This business is not BBB accredited.

Billy Mauer Chevrolet

Phone: (651) 925-2652 Fax: (651) 414-5174 View Additional Phone Numbers 1055 Highway 110, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


According to the information provided by Billy Mauer Chevrolet, this company offers new cars, trucks, vans and hybrid. Also offers preowned cars, trucks and vans.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Billy Mauer Chevrolet include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Billy Mauer Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2009 Business started locally: 04/01/2009 Business incorporated 04/03/2009 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Bill Mauer, Owner Susan Marcotte, Controller John Vecere, General Manger
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Susan Marcotte, Controller
Principal: Bill Mauer, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Inver Grove Dealership Group, LLC Mauer Chevrolet
Industry Tips

Additional Locations


    1055 Highway 110

    Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077 (651) 925-2652 (651) 212-2980


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: That Mauer Chevrolet abused my trust in them, when they gave me an estimate to fix the brakes on my car and lied to me about the need to repair them I bought my car from Mauer Chevrolet brand new and I have always trusted their services. All of my maintenance jobs , with the exception of one oil change, were all done by this company. I trusted them completely over any other Car dealer. on 01/07/16, I believed that there was a noise coming from the front of the car and wanted their opinion as to the cause of the noise and took my car in as they requested. I was told that I had to leave the car overnight, by one of their employees. I had requested that this employee take a ride with me to experience the problem. This employee told me that it is the brakes and that I needed to leave the vehicle so the can perform a diagnosis on my vehicle and that I will be responsible for the fee. The next day I called to see if my vehicle was ready and to return the courtesy car that the gave me to drives. When I arrived I was told that the problem was with my brakes and that the back brakes was at the point where they were grinding and that the front was so worn that replacement was necessary to stop the noise. I was given an estimate for the brakes totalling $765.00 and that it needed to be fixed immediately. This caused me to worry. Because of the cost of the repair , I enquired if credit was available for the cost of the repair and was told no. However I was charged $38.00 for that "service".I decided to look around for available credit and this took me to Firestone complete Auto care in Apple Valley, which was offering credit to be paid six months without interest.I tool my car to Firestone for an inspection which was for free. In about 30 minutes after I took my car to Firestone, The service manager gave me the best news that I have ever had from a Car service repair company. The manager took me an my wife and showed us that there was no problem with our brakes. He showed us that our brakes had pads for quite a long time and no repair was necessary, except for a brake light that was out.This was never disclosed by Mauer Chevrolet that did a Diagnosis of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I called the service manager and told him my story and he apologized and said that he will refund me what I paid and that he will send the refund two weeks ago. I have not yet received the refund.The name of the service advisor is Matt ********/1812 that told me the cost of the service and how urgent the "repairs " were. The invoice # is *******/1 give to me from Mauer.The amount of the invoice given to me was for 1670.94 as this included an estimate for a 60k service and the estimate for tires which I requested.I also have the report from Firestone in Apple valley service invoice #******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/03) */ The vehicle was brought in due to a sound coming from the brakes when stopping. During diagnosis the brakes were measured at 5 millimeters in the front and 2 millimeters in the rear. These measurements show that the rear brakes are in need of replacement at this time and the front brakes should be replaced now or very soon depending on mileage driven. If you do not get the work done at our location, we highly recommend that you have another location look at your brakes very soon to ensure the safety of your vehicle. We will refund the $50 of services that you had completed at our location, and please contact us if you have any questions.

