home from the dealership prior to noticing this dent. I wrote many e-mails to the dealership and left several voice mails asking for the issue to be reconciled. I was essentially told no, and the blame was placed upon me for the existence of the dent. I had driven my truck approximately 25 miles before noticing the dent, and I had purchased the truck with over 600 miles on it, and it had recently been hand driven up to Minnesota from central Iowa. Fast forward a couple of months, the navigation screen in my truck blew out under warranty, requiring my truck to be needed for up to one week for service. Initially, Larry Reid's refused to give me a loaner. They then gave me a loaner except for that the tank was on empty. When I returned the loaner I had left half of a tank of fuel in it expecting for the favor to be returned. However, the sales manager told me that "that was (his) truck (he) let (me) drive! And (I'm) not getting any favors from (them)!" I was then told that if I could find a way to siphon the fuel out that I would be able to keep it. I did not siphon my fuel, nor was I reimbursed for its cost.
Product_Or_Service: 2013 RAM

Desired Settlement
I would like for the dent on the side of my box to be repaired at no charge and I would also like for half of a tank of fuel to be put into my truck, also at no charge.

Business Response
Mr. **** ********, General Manager of Bloomington Chrysler Jeep Dodge contacted Mr. ******* Jr. via phone today, Thursday, January 9th. Mr. ******** believes he was misrepresented by this complaint and feels he only went out of his way to accommodate what the customer's demands were regarding a rental vehicle. He does not show record of Mr. ******* contacting the dealership as he does mention previously, nor does he believe his staff is responsible for the dent. However, as a goodwill, one-time gesture, Mr. ******** and Mr. ******* agreed verbally on the phone that a check for $75 would be sent to the consumer in order to cover the dent repair and loss of fuel. Mr. ******* said he would "consider the case closed" upon receipt of our check. Finally, it was suggested that the relationship between Bloomington Chrysler Jeep Dodge and Mr. ******* is/was not kinetic and we would not support any future transaction therefore he should seek his future service and sales needs from another dealer.

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my pt cruiser to the chrysler dealer to have the radiator flushed and the proper coolant installed. There were no problems with my car when i brought it into the shop however the next day I began having problems with my cooling system. The thermostat stuck and the engine began to overheat. The additional pressure due to stuck thermostat caused my radiator to blow a seal so now i have to replace that too. I believe that they did a very poor job flushing the radiator leaving a bunch of junk behind and it is this junk that plugged my thermostat. I went to the dealer to talk to them about this problem and they denied any responsiblity claiming that the car has high miles and it was not their fault. The car has 150K and it is exactly for this reason they should have done a very through flush to avoid having this problem but I spent 170 dollars for a very poor flush and have to spend another 400 dollars to fix the damages that this dealership caused. I would advise other customer to take their cars somewhere else because this dealer charges a lot of money for very poor work.
Product_Or_Service: radiator flush

Desired Settlement
I want to be refunded to money I gave them to fix my radiator

Business Response
Received e-mail from business (via *************, Walser Automotive Group), indicating that the dealership has "offered to look at the customer's vehicle several times, free of charge and try to diagnose and fix the problem, however, the customer does not want to bring the vehicle in", and that "We are willing to work with the customer, however, it is difficult when the customer is not willing to work with us."

The dealership adds that it is still willing to work with Mr ******* toward a resolution if he is willing to bring the vehicle in.

10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello, My name is ************. On Monday, October 14, 2013, i have purchased a vehicle from Larry Reid's chrysler jeep dodge ram. I went there around 2:15pm but i didn't leave until about 6pm. On my way home i was reading the whole paper work and i was tricked to get a policy for which i didn't need and also the interest rate was 9.98%! As soon as i realized that i called them up and told them that i needed to return the car, but the used car manager said that i cannot rerun i can only exchanged. The general manager was signed a paper copy that i can bring the car within 3day with 300miles in it. So the used car manager totally ignored the fact that there was a paper signed by GM stating that the 3day and 300miles return and exchange policy. When i mentioned the paper that was signed by GM, the used car manager puts me on hold and agreed to return the car for me. However, i have no proof of returning the car. When i asked them for a confirmation copy or receipt they told me that they shredded all the paper works since they haven't sent the paper works to the bank yet there was no needing for receipt or confirmation copy. I have insisted for some type of evidence of proof that I returned the car they still keep telling me there was nothing to give me. Today, is the third day and it's the day the return or exchange policy ends. I'm very much worried that i might get billed later for the car that i don't own anymore.Im making this complaint because i have no proof of returning the car that i purchased. In case i get billed later because they refused to give me a receipt.Thank you ************
Product_Or_Service: vehicle

