BBB Accredited Business since

Unique Specialty & Classics, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (507) 386-1726 Fax: (507) 386-1847 1000 S Victory Dr, Mankato, MN 56001 http://www.uniqueclassiccars.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Unique Specialty & Classics, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Unique Specialty & Classics, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Unique Specialty & Classics, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2006 Business started: 05/16/2006 in MN Business started locally: 05/16/2006 Business incorporated 05/16/2006 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jeremy Thomas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Jeremy Thomas, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Auto Dealers - Used Cars Consignment Service - Automobile Automobile Reconditioned Detailing Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Restoration

Service Area
Worldwide
Products & Services

According to information provided by Unique Specialty & Classics, this company offers a full service classic and specialty car dealership. They also have the ability to buy, sell, trade and consign vehicles in the sales department.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 1000 S Victory Dr

    Mankato, MN 56001 (507) 386-1726

  • 14954 Aberdeen St NE

    Ham Lake, MN 55304

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this auto dealer in good faith in accordance with the sales description provided by the seller. Upon receipt of the vehicle I noticed that several undisclosed issues existed with the vehicle. I attempted on several occasions to discuss this with the business and they are not willing to assist in covering costs of repairs to bring the vehicle to as described condition or to accept the vehicle as a return. In particular: there was no mention that the vehicle which is manual transmission did not have a parking brake; had areas of rust not shown in the pictures; had no horn; Had a bypass switch installed for the ignition which indicates previous/existing problems; had the power line for a stereo component attached to the fuel line with a flex tie; windshield wipers did not work; fuel pump required to be replaced; firewall is rusted and requires replacement; battery needed to be replaced; drivers side door does not close completely; and fuel gauge does not work properly. Prior to purchasing the vehicle I notified the seller of two issues that were visible in the pictures. They said they would fix one of the issues but said the other issue was just a shadow in the picture. When the vehicle arrived I noticed that the second statement was not true as there is significant rust on the underside of the body of the vehicle. I also was very specific that I was not interested in the vehicle if had rust issues. I began to look more closely at the vehicle and noticed the other area of rust on the firewall, the hood and along the body. I notified the dealer and they initially seemed to be willing to consider sharing the cost of repairs. A subsequent call today with the dealer to discuss dollar amounts resulted in the dealer informing me that I should have inspected the vehicle prior to purchase and not willing to share any cost of repairs. I fully believe the dealer must have know that the issues existed prior to the sale and purposely left those areas out of the online advertisement and the listing write up thereby creating a less than truthful ad in the attempt to seel this vehicle in a condition contrary to what was advertised.

Desired Settlement: I have already spent in excess of $1,300.00 in repairs to this vehicle without even beginning to address the rust issues. If the dealer is not willing to share costs with me at this point I think it is only fair that they accept the vehicle as a return with a full refund to me. I would also expect them to pay for transport of the vehicle back to Minnesota.

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear that Mr. ****** is not 100% happy with his vehicle he purchased from us. We certainly want that for ALL of our customers. 

We do everything we can best represent the vehicles that we sell. We take pictures of all sides of the vehicles...inside, outside, engine, underbody, chassis, and we also sent him a video walkaround of the truck. We also allow and in fact encourage anyone to come and inspect any of the vehicles themselves, or even send a 3rd party inspector. When having an inspection done was brought up to Frank, he replied in an email stating "...it is a waste of good money."

As much as we try to represent vehicles as accurate as possible, this is still a 60 YEAR OLD vehicle. We did not build the truck, we did not restore the truck, it was a trade in to us and came in just as it sits now. Everyone has different tastes and expectations, that is human nature. But if Mr ****** truly wanted a brand new, PERFECT 60 year old car he should have taken the time to look at it himself or have it inspected. 

We sent the buyer all of the info he requested from us and then some. Its interesting to note that even though ***** complains of the vehicle here, on his Facebook page he boasts of how the well it runs saying "....Thanks, it definitely gets up and goes when you give it a little gas!"  

In closing, again I dont like to see any customer not 100% satisfied. We did try to work with ***** and asked him to send an estimate of work to us and I would look at it and decide from there. We have not received such paperwork.  We did nothing wrong in this transaction, however, strictly as an effort of GOOD WILL I would be willing to offer ***** $500 for him to do with as he wishes. 

Business Response:

Received follow-up response from Unique Specialty & Classics -- includes attached JPG's of bill of lading, delivery checklist.

Text of accompanying e-mail reads as follows:

"I will try to address his statements as they REALLY happened.

"Lastly and most importantly to me at this point, is the rust issues with this vehicle. I was very specific in inquiring into the condition of the body of this vehicle and was told there were no rust issues..."

First off, in his own statement he says he asked about a rust issue he saw, we went and looked at the area he questioned. He then had us repair that area as a condition of the vehicle purchase. Obviously if we are fixing a rust issue at his request, it would literally be IMPOSSIBLE for us to say there were no rust issues. That was never said, plain and simple... also the pictures he could see of the vehicle showed the underbody, thats how he knew of the rust in the first place.

As far as the runability of the vehicle, we had driven the car around here to a couple of local events with no issues whatsoever. We also have the bill of lading AND a transport delivery checklist that is signed off by the driver stating that the car starts, runs, battery etc...please see attached.

Lastly, and as by our business history, we are not one of the guys that hides behind the "AS IS -NO WARRANTY portion of the transaction. That is why I offered a $500 payment to him strictly out of good will only. HOWEVER, that is a fact that cannot be overlooked. 

In a nutshell:
customer had a bevy of photos and a live video walkaround of the truck running.
customer had every opportunity to inspect the vehicle personally
customer had every opportunity and was even asked if he wanted to send a 3rd party inspector, he stated it was a waste of money.
customer signed off on the transport bill of lading that everything was ok when vehicle was delivered to him.
Again, I never like to see unhappy customers, but in this case we did everything we could to show him the vehicle. Unique has done NOTHING wrong, and I will stand by my original offer of the $500. If there is any sort of false statement made about my business to the public or online however, I will revoke this offer. 

******"


Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:

First I would like to say as a West Point graduate, I do not take accusations against my integrity lightly. I have tried to be as flexible as I think is possible in this transaction even going so far as to not even ask for repayment of the mechanical issues that were not disclosed with respect to this vehicle. I believe it would be advisable for the dealership to more closely review the legal aspects of the "As Is" sales agreement, and I think they would find it is valid when the description of the vehicle is presented in as accurate a way as possible without attempting to not disclose any known defects that would make the vehicle unable to drive in a safe manner. At this point in time I am only asking for what constitutes a fair portion of the required repairs that remain to bring this vehicle up to the standards of what was represented in their ad. I will wait until the end of next week for a more agreeable response. If I do not receive a revised response I will pursue resolution of this matter through the court system.

I have been asked by the transporter to provide an alternate estimate for the repairs and will have that done on Saturday. I will do the same for the estimate of the work required for the dealership as well. If the new estimate is lower than the previous one I will revise my new total to whatever represents half of what the estimate indicates.

Lastly, I would ask that the dealership more closely review their correspondence. The rust issue I indicated in the picture I forwarded was provided after the original item was noticed which I believe they did remove. The e-mail response form their salesperson was  to the effect of I went outside and ran my hand across the area in question and you will have no issues there this is a solid truck.


11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: asked was any problems with car asked them take it for a ride out for defects. car e brake broken 5"play steering, rear shocks leak p/s is broken they gave me there word nothing was wrong w/car.power steering is broken and leeking exesses amount of play in

Desired Settlement: e brake broken, power steering pump broken an leeks fluid steering wheel has so much play in it unsafe to drive rear shocks are leeking was told buy my local mechanic rack and pinion will have to be replaced to the tune of several hundred dollars all this after they gave me there word "not a think wrong with car"they will no take car back.why would they as they got there money and i am stuck with a car worth nothing 2700.00 for a piece of junk they knew about failed e brake not passing inspection in 2011 documented.i would like 8000.00 just to get car safe to drive

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/10) */ When driving this car to inspect it, the vehicle went down the road well. There was not much play in the steering wheel and I didn't at anytime feel it was unsafe to drive. The previous owner had been driving it to car shows all spring and early summer prior to trading it in with no problems. We had the vehicle parked on our lot in a couple different places prior to being shipped to ** and it did not leave puddles nor did the power steering "growl" like it was low on fluid. As far as the e-brake being broken, I admittedly never checked that nor did ** ask me to. The car is an automatic and I guess I can't remember the last time I personally used an e-brake in an automatic car. The rear shocks are "air" shocks. Over a period of time it is not uncommon for air shocks to settle if sitting for awhile. This particular car has an on board compressor that would pump them up depending on how you would like the "stance" of the car to be. I have never said to anyone that "there is not a thing wrong with the car". We work with and sell cars 50-60-80 years and older. Any car may have it's quirks and problems that I won't find. I called ** back when I found out he was not happy and went through all of this with him. I told him I really felt like I gave it a fair assessment of what I found. If we could work out a trade on something else down the road we offered to work with him that way also. We also are very open to outside inspectors coming in to look at vehicles for potential customers before they purchase them. We try to represent the vehicles as best we can through pictures of the body, interior, and underside were in the advertisement ANY leaks would have been visible. We also post videos of the cars. I explained all of this to ** and felt I had given him a fair assessment of the car. He also had every opportunity to view the car in person if he wanted to. We NEVER like to have that someone who is unhappy with their purchase, however, I can say that this car was NOT misrepresented and it appears ** may simply have a case of buyers remorse. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) it is not a case of buyers remorse if the think it is such a nice car perhaps they will buy it back i am willing to settel for 22,000 i paid 27,000 so can have car back with a 5,000 profit also new tyers are on car

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sale rep ***************** sends out a mass email to hundreds of other customers/prospects that includes my email address and shows my email to others Sale rep ***************** sends out a mass email to hundreds of other customers/prospects that includes my email address and shows my email to others. I have no desire for all their customers and prospects to have my email information. Seems like a violation of Privacy Act and grounds for a law suit.

Desired Settlement: Delete all my contact information from their records and stop sending everyones emails to everyone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ We received an email directly from Mr. ******* stating his concern. We do send out emails to our clients and unfortunately in this instance and email did go out where his email and others were visible to everyone in that message. **** emailed him back right away, explained that it was an accident that it happened that way and apologized profusely, as well as his name and email address was removed from the list immediately. Again, we are sorry for this mistake and we have already changed our internal policy to double check this issue before these emails go out so this doesnt happen again.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discovering a tear in the seat of the pick up I purchased, I was promised the Company would "make it right" and receive a call. Both promises ignored. On 10/8/13 I purchased a '59 Ford Pick-up from Unique Specialty & Classics of Mankato, MN. I traded a '64 T-bird for $10,00, explaining it was worth $12K without considering the exceptionally low miles. I sold low, explaining that I wasn't a mechanic but I knew some work needed to be done on it. In perfect condition my T-bird would be worth about $22K. The photos emailed to me of the '59 Pick-up showed only 2/3 of the seat. I phoned Unique Auto, asking about the interior. The answer was, "This truck is "CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN!" After several phone calls & emails I agreed to buy the truck for $17,500, trading my T-bird for $10K, paying $3,000 in cash, & the rest I took out a loan. I spoke to several sales reps, but mostly to *****. He said the Pick-up would be delivered the next day (10/9/13) and Unique Auto would pick up my T-bird at the same time. When it arrived the delivery/driver went through my car, lifting the liner in the trunk, checking the motor, interior, underneath, etc. describing it in great condition. Then I checked the Pick-up and quickly discovered the tears in the seat, one about 10 inches, one 6 inches, and one on the side about 12 inches, going from the side and around to the front. I immediately said to the driver, "I would never have bought this Pick-up had I known about the torn seat!" The driver responded, "I'm sure they'll make it right." When I insisted on more assurance he called, then said, "They'll make it right. I'm sure they'll make you happy. ***** will call you tomorrow." I asked the driver to make a note of it in the sales document. He wrote: "Getting a quote on the interior - ***** is supposed to call" Again I asked if his addendum meant Unique Auto was willing to do something about the tears in the seat and he said "I'm sure." I never received the promised phone call so I called Unique Auto (10/10/13) and found myself talking to *****. When he asked me how I liked the Pick-up I told him I wasn't a "happy camper" and that the information provided to me about the interior was a little "disingenuous". Immediately ***** became angry, and rather than listening to my complaint or giving it any respect, ***** turned the table, saying loudly that he didn't like being called dishonest. He then suggested I was dishonest my self, not telling them about all the "bondo". ***** was clearly not interested in listening to me. In 11 years I never knew about any bondo in my '64 T-bird, nor did the driver/inspector say he saw bondo. ***** would not hear any thing about the delivery/driver's promise to "make it right" about the tears - several times - one time in writing. I reminded ***** that I would not have bought the vehicle without that promise but ***** wouldn't hear it. Our conversation concluded with ***** saying "****** will call you tomorrow." However, ****** (the President of the company never called (**********@gmail.con) so on 10/18/13 I sent by "reply" to me, a series of email message between Unique Auto and myself, detailing my complaint and reminding them of their promise to call me and "make it right." I have still heard nothing (twenty-three days. I would like them to make some sort of effort to contact me in order to "make it right." Info re. Sales Agreement with Unique Specialty & Classics Stock #2337M Purchased: 10/08/13 Make:Ford; Model:Pick-up; Year: 1959 Vin: *********** Sales Rep: ******** Purchase date: 10/8/13 Delivery Date: 10/9/13 Problem Date: 10/9/13

Desired Settlement: I would like Unique Specialty & Classics to pay for the tears to the seat, to, in their words, "make it right".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ I have recieved this message and will reply as follows: First off I am sorry to hear that Mr. ********* was unhappy with the condition of the seat in his truck. We obviously want all of our customers to be happy with their purchase. I do also apologize that for what ever reason this concern did not reach me. I did not know that I was supposed do call Mr. *********. I do remember there being a slit in the vinyl seat of this truck and it was visible in the online pictures as I recall. If there were more than one slit I guess I dont recall them at this time. Bottom line is, I just wish Mr. ********* would have just emailed or called me directly so we could have gotten this handled. Obviously purchasing a 50+ year old vehicle is done so in AS IS condition and Mr. ********* as well as any of our customers are ALWAYS welcome to look at the vehicle in person before purchasing. Unique does our best to accurately describe the vehicles we sell, but that of course does not constitute any sort of warranty or guarantee. All that being said, I am willing to contribute $250 towards the cost of getting a new seat cover for his truck as a matter of good will.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Unique Specialty & Classics, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)