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My timing chain guide had broken. That's why I was in for service. Took my car in to have my car repaired. Timing chain guide had broken. so took my car into Mauer Chevrolet. 1055 MN-110, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077 (651)********. **** is the service advisor i worked with. My car was at Mauer Chevrolet for two weeks. **** (service advisor) call and let me know that it was going to cost 1200.00 to fix the car. So I drove over to Mauer Chevrolet to talk with **** and the tech that worked on the car. So they went over what was going on with the car. All they talked about was the timing chain. never talked about the cylinder head. So I asked about the valves. (valves bent when the timing chain comes off) **** had the Tech put replace the timing chain and I took the water pump so I wouldn't have to go back inside my motor. Told me 1200.00 would fix it. **** called me back to tell me that the car still is not running well. Then the tech tells **** that the cylinder head valves are bent. At this time **** calls and say its going to cost $990.00 to repair the head. plus the parts. the bill was up to 2600.00 by now. so I talked to the service manager and he took some money off the bill. It now was 1800.00 I paid for the car drove it home and to work the next morning. and took it right back to Mauer Chevrolet. At this time service was not open but I talked to Larry he is the new car manager. He saw what the motor was jumping around and not running right. Engine light was on. I didn't want my car to be work on there anymore. So I got it fix elsewhere. I talked to Bill Mauer and he made it out to be my problem. 1800.00 is a lot of money to pay for a car that didn't work right.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. Yes they did work on my car. But didn't repair it right. I would be happy to pay for all the parts that the tech installed. I paid for labor two times and that's not fair. A chevrolet dealer should know how this car works. We pay for a service that I didn't receive. Bill Mauer didn't care that my car was not running after I paid my 1800.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/03/31) */ When Mr. ********'s car was towed into us it was clear that someone had previously looked at it. Mr. ******** knew it needed a timing chain, upon inspection we learned that pistons and the valves had collided creating the need to have the cylinder head out to have the valve repaired. In an effort to save money, Mr. ******** picked up this part and had repaired himself. After all repairs were complete, our technician test drove vehicle and found it to be in working condition. Mr. ********'s bill was $2400. Our service advisior discounted the bill to $1800. The next day Mr ******** drove back into the dealership with the engine not running well and shaking. Our sales manager told Mr ******** to leave the vehicle and we would correct it. Mr ******** was told he would be provided with a loaner vehicle. He refused, saying he was going to another dealership. Our sales manager then asked him to allow us to tow it there for him at no charge as not to do any damage, again Mr. ******** refused. I spoke with Mr. ******** a couple of days afterwards. I asked if the problem was resolved he said yes and it only took a short time. I asked where he had it repaired and he would not disclose. I asked him what was the problem, he stated there were 2 problems but could only remember one of them (a broken flange). I asked Mr ******** how much the repair cost him, he stated nothing. Mr. ********'s assertion that his car was not fixed is not true. We fixed the timing belt as requested, discovered additional needs and reassembled the vehicle when he returned the parts he had fixed, everything was done per his request. Additionally, we provided Mr ******** with a loaner car the entire time his vehicle was here, including the approximately 10 extra days it took for him to return his parts. Finally, he was not charged twice for a repair. In fact, he received a 30% discount on labor. ***********

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to contact us and keep us informed of the status of the vehicle and inability to give us any completion time Mauer has had our car for 19 days this time the time before was 5 days the time before was I believe 3 days all have been electrical the last 2 times were for the detection device in the mirrors not working in January I when we had it in they misdiagnosed the problem and changed the passenger mirror out this didn't work so the changed a sensor in the bumper and had to get it repainted 2 days later it went out and didn't work when I had time in my schedule I brought it back and they have had the car ever since I had to call up and complain to get anybody to call me and give me any information when I did they called a couple times with the same story that they ordered the part and they don't know where it is or when they will get it and they may have to have it made because there may not be one available and they can't tell me anything more I complained and said that was unacceptable at that point I recieved a call from a greeter at the dealership who apologized and said they would clean my car when it was done my response was I don't want a car wash I want my car fixed I decided to call the Chevy complaint department and they were surprised that after 14 days the head of service had not contacted me so they said they would contact mauer to see what the issue was the next morning I recieved a call from norm at mauer he was extremely passive aggressive and seemed very agitated that he had to contact me or that I had any issue he stated that he wanted his loaner back as much as I wanted my car back and didn't care if I didnt believe that and that I would get my car back when he got the part and the time they had it was acceptable and the fact that he hadn't contacted me and it took a complaint to the Chevy complaint department for him to contact me was also fine he was rude and dismissive and very unprofessional the last time they contacted me was last week I have not heard anything from them this week they don't seem to care and no one can tell me when of if they can fix my car this car was purchased brand new and has been nothing but trouble in the shop for a water pump at 15000 miles a bad battery that kept draining to countless electrical issues and I have had nothing but issues with the service department at mauer from not keeping us properly informed of the status of the car to not properly fixing the car I've purchased other cars from other dealerships and never encountered a service manager be so unprofessional with a customer all I did was choose there dealership from hundreds to choose from pay them a lot of money for that car and an extended warranty the car has issues and I bring it to be fixed and this is how I'm treated I have no idea what I did wrong in this situation it's ridiculous and frustrating because mauer Chevrolet and norm there service manager do not care.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed properly and mauer to improve on the service department and treat people the same way they do when there in there buying a vehicle because as soon as you buy it the customer service is gone

