BBB Accredited Business since

Barnett Chrysler Jeep Kia

Additional Locations

Phone: (651) 482-6100 Fax: (651) 429-5133 View Additional Phone Numbers 3430 Highway 61 N, Saint Paul, MN 55110 http://www.barnettchrysler.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barnett Chrysler Jeep Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Barnett Chrysler Jeep Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Barnett Chrysler Jeep Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated 07/01/1954 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Bruce Barnett, President Nancy Greenberg, CEO Jack Mayeron, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Bruce Barnett, President
Customer Contact: Jack Mayeron, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Barnett Chrysler Jeep Kia, the company offers new and pre-owned vehicles for sale. They also house a service center on-site to service Chrysler, Jeep, and Kia vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Barnett Chrysler Jeep Kia has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3430 Highway 61 N

    Saint Paul, MN 55110 (651) 429-3391 (651) 482-6100

  • 3610 Highway 61 N

    White Bear Lake, MN 55110

  • 3700 Highway 61 N

    Saint Paul, MN 55110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spent additional money on extended warranty for used vehicle. Told dealership would take of us if we have a problem. They refused to uphold promise. My wife and I bought a used BMW for over $22,000 with the extended warranty. We were told the extended warranty is a great deal and if we ever had a problem the dealership would take care of it and cover the rental with the extended warranty. two months later a check engine light came on and the dealership said they would not be able to look at it for 8 days. They also said they would not give us a rental until they know what is wrong with it. Dave ******** told us to keep driving the vehicle and hope it doesn't break down and when they find out what the problem is then maybe we could get the rental until our car is fixed. Not what I expected after spending so much money and being promised great customer service. Furthermore all the leadership we spoke with were quite rude about it as well. They would not even run a scanner on the vehicle because they said it was not that simple. We left upset and they did not care. When we bought the car two months earlier they really went out of their way for us and stopped after we drove away from the dealership because they had our money.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the business to follow through with guarantee after we spent all this additional money to keep us covered and are still paying for it every month. We are paying for a promise they never intended to fulfill.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/01) */ Mr. ***** brought his vehicle to us to request service late on a Thursday afternoon with no appointment. We explained that our shop was booked several days out and could not get his vehicle in for a diagnosis immediately as he demanded. The vehicle is a BMW and not all our technicians are trained to work on this make, which further limited our ability to get his vehicle in quickly. The service contract he purchased can be used at any service facility that uses certified mechanics, however Mr. ***** indicated that he would bring the vehicle back for us to diagnose the problem the following week. We are certainly very committed to providing the service and support that owners need after the sale and regret that we were not able to respond as quickly as Mr. ***** felt we should. We would be happy to schedule an appointment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) when we purchased the service agreement we were told if something is wrong with the car you will receive a rental car until the problem is fixed. We even called after buying the vehicle because someone told us these service agreements are very difficult to use. We were told whoever told us they are difficult to use was lying and doesn't understand how the agreement works and if something were to go wrong we would be taken care of right away. However, we were not taken care of. we were told they would not even do a quick diagnosis. We were told to go somewhere else. we were told you do not get a rental unless they can find out what is wrong first, which in this case is 8 days later. Regardless of the car being a BMW we bought it from them so this is no excuse for poor customer service. We did not do there late in the afternoon we went there early afternoon. This was after calling on the phone and being told we can go to 2 of their different dealers and being transferred 4 times. They do not stand behind their word. When we were asked to purchase the service agreement we were never told that just for someone to look at the vehicle would be over a week away and then maybe at that time we could get some assistance with a rental car. Had any customer been told this they would not sell any service agreements. They proved to be dishonest and seemed to go out of their way to not do anything for us and promising very little after the sale.