Desired Settlement
I would like my name to be clear so i don't get any bills or get my credit history ruined by this dealership. I want the car dealership to give me a confirmation receipt or a proof of evidence so that i returned the car back.Thanks************

Business Response
Received business response from GM ************** via ************* of Walser Automotive Group.

Response indicates that the dealership is sending the customer a letter, and believes that "this should suffice as proof that the customer is no longer responsible for payments on the vehicle."

Copy of original letter is attached; indicates that the customer did not purchase a vehicle from Bloomington Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram, and that "there will be no payments or any other charges coming from Bloomington CJDR" to the customer.

09/07/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Processing of legal and clear title with supporting legal documents by car dealership personnel for purpose of selling used car to them.

Aug 21, 2012 I brought my 1999 Ford Tauras with 69,379 original miles to dealership for sale to Bloomington Chrysler Dogde Jeep in Bloomington, MN. At that time I presented a clear and joint title for the car to the sales rep along with my own MN driver's license After they inspected and test drove the car, I was offered $1,500. I agreed to that. Then was advised to bring in a death certificate for the joint owner (my recently deceased spouse) the next day.

Aug 22, 2012 I presented the an original and signed Certificate of Death for ******* J. ******, my deceased spouse, to *** and ***** at the dealership. After considerable time, they asked me to sign the title for myself and my deceased spouse. I thought ***** told me to sign the line across from my deceased spouse's name, so I did. Then I was told I had signed my name on the wrong line. *** told me he would have their Burnsville office straighten things out.

Aug 24, 2012 I returned to the car dealership to pick up my $1,500 check for my car. Instead, I was informed by *** that I had to resigned the car title and also sign a Minnesota Title Correction form to verify that I had signed the title correctly. After that, *** informed me that he would personally drive out to the car dealership's HQ in Burnsville on Monday to pick up my check.

Aug 27, 2012 I called the Bloomington Chrysler Dodge Jeep dealership to inquire when my $1,500 would be at their office. I was told by ***** that the check would arrive by courier sometime in the afternoon. With no specific 'afternoon' time given me, I did not go into the dealership that day. My own work day ended at 2p, and I needed the time to take care of other matters regarding my husband's recent death.

Aug 28, 2012 I went to the car dealership to pick up my check. I was informed by a salesman I had never met before that my check was not available. The salesman, he never did provide me his name, informed me that I had to sign more paperwork and take the title to a notary to resign it again. The salesman informed me that this is all to meet the State of Minnesota Title requiredments. He also informed me that *** is not a title clerk - hence all the mistakes. He also informed me that joint titles with one of the co-owners being deceased is something they rarely if ever deal with at their dealership. I informed the saleman that I too am not a title clerk, there was nothing wrong with the title and documents when I presented them to this dealership the week before, and people with cars die every day. It happens. Titles have to be processed. The salesman asked me 5 or more times if I wanted to take my car back. I do not. After they offered to buy my car, which has remained in their possesion since Aug 21, I cancelled my car insurance on that vehicle. I do not intend to renew it and pay for car insurance for 2 cars when I only need one car. Also, I have a signed document from their employee *** stating and agreeing to the sales price of $1,500. My car is worth $1,700. So they are getting a nice deal. And, they have messed up my perfectly good, clear and legal title. I cannot expect to sell the car anywhere else now with the mess they've made of the title. The saleman seems to want to hand me their mess.

Aug 28, 2012 I called a Chrysler dealership in Roseville and explained my situation to a sales rep. She advised me that this situation should not have happened, that Roseville Chrysler had their own title clerk, and that I should contact the Minnesota Better Business Bureau for help and resolution with this.

Aug 29, 2012 I am submitting this complaint to your office via your website for assistance. I do not believe any further interaction with this car dealership by myself alone with result in a fair, reasonable, and timely outcome for me.