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/04/02) */ Mr. ******'s vehicle is repaired and back in his possession. We did have the in our shop waiting for a part from the manufacturer that was on a back ordered status. Mr. ****** was provided alternate transportation while we were waiting for this part, even though his vehicle was operable without this feature. It was his choice to remain in the loaner vehicle. We did maintain contact with Mr. ****** up to the point that a General Motors representative got involved per his request, unfortunately we did not have any information from GM as to when they could get us the part and Mr. ****** equated that to us not caring about him or his vehicle. Mr. ****** requested that a credit be issued to him equal to one months car payment. That to has been authorized and he will be receiving a check in the next two weeks. All repairs on the vehicle have been covered by the manufacturers warranty. We understand that we cannot please every customer every time, but we have followed the correct procedures to make repairs on Mr. ******'s vehicle every time and provided him with alternate transportation to minimize his inconvenience as best as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to Mauer Chevrolet there are so many flaws in there perception of the experience I don't know where to begin. As I stated in my previous complaint there inability to contact me and keep me informed of the status of my vehicle is what compelled me to reach out to GM in the first place, my vehicle had already been in mauers shop 14 days before I recieved a call from there service manager Norm although I had complained to his subordinates about my issue he didn't feel it was necessary to contact me until GM contacted him at which point he called me I spoke to him for 5 minutes he was abrasive,non apologetic and dismissive. Addressing the alternative transportation yes I did get a loaner vehicle while my vehicle was sitting in there shop waiting to be repaired for 35 days my response is simple I have a Chevy Cruze LTZ purchased brand new from mauer Chevrolet I have 35000 miles on it and it has been in there shop at least 10 times for recalls and for electrical issues , the issue this time was there third attempt at a recurring electrical issue the prior time was 2 months earlier when mauer had my vehicle for a week, misdiagnosed it replaced parts that didn't need to be replaced then put in the wrong sensor which failed after 2 days on the road. I wanted my vehicle fixed this time before I took possession of it there track record repairing my vehicle to this point was horrible. And as far as the vehicle being operable I purchased the LTZ package for a reason it came with the mirror detection . My wife drives this vehicle and this is a safety feature I view it no different then airbags or antilock brakes would they expect me to drive the vehicle without the use of these. So to say it was my choice to leave my car there that's ridiculous mauer Chevrolets inability to properly repair my vehicle in the past on numerous occasions compelled me to leave it there until it was repaired properly also you want what you pay for I paid for a fully working vehicle with ALL the safety features working not some. Now addressing the warranty and payment , I paid for an extended 100,000 mile warranty if I had not all of this work would be out of my pocket so again I payed for this already on the front end. Also the 1 month payment was the idea of the representative at GM not mine in fact I reluctantly accepted this stating at the time this was by no means a resolution to the problem I have with mauer Chevrolet but it was a positive gesture by GM. The final item I would like to point out validates everything I have said up to this point , mauer management stated that all repairs were done to my vehicle on this occasion again not true , I brought the vehicle in for the side detection and the rear passenger door button not functioning properly , 35 days for the mirror side detection the door button stiil wasn't fixed. Also after 35 days our vehicle was filthy inside and out when we picked it up and there is damage to the rear bumper which is where the sensors are located that were replaced . Now what do I do about these new issues go to mauer Chevrolet where I purchased the vehicle normally you would right, very frustrating. In closing its very simple to us if you purchase anything there's an unwritten contract of trust that your patronage is going to be rewarded by getting out what you put in to it, mauer Chevrolet has failed at this on every occasion . We could have went to 100 different dealerships we chose mauer Chevrolet because of location to us but also because of the customer experience purchasing the vehicle unfortunately that experience and professionalism is gone as soon as the contract is signed and you deal with the service department. We simply wanted our vehicle repaired properly the first time in a timely fashion and to be informed of the progress apparently this is to difficult for mauer Chevrolet . As far as a resolution on my end Im resolved to live and learn and never do business with mauer Chevrolet again and tell my family and friends about my experience if they are planning to. Regards, ***********

