BBB Accredited Business since

Audi St. Paul

Phone: (651) 494-1400 Fax: (651) 494-1423 View Additional Phone Numbers 2450 Maplewood Dr, Maplewood, MN 55109 http://www.audistpaul.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Audi St. Paul meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Audi St. Paul include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Audi St. Paul
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2006 Business started: 10/07/1981 Business started locally: 10/07/1981 Business incorporated 10/07/1981 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Joe Stifter, General Manager Jon Hansen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Joe Stifter, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube

Service Area
Minnesota and Wisconsin
Products & Services

According to the company, Audi St. Paul, offers the sale of new and pre-owned Audi vehicles as well as a full service department.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 2450 Maplewood Dr

    Maplewood, MN 55109 (651) 494-1400 (866) 906-3410

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They overfilled my oil by 2 quarts and I drove my vehicle until the oil light came on, the turbo was damaged but they won't replace it. Maplewood Audi changed the oil on my 2009 Audi A4 on May 30, 2014. I drove my vehicle approximately 15 miles before the oil light started to flash on my dash board. I drove 2 more miles to my daughters house and then had the vehicle towed back to Maplewood Audi. It was then discovered that my vehicles oil had been overfilled by 2 quarts. They removed the extra oil. On July 29th I brought my vehicle back to Maplewood Audi to check a service light on my dashboard and they informed me that my turbo was bad and would need $3499.00 to replace it. I had only driven 1600 miles since the oil overfill so I researched turbo damage due to oil overfill and discovered that this could have caused the turbo problem. Maplewood Audi refuses to take responsibility for the damage done and still wants me to pay for the replacement.

Desired Settlement: I would like Maplewood Audi to replace the damaged turbo on my vehicle at no charge to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/12) */ Received business response via e-mail to BBB -- text reads as follows: "********************* brought their 2009 Audi A4 to our dealership due to a warning light on the vehicle. After it was inspected, there were 3 items that we recommended that needed attention. The first item was the turbo assembly, at an estimated cost of $2,663.64. The second item was the replacement of the driver's side front wheel bearing for $735.93; and an alignment for $100.00. The total of the three items is $3499.56. On their previous visit to us, our technician had overfilled their engine with oil. The vehicle alerted the driver, the vehicle was returned to us and the oil level corrected, and then checked for any faults. The vehicle did not exhibit any malfunctions and so it was returned to the customer. However, due to that event, the customer's felt that the over filling of the engine oil had influenced the mechanical concerns of their turbo assembly. On their vehicle, Audi of America has an extension of the factory warranty on the turbo units, however that extension is a 7 year / 70,000 mile extension, and the ******'s vehicle had 87,021 miles on it when it exhibited symptoms of the turbo unit and was brought into our service department for a diagnosis. Our staff contacted our area Audi service manager, who offered the ******'s trade assistance towards a new vehicle, but would not offer any other repair assistance as the vehicle was almost 20,000 miles past the extended coverage on the turbo unit. As a goodwill gesture, we had offered to reduce the $2663.64 turbo repair costs to $1800, as the customer had purchased the vehicle from us as a certified pre-owned vehicle. The customer rejected both of the above mentioned offers and asked that I contact Mr. **** ******. I was given **** ******'s information on Thursday, July 31st 2014. I called **** and listened to his reasons for him wanting us to pay for his turbo repair. As in the BBB complaint, he felt that due to the over filling of his engine with oil, that action must have caused the failure of his turbo. He stated he talked with a Mercedes mechanic who told him if we did not fill the oil filter first, we could have also caused damage to the turbo, and referenced a comment in the owner's manual regarding the over filling of his engine. I listened to ****'s view point, I told him that if our over filling the oil in his engine even had a remote chance of causing any issues with his turbo unit, that we would pay for the repair. I informed him that since I was not a mechanic or an engineer, I would contact the Audi Field Technician, whose job it is to diagnose mechanical concerns for Audi vehicles. I then contacted the Audi field Technician, he reviewed with me that the turbo units had some mechanical concerns- hence the extension of the original warranty. He then informed me that an over filled oil level would not affect a mechanical waste gate, that only a lack of oil might affect the turbo bearing, but not an excess oil level. He stated the turbo waste gate is vacuum and pressure controlled, and not oil. He also addressed Mr. ******'s comment from the Mercedes mechanic; "pre-charging" an oil filter is not a valid procedure on our engines anymore, current model vehicles are different. He stated to me that it was likely a coincidence that one event happened so close to the other. I then called Mr. ****** and relayed the above information. I understood his being disappointed, and frustrated on receiving the news, but based on the information I received and shared with him, we would not pay for the entire cost of the repair of his turbo assembly. He told me that in no way would he approve his wife trading in their vehicle on another vehicle and taking advantage of Audi of America's trade assistance offer. I then stated that as they have been very good customers of our company as a good will gesture, we would cover half of the cost of the turbo assembly repair amount of $2663.64 and provide a complimentary loaner vehicle. Mr. ****** stated that he would review our enhanced offer with his wife, and then contact me. On the afternoon of Monday August 4th, I received a call from Mr. ******, stating that he "under protest" accepted our goodwill offer. I thanked him for allowing us to perform the work, I was out of the office on an errand, and upon my return to the dealership I would schedule a time for **** or Julie to bring in their vehicle. Upon my return to the dealership I called **** to schedule the time. We scheduled a service appointment for 9AM Thursday August 8th, which was confirmed today by our service advisor."

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Audi ST Paul did not execute the payoff of my trade in Vehicle. Now I have 2 months of delay of a vehicle I do not have. In November 25th I closed a deal with Audi St Paul. we agreed with the numbers. I have documentation that says Audi St Paul will take care of my Toyota Tacoma and they would do the payoff of the truck, then the equity would work as down payment. in January 14 I received a balance statement from Toyota, when I opened the envelope I realize that I still have an active account with Toyota Financial and that I have a delay of 2 months with them affecting my credit score. I called Toyota and they confirmed my account was still open. They told me that Audi St Paul called in December 10th to ask about the payoff but they never did any payment. Now I have a lot of frustration against Audi St Paul because they play with my trust and my credit score.

Desired Settlement: My expectation was that Audi would have paid the loan in the first week. Because that has not been done you I am expecting that it be paid in the next several days with an explanation, also a compensation from Audi St Paul and my credit score clean of delays.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/21) */ Good evening, Last week our staff followed upon this concern, verified the payoff, and completed a check request. A manager from our team talked to Mr. ********, and apologized for our error, confirmed that a check had been sent in to Toyota Motor Credit, and that we would make sure there would be no derogatory credit blemishes on Mr. ********'s credit history. Today our business manager contacted TMC, and confirmed the accrued interest amount over the payoff quote, and the second check was sent to Toyota Motor Credit via overnight express. I personally called the lender, verified that as long as funds are received prior to 01/27/2014, that there would be no "Markers" on Mr. ********'s credit history. I contacted Mr. ******** today to share this information with him; however he did not have time to talk. I did arrange to contact him tomorrow, and I sent him the following e-mail today. We will follow up each day until we have clarification that the funds have been received and the account cleared. Please contact me with any questions that you might have. Best regards, *** ******* Hello ******, Thank you for taking my call, I want to apologize for any inconvenience caused by our team not getting the payoff on your trade processed in a timely fashion. I also wanted to update you on my conversation with the support staff from Toyota credit that occurred earlier today. I had a conversation with a woman named *******, we have sent Toyota Credit two checks, one that they should have already received and second one today for a small interest amount that they should receive tomorrow. ******* told me that as long as they are posted before January 27th, 2014 there will be no "markers" reported to the credit bureau and no blemishes on your credit history. Our staff will follow up each day until the amounts are posted to the accounts to ensure there are no additional delays. I thank you for your patience with us, and we do appreciate your business. As a gesture of our appreciation, please accept a complimentary detail of your new vehicle when convenient to you. I will be back in town tomorrow evening; I will call you upon my return from an out of town meeting. Best wishes, ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Audi St. Paul
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)