Thank you,
Mrs. ***** A. ******

Desired Settlement
The settlement I desire is the original $1,500 they quoted me for my 1999 Ford Tauras. I will also require documented and notarized proof from this car dealership that my title has been transferred legally and clearly to them. It would be nice if they apologized. My husband just passed away unexpectedly Aug 2, 2012. I have many other matters to attend to. However, they should know that I do not let details slip by me. While a timely and fair resolution to this matter is preferred, I will no longer accept being brushed off. One last note, the car is worth more than the $1,500 they quoted me. And, I just purchased a spare key from their parts dept for another vehicle I own. That key cost $128 because it had to be programmed. The day I purchased it, Aug 23, their Service Dept gave me an incorrect quote on that key. For all this trouble and distress, I think they should refund the cost of the key. Do something that says "Sorry for the trouble here." At the very least, they need some employee training classes at that dealership.

Business' Initial Response
There was a hold up due to a form needing to be notorized and signed. Without these things being done properly, it would have been held up for months with the state. The customer has recieved there check and everything is complete.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Tuesday, Sept 4,2012, I picked up the paperwork requiring additional signature signing as well as notarization from the dealership. Those papers, the original title and correction form, were signed by me and notarized at a banking rep where I bank, and then delivered back to the car dealership same day within the hour. A sales rep from the car dealership left me a voicemail message stating a check had been couriered to their location that afternoon and was ready for me to pickup. I did pick up the check that same day, and just checked with my bank this morning to verify that it did clear my account. Thank you for your help.

Page 1 of 2
11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The driver's seat is defective and not aligned with the steering wheel-defective also. The hood of the car has a defect in the paint.

I purchased a 2015 Grand Cherokee Limited on 9/06/2014. I notified the dealership of the problems within a week of the purchase. The purchase price of the car was 40,651 dollars. The car salesman was ************. *********** was the business manager. I notified the general manager of Bloomington Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram many times of the issues with the car and that I wnted a refund/ buy back/ or replacemant.

Problems:
Overcharged for Missouri state taxes and license plate. Was fined 25 dollars by the state of MO because my car was not registered within the 30 day timeframe due to the dealership's failure to follow through in a timely manner. I made multiple calls to the dealership in regard to the registration of the vehicle.
Steering Wheel and driver's seat are not aligned. The driver's seat is to the right of the steering wheel.
Defect in paint (from the factory per service rep) on car hood.
Engine light intermittently came on in traffic-which caused the wipers and light's to come on-this was corrected with a computer update.
Scratch in the glass covering speedometer-needed replacement.
Scratches on back and base of driver's seat-need replacement.
Scratches on steering wheel- needs replacement

The car has been in for service 4 times:
Two times for inspection of the problems
One time for a day-to order parts
Another time for one week. The seat track was replaced but it did not repair the problem of driver's seat and steering wheel alignment.
Scratches on back of driver's seat repaired. Base of driver's seat still needs repair.
It is in service department of the dealership in MO at the present time. I do not know for how long.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund or replacement of the vehicle.

Business Response
On behalf of our General Manager, *************, we are so sorry for all of the frustration she has experienced. At the time of the sale, we explained to Miss ********* that because she was titling the vehicle in Missouri, we would need to contact their state DMV for the costs associated with doing so. Unfortunately the Missouri DMV is closed on Saturdays (the day Miss ********* purchased the vehicle) so we had to guess what the figure would be, based on previous experience. Our Finance Manager explained that if we collected funds in excess, that she would be refunded that money back. The issue was completely resolved on 10/6/14.

Within the first month of ownership, Miss ********* pointed out a paint flaw that we both agreed originated from the factory. I asked if she wanted to take the vehicle to her closest dealer (in Missouri) because the paint may be covered under the factory warranty. I instructed her to call me directly if it was not and we would figure it out together. There were no other issues brought to my attention at that time.

A month later, I received a call from Miss ********* stating that she had her vehicle in at her local dealership for some work on 10/9/14. Miss ********* stated that they had scratched her steering wheel and seat at that time and was unhappy with her vehicle and stated she wanted to return the vehicle to Chrysler. She has since opened up a case with Chrysler directly and I notified our Chrysler Minnesota representative of the case. At this time, Bloomington Chrysler Jeep Dodge is willing to assist with further correspondence between Chrysler and Miss *********, but does not assume responsibility for the issue.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I notified the dealership of the driver's seat not being in alignment with the steering wheel a few days after prchase. the general manager said that he would notify his district manager in regard to my dissatisfaction with the vehicle for buy back or replacemant. I noticed the flaw ion the paint after the c/o of the driver's seat.
As far as the license and taxes they were completely at fault for the delay in registration of the vehicle. I was told by the person in the main office the delay was because they had made so many sales for the month.
I have been on the phone on and off with the dealership since one week after the purchase.
Again, the dealership should buy back this car or repalce it they are responsible and because the manufacturer is involved they have tried to deny their resposibility and I-the consumer- am caught in the middle.

09/17/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
DVD Player purchased never received. Delivery suppose to be two weeks. Refusing to refund money. No calls back or emails with several recent attempts.
I have many complaints with my most recent transaction with this dealer. The number one complaint is I purchased a DVD player that was suppose to be installed within 2-3 weeks from my purchase April 2014. I have been promised over and over it will be coming in. We wanted this for our summer road trips and now summer is over. I am frutrated and fed up so I have requested numerous of times that I would like a refund in the amount that we paid for the DVD player with labor. I have asked either for a check which is my preference or money applied towards payments or if applied towards principal I would want my payment lower. I don't want to pay on something that I did not receive. I also have been making payments on my new car with the DVD player which has not been received since June. I feel I should also be paid money for the months we have paid on it without having it.

My other complaints are with our sales person **** which had poor customer service. I told him what I was looking for in a vehicle and he only showed me what was on his lot. He made no mention that he could locate the car of my choice from another dealership. I did not find this out until I shopped around at another dealer. By this time the car I originally wanted fully loaded with a DVD player was sold. So that is why I had to settle to have a DVD player installed later which was NEVER received.
He has very poor follow up with me and I feel was not knowledgeable which cost me the car I wanted.

I also traded in a lease which I feel was in good condition and feel if they thought I may be charge for more than normal wear and tear they should have inform me of this. I was charged over $2300 in charges for my lease which I felt was in good condition just normal wear and tear from what I saw per their guidelines. If they would have clued me in that I may be charged than I would have just purchased my leased vehicle. I have leased vehicles with this same dealer in the past with no problems. I am extremely frustrated with the entire process with **** and the dealer. I was a repeat client with these guys but after this I will not be and will let me friends and family know of this situation. I don't want anyone else to have to go though what I have for almost 6 months now. Very unprofessional. I have recently left multiple voicemails and emails to the Manager with no recent call back or emails. I have all of the emails that I have sent with dates which coordinate with my calls but no call backs. I have not received a check in the mail or any payments applied. Please help resolve this issue. I just want my money back and would like to move on.

Desired Settlement
Above states that I would like a refund check for the amount of the DVD player plus the money I have paid on the portion of the payments of the DVD player since June. I was also out money for my lease plus the hold up of getting the new car to me I had to pay extra days on my old lease vehicle until the new one was delivered. It has been a very painful process and I am extremely disappointed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *************
Contact Phone: (952) ********
Contact Email: *********@bloomingtoncjd.com
Ms. ******* originally contacted our dealership on April 15th 2014 when she wanted to buy her mom's vehicle that she leased trough **************. Unfortunately, for financial reasons, we were unable to obtain a loan in her name on that particular vehicle without a cosigner, however, one of the lenders agreed to offer her a loan on a new vehicle. We started the process of finding Ms. ******* a vehicle based on the amount the lender agreed to give her, but she asked that we go back to the bank and ask for more as she really liked features on an upgraded model. Because we needed to give the lender time to respond to our request, the vehicle Ms. ******* was interested in had sold to another customer. Since none of the other vehicles we had in stock were equipped with a DVD player, Ms. ******* and our staff worked together to locate the same vehicle, which happened to be located in a dealership in Wisconsin. We were willing to bring the vehicle to our dealership or wherever the customer requested. I am not sure why is Ms. ******* accusing us for not willing to work with her when she was e-mailing us list of vehicles that she found at other dealers and the vehicle that she is currently driving was specially delivered for her Wisconsin. This process took approximately two weeks.