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint received via handwritten letter to BBB. Scan of original is attached; text of letter reads as follows: "On 8-8-14 I purchased 2008 Buick Lucerne with 36320 miles with a full 60 day warranty. 1) On 8-12-14 I returned to dealer with front end shake at hwy speeds. Mechanic balanced four tires to no avail. This did nothing to help. It was their determination that the (brakes) were causing problem so they after balance didn't work they decided to turn rotors or grind them down as they thought they were warped. They ground the rotors so far down that now to replace the brake pads, new rotors must be purchased also. I took the car to a mechanic for pads and the above mentioned was discovered. Rtrs are too thin to turn. 2) New tire pressure monitors were to be installed. Still not all monitors are working. 3) Quote from ************ and *********** = Service Advisor; 'Rotors warp and cause shaking because they are work to thin to carry the heat from normal everyday driving'. 4) The cigar lighter or (accessory) lighter plug was broken. On 8-12-14 this was replaced and the mechanic used my cord for my GPS system to check the new socket when in turn he broke the male end of it because it would not fit into new socket and he forced it and told service advisor it was working fine. Still is not replaced after 3 visits. 5) The dash lights work only part time. It has to be 100% dark before the RPM, temp and gas gauges will light, the radio light is intermittent! I was told the above lights were changed I have been told time + again I would be notified when they have an opening in shop. When is enough? I have not heard one word from anyone for months. Thank you for any help given. **************** ******************** Rosemount, MN 55068 On 9-16-14 I complained again on the starter making loud noise as if missing teeth on fly wheel or starter. I have the service mgr. a copy of the number of times I recorded this problem. It was 17 times in 8 days. Enclosing a copy of same. (Their) way to fix this was to (guarantee) the starter for 6 mos. not to fix it but to extend warranty for 4 lousy months. G.R.H."

Desired Settlement: BBB Note: Mr ****** does not indicate a specific desired resolution, but appears to request assistance addressing reported unresolved repair / service issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/20) */ Had customer bring vehicle in on 2/19 provided alternate transportation and documented customers concerns. 1. dash lights not working during the day. This was found to be operating as designed. 2. intermittent miss/hesitation in the engine. This could not be duplicated not were there any misfire codes stored in the diagnostic computer. 3. driver seat power socket does not fit cords. all of the devices we plugged in worked fine. these were the only concerns the customer asked to have looked at and all were either not duplicated or found to be working as designed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/03/04) */ Received call from Mr ******, indicating that he does not feel issues have been addressed -- says dash lights are still not working as he would expect them to, and that "miss" / hesitation in engine still occurs. With regard to GPS cord issue, Mr ****** says a Mauer employee delivered a cord to him this week, but he does not believe it is correct -- says he was delivered his 'original' cord with indication that he needed to do some splicing of wires, etc. Mr ****** says the Mauer employee took the cord away with him, and told Mr ****** the dealership would ensure he has the correct one. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/03/04) */ Spoke to **** ******* at Mauer Chevrolet. Mr ******* indicates that Garmin (GPS) no longer makes Mr ******'s 'original' cord, and the cord the dealership attempted to deliver to Mr ****** was the one Garmin advised them would replace his original. He says the dealership employee took the cord back with him when Mr ****** expressed that it was incorrect / not the one he was expecting, but that the dealership will 're-deliver' it to him, as this is the cord they were advised by Garmin to provide. As to other vehicle issues reported by Mr ******, Mr ******* says that Mauer Chevrolet addressed the concerns Mr ****** raised during his 2/19 visit, as detailed in its initial response of 2/20.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Billy Mauer Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)