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The tab on my vehicle that I purchased expired 1 month after my purchase. The sales person had indicated that they would expire 11 months later. I traded in a vehicle in exchange for a different vehicle and was told by the sales person, Rick ********, that I would receive only 11 months for my tab, which he apologized for. Not a problem on my end. However, when I received my plates, I noticed that the tabs were only good for 1 month. When I contacted the dealership, first I dealt with Shannon, she said it was the finance manager's job to explain all of this to me, which of course, he hadn't. After some failed discussion, she transferred me to **** Barnett. Dealing with him is pointless. I have never experienced such a blatant scheme in my life, nor have I ever been so disappointed with a dealership. Obviously, dealerships deal in volume and individual customers do not. It would be nothing for them to have done the right thing and honor what the sales person had discussed during the purchase negotiation. But on my end, I have to pay for tabs twice during the same year.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to honor their sales person's statement that the tabs would be good for 11 months, rather than 1 month.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/29) */ Mr. *********** purchased his car in August and the license plates were good through October. He was charged a transfer fee, but was not charged a license fee for the 2.5 months during which the existing plates were valid. The previous owner had paid those fees. It is true that our salesperson was incorrect regarding the transfer and licensing process. The previous owner had personalized plates, which of course he kept and therefore there were no plates on the vehicle at the time of purchase. Our salesperson assumed that we would charge Mr. *********** for a year's registration and obtain new plates. However the State of Minnesota's procedure is to charge $6.00, replace the personalized plates with a new set of standard plates and consider the registration valid until the original expiration date, which in this case was October. **** Barnett and Mr. *********** never spoke; they traded voice mails and Michael attempted to explain that Mr. *********** did not, "pay for tabs twice in the same year". There was no scheme to collect additional license fees as Mr. *********** has alleged, nor was he charged for the time remaining on the previous owner's registration. While we regret the confusion and Mr. ***********'s dissatisfaction, for which we have apologized, he was not overcharged and is not due a refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealership's representative sales person, Rick ******** and I had two negotiations. It was agreed that I would pay a sum of $600. Mr. ******** repeated the same narrative, that the fee included all that was in deed included, but that the tabs would be good for 11 months. As this was one of the negotiated points, the dealership should be held accountable and made to honor the statements and negotiated terms made by their employee and representative in this matter. I am only interested in what was fairly negotiated at the time of sale. Further, the finance manager who I met with at the end made every effort to rush me through signing documents. I was not provided ample time to simply read through line by line each thing that I signed.

7/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not happy with the quality of repairs done. I bought my 2005 dodge sprinter new in sept. 2005 from white bear dodge and later Barnett bought the business. so those 2 companies were the only ones that have done any work on my truck. Back in march of 2014 I brought the truck in for service. Barnett said that I had 2 bad glow plugs and said it would cost $500 to replace the 2 or $800 to replace all 5. I said that's a no brainer replace all 5. He did say sometimes we have trouble getting glow plugs out. So let me know if there's trouble. He called a couple days later and said that one of them broke off and fell in the motor and said that they would have to pull the head and it was now going to cost me $3000. I told him I was on my way up north fishing and not going to let it ruin my weekend but you have to work with me. And I will deal with him on Monday. So when I went to get my truck the bill was $2799.80 I said can't you work with me? He said he took $200 off. I said that's it? He said that's it. Well I paid it because I needed the truck for work. I went back a week later after I got the truck back and talked to the service manager about the money I paid which I thought was unfair and he pretty much said there was nothing he could do for me. So 15 months and 7000 miles later when I was coming back from up north with it the motor goes out on it. Had it towed to a different place for repair. He took the motor apart and the 5th cylinder piston had melted down. He thought that was strange for a diesel engine with 78k miles on it. So later research, found that the oil injector for that cylinder was plugged with silicone sealant and that's what caused the piston to melt down. It wasn't getting any oil. Those 2 dealers were the only ones that have ever worked on that truck since it was new until now after the motor went out. I brought the piston and the plugged oil injector in to the same service manager yesterday and showed him and he said there was nothing he would do about it. So my question to him was how did silicone sealant get in my motor. His response was the cylinder got to hot and melted the silicone on the valve cover gasket and fell in. My mechanic said there is no way that could have happened. The shop the my truck is at has been a diesel repair shop for 31 yrs. So I would have to agree with him. my customer number with Barnett is ******

Desired Settlement: A new motor

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/29) */ The repair to Mr. ****'s Sprinter was done by a technician specifically trained for diesel engine repair in accordance with Chrysler's repair procedure. The work was completed in March, 2014. During the intervening 16 months the vehicle has functioned properly and our service department has provided no additional service. We do not know if another service department provided maintenance during that period. We do provide a warranty for 12 months or 12000 miles, whichever occurs first, on work done in our shop. This warranty period has long expired. We do not believe we have any responsibility for the current issue with this vehicle.

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My truck was vibrating on the road badly so I made appointment with service department of Barnett who diagnosed a loose driveshaft and priced the repair at $1292. The technician did not show me the bad parts. Before I stopped at this shop I got under the vehicle to check the driveshaft and knew it was not loose. I did not trust the diagnosis so drove to Midas Muffler who showed me the upper right balljoint was ready to snap into two so they installed a new one and the vibration stopped while driving on the road. Midas Muffler checked the driveshaft and it was not loose nor vibrating at all. I called Barnett Service Manager to demand a refund for a false diagnosis and he refused. I have driven the truck for two days so far now with no vibration with the driveshaft that Barnett claims is loose. the Driveshaft is not loose. I believe Barnett Service Manager and his staff are incompetent or trying to use scare tactics to force me into replacing a good driveshaft. Also Barnett's staff totally missed the balljoint that was ready to snap and did not even bother to advise me. Product_Or_Service: Diagnostic Order_Number: ********** Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund the diagnostic fee of $166.03

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/10) */ Mr. ******* brought his 98,000 mile Dodge truck that he had just purchased to our service department for diagnosis of a vibration. The technician assigned to this complaint is very experienced and trained. He is certified to the manufacturer's highest standard. He disassembled the drive line and closely inspected the components. He determined that 3 U joints and a bearing needed replacement. Mr. ******* declined the repair and took his vehicle to a repair facility that does not employ technicians trained to the same level as our manufacturer-certified technicians. That repair shop did a minor repair and to my understanding did not closely inspect the components identified by our technician as needing repair. When Mr. ******* called to request a refund we invited him to come in and allow us to, at our expense, disassemble the components in question and show him the worn parts. He declined. We stand by our diagnosis and do not feel a refund is justified. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I specifically told *************** that I did not have $1250 to repair the driveline until the end of the month as I am disabled and live on Social Security. During the write up of my request I specifically told ******** that I wanted to know if the vehicle was safe to drive. She did not show me any of the worn parts with her estimate. I felt the cost was extremely high for a driveline repair as I priced the parts at close to $100 for all three ujoints. ********e did not indicate the vehicle was unsafe to drive. When I got on the road the vehicle was vibrating so badly I had to reduce speed and run with my flashers on in the slow lane. I limped the truck to Midas Muffler where an ASE Master Mechanic checked the vibration and found a upper balljoint ready to snap. He replaced the upper ball and control arm. He said the tires were cupped so I replaced the cupped tires. I also asked Midas to replace the driveline ujoints which they did for a cost of $350 which is over $900 less than the Barnett estimate. The vehicle now has no vibration and is safe to drive. *************** was negligent in informing me the vehicle was unsafe to drive and failed to inform her mechanic to determine safety of the vehicle on the road. The mechanic at Barnett failed to check the suspension system and missed entirely the loose balljoint and the cupped tires. As the purpose of this complaint is to promote Better Business, any casual observer can see the negligence of both *************** and the mechanic at Barnett to address my concerns and further engaged in price gouging to repair the driveline at a outrageous price of $1250. when I got the driveline repaired, all three ujoints for a total price of $350. Barnett Dodge treated me with disrespect for customer service and failed to perform a safety check of the vehicle and failed to involve me in showing me any worn parts or explaining why they were bad. The Service Manager offered to correct the negligence by showing me the bad parts if I would drive back into his shop which I felt was a great inconvenience when the bad parts should have been shown to me at the time of inspection. In brief the diagnosis I paid for at Barnett was incomplete and deficient of quality service and involved considerable attempt to price gouge me on the repair.

12/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our vehicle is not being properly looked at in the service department. We are being charged but the car isn't being fixed. Management is no help. We brought our Jeep Commander in for the initial check two weeks ago. Through the diagnostic check they found numerous things wrong which we agreed to fix so the car would work again. When we brought the car home the cruise control still did not work. Then 5 days later, the car started acting up again, The same way it had before we had brought it in the first time. We brought the Jeep back in on Tuesday because they obviously did not fix it correctly the first time. Now we are being told it is the battery. We had to pay for labor, another diagnostic check and $170 battery. How was this not caught in the first test? I should haven't to pay for something that should have been caught before. When my wife spoke with the manager, *********, he stated that it is an unrelated issue and since that is the case we have to pay for everything again. His response was very rude and he was no help at all. What they had completed a week before could have resulted in this now being broken. My wife and I feel like they don't fix things right in the first place so they can run another diagnostic check so they can charge you again. You cannot run a service department if you have no customer service. Lastly, our warranty is up on the 10th of December. We feel like they are not looking to fix everything until the warranty is up so we can pay for everything out of pocket and they can make money off of that. Each time we went in, we told them we felt it was something with the transmission and each time they give us a different answer about what is wrong. When my wife called ********* today he stated that all of these things are just a coincedence and that my wife must not know what she is talking about. That is definetly not how you run a business. If he would have helped us resolve this issue we wouldn't have to resort to this. People need to know what type of service is being run at this service shop. Needless to say, our business and anyone that knows us will no longer be going to this dealership or service shop.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the labor and diagnosic check. I feel like the battery is not worth $170 as well so I would like to return that and take our old one back but they stated this is not a possibility. An apology for how they treat woman on the phone would be acceptable with the refund as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/26) */ Mr. **** brought his vehicle to our service department and stated that there was a dashboard warning light on and the vehicle did not run properly. Our technician found codes indicating a transmission fluid leak and then found and repaired the leak. The vehicle was road tested, found to run properly; codes were cleared and the dash warning light was off. The cruise control was not examined because the customer had not mentioned a cruise control problem. On the second visit our techician diagnosed and replaced a faulty battery. This repair was not related to the transmission issue addressed on the first visit. Again there was no mention of a cruise control problem, therefore no diagnosis or repair was made to the cruise control. We record our phone calls and I have listened to our service manager, *********'s conversation with Mrs. **** and do not agree that he was rude or unprofessional in any way. ********* did explain to Mr. **** that we would waive any diagnostic charge if he wanted us to look at the cruise control issue.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Barnett Chrysler Jeep Kia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart