BBB Accredited Business since

Apple Valley Ford Lincoln

Additional Locations

Phone: (952) 431-5900 Fax: (952) 236-8500 View Additional Phone Numbers 7200 150th St W, Apple Valley, MN 55124 http://www.applevalleyford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apple Valley Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apple Valley Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Apple Valley Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Brainerd Public Utilities Business Office
8027 Highland Scenic Dr, Baxter MN 56425
Phone Number: (218) 829-8726

Business Management
Brian McCulley, General Manager Mark Gulbrandson, President Shawn McCormick, Owner Kim Rahbain, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Brian McCulley, General Manager
Customer Contact: Kim Rahbain, CFO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops

Alternate Business Names
Apple Valley Ford Valley Ford Inc
Products & Services

According to the information supplied by Apple Valley Ford Lincoln Mercury (also known as Valley Apple, Inc.), they offer services including the sales of new Ford, Lincoln, & Mercury vehicles as well as used vehicles. They also include an automotive repair and parts facility.

Industry Tips
Auto Glass Information Auto Repair and Services Buying A New Car BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Apple Valley Ford Lincoln has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7200 150th St W

    Apple Valley, MN 55124 (952) 431-5900 (952) 469-6000 (952) 985-2406

  • PO Box 240299

    Apple Valley, MN 55124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Logged an appointment on Apple Valley Ford website for service. Quoted $234.89. Upon arriving at dealer, the services were quoted at $650.00 On 1/14/16 I logged an appointment on the Apple Valley Ford website to have their 100,000 mile service performed on my 2007 Mercury Milan Premier. The website provided me with an estimated price of $234.89 to complete the work. I received a confirmation code of ********** for an appointment on 1/17/16 at 7:45 am. Upon taking my car to the appointment, I was told by Bryan ****** (Service Advisor) they could not perform the service for this price. I asked to talk to the service manager and he told me the same thing. Both of us then went to the Apple Valley Ford website to confirm the year, make, model, work and price of the 100,000 mile service. It still displayed as $234.89. He said the service costs approximately $650.00 and would offer me a $50.00 discount because of the price difference. I told him I would like to have the service performed for the quoted price. He said he wouldn't do it. I left. I have print screens from the appointment process with the work to be completed and the quoted price, as well as, my confirmed appointment with the quoted price.

Desired Settlement: Complete all aspects of the 100,000 mile service for the quoted price of $234.89.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2016/02/24) */ Apple Ford Lincoln is committed to the value of honesty and integrity. Mr. ********* should have been honored the original price he found online the original day he requested our services. We have discussed this with our service team and instructed them to seek help from management when they are presented with a difference in price like this. Errors may happen occasionally and it is our responsibility to stand behind them. Mr. ********* was back to our service department on January 23rd and has had all requested services completed at the price of $234.89 which Mr. ********* found on line. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 15, 2016/02/24) */ Mr ********* confirms that he was contacted by Apple Valley Ford to bring his vehicle back in, and was able to have requested services performed at the posted price.

2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apple Valley Ford repeatedly send me email which I have no desire to receive. I have reportedly tried to "opt out" of there spam without sucsess. The email opt out system for Apple valley Fords spam does not work. Although I purchased a vehicle from this company many years ago I never requested marketing spam. I have repeatedly tried to remove my email from there spam system and have added there information to my blocked senders list but somehow they are still able the deliver emails to me. I do not to ever receive an email from them again, yet this seems impossible.

Desired Settlement: Immediate removal of my contact information including email from there spam marketing system. And allowing others to immediately and fully opt out of there spam on an ongoing basis.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/05) */ Please see attached letter in response to Mr. ******'s complaint. "To whom it may concern, We are disappointed to learn that we have mishandled Mr ******'s request to be unsubscribed from our marketing messages. The last thing we want is to aggravate customers or potential customers with unwanted messaging. We have reviewed our opt-out system in regard to Mr ******'s customer record and erased the record in all marketing databases that we control or, in the case of our accounting system, where record removal is not possible marked it 'do not contact' so that no further communication can be sent to Mr ******. Further we have instituted a tighter process to manually confirm our unsubscribe list across all databases. This means if receive an unsubscribe request for one database we manually check all known databases under our control to confirm that the customer is unsubscribed from all sources of communication. We take our obligation under CAN-SPAM regulations seriously and appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention so that we may satisfy Mr ******'s request and assure that other customer requests are handled accurately and promptly. Sincerely, Alan ******* Director of Marketing Apple Autos"