The charges accessed on her mother's leased vehicle were due to beyond normal wear and tear, excess mileage charges as well as daily extension charges; all of which were outlined in her lease contract that she agreed to. If the customer does not accept these charges, she can request pictures, lease-end paperwork and give an explanation for the damages to the vehicle.


Finally, in regards to the delay on DVD installation, Ms. ******* has a right to be upset. Our employees placed the order for the DVD player but the part was on back order; unfortunately, the estimated time of delivery was pushed back several times by the vendor. I personally made a call on September 8th, 2014 and received an updated ETA of October 2nd, 2014. We offered to refund Ms. ******* for the part but because she financed the part rather than paid cash, we would need to send the refund to the bank funding her loaner rather than directly to her. Ms. ******* asked that the check be used to lower her monthly payment but since the loan is in place and owned by the lender, it would be up to Ms. ******* to contact the bank and ask them to restructure the loan. Bloomington Chrysler Jeep Dodge never intended to keep Ms. *******'s money; I would like to use this instance to ask Ms. ******* if she would like us to contact her once the order is in or cancel and send the refund to her back. At this time, we are happy to proceed whichever way the customer feels is best.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Oct is an unreasonable time to wait for a DVD player. What I am asking for is either the money to be refunded to me direct since this was out of my control and not expected I should not have to be the one stuck with higher payments. I either want the money direct to me so I can put towards the extra cost we are paying monthly or put towards 3-4 months car payments direct or if you put to principal then I want my payment lowered. I should not have to be the one to contact the finance company when I was at no fault. I do not have the time to try to deal with this with them. If I did not finance this DVD player my payments would be lower. I don't think it is being unreasonable especially since this was ordered back in April. We were wanting the DVD player for summer trips this summer. We are so frustrated at this point I don't want to deal with it I just want our money returned to us by one of the above ways. If they need to refund us out of their own pocket to accomplish this then that's what I would ask them to do since we were promised something that was not delivered on a timely manner.

Final Business Response
General Manager ************* indicates he has received permission via letter from Ms *******'s bank to issue a refund check directly to her, instead of to the bank.

He indicates he will be issuing a check in the amount of $1454.79 ($1366 for DVD, $88.79 in tax) on 9/17.

07/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told the Van had Uconnect and given 2 keys but 1 ended up not being for this vehicle.
When salesman was selling us the car we were told that it came with Uconnect. A service so we could use our cell phones hands free through the vehicles system. After several months of having to bring the car in and out for warranty repairs, we tried using it but the help line told us that our phones did not work with the system. After we purchased phones that we were told would work a couple months ago we tried to install. After several attempts and contacting Uconnect help line, we were told our vehicle did not have it. I tried going thru the dealers 888 number but was not getting responses. I went in for a recall and talked to **** who talked to ****, who said he would not rectify the situation because it had been 3 years. I explained that we purchased the car 1 and half years ago not 3. There records are wrong, and I can prove that. We were also given 2 keys/fobs. One of the times we came back we gave back one of the key fobs because it didn't work with the car. We were told it was for a different car and that they didn't have another one when we asked for a replacement. We were told they would look into it but no one ever got back to us. When I brought it up again at this same visit we were also denied that as well. I pushed the issue again this time because the key fob we have stopped working after 9 months. I have tried calling through the 888 number but again, no response. **** approached the manager about this as well and he refused to replace the 1 or give a 2nd fob which was part of the purchase of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I want the Uconnect installed and a 2nd key/fob

Business Response
As of 7/22, our General Manager, **** ******** has made several attempts to contact Mr. ****. Our records indicate the following attempts were made:

7/14 I have left msg with his wife last night to call me. Customer didn't call back
7/15 I have left msg on the answering machine this time I left my Mobile number to call me back.
7/21 Left another message with his cell phone number with Mrs. **** and have not heard back from customer.

At this time, we will leave it up to the customer to contact the General Manager, ****, should they choose to resolve any outstanding issues.

Thank you,
***************
Executive Assistant, Walser Automotive Group

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
7/15 I did call him back at the main number but he was not there.
7/18 we called his cell phone and left a message
7/22 we called his cell twice. The second time we made contact. He stated the difficulty in installing what we were told the van was sold with. We agreed on a few free oil changes and an a new key/fob. He said he would email us that information. I have not received an email. Guy from the service department did call my cell on 7/23 saying he received an email saying that we are to get a new key/fob and some oil changes. Asking when he could set that up with us. However I was in the hospital saying goodbye to my dying grandfather who passed later that day. I called Guy back and we setup an appointment for 1pm today (7/25)to get the key/fob as well a packet of 4 free oil changes.

04/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my car in to be repaired however when I picked it up I noticed a deep scratch on the rear bumper and the trunk of my car.
I asked the service rep (***) what happened to my car and he stated that I need to follow up with Chrysler. I then stated to *** that those scratches were not on my car before and I needed a reported completed for damages done to my vehicle. *** became annoyed and told me to follow up with Chrysler. I followed up with Chrysler and *********(a Chrysler rep) stated that she would follow up with the dealership to speak with the service manager **** about the damages to my car. After 3 or more weeks went by, ********* called and informed me that I would need to take my car in again and have the manager look at the car. I took my car in the following week only to be demeaned, yelled at, lied to and kicked off the property by The General Manager, Service Manager and CR(***, **** and the GM) I was humiliated, embarrassed and kicked off the property. The General Manager was offensive, rude and did not take the time to listen to my compliant and immediately assumed I was lying about the damage done to my vehicle. I was treated very poorly all three men were shouting in my ear at the same time. Lying about not causing the damage to my vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I want the damage done to my care repaired.

Business Response
On behalf of Service Manager, **** *****:

Chrysler Corporate called and asked us to work on ******'s car. She had been at a different dealer in town and were not happy with their service as she had stated they crashed her car. The first time she came in we found broken parts in her dash and also her brake rotors needed to be turned. She also stated she had a noise when driving at night and only after 6:30 at night. We could not verify this noise so she picked up her car.The next day she called and stated that a part cracked on her dash and that the center counsel we replaced was scratched. She called Chrysler Corporate and they asked us to look at her vehicle again. We had a rental car ready for her. We looked at her car and found a cracked part on her dash and that the center counsel was missing molded. We replaced all parts under warranty. We washed her car where I noticed the scratch on rear bumper. She came and picked up her vehicle. ********* from Chrysler called me again about ****** car and asked me to please look at it one last time. ********* stated ****** had a noise only after 6:30 pm with no other cars on the road and the radio off. I set another appointment with ****** and had to cancel, due to being out ill. She never called back to reschedule. I received another call from Chrysler Corporate for her to come in and she never showed. ****** called me and said he had been sick. ****** and I agreed on a day for her to come in so I could drive her car. ****** came in and we drove her car. I didn't hear any noise in her car or feel any sort of brake problem. We sat in her car for about a half hour in the service drive. She told me how disappointed she was in her car. She decided she would take the car and take in up with Chrysler Corporate . When we got out of the car, she asked if she could get an oil change. I said sure and went and got an express clipboard to right her up. When I returned is when she brought up the damage on her car. I looked over the damage and told her the scratch was there on the bumper. The paint was cracked in between the trunk and the rear fender. I told her we never open the trunk and that damage would have happen with the trunk open. She became very upset, that's when I went and got the General Manager, **** ********. **** came back to the service department and introduced himself to ******. **** looked over the car and told her also that we didn't damage her car. She then became very upset at this point. She told **** she had pictures of her car before she brought it in, he asked to see them. ****** showed him and he asked when they were taken, she stated five weeks before the car came in. **** told her we wouldn't pay for in and she remained very upset and stated her attorney was going to subpoena our cameras, so she could show we damaged he car.

**** *****
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
On behalf of General Manager, **** ********:

As **** said I tried to talk to ******* to find out what we can do to resolve this issue. She showed me the scratch on top of the rear bumper that you can only put there if you are putting something in trunk like luggage. The other one was on the left corner of the trunk lid. This one actually was not scratch but, rather a crack in the paint that was starting to rust. I had some questions for her because the scratch which ******* didn't like that. I told her that I am not accusing her of lying, rather that I am just getting all the facts. I excused myself because needed couple minutes to talk to employees that are involved with this so that I could make an educated decision. After two of employees told me their side of story it was clear to me that the damage was on *******'s car was there for a while. ******* again became upset and told us she would get her lawyer involved. Then she said that she took a picture before she brought her vehicle to us and the scratches were not there. I was curious to see the photo and hopping that it will give us the all answers. She showed me the photo and she was right there were no scratches. Only problem was that the picture was taken 2 and 1/2 months before she came to us. I decided that Bloomington CJDR is not responsible for the scratch due to rust and damage appearing to be on her vehicle for a while and the staff at Bloomington CJD did not perform any work on rear part of her car.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Both of these liars are lying to cover up the fact that this dealership damaged my vehicle. On the day in question, I immediately noticed the damage to my vehicle when I inspected it for pick up. I then immediately asked ***(service tech) what happened to my car and that the scratch on the rear bumper and the paint coming off the trunk was not there when I left my car with them. *** stated he didn't know but I needed to leave and call Chrysler(*******)I asked for it to be reported and he continued to ask me to leave and follow up with Chrysler. I followed up with Chrysler(*******) and I was informed that she would make contact with **** the manager and rectify the situation. After waiting 2 or more weeks for a response I finally got a call back from Chrysler(*******) stating that I needed to follow up with **** to discuss the damage. Of course I was livid at this point and became even more upset when attempting to follow up with this dealership and continued to get the run around. Also once I finally made contact with **** he was rude, dismissive, demeaning and had an attitude I I didn't want to bring my car into this dealership again but Chrysler(*******) informed me that if I wanted my car fixed I needed to bring it into the dealership. I informed ******* again that after I complained about the damage done to my car while at this dealership the customer service from ****, *** was disrespectful, rude, intimidating and hostile. Chrysler(*******) continued to persist that I bring my car back to this dealership and after having me wait for 2 or more weeks about the damage done to my car told me to follow up myself about it. **** scheduled an appointment and I didn't no he canceled until I was on my way there. I have missed work, gotten stressed out and sick over all of these lies and the rude, disrespectful, hostile and discriminating behavior towards me at this dealership, dealing with ****, *** and ****. When I was finally able to bring my car in **** was impatient, rude and had an attitude. We drove two blocks and he turned around stating there was nothing wrong with my car and then drove the car back to the dealership and sat in the car talking about his personal issues, I didn't won't to engage but I'm not rude I showed compassion and listened but I continued to redirect, redirect, redirect,redirect to discuss the issues with my car. **** at this time stated well maybe it's a suspension problem but I don't want my guys to start stripping this new car apart. I then stated that I would just follow up with Chrysler and again reminded him of the damage done to my vehicle while at this dealership. **** became annoyed and stated he would be back, he came back with **** who turned his nose up at me and started stating that they were not responsible, I attempted to show him pics of my car that were taken prior to bringing my car in, he immediately declined but I insisted he then asked when did you last bring your car in and then walked away. Never apologized, ask my name, or attempted to here my compliant. **** and **** began talking loud to me at the same time saying they were not responsible and started lying and making excuses for the damage. In an attempt to be heard I asked him to view his security camera's, ask the people who touch my car did they accidentally damage it and to view my before pics. **** was dismissive, disrespectful and rude and told me to get off the property and I did state that I would follow up with an attorney. That's the only truth to their lies. This is just the beginning, I won't my car repaired because they damaged it and were also demeaning, rude, disrespectful, discriminating and hostile. All one has to do is pull the security tapes and view them for the truth. ****, **** and *** are liars who know my car was damaged at this shop.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1985Business started: 09/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133
Saint Paul, MN55101-2142
(651) 201-7000
http://www.dps.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2010, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Donna Rizner Lisa Birkeland (Offfice Manager) Dan Dunn (General Manager) Larry Reid (Owner/President) Scott Reid (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Bloomington Chrysler Jeep-Dodge, this company offers the sale, service, and parts for new and used vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Larry Reid's Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Buying A New Car
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

If you choose to do business with Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

8000 Penn Ave S

Minneapolis, MN 55431-1376

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8000 Penn Ave S 

    Minneapolis, MN 55431-1376(952) 888-9541
    (952) 238-4300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bloomington Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (952) 238-4300

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (952) 885-2188
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.