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My SUV wouldn't drive. We had it towed to Apple Valley Ford and they said it was the transmission. Used would be $6500, new would be $11000. Not trans My SUV wouldn't drive. We had it towed to Apple Valley Ford and they said it was the transmission. Used would be $6500, new would be $11000. We called two other shops and they quoted us $3500 for a used transmission. We had it towed to Masters Transmission in Rosemount. They looked it over and found that a line was pulled away from the transmission. So the $6500 transmission that Ford told us we needed changed cost us $419 for the line to be replaced. If we hadn't had a second opinion we would have never found out the truth! This happened 2 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement: We want the GM to call us and let us know how this happened. We have left him messages but not once has he contacted us. Not impressed with them at all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/02/08) */ Better Business Bureau- I spoke with Mr. **** on the afternoon of 2/5/2016. Mr. **** expressed his concern regarding the misdiagnosis of the transmission issues in his Land Rover. He said that he understands that we rarely work on vehicles like his, but suggested that for the customer's sake that we ask for a second opinion or let the customer know that we may not be able to give a proper diagnosis. He said he has done business with us in the past and has always had great experiences. To ensure Mr. ****'s satisfaction, I offered to cover the bill of the repair that he had done at another service facility. Mr. **** appreciated that and is very happy. Brian ******** General Manager Apple Ford Lincoln Apple Valley Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2016/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We appreciate Brian getting back to us and are happy with the results. Thank you.

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted an amount for repairs; six hours after my appointment time I receive a call my cost would be double the original quote. My car was brought in for an oil change, during the brake inspection the service team noted a need for new brake pads. At the time, I was told if calipers did not need to be replaced it would cost $160.00 for the repair, I also planned to get a tune up and was quoted $125. I made an appointment for 10:00 am on Saturday and again confirmed prices with the receptionist. When I dropped the car off I asked them to call me if the price changed due to the calipers. I did not receive a call until 3:00 pm, at that point the service station was closed and all I had for my time was a quote of over $500 for repairs. The calipers did not need replacing, but the tech said I was misquoted by the prior service people, and "the quick lane really shouldn't be quoting prices." As they were closed at this point, there was no manager to clear a price change with, and I couldn't safely leave with my car. I will have to wait until tomorrow to get an answer. What is the point of an appointment if they look at the car whenever they feel like? This is their error and I expect them to do the work for the price I was quoted, and eat the loss. It is unacceptable to take advantage of customers like this.

Desired Settlement: I want the work done at the price originally quoted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/13) */ Received business response via e-mail to BBB: "Better Business Bureau of Minnesota Case # ******** ******* ********** **************** Savage, MN 55378 To Whom It May Concern; This is in response to Case # ********. I spoke with ******* ********** Wednesday 10-7-15 and offered ******* a $150.00 in-store credit for her inconvenience and disappointing service at Apple Ford Lincoln. ******* accepted the $150.00 in-store credit and I apologized for the experience. Sincerely; Mike ******* Parts & Service Director Apple Ford Lincoln" Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am very happy with the response from the business. The apology was very appreciated, and the store credit is very generous. I will absolutely give Apply Valley Ford a chance to earn my business back. Thank you!

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that they mis-diagnosed a transmission problem problem that turned out to be a bad coil. Problem was exactly the same after tranny was replaced I took my 2007 MKX into them for an ODO data error problem on 7/14/2015. They could not find problem. On 7/28 took it back in and they found problem to be two sensors in transmission. They had to dis-assemble transmission to repair. Charge was 1,073.83. Immediately after picking up the car I noticed that while driving between 40 and 45 and having to accelerate the car would jerk, RPM's would go way up and after a few seconds would accelerate. Because they had just worked on transmission I took it back to them.(08/03/2015) After a few hours they called and said the entire transmission was bad and needed replacing. I could not believe it and said I would call back. I had just had a brother pass away and needed the car later in the week so after discussing it with my wife we felt we had no choice, they were the experts so we reluctantly gave our okay. Received a call on 8/06 that it was ready and I picked it up on 8/07. I wrote a check for 3532.71 because they credited the first repair against the transmission charge. After picking up the car and driving less than a mile or so it did exactly the same thing I took it in for. I had to get to the funeral so I went home and in the seven miles or so it did it 3 times. On the way to the funeral with family in the car it did it 3 more times. I called our service writer at Apple Valley Ford from the mortuary and reported the exact problem was still there and acted no different than before the transmission was replaced. On 8/11 I went to meet with the service writer and his service manager and I told them it was like they parked my car out back for 4 days and then I picked it up because it acted exactly the same as before the transmission was replaced. I told them I could not believe that the transmission was bad and that I had stopped payment for the check I wrote when I picked the car up on the 7th. The service manager told me that if they mis-diagnosed the problem they would work it out and said the important thing was to get it fixed. He said that this type of vehicle had problems like this when a coil would fail and that this should be checked. I requested a tech ride with me with his computer equipment hooked up so I could show him what it was doing. We left and within minutes it did it in the same spot that it had the Friday before. He said his equipment indicated that coil #2 was bad. Before we got back to the shop it failed again and once again it showed coil #2 was bad. After switching coils 1 and 2 and the problem moved to coil #1. The tech replaced the bad coil and test drove and no more problem. I received a call to pick it up and I did. When I did the service manager told me to drive it and see if it was okay. No payment needed at this time. I did and no more problems. When I called him back to request another sit down meeting we set a time on the 18th. When we sat down the service manager insisted that the transmission was bad and needed replacement. He wanted me to release the check I put a stop payment on and they would not charge me for the coil replacement. I said I would pay for the work previously done on the transmission for the amount of 1.073.83 and for the coil replacement but I would not pay for a transmission that was not needed. We could not reach agreement so I left. We have had no contact since.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should not pay for a transmission that I did not need. The problem did not change at all when the transmission was replaced. The problem was exactly the same before and after but after the coil was replaced it hasn't happened again. I feel they mis-diagnosed the problem and wanted me to pay for it. I think I should pay for the repair of the two sensors and for the coil and they should eat the charge for the transmission.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/15) */ Business response received via e-mail to BBB, including scan of 'Stop Payment' notice on check. Scan is attached; text of complaint reads as follows: "Case #******** This letter is in response to Ronald ****** case #********. Ronald ****** stopped payment on his check #11158 for the repair to the transmission on his 2007 Lincoln MKX subsequently causing the dealership to absorb the repair to his transmission. Apple Ford Lincoln has taken full responsibility for this repair and will not seek money owed for the check that was stopped payment. We appreciate Mr. ******' patronage and past business and hope we can continue a long term relationship with Mr. ******. If you have any questions or concerns I can assist with please feel free to contact me at any time. Sincerely, Mike ******* Service Director Apple Ford Lincoln ************" Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The response was what I was looking for and what I think is right and fair. Thank you for your assistance.

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised a price on a vehicle through email. Once I arrived to the business, I was told that the promised price was now higher. On June 24th, 2015, I contacted a Apple Ford Lincoln staff, Taylor ********, regarding the price and quality of a 2013 Ford Fusion. The stock number for this Ford Fusion was #19723Z. On June 25th, 2015, the Apple Ford Lincoln Staff, Taylor ********, responded via email stating that the price of the vehicle that I was interested in was $12,527. After exchanging a few emails to confirm the pricing, I visited the dealership on June 26th, 2015. I then showed the sales representative, Kevin ******, the emails that were exchanged a few days prior and was told that if Taylor ******** told me that the price was $12,527 then the 2013 Ford Fusion would be that price. I then agreed to purchase that same vehicle. Once beginning the paper work to purchase this vehicle, I was told that the actual price was going to be $15,999 and $12,527 was never an option. Kevin ****** stated that he did not know why Taylor ******** would tell me such a low price. I still have the emails that were exchanged today stating that the car was promised at $12,527. Due to needing a car, I did purchase the 2013 Ford Fusion for $15,999 on June 26th, 2015.

Desired Settlement: I would like Apple Ford Lincoln to pay $3,500 to make up for the difference in the promised price and that actual sales price. The company promised a price and then at the last second changed the price in order to create more of a profit. I am able to send any emails that were exchanged between Taylor ******** and I if it is needed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/08/31) */ Received business response via e-mail to BBB, 8/27/15. Scan is attached; accompanying letter includes the following text: "Due to a computer glitch stock #19723Z, a 2013 Ford Fusion, was mispriced online. The vehicle price was updated and the vehicle was sold at that price. We recognize that Ms ****** feels like she should have been able to purchase the vehicle at the reduced price. We agree, and have sent Ms ****** a check for her requested amount of $3,500. Sincerely, Brian ******** General Manager Apple Ford Lincoln Apple Valley"

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my truck in for an oil change and returned to pick it up to find that it was now inoperable, and they had no loaner vehicles to offer me. Today, 7/1/2015, I took my 2015 Ford F350 with 17,000 miles to the Apple Valley Ford Dealership Service Department to have the oil changed and to have them take a look at an air leak noise that did not seem normal to me. They called me later to tell me that they had found two bolts missing on the exhaust system and that I should have them replaced, but that it wouldn't be under warranty. The bolts were only $8 each, so I told them to go ahead and put them on. They said it would take three hours to get the bolts. When I went back to pick the truck up, they informed me that they had to replace a sensor (which I never approved) and that something was now wrong with the PCM and the truck would not do any more than idle. They also told me that a new PCM may not be under warranty because it appeared that a programmer may or may not have at one time been installed on the exhaust system. I purchased this vehicle used about three months ago from a dealership and have made NO changes to it myself, so if there was a programmer installed at one point, it was on there from a previous owner and should have been disclosed by the dealer it was purchased from. I was also told that it could take up to a week to get a new PCM installed. Meanwhile, they also informed me that they did not have any vehicles left to loan me. When I asked if I was expected to just sleep there overnight, they offered me a shuttle home. So I dropped off my vehicle for an oil change, and now I have no way to get to work indefinitely, while my $60,000 vehicle sits at a dealership.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like a loaned vehicle delivered to my house so that I can get to work. 2. I would like a guarantee that all work to be done will be covered under warranty and in a timely fashion.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/13) */ *************** brought his 2015 Ford F350 VIN # ***************** with 16803 miles on it 7-1-15 for an oil change, vehicle health report & CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON. Here is the Complaint, Cause & Correction the service technician found. Complaint -CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON Cause - CHECKED CODES FOUND EGT 1 CODE. DIAG FOUND WRONG BOLTS IN DPF SENSORS HANGING SENSORS UNPLUGGED. REATACHECHED ALL REPLACED EGT 11 CLEARED CODES REPROGRAMED. TRUCK IS IN IDLE ONLY MODE NOW WARNING MESSAGES ON DASH. SUSPECT TRUCK WAS PREVIOSLY CHIPED ANDPF WAS DELETED. Correction - USED A STOCK UNIT PULLED INFORMATION FROM THAT TRUCK AND UPLOADED IT TO THIS PCM. TRUCK STARTS AND DRIVES GOOD. REPROGRAMED TRUCK WITH ASBUILT SO VINS MATCH ON ALL MODULES. DROVE TRUCK FOUND NEEDS TO GO THROUGH REGEN BUT WONT PREFORM DROVE WITH IDS AND FORCED REGEN. BATTERY LIGHT IS NOW ON. ALT IS CHARGING AND BATTERIES OK. Customer came in and stated that there are exhaust system components that are hanging down. We inspected and found that it appeared the exhaust emissions system had been remove and reinstalled lots of the part were left loose or missing, 2 bolts were missing and egt temp sensor was left loose causing damage to it. We installed new bolts and replaced egt temp sensor. Also we performed tsb 15-0054 and performed recalibration on the pcm as part of the egt temp sensor replacement. At this time during the reprogram we found that the pcm had the incorrect program in it that we believe is do to an aftermarket program being installed into the pcm. I have attached a pitcher showing the incorrect pcm part number. It than took many hours of work to get the correct programming into it. This was not a factory or product failure but was caused by a non factory component once in the vehicle. If you have any questions or need further assistance please feel free to contact me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are multiple errors in the complaint response statement from Apple Valley Ford. First of all, I did NOT bring my truck in with the check engine light on. I also never stated that the "exhaust system components were hanging down". I was not even aware there was a problem with the exhaust system. I was unaware that the egt temp sensor was going to be replaced and never approved the replacement of it. The only thing that I OK'd for Apple Valley Ford to do on the truck was the oil change and two missing bolts. As I stated in the initial complaint, work was done on my truck that I was unaware of, the result of which left my truck non-functioning. Also, I was told by them a couple of times that there "may or may not" have been a programmer on it. If they are so certain there was, why was I not told that there was a programmer on the truck? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/22) */ ************ spoke with **** today 7-22-15 via phone and offered **** a $250.00 in dealership credit to use on any service work in the future. **** accepted that offer and we look forward to servicing ****'s vehicles and build a strong relationship with **** going forward. ************

7/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2004 Tundra with 44,000 miles. Truck was defective and I was lied to about service hours. Letter I wrote to used car sales manager; Mr. ******** I purchased the above vehicle in April of this year. I was excited to purchase it as it had only 44,000 miles and was from Virginia and priced at $15,499, so I assumed it was in good condition. I test drove the truck with the salesman and when I hit about 40 MPH I heard a rubbing type noise coming from the what I thought at that time was the left front of the truck. The salesman heard it also. After the test drive the salesman took it in the back and had it put on the lift to see if we could locate the source of the noise. The mechanic said it was the heat shield on the left front brake was bent and rubbing against the tire. He bent it back and I thought ok it is fixed. I accepted this explanation as your service department had replaced the left axle and this can happen easily. I was going to purchase the truck the next day, but the salesman called me and said the truck had already been purchased. So I continued looking for another truck. On that Saturday the salesman called me back and said that the purchase had fell through. He said that the person who was going to buy the truck wanted something bigger. I immediately said I would purchase the truck. I had been driving a 2000 Tundra that I liked very much, with 170,000 miles on it and very few problems. So I came to the dealership and purchased the truck. I assumed that the problem with the rubbing noise had been fixed. However after about 3 days I began hearing the noise again. I thought that maybe it would go away. After about another week I called the salesman and told him I wanted to bring the truck in and have the problem fixed. I was given the number for the service department to make an appointment. When I contact the service department I was told by the lady I talked to that the department was only open Mon-Fri 8am-5pm. I work in St. Paul, 8am-4:30pm. There was no way I could bring the truck in without taking time off from work. I asked her if I could get a loaner car and she said that you do not provide that service. I was frustrated so I took the truck to my local shop to have the problem diagnosed. They said it was a problem in the rear differential and that since they do not perform that type of work I would have to take it to a transmission shop. I took the truck to an AAMCO shop and they diagnosed it as the bearings in the rear differential were bad. I had purchased an extended warranty with the truck so I did not worry too much about having it fixed. However the warranty would not cover the repairs as they deemed it was not a catastrophic failure. Bottom line. I had to pay $2500.00 out of my own pocket on something that should have been repaired by your service shop. This problem was noticed on the test drive, not fixed even though I was told it was, I was lied to about your service department hours as I learned it is open until 9pm on the weekdays and is open on weekends when I was told it was not. I am very unhappy with this purchase, I will never recommend your dealership to anyone and I will write every bad review I can. I was lied to, deceived, and the problem heard by your salesman on the test drive was not fixed and should have been diagnosed when the used car check was done when you purchased the truck from auction. How do I know the truck was purchased at auction. I am not new to the used vehicle purchasing world. I took a chance and trusted your salespeople and service people. I will never again. **************

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for the repairs. The salesman heard it and lied about it being fixed. The service department lied about their hours. I was forced to take it to a local repair company to have the problem properly diagnosed and repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/07/15) */ *** See Attached *** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2015/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In the Response from Apple Valley Ford they say I heard a noise about three days after I purchased the used 2004 Tundra. They neglect to mention that I also stated I and the salesman heard the noise on the test drive, and that the salesman went as far as having the vehicle lifted up on a hoist and had mechanic look at it. The mechanic said that it was the heat shield on the left front brake rubbing and bent it out. From my original letter " I test drove the truck with the salesman and when I hit about 40 MPH I heard a rubbing type noise coming from the what I thought at that time was the left front of the truck. The salesman heard it also. After the test drive the salesman took it in the back and had it put on the lift to see if we could locate the source of the noise. The mechanic said it was the heat shield on the left front brake was bent and rubbing against the tire. He bent it back and I thought ok it is fixed. I accepted this explanation as your service department had replaced the left axle and this can happen easily." I also sent this same email to Mr. ******* the used car manager on Sat 5/16/2015 10:33 AM ************** <*********@centurylink.net> 2004 Toyota Tundra purchase To '*********@appleautos.com'. So I did try to communicate with the dealership. I sent this email to Mr. ******* even though I was in Ill. on my two week National Guard training in an attempt to reach a solution. I was lied to by their staff and I was forced to take the matter into my own hands. I was even told by Mr. ******* in recent phone calls this month. July 8th at 9:03 pm he stated that the department he uses for used cars is only open Mon-Fri till 5:00pm. I still have the Voice mail saved. As far as not communicating I called Mr. ******* Twice on July 7, three times on July 8th and once on July 9, we however played phone tag throughout. I did not return Mr. *******'s last call on July 9th because he stated that he would not reimburse me for the work I had done to fix the Tundra. Today July 17th 2015 I received in the mail a check for $1,000.00 from Apple Valley Ford as a "Goodwill" gesture. This tells me that they know that something was wrong with the customer service. I will accept the check and consider the matter closed. However I nor any of my family members, my son had recently purchased a used Chevy pick at Apple Valley Ford, will no longer do business their. Their sales people are deceptive and untrustworthy. I did not spend two tours in Afghanistan and Iraq to be treated this way. In the military INTEGRITY is of the up-most importance. It is not something that is taken from you, it is something you give away. They have given theirs' away and it is really sad. I will consider this matter closed.

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In order to close a sale I was promised future services as they were not available at time of purchase. Dealer will not honor them now. I purchased a 2007 Shelby GT500 on Dec 21, 2014 from Apple Valley Ford. I was concerned that because of already existing aftermarket parts that the car may or may not have been tuned correctly as required with those changes. The salesman, Dan ******, assured me that they would check that for me on their in house dyno, but they do not run it in the winter, and would just have to bring it back in march or april. No problem I was told. Apple Valley Ford is a respected SVT dealer so I thought nothing of it. I texted Dan at the end of March to find out when I could bring it in, no response, he apparently no longer works there. I called and asked for Casey, the in house tech, which is who Dan told me in December to talk to. He no longer works there either. After three weeks of talking to various people in parts and service, I was repeatedly told they would have to ask someone else and get back to me. I was not called back, and forced to spend time trying to chase down an answer. Finally talking to the used car sales manager I was told it was never written down by the salesman that they would do that for me, and thus nothing they could do. Then was given the dumb guy answer of, if there is no lights coming on it should be running fine. This is a high performance collector car, which they supposedly specialize in, so I took the salesmans word, and hand shake, that this would be checked with no issues whatsoever. However, the salesmans apparent lack of knowledge about this car, its capabilities, or the attention to paperwork detail, has now brought me to file this complaint. Whether or not it was in writing is apparently my fault, not the dealerships, who employed someone to represent them that did not follow through on their end to fullfill promises made in order to close a deal on a specialty vehicle. I felt good about the purchase, never gave it another thought because it was "no problem" to take care of for me. I was accused of making up promises to get a free tune, when I made it very clear I only want it checked to make sure it is done correctly so as not to do any damage to the motor long term, not to increase power in any way. This was a dream car for me to purchase, and I was promised things in order to make a sale, and now that their employee didn't do his job correctly, and is no longer there, they are washing their hands of it, and telling me they will do nothing. Not their problem, I bought it that way, according to them. This dealer is an hour from my home, and would have gotten all of my service business in the future, but I will be looking elsewhere now, and when people ask me at car shows, in parking lots, or anywhere else, where I bought it, I will have plenty to tell them to steer them clear of buying their SVT car here. Extremely disappointed in how long it took to get an answer, and the manner in which I was told not their problem, if no service lights are present, it "should be fine". So if I want to get it checked now I have to incur all of those costs, $900 according to their service dept, those are now my responsability, after paying full price, all because of an empty guarantee made by their salesman to close a deal.

Desired Settlement: Just want them to keep their word, which as a dealer means any employee speaks for them, and represents them. Now all costs of getting it checked are up to me, which according to their service dept would be over $900 for them to do it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/07/15) */ *** See Attached *** Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/07/17) */ Mike ******* the Fixed Operations Director at Apple Ford Lincoln of Apple Valley spoke with ************ Thursday afternoon 7-16-15 and offered the resolution of reimbursing **** the $750.00 that he had spent at**********************. **** accepted the resolution and will be receiving a check in the amount of $750.00 from Apple Ford Lincoln in the mail at his Elk River MN residence. Mike *******

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Used car purchased July of 2014. Within 1 month new transmission and multiple other repairs needed. Lack of integrity and honesty on part of dealer. Dear Apple Autos and To Whom It May Concern, We purchased a 2008 Saturn Vue from your dealership back in July 2014. At the time of purchase the vehicle made a deep throaty noise, when we returned it to your service department about a week later we were told that your mechanics were unable to hear any noise and that the noise that we were referring to was most likely just the hum of the engine. It was then after 3.5 weeks of owning this car on our way to the hospital to deliver our daughter that the transmission went out. Because of our emergency surgery and delivery we were in the hospital for a week. Once we were discharged my husband brought the car back to you with the bad transmission and we were told that because we were now outside of your 30 day money back guarantee by 4 days that we would be responsible for half of the cost to fix it. We felt at the time that was not exactly fair but we agreed as we needed our car back for doctor's appointments and treatments for our newborn. As if that wasn't enough 5 months after that Jan 2015 on my way to work and less than 6,000 miles put on the vehicle since we have owned it the engine began to stall out. Again we brought it to you and we were told that we needed a new fuel pump and possibly other fixes and were quoted at least $1,300. It was at this time we began to feel like the vehicle we were sold was a lemon. Now granted we understand that buying a used car comes with certain risks but what we couldn't understand was two major expenses inside of 6 months and quite frankly the complete lack of urgency or care on the part of Apple Autos. Beyond frustrated we decided to trade in the Saturn out of fear of additional expenses for another vehicle and were directed to a sales manager by your service department. After our intial conversation with him we did not hear a word from him for almost a week. We were now going on a week with NO car and NO resolution. We were never offered a loaner car and when we inquired about one, we were quoted $40 per day that's $280 per week on top of the already quoted $1,300. In addition not a single returned phone call or email. NOTHING! After about 10 days it was established that they would give us around $7,000 for the Saturn and to just "show up" that weekend to look for a new car as Apple was having a sale again, REAL helpful. So at this point we had paid $11,500 for the car plus $250 for a service and oil change plan plus $1,000 to fix the transmission plus the $118 to "diagnose" the fuel pump (incorrectly) and we are now being offered 7k. That's a $5,800 bath for owning a car 6 months and driving it 6,000 miles. That is OUTRAGIOUS. At this point we no longer trust your dealership so we decided to take the car to our own mechanic, whom we trust, for a second opinion. He was initially suspicious of your quote for a fuel pump for $1,300 and quoted us $650.00 for the same work. I am curious to know why and how there is that great of a difference for the same part and the same amount of work. This to me is AMAZING; you can clearly see how this feels extremely dishonest on the part of Apple Auto. Our mechanic has had the car for 12 hours you had it almost 2 weeks and has discovered that it is in fact NOT a fuel pump but a mass air flow censor. The vehicle is now fixed for $270.00. It makes me question what else we would have been charged for that we didn't need had we left the car in the hands of your service department. Did we actually need a transmission back in August or was that a farce? It is because of the complete lack of urgency, honesty and the above facts that we have decided to no longer do business with Apple Autos. I am writing this letter because we are formally requesting a complete refund of $368 for the service package we bought for $250.00 (none of which we have used)and a refund for the incorrect $118 fuel pump diagnosis.

Desired Settlement: $368.00 refund. $250 for a service package we do not intend to use for reasones previously explained, and $118 for a diagnosis scan that was incorrect.

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of communication regarding the repair to my car, for a drivers side rear door lock, damage to my car from shop & failure to credit my account Made an appt for my car to be fixed, dropped it off, (this is in June) they had my car for 3 days before even contacting me to tell me that the car wouldn't be fixed due to a back order of the part. Very inconvenient to be without a car! I picked up the car and they they duck taped the door shut as it wouldn't close/stay shut. After I had been calling almost everyday to find out if the part was in and being told it should be the next day, etc. I brought my car in again 6/13 and was told they would fix it.****** told me he would make sure that the residue from the tape would be taken care of--6/16/14 picked up my car, left and noticed at the gas station that the residue was still on my car AND they had scratched my front bumper while in the shop!!! I had called to complain and no one got a hold of me until my husband stopped in there to find out what the problem was. He received ******'s personal cell phone number and was told he would call me. Well, he didn't--I had to call him. I complained about the service, the Customer Service--the lack thereof, the damages to my car. He offered to do an executive detail on my car which I accepted--it didn't remove any of the scratches by the way, and he also said I could come in to receive AT LEAST an $80.00 credit on my credit card for all the convenience. That has NEVER happened. No one seems to know what is going on at the desk with nothing written down by ****** to handle it seeing as though he never seems to be there. I called him 7/16/14 at 12:35 p.m. and asked, yet again, if we could get the credit taken care of and he asked if he could call me back in 10 minutes as he was in the shop. Well, it is 7/24/14 and I have yet to receive a call. I am so disgusted with the lack of customer service, care, concern, etc. I will never go back to AV Ford-- it's unfortunate as we have been loyal customers for years.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least the $80 credit on my credit card. This has been a very frustrating and very inconvenient experience. I was without a car for 6-7 days, they damaged my car and I am supposed to eat it? I don't think that that is right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/01) */ Thank you for advising us of this customer issue. We have been in communication with Ms. **** and have resolved her complaint. Our Service Manager ************* has issued the $80 credit she has requested. She came to our Dealership on Tuesday, July 29th and work on her bumper has begun. We are committed to seeing Ms. **** vehicle repair completed in a prompt and professional manner. Thank you once again for the opportunity to remedy this issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do NOT accept the response from the business. Work has not begun on my bumper, I was told I would be contacted within a couple of days with an appointment for paint job and haven't heard anything since. I did receive the $80.

8/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Return of 2013 Escape (RAV worksheet) and purchase of a replacement F150 truck, 25 days later no plates, or finacing completed. June 25th, recieved a reward breakdown for my 2013 Escape from ************ w/RAV Headquarters stating I could upgrade to a F150 Truck, and would have to pay off the remainder of my Escape lease. Apple Valley Ford stated they did not know how to do this and needed additional time, and they would get back to us. On July 3rd I received a call from ************ at Apple Valley Ford, that they paperwork had been submitted for approval. I stopped by on my way home from work to see what dollar amount he had submitted and it was for the replacement F150, $23760.00, I asked about the remainder of the Escape and he stated they had waived it, and this was the final total. I signed the purchase agreement for the F150, signed a Limited Power of Attorney for the title on the Escape, Release for the Escape, Application for duplicate title, or lien card, Odometer Disclosure statement, reacquired vehicle inspection/condition report all for the 2013 Escape return. I left with the replacement F150. The finacing is thru Ford Credit. On July 21st, I received an email from Ford credit, I thought it was going to be for the new loan, but it stated I was passed due on the Escape, I called them ASAP, and they stated they had not received any paperwork on the new loan, and that they had spoken with ************ on June 27th, and had provided him paperwork that needed to be completed PRIOR to any transaction, they had never heard back from him. They told me they would call Apple Valley Ford/************ and get back to me, as of yet I haven't received a call. Last week my husband called Apple Valley Ford to see where the license plates were, he was told that the state is behind and it will be a couple more days. He also received a call from **** the Apple Valley manager stating he would need until Monday (today) to get the plates. On Friday the 25th, I recieved a call from Apple Valley Ford/***** who handles leasing stating I needed to stop by and sign a additional release form,, and could I do it today? I stopped in within a 1/2 hour, only to be approached by ***** and **** stating I needed to pay an additional $24, 000 to release the lein on the 2013 Escape to complete the transaction. I can provide all documentation that I have to date, but now am at a loss for what to do next. I feel that I have been lied to by Apple Valley Ford and do not trust them.

Desired Settlement: To Finalize my loan that was agreed upon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/11) */ This letter is written in response to BBB Case#******** Consumer: ******** Apple Ford Lincoln Appel Valley assisted Ms. ******** in the return of her Ford Reacquired vehicle which was a leased vehicle. She had worked in previous months with Ford Motor Company Reacquired Vehicle Headquarters (RAV) with her complaints in regards to the 2013 Ford Escape. Her settlement agreement with RAV indicates if there is not a transfer of collateral, financing must be obtained for the new vehicle, and that the amount financed for the new vehicle must equal the payoff of the reacquired vehicle plus any upgrade charges, mileage charge, taxes, etc. As shown in the RAV settlement provided (see attached). Ms. ******** chose to upgrade to a 2014 Ford F-150 with the cost of $50, 094.60 as shown in the RAV instructions, it shows that Apple Ford Lincoln was to be receiving $26,334.60 for the payoff of the present lease which needs to be used to pay off Ford motor Credit for the balance of the 2013 Escape as shown in the "Financing" section of the RAV instructions. This the dealer being the pass through between Ford Motor Company and Ford Motor Credit for the payoff, it leaves the entire balance of the newly chosen upgraded vehicle to the full responsibility of the Ms. ********. We understand Ms. ********'s frustration as the document from Ford RAV can be extremely confusing without reading all of the attached and understanding the meaning behind each stipulation. The section labeled "Financing" details all of these instructions in very full detail. Ford Motor Company has indeed agreed to assist Ms. ******** in returning her 2013 Ford Escape lease before the end date, due to Ms. ******** choosing to upgrade to a vehicle at almost double the cost it remains Ms. ********'s full responsibility to pay for the vehicle of her choice in full plus tax, license, etc. If she were to choose a comparable priced vehicle, her payment, lease or retail, would remain at or approximately close to her present payment. "Replacement of collateral transaction" (or equal trade) is quite common, but the monies owed still remain the same to the lender. Ms. ******** believes her payment for the 2014 F150 should only be at the $23,760, as she is misinterpreting the RAV paper work received. We are very happy to assist Ms. ******** with the financing but she is unwilling to communicate with us. Ms. ******** has our 2014 vehicle presently and has not satisfied the requirements of the RAV. We have voided all funds sent to us by check and have returned them to Ford Motor Company as they work through this misunderstanding with Ms. ********. Neither her presently owned 2013 Ford Escape has been paid off nor has Apple been settled for the payment of the 2014 F150 which Ms. ******** has possession of. We have made continual efforts to remain in contact with Ms. ******** in working to facilitate her transaction with Ford Motor Company over the last 30 days. Despite our inability to reach her or receive a return call, we made a payment on the Ford Escape in an effort to create good will and ease her burden of time in this matter. In these attempts, we have also asked that Ms. ******** return the F150 to the Dealership until corrected paperwork is resolved with Ford Motor Company. The vehicle is not registered, and is legally uninsured. She has not returned phone calls stating this request. As of today, Friday, August 8th, Ford Motor Company has advised us that settlement documentation will be provided either later today, or on Monday, August 11th. We thank you for the opportunity to respond to this customer issue. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/08/11) */ Received additional documentation from dealership related to transaction -- scan is attached.

5/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated service for issues caused by service to driver's door. The vehicle was serviced on date 04/19/2014 under ford extended warranty for the door ajar light on the dashboard being on when the door was closed completely (drivers door). This issue was resolved and the car was returned to me. The next morning I noticed the driver's door would not open from the outside (I locked my car overnight), this issue went on for a few days before I called to schedule repair for this issue which was obviously caused by the warranty repair. The vehicle was dropped off for service of this door opening issue (serviced 04/23/2014). Then the service department told me that the door didn't match ford's engineering spec and that they got it fixed. I was then called to be informed that the return of my vehicle was delayed because the window switches on the drivers door were now loose, so they were going to take the door apart again and repair prior to returning it to me (which I appreciated!). I then got the vehicle back on 04/24/2014. As it had been raining a great deal for several days after I picked up the car I didn't use the window. I noticed on 05/01/2014 that the driver's window makes a terrible screeching sound when in use. I called the manager of service on 05/05/2014 ****, he hasn't called me back. I am unable to take it to another dealer for repair as they will charge me for a workmanship issue (Apple Valley Ford's service departments inability to put the door back together correctly is not covered under the ford ESP warranty).

Desired Settlement: I would like my car repaired and returned to me with no additional problems caused by the repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/14) */ *************, Service Manager made contact with Ms. ****** on the morning of May 13, 2014. She advised that the vehicle window was squeaking/screeching when rolling down for a week or so, but now seems to working like it should. ******* doesn't feel at this point that she needs to have anything addressed on her vehicle at this time. She is fine with the repair performed and is planning to continue to drive the vehicle. We informed her if it did it again to just come in and we would take care of the concern right away for her. Thank you for providing us the opportunity to ensure Ms. ******'s satisfaction.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a nice used car from the dealership. It was a Jeep that had low miles and a great sports package. Part of the accessory package was running boards that had been advertized on the vehicle. When we picked it up in early September, they were not on the car. We were told thy were defective and new ones were being ordered. Then we were told they were in fact the wrong ones all along. At this point our sales person (we'll call him ***) stopped responding to email. I contacted the parts manager who now owned the problem. He said he would order new running boards and call me when they came in. He never called after 4 weeks. I then called and talked with a sales manager who seemed like he wanted to help solve this. He looked into things and called me back and said the only way to put running boards on was to remove the mud flaps. He gave us the choice of the running boards or a cash refund of $350. we wanted the running boards so we asked him to please order them and call us when they came in. Well that call never cam and now no one will admit they were the person I talked to. Amazing they would be so unresponsive to an issue that was easy and inexpensive to fix. Terrible follow through and I would advise anyone wanting to do business with these guys to write down details of every call and get the dealer's commitments in writing. They are not true to their word.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund At this point we would take an apology and the $350 offer. We'll take the money and buy an aftermarket product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/03/18) */ Received business response via e-mail to BBB: "The issue that Mr. ******* indicates in his written complaint is one in which we accept full responsibility. Our used vehicle disclaimer advertised the inclusion of running boards that were not on the vehicle. Mr. ******* had previously made attempts to have these running boards ordered and mounted after the sale was completed. We failed to deliver by not following up with Mr. ******* and ensuring his satisfaction. On February 14th , Used Car Manager ********** attempted to contact Mr. ******* via telephone. Luke Butze, our Aftermarket Manager was able to make contact with Mr. ******* and began to attempt to locate running boards for him that would fit the vehicle and still accommodate the mud flaps on the vehicle. We are unable to locate any running boards that fit his request. ********** spoke with Mr. ******* on February 20th and the two discussed his dissatisfaction and the areas in which we fell short. As a result of this conversation, we have issued a refund check in the amount of $350 as requested by Mr. *******. This check was mailed on Friday, February 21, 2014. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to make resolution with this customer."


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Apple Valley Ford Lincoln
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart