BBB Accredited Business since

Automotive Restyling Concepts, Inc.

Phone: (763) 535-2181 Fax: (763) 971-0501 View Additional Phone Numbers 2731 Nevada Ave N, New Hope, MN 55427 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ac-mn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Automotive Restyling Concepts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Automotive Restyling Concepts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Automotive Restyling Concepts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 1998 Business started: 11/06/1986 Business started locally: 11/06/1986 Business incorporated 11/06/1986 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Catherine Juul, President/CFO Jeremy Luffey, General Manager Dino Perfelti, Sales Manager John Prosser, Owner/CEO Trisha Wasick, Office Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Catherine Juul, President/CFO
Business Category

Auto Customizing Auto Detailing Automobile Reconditioned Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Sunroofs Carburetors Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Service - Specialty Parts Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service Auto Service - Window Tinting Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims Wheels Auto Alarms & Security Systems Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair Heaters - Automotive Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
AC Motors Automotive Concepts
Products & Services

According to information provided by Automotive Restyling Concepts Inc, this company offers vehicle accessories, customizing, used vehicle sales & financing.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • 2731 Nevada Ave N

    New Hope, MN 55427 (763) 535-2181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from the dealer, the dealer lead me on concerning the extended service plan; the dealer did not give me the full cost of the plan after I asked three times. He continued to state the cost of the plan is in the paperwork. After analyzing the paper work after the purchase the plan was $2300.00, an amount I would not be willing to pay if told up front.Prior to purchasing the vehicle the dealer told me the serpentine belt would have to be replaced and the service warrantee covered this; however after trying to get the serpentine belt covered the service warrantee provider said it was not covered. After driving the vehicle I noticed the vehicle used an excessive amount of oil and come to find out this is a known manufacturer defect. The dealer did not bring this to my attention prior to my purchase. I asked the dealer to rectify the issue and he stated there was nothing he could do for me, I would have to use the extended service plan that I purchased with my vehicle if I wanted repair. I went to the Toyota dealership to have a diagnostic test, Toyota was aware of the defect, however there test indicated oil levels were appropriate. I noticed the oil consumption is only excessive in cold weather and due to the weather changes there is no way to determine the oil level. I had to purchase oil every week in order to keep the oil at an adequate level. I took it back to the Toyota service station in order to get it reevaluated and they said I would have to purchase and oil change. I declined to have an oil change because the oil ran out quicker than time allotted for it to become dirty. In my opinion this was another excessive expense that I should not have to pay because the dealer should have advised me of the factory defect prior to my purchase. I also had to replace the alternator because the worn serpentine belt caused excessive wear on the alternator pulley this was another expense. Now the engine completely went out and I believe the dealer should be held liable for repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealer to repair the full cost of the engine replacement/repair plus towing fees if applicable. I would also like the dealer to refund the cost of me having to repair the alternator due to the serpentine belt not being covered which the dealer stated would be covered. Overall, this vehicle has brought me to the point of bankruptcy all because I was not made fully aware of the issues prior to the purchase.

Business Response:

Received call from Jeremy ****** at AC Motors, providing business response.

As it concerns Mr ********'s statement that he was unaware of the cost / terms of the service plan he purchased, Mr ****** says that this was not the case -- that Mr ******** signed off on the purchase in three places.

With regard to the serpentine belt, Mr ****** says that no one at AC Motors would've discussed the condition of the serpentine belt with him prior to purchase. He says that when Mr ******** contacted AC Motors in January about the serpentine belt, the dealer expressed some initial willingness to work with him toward a resolution, but ultimately had to end the dialogue when Mr ******** became argumentative and used abusive language with employees.

Mr ****** says vehicle records indicate Mr ******** brought the vehicle into River Oaks Toyota (sp?), when it was determined that the vehicle had a hole in its motor. He says at this point, records indicate Mr ******** had put approximately 28,000 miles on the car in the span of 198 days, and when asked to provide copies of oil change records for an open Allstate claim for engine replacement, would not do so.

Mr ****** points out that Allstate has not yet denied Mr ********'s engine replacement claim, but that Mr ******** needs to provide requested oil change records to move forward with the process.

With regard to the excessive oil consumption issue, Mr ****** says Toyota actually has an open campaign on this issue, and has a process in place for consumers who feel they may be eligible for engine repair / replacement under the process.  http://www.choisserimports.com/what-to-do-about-toyotas-excessive-oil-consumption.php

Mr ****** says AC Motors is generally willing to work with customers after the sale, but that Mr ********'s previous interactions with the dealership have made it difficult to do so, and that he needs to pursue these concerns by following procedures outlined by Allstate and Toyota.



6/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a truck from AC motors in October. Since than my truck has been in the shop over four times for multiple reasons. Lucky my warranty covered majority off the cost but I've still been with out a car every time I have problems with my lemon. AC motors sold me a lemon. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund. I put way too much money down to be having all of these problems. I've only had the truck for 7 months.

Business Response:

Not having received response to date, called GM Jeremy ****** to get AC Motors' perspective. Mr ****** indicates that AC Motors has been working with Ms ****** consistently since purchase to help resolve vehicle issues, and address her concerns. He says her first two service visits to Morrie's Cadillac were covered under her warranty. On a third visit to Morrie's, part of her concern was that Morrie's would not provide her a loaner car, because she was under 21. Mr ****** says he contacted the warranty provider to see if they could help with this; AC Motors ended up providing loaner car for several weeks while car was being worked on. He says the warranty company also made an exception, and agreed to cover a non-covered repair. Mr ****** says AC Motors' understanding is that vehicle issues have been addressed, and that it feels it has worked with Ms ****** in good faith since her purchase by facilitating conversation with her warranty provider, and by providing a loaner where she may not have otherwise been able to secure one during repairs.


6/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a truck from AC Motors in Anoka and upon picking it up, had to drive the 700+ miles back to Riverton, Wyoming. Had the truck eight (8) days and the rear brake system failed, causing my fiance and I to roll through an intersection in the middle of the day. After almost being t-boned several times, we finally got the truck to coast to a stop. I had the truck towed to my local shop and upon inspection, the mechanic informed me that the brakes were rusted into dust. They actually fell off the truck when the rear tires were removed. He informed me that the truck hadn't had brakes on it for quite a while due to the shape of the rotors (what the brake pads contact to slow the vehicle). So, AC Motors sold me a truck with absolutely no brakes, knowing full well that I was going to have to drive it back to Wyoming. This is an ethical outrage! There is absolutely no possible way a safety inspection had been done on this particular vehicle prior to the sale and I certainly DID NOT "wear and tear" the brakes off the vehicle in eight days. I realize "AS-IS" means "AS-IS" but that should, by law, include the inspection of the safety features to ensure, beyond doubt, that they work properly. I, as a consumer, should not have to hope that the next used vehicle I buy has brakes!!!!! That's a basic function!!! Their negligence put my fiance and I's life in real danger. Should the brakes failed on the way home, we certainly would've been killed. I received a quote from my mechanic for $1587.27 bill for the repairs NEEDED to make the vehicle safe to drive again and AC Motors is only willing to pay half of the repair bill which is both wrong and unethical. This was caused by their malpractice of conducting business. I've never been so appalled by a company's business practice in my life.

Desired Settlement: I demand they pay the whole repair bill. This is no fault of mine and I should not be expected to put in $1600 worth of brake work to make the vehicle safe to operate 8 days after purchase. They clearly did nothing more than wash and vacuum this vehicle before putting it up for sale, not only were the brakes all but gone, the oil hasn't been changed in months. No effort was made on their part to inform me of any of this. As a dealership, they are ultimately responsible for putting a safe vehicle on the road and should be held accountable for their failing to do so. I find it incredibly ironic that AC stands for "Automotive Confidence" because the shape of this vehicle and their lack of drive for a "happy customer" invokes all but "Confidence" in their business.

Business Response:

Reached GM Jeremy ****** by phone (6/6, 5 PM) to get business response. Mr ****** says that the customer purchased an '05 Ford with about 88,000 miles on it. The truck was inspected prior to sale, but the miles on it designated it an "as is" purchase under Minnesota Used Car Warranty Law. He says the truck went from MN to CO with no issues, but Mr ***** reported about a week later that his brakes had gone out. Although the truck was purchased "as is," AC Motors made arrangements to pay for half the brake repairs on a goodwill basis. Mr ****** says AC Motors will not be able to offer further assistance at this time.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

2/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: promised one thing, installed different product than purchased. Overcharged my credit card and what i signed for. lied to every step of the way. I was calling around getting estimates a couple weeks ago on different tv/dvd units for the rear of a 2015 chevy silverado. After calling several places i thought i had a pretty good idea of what i was looking for. I called AC and spoke wit Kurt ****. who assured me the Best option are the headrest units, better picture, better resale etc... agreed on a # and set up a time for install. We agreed for 2 8" monitors with separate dvd players in touchscreen in Advent brand, because Kurt assured me it was WAY better quality than audiovox wich is cheaper from competitors. (Dino later told me they are the same brand). It was a huge inconvenience to give the truck up for a day because it is our only vehicle that holds all 3 car seats for our little ones, i begged my mom to take the day off to help accommodate. They picked the truck up from my office and promised to return by 4pm when we close for the day. At 5pm i called Kurt and asked where was my truck he told me the driver left before 4. At 5:30 when he finally showed he told me Kurt will say anything and he didnt leave until around 5pm. no call or anything. I signed without looking in back, the only paper i have ever even seen for 1615-. i was charged not 1615- but 1733-. i had to fly to my oldest daughters school where she was in after care for the first time ever because i was 1 1/2 hours behind schedule. when we got home i immeadiatly jumped in back and called Kurt in horror to get no answer. Neither screen was touchscree.! i called a couple competitors and they told me its about 300 per screen upgrade. 600 total. Thats what we agreed to! i called again, no answer. So we decide to throw a movie in and test them out. I live in Woodbury, well maintained roads. The screens vibrate SO much the dvd stopped twice in a few blocks. NOW im livid 1733 for dvd players that hardly work. The next day or two my vehicle tried starting itself EVERY time i took the key out. Literally. In a panic i called Kurt again he ASSURED me there is No way they could have done anything that would effect that, so my wife took another day off school, my mom another day off work to help with the kids. my mom brother with downs syndrome, and all 3 kids were forced to hang out in the lobby at the dealership from 7am to 1:30pm. were the conclusion is it was the new dvd players you installed. now GM is no longer responsible for the electrical portion of my 3,000 warranty. Again I called, now they want to look at it asap...So my wife skips yet another day of class, my mom another day of work. DAY #3. I called and spoke with the manager Dino while at a show in Vegas who assured me they would fix it, and that audiovox is advent. UGHHHH. Brian the other manager called me and said now ill take over, he asked what would make me happy. I told him i put the original head rests back in the truck put them back. My 200 wallmart strap on ones work WAY better. He asked to give him a chance to fix it. Brian test drove my vehicle, agreed there not ouch screen, He also said he weighs 330lbs and even with him in the front seat with the truck stopped at an idle the screens shook unbearably. His advice was wait until my kids were taller and we wouldnt have to tilt them so much?? funny the 2nd driver told me it was the smoothest truck he had ever driven. Brian promised he would call me back last Monday, he was deer hunting and called me on Thursday to tell me i would hear something that afternoon, i never got a call, I called Monday to say what gives? why was over charged why no touchscreen why was i lied to, why dont they work???? This am Dino, Brian, Kurt all called me on speakerphone with an offer of how about we reimburse you to the 1615 you agreed to? even though Kurt has already promised me that and to reimburse me for the "game pack" i never ordered. After all the lies and deception i will never trust any vehicle in there hands again.

Desired Settlement: According to 2 other shops, the touchscreen is 300 more per screen. thats what we agreed to. The screens vibrate and bounce so much while driving they are un watchable for any of the 3 kids. The way i see it i have less than 500 of product. Best buy, waldoch, mach1 any place sells mountable units for less than 200 a side. If they continue to refuse to reimburse me at least the difference on the screens i ordered, i will challenge the charge i NEVER authorized on my credit card. They refused to switch out the headrests before so that is no longer an option now, since they have wasted so much of my family's time which is obviously not at all valuable to them. since they refused that than, i asked for 500 off, that would have been the difference, according to Kurt, for there top of the line drop down that he talked me out of, even though thats what Brian recommended after the fact. Dino called today and offered to reimburse me the 120- that fraudulently charged me, which is even less than Kurt promised over a week ago. My mom lost 24 hours at work at 18.50 an hour, 450. my wife took 2 days off school,300 lost in classes.the dealership charged us 1 hour at 140, 600 difference in what i ordered and what i received. plus the 118 differance in what i signed for from what they charged. Not even mentioning the 3,000 warranty they may have voided. As you can see theese costs far out weigh what i spent to have them installed. Even if i received All my money back. they still wont play a dvd while moving, All that time is gone and i cant get back. This morning before there BS offer i would have taken 400 off. Now I'm at 850 off, just less than half off or i will proceed in small claims court

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/11) */ Hello Mr. *******, Thank you for providing feedback about your experience with Automotive Concepts. You have provided a lot information and it is our goal to address each of these issues. First, regarding the product - the product purchased, and that was installed, is the Advent 8" Custom Headrest System with Dual DVD Monitors and HDMI inputs (HH01 Series). The Advent HH01 Custom Headrest System is a high quality system which meets OE standards and exceeds the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards regulations. The touch-screen system is the ZZ01 Series and is an additional $384 for the total system installed from Automotive Concepts (not per screen). Facilities within the Twin Cities area carry and install differing systems of varying quality and price. Without knowing which system you were quoted on purchasing from these other facilities, we are unable to make a comparison as to cost, quality, safety standards and warranty. In terms of the brand Advent - VOXX, International Corp is the maker of Advent. VOXX International Corp is also the maker of the following brands: Klipsch, RCA, Audiovox, Acoustic Research, MAC Audio, HECO, Jensen, Invision, Jamo, Oehlbach, Code Alarm, Prestige, Energy, Omega, 808, Pursuit, Schwaiger, and Hirschmann Car Communication. So, while the brands of Advent and Audiovox are produced by the same parent company, they are separate and distinct brands. However we do understand that sometimes this can create confusion for customers. As far as the cost, the price of $1,615.95 is before the Minnesota sales tax of $117.56. The total amount paid via credit card was $1,615.95 + $117.56tax = $1,733.51 Total. As for the warranty on the custom headrest system, it is a 3year/36,000mile warranty. Any issues related to the headrest system are covered by Automotive Concepts. If you have any further issues, you may call me (Catherine) directly at *************** Your vehicle warranty though GM is not void. GM is still responsible for the providing and honoring the factory warranty on your vehicle which is protected by the Federal Trade Commission Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act. At this time, Automotive Concepts offers a refund of $70.82 for the difference in the game pack and -- due to the miscommunication regarding the sales tax - offers an additional refund of $117.65, for a total of $188.47. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our agreement was for touchscreen units. We went over this all 3 times we spoke before i agreed to do it. Not only did he agree but repeated the option to me. Both units were to play individually or together, through individual had phones or through the radio. along with touchscreen units. Theese were the options we went over. Ease of use, re sale dependability, Quality and stability. I PURCHASED TOUCH SCREEN and instead you gave and charged me for a game pack i didnt want or ask or agree to pay for. When your driver arrived at my work i asked him for a copy of the paperwork to go over before i handed my keys over and he said; "im just the driver" he had no paperwork to give me! Not to mention since they were put in, there not stable, its not a good Quality and the headphones interfere with each other and pick up both movies being played. WORKING WITH YOUR COMPANY HAS BEEN A GIANT WASTE OF TIME AND MY MONEY. The dealership has also assured me that the connection was not installed properly and they have it very well documented, They told us after hours of wasted time, even after you told us it couldnt be your fault, that we were lucky we hadn't caused any significant damage or permanent computer interference. Than when i gave the truck back to you guys to fix, You told me you re hooked it up and watched it himself, 6-7 times. just to make sure. My last offer before i vent my concerns to anyone or everyone who can read or will listen, is the cost of touchscreen reimbursed plus the 188.47 you wrongly charged without my signature or authorization. 572.47. If you dont think this is fare Im prepared to demand for a full refund and compensation for lost time, and missed school. If this is not fare we will let someone else decide Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2016/01/22) */ The warranty for your headrest system is 3years/36,000 miles. If any component of the system is not working properly it will be repaired/replaced at no cost to you. You stated in your previous reply, that DVDs are only playing 50% of the time. The system should be working 100% of the time and if it's not, then that is what the warranty is for. You may call me (Catherine) directly at ************** to discuss the warranty so that your system is working properly. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 24, 2016/01/25) */

1/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that I was sold a lemon car by this car dealership. I was advised that in order to fix the car I would need to utilize the additional warranty. However, I do believe the dealer was aware of the issue prior to selling me this vehicle. I was also pressured into buying an extended warranty when the dealer did not explain the cost of the warranty. I have contacted to see if they would be willing to fix the vehicle the dealer stated they would not make any additional repairs to my vehicle without paying additional fees for diagnostic. I did not have a vehicle inspection prior to purchasing this vehicle, even if i did have a vehicle inspection the mechanic would not have identified the needed repair because there is an oil leak inside the system and the oil is not leaking on the ground. Product_Or_Service: 2007 toyota camry

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair I would like the dealer to pay the repair cost/deductible, for this vehicle and I do not feel I should be responsible for utilizing my extended warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/18) */ Mr. ******** purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry from AC Motors on October 21st 2015. At the time of sale the car was eight years old and had more than 75,000 miles on it, which makes the vehicle an "AS IS" purchase. When Mr. ******** purchased the Camry he was informed that the car had no implied warranty and signed the "As Is" agreement. Mr. ******** was offered a choice of four different extended service plans and had the choice to decline all of them. He decided to purchase an AllState 3 year/36,000 mile plan with a $100 deductible. He was in no way forced to buy this warranty and he has the option to cancel it at any time for a refund. If Mr. ******** would like us to fix his car, we can facilitate the claim with AllState and additionally offer to waive the $100 deductible fee that would apply to Mr. ******** upon completion. At AC Motors we take pride in all of the used cars we sell and pre-inspect them to vet any problems. Unfortunately used or new cars need maintenance from time to time which may not be foreseen at the time of purchase.

12/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had leather seats put in and it looks like the cover over passenger airbag was tampered with. Like someone pried it off with a screw driver. Between automotive Chrysler and forest Lake I don't know which to complain about first. My car had a full inspection by Chevy and then was transfered to automotive concepts to get leather installed and now that the car is back it looks like the air bag has been tampered with. It is going to be investigated thoroughly but I am very unhappy about it. Leather seats were put in and there was no need to touch the airbag. The part in there may have been taken out and sold and it looks absolutely horrible. I am not happy with my service at all! Plus I never received spare leather which I thought was odd and my car was not even cleaned out after the leather was put in. I don't recommend these services to anyone. Make sure ur there watching if u chose to use this vendor. Extremely disappointed and willing to talk to any media or whomever to speak on the situation and my personal experience. By next week I will know exactly wats wrong and will respond on here with an update.

Desired Settlement: Once all details come back from inspection legal action may be taken if not corrected. If my airbag and cover were tampered with I will want a full refund. Crazy how u pay for one thing and get another

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/25) */ Hello *****, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. All leather interior installations from Automotive Concepts are covered with a 3-year/36,000-mile warranty. Would you please provide your vehicle information (Year/Make/Model) so that we can pull accurate service records. Also, would you please clarify what you mean by spare leather. Thank you and we look forward to resolving your concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/12/11) */

9/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had auto starter/alarm installed. I had electrical popping sounds and shorted out headlights 4 times in 6 months. I have taken SUV back 4 to 5 times I purchased a 2003 Chevy Suburban from AC Motors an affiliate of Automotive Concepts, end of January 2015, in February I went to Automotive Concepts to have an auto start/alarm installed. Every other month I have needed to return to have remotes looked at I have been told its the batteries. One of the remotes still do not work. I have been experiencing an electrical popping sound that sounded like the wiring was wrong, I took it back and was told by Nate that they would disconnect the auto start to find issue, when I picked up my SUV the noise was still an issue and Nate told me he could keep system disconnected and I take it somewhere else. I informed him I paid for an alarm and need it the sound continued and headlights have been replaced 4 times in 6 months. Last week my sound went completely out I called Automotive Concepts to speak with owner instead Nate remembered this issue and asked me to bring SUV in again this would be the 5th time. Nate called me to say my running lights were burned out(those were not replaced, they are not working properly when alarm activated the park lights are to flash instead my running lights flash)Nate informed me again that all he could do was disconnect auto start to see if that is what was causing popping sound and electrical shortages. He informed me he would give me an hour to have techs look at it but would cost 100$ he also told me he could replace running lights for ten dollars a piece. I informed him that I would not pay for an issue that I strongly believe is improper wiring of the system they installed, and advised him not to do anything that would cost to my SUV.When I picked my SUV up the system was uninstalled and the running lights were working like they were when I brought it in. Now I have no sound at all and feel like Automotive Concept an installer of all kinds of additions to cars and trucks only treat women this way. How can a specialty place not know what they did wrong? Insultive.

Desired Settlement: A refund or correction of the alarm, wiring. I would like my stereo to work like it did when I brought it in to have alarm/auto starter installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/10) */ Hello *******, It is unfortunate that your experience in resolving this issue has not gone well and that the issue is still lingering. I have done some further research into the issue and what the cause(s) may be. The next recommended course of action to take is disconnecting the remote start system so that each of the issues can be isolated, identified and addressed. To setup an appointment, you may contact me directly at (763) ********. ~Catherine Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told this would cost me $100.00 it is not mentioned if cost is still that. Also AC has disconnected the remote starter 4 times each time my vehicle has been left at place 4-5 hours with no resolve. I am asking that the dash is removed and wiring rechecked. The popping noise is resolved another place replaced my AMP. The issue is my running lights are not working properly, when suv alarmed the park lights should come on but instead the running lights come on but are not coming on when running lights should be on. The running lights were working properly before having AC install remote start. I have had to replace headlight bulbs 6-7 times and have only had the suv 8 months. I am asking that AC check the wiring. Also the batteries in the remote are going out every month one remote has stopped working, even though batteries changed. I would like to know the cost to replace the defective system with a properly wired working on. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/08/31) */ Hello *******, Please Nathan at (763) ******** to schedule a time to have a completely new remote starter installed in your vehicle. This work will be performed at no charge to you. If you have any other questions or concerns, you contact me directly at (763) ********. ~Catherine

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Automotive concepts keeps submitting my application requesting financing saying its on my behalf. on a loan I refused. I was refered to automotive concepts for financing for a car. after going over the price of the car and all the fees , he could not explain verbally or show me on paper what the fees were for no matter how many times I asked . I said no that something is not right and I will go somewhere else for financing . he clearly was not happy with me. one week later June 20 I bought a car. different car different bank .now it is a month later and automotive concepts keep submitting my application requesting financing saying its on my behalf. and now my credit score has gone down each time they do this the first letter I received saying I was denied I thought it would not go any further. I have gotten two more. capital one and TCF bank I need this to stop.

Desired Settlement: I need him to stop submitting my application requesting for financing

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/28) */ Mr. ***** ******** came to Automotive Concepts to obtain financing for the purchase of a vehicle. Mr. *******'* application was submitted to four banks (************************************************** (aka ***), and ******************) on June 17th, 2015. No other requests for an auto loan were made by Automotive Concepts after that date. Please understand, that when an applicant is denied the extension of credit by a lending institution, that the lending institution is required to send a notice to the applicant citing the reason for their credit decision. Automotive Concepts does not have control over the timing of when these lending institutions send out the letters the letters may sometimes arrives several weeks after the application is submitted and denied. Please accept our apologies for any confusion this may have created. If any further clarification is needed, or any questions remain, please contact us so they may be addressed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Purchased a pipe to be put on my car.They installed the pipe and damaged a censor,then gave me no choice but to pay for the damage that they caused. I purchased a pipe to be put on my car. while they were installing the pipe they broke a censor on my car. then gave me no choice but to pay for it to be replaced at way higher that retail value.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the money that i had to pay to fix my censor that they broke.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/11) */ At Automotive Concepts our goal to deliver a positive experience to our customers, and it's unfortunate to hear about Mr. *** ********'s dissatisfaction with his installation services. Based on the information available, Mr. ******** contacted Automotive Concepts on May 20th, 2015 requesting installation of a downpipe that he purchased from another source on his 2014 Ford Focus w/ Turbo. Automotive Concepts provided an estimate to Mr. ******** and an appointment was scheduled. At the time of installation (May 22, 2015) the technician at Automotive Concepts proceeded to remove the existing part which was to be replaced with the customer-provided part. During the removal process, it was found that the oxygen sensor (O2 sensor) had been welded into place due to prolonged excessive heat. Mr. ******** was notified that the O2 sensor needed replacing, and as a courtesy, the associate assisting Mr. ******** sold him the new sensor at the same price Automotive Concepts paid for the part. Automotive Concepts paid $137.84 for OEM replacement part, and charged Mr. ******** the same $137.84 -- list price on this part is $162.16. The amount Automotive Concepts charged Mr. ******** is less than retail price/value. As with any installation service, Automotive Concepts has control and responsibility for how a part goes into the customer's vehicle. Automotive Concepts cannot control the preexisting condition of the vehicle and its parts, nor can Automotive Concepts control the state of the existing parts when they are pulled off of the vehicle. In this particular situation, Automotive Concepts attempted to help the customer out by charging the same amount as the cost of the part, and did not charge any additional labor for this service. At this time, Automotive Concepts will not be issuing a refund for the O2 sensor as requested by Mr. ********. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/06/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I agree that Automotive Concepts cannot control the existing parts and condition of the vehicle, the method by which the O2 sensor was removed was improper. It was a part that was not tampered with and came straight from the factory in this condition. The part may have been removed without damaging it by taking more time and care. Instead, Automotive Concepts showed no concern for the O2 sensor or me by breaking the part in the process. If there was ever any concern for damaging the part during the installation, the associate could have STOPPED working and let me know that there was a chance the O2 sensor could become damaged. I still would like a refund for the O2 sensor. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/06/25) */ The method used by the technician to remove the O2 sensor was the proper method. Automotive Concepts is unable to predict when a part may be stripped or welded into place. The customer service representative at Automotive Concepts did show concern for both the vehicle and Mr. ******** by getting approval to charge Mr. ******** the same amount as the cost of the part, and did not charge any additional labor for this service (Automotive Concepts paid $137.84 for the OEM replacement part, and in turn charged Mr. ******** the same $137.84). Automotive Concepts will not be issuing a refund to Mr. ******** at this time.

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: He buys cars "as is" without looking anything over then selling them "as is". I purchased a 2003 Mazda Protégé with 152k miles on it on 01/09/15 for my 17 year old. Which I had told him this car was for my daughter. Within 2 weeks we had to have it towed. When the repair shop looked at the under carriage they were shocked. This car was not one bit road worthy and my daughter was lucky she wasn't injured or killed in this car. Because he doesn't finance the vehicles but sells them to a financing company, he claims he did not sell me this car. Yet I gave him $500 down. It would cost about $4,000 to make this car road worthy, yet the cost of the vehicle was $3,000. Now I am stuck with a car that cannot be driven. He admitted that he does not look over any vehicle he buys before he sells them. This is very poor business practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for this vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/02/19) */ Received call from ************* of ************, explaining that although he has been in contact with Ms ********** about ways to make needed repairs more cost-efficient, her purchase was actually from AC Motors of Crystal. Under BBB complaint guidelines, complaint will be transferred to AC Motors for response. Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/03/17) */ Ms. **** **********, It is unfortunate to hear that your car-buying experience with ************ has not met your expectations. To recap the situation, Ms. ********** went to ************ and picked out the 2003 Mazda Protégé. ************ does not provide options for vehicle financing, and so Ms. ********** was referred to AC Funding (a division of Automotive Concepts) to assist in obtaining an auto loan. ************ then wholesaled the 2003 Mazda Protégé to AC Funding. AC Funding obtained financing, resold the car to Ms. **********, and completed the vehicle's titling, registration and lien perfection. Since this vehicle had already been selected by Ms. ********** from ************, AC Funding had no involvement in determining the condition of the vehicle or assessing if there were any repairs that may have been needed, and so the vehicle was sold "as is". As an additional note, AC Funding has ceased doing business with ************.

1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought my vehicle in because dome light wouldn't work, car fobs weren't working, which car wasn't starting and door locks wouldn't lock or un-lock. I am contacting you about my experience at Automotive Concepts. I bought my car from Hyundai in Inver Grove Height a little over a year ago. My car is a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe had only 20,000 miles on it and was loaded with everything re-done by Automotive Concepts. Seats, Power locks, Dvd players, car starter, lights etc... Well my key fobs have never worked correct from the start. I have a warranty thru Inver Grove Hyundia but they say because all of this is aftermarket I had to go thru automotive concepts and it is not covered under my warranty. So a few weeks ago my key fob completely quit working. It always started my car but even that stopped. So I contacted your shop and talked with a ******. He had me bring it in and drop it off. My dome light never worked where the Dvd player was so I asked him to fix that too. So when I came back and picked it up he said $375.00. Said the light was hooked up wrong (which They installed it to begin with), Said he had to re-wire the wire to starter. Which the starter worked fine until the key fob quite working. Said he had to re-program the two key fobs and put in new batteries. Well make a long story short I was not happy with the price but if it works great. Got it home and the next day the key fob would not unlock or lock the doors again. The starter would work but nothing else. I was not very happy with ******'s cocky attitude to begin with so I had my husband bring it out to them. On top of everything else we have to sit in traffic for 1-1/2 hours. Anyway ****** calls me and says it's my key fobs. One works sometimes and the other is totally dead. Says I need a new key fob ... so he charges me $118.00 more dollars so now I'm up to a total of $500. He tells my husband that they don't last forever. I've never had one go bad. I owned my previous car for 11 years. So Tuesday comes and go's and I'm not happy about $500 charge when all along it was the key fob and he should have told me that and I should have just been charged for that one new one. Wednesday I go to unlock doors because me and my husband are at store and our hands our full and it won't work. Really... what did they do ... nothing. It is doing exactly the same as when I brought it in to begin with except I spent $500 bucks. The only thing that is different is my dome light works. I emailed Automotive concepts and told him I want my money back and I want this fixed or I was going to the better business Bureau. It always works if I'm in the car. I am so mad and if something does not get rectified on this I will turn this into the better business bureau. I didn't want to deal with ****** at all. I don't care for the way he comes across. I also would like to bring it back on a Saturday as the traffic is unbearable and besides being out $500 we also sat in traffic on 394 for over hour and half both times. Plus 60 miles round trip in gas. When I emailed Automotive i emailed the president ************ but he never emailed or called. But ****** did call and said he sorry he came across bad and didn't mean to. Said he would have someone come to my house and pick up car for a third time and would fix this. They did and he called and said it was the attenna. they hooked it up and brought it back withing a couple hours. He said they did it for no charge.Im thinking i would think so. Next day same thing. Won't unlock or lock. If i'm inside car it works.I have not bothered to call them back as I had a tiny star crack in my windshield and when they brought it back it was cracked all the way accross the whole windshield right where they put the attenna. Never bothering to tell me that they did it. I want a full refund as they did nothing for me but make me very upset. Funny thing is he couldn't say enough that things were hooked up wrong and they are the once that did the original work

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. I would like it fixed and I would like my windshield fixed. I do not want to deal with the salesman ******.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/08/14) */ This customer's vehicle had a remote start and flip down TV installed that were not installed at Automotive Concepts, the vehicle was purchased used by the customer. She called Automotive Concepts letting us know that she was referred by a dealership in town that uses our services. Despite not having installed these parts, we offered to fix both items. The remote start fobs were not working and the flip down TV dome light was not hooked up correctly. We told the customer that we could replace the batteries in the fobs and reprogram them to the vehicle and hook up the dome light properly. We also rewired some faulty wiring on the remote starter. We completed the work and charged the customer exactly what we quoted her. Everything worked properly when the vehicle left. The customer called us 10 days later letting us know that the remote start fob was only working inside of the vehicle. She came back in and we inspected the remote start system again and determined that the key fob needed to be replaced with a new one and reprogrammed. We offered a discounted price on the new remote and programming. The vehicle was returned again working correctly. The customer called again 18 days later letting us know that the remote starter was not working at all now. Knowing the customer was frustrated with her old, faulty remote starter, we offered to not only pick up the vehicle but also deliver it back to her free of charge. We inspected the vehicle and found that the remote starter antenna has failed. We replaced this antenna for FREE of charge for the customer and returned the vehicle working 100% correctly. None of the parts replaced by us were originally installed by Automotive Concepts OR under any sort of warranty. We were offering free parts and service out of good faith for a customer in a tough position. We were in no way obligated to do this. The customer mentioned a chip in her windshield that turned into a crack. This can happen at any time, and if it did in fact happen while it was at our shop, it was purely coincidence and had no correlation to our work provided. If the customer has full coverage on her car insurance the windshield could be replaced for free. We would be happy to arrange that. We went WAY out of our way on this money losing job out of good faith and the fact that she was a customer of a dealership that we have a strong partnership with. All of the service that we provided was 100% necessary to fix faulty or failing parts on an old, outdated remote starter. There was no way for us to predict that these old parts would continue to fail and it was an unfortunate experience for the customer to end up in. We continued to offer friendly and discounted service to please this customer. Unfortunately she is just one of those small percentage of customers that can not be pleased. Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) According to Hyundia in Inver Grove Heights (Whom I do have a warranty with) They said all the work was done there during the Denny Hecker thing. And no I'm not happy. My light in the car is not working again. The wire from the drop down in the car is haning there. The car starter don't work, the doors don't unlock... small percentage of customers no pleased. I would have paid $500 no problem (which i did) to have it all still working. It is all not working so tell me would you be happy about this. Why don't you just give me $500 for nothing and see if that makes you happy. Then to take this long to respond to a customer. Really!!! Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/08/14) */ This customer's vehicle had a remote start and flip down TV installed that were not installed at Automotive Concepts, the vehicle was purchased used by the customer. She called Automotive Concepts letting us know that she was referred by a dealership in town that uses our services. Despite not having installed these parts, we offered to fix both items. The remote start fobs were not working and the flip down TV dome light was not hooked up correctly. We told the customer that we could replace the batteries in the fobs and reprogram them to the vehicle and hook up the dome light properly. We also rewired some faulty wiring on the remote starter. We completed the work and charged the customer exactly what we quoted her. Everything worked properly when the vehicle left. The customer called us 10 days later letting us know that the remote start fob was only working inside of the vehicle. She came back in and we inspected the remote start system again and determined that the key fob needed to be replaced with a new one and reprogrammed. We offered a discounted price on the new remote and programming. The vehicle was returned again working correctly. The customer called again 18 days later letting us know that the remote starter was not working at all now. Knowing the customer was frustrated with her old, faulty remote starter, we offered to not only pick up the vehicle but also deliver it back to her free of charge. We inspected the vehicle and found that the remote starter antenna has failed. We replaced this antenna for FREE of charge for the customer and returned the vehicle working 100% correctly. None of the parts replaced by us were originally installed by Automotive Concepts OR under any sort of warranty. We were offering free parts and service out of good faith for a customer in a tough position. We were in no way obligated to do this. The customer mentioned a chip in her windshield that turned into a crack. This can happen at any time, and if it did in fact happen while it was at our shop, it was purely coincidence and had no correlation to our work provided. If the customer has full coverage on her car insurance the windshield could be replaced for free. We would be happy to arrange that. We went WAY out of our way on this money losing job out of good faith and the fact that she was a customer of a dealership that we have a strong partnership with. All of the service that we provided was 100% necessary to fix faulty or failing parts on an old, outdated remote starter. There was no way for us to predict that these old parts would continue to fail and it was an unfortunate experience for the customer to end up in. We continued to offer friendly and discounted service to please this customer. Unfortunately she is just one of those small percentage of customers that can not be pleased. Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) According to Hyundia in Inver Grove Heights (Whom I do have a warranty with) They said all the work was done there during the Denny Hecker thing. And no I'm not happy. My light in the car is not working again. The wire from the drop down in the car is haning there. The car starter don't work, the doors don't unlock... small percentage of customers no pleased. I would have paid $500 no problem (which i did) to have it all still working. It is all not working so tell me would you be happy about this. Why don't you just give me $500 for nothing and see if that makes you happy. Then to take this long to respond to a customer. Really!!! Business Response /* (4000, 30, 2015/01/07) */ I understand that the customer, *********, feels this complaint is unresolved, and would like to take the time to try and bring some resolution to the matter. ********* purchased a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe from Inver Grove Hyundai as a used vehicle in early 2013. At the time she purchased the vehicle, the Sante Fe was already 6 years old. (As a side note: The standard warranty period for products installed by Automotive Concepts is 3 years). On January 22nd, 2013 -- ********* contacted Automotive Concepts regarding issues with 3 items in her vehicle: 1) Remote starter will not lock/unlock the vehicle unless she is inside the vehicle, 2) Dome lights on the overhead DVD player are not working, 3) Back-up camera does not work. At this point in time, **** was notified that Automotive Concepts did not originally install these products on the vehicle. At that time, she declined receiving an estimate for any repairs (Reference Work Order# *****). On February 11th, 2014 - ********* again contacted Automotive Concepts regarding her vehicle. She was again notified that her products are not under warranty with Automotive Concepts, and was quoted the cost for the recommended repairs. The repairs were made (Reference Invoice# ****), which included: replacing the batteries in the remotes & reprogramming them to the vehicle; re-wiring the dome lights to the doors; and repairing wiring in the remote start system. On February 17th, 2014 - ********* contacted Automotive Concepts stating she was still having issues with her remotes, and is only able to lock/unlock the vehicle when she is inside the vehicle. At this point, Automotive Concepts recommended replacing the entire remote, rather than just reprogramming the existing remotes. The customer came into Automotive Concepts on February 24th, 2014 for the new remote (Reference Invoice# ****). When the customer left Automotive Concepts with her vehicle, everything was functioning properly. On March 4th, 2014 - ********* again contacted Automotive Concepts, stating that the remote starter is not working again. If this new issue were found to be related to any work already performed by Automotive Concepts, then the repairs would be made under the warranty --- If the new issue were found to be related to something else, then there would be a charge associated with the repairs. In this case, the service advisor who had been assisting the customer, Nathan, was able to gain approval to try and get this resolved for customer for no additional charge, regardless of the cause. (**** had purchased the vehicle from a dealership that has a relationship with Automotive Concepts). So, the service advisor arranged the pick-up of ****'s vehicle from her home so that she didn't have to drive back into our facility. The remotes had already been replaced and reprogrammed and were still functioning properly, so the next course of action to get the remote start functional, was to replace the actual antenna in the vehicle (Reference Invoice# 8063). The technician performed the work, and ****'s vehicle was delivered back to her home - all free of charge. The service advisor at Automotive Concepts has gone above and beyond in an attempt to resolve this situation, and do not agree that a full refund is a mutually agreeable solution. ***corresponding documents attached.

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am requesting a refund of $262 for repair cost that I incurred with AC Motors. I recently had my 2008 Avalanche in for services that should have been caught before I took delivery of this truck last month. The main issue I have is that I was charged $262 (parts and labor) to fix the play issue in the steering when all it was, was a "set screw". I even had one of your head techs look at it as well. Also, the following were issues before I purchased this truck from your Maple Plain store that was never fixed and now I have $738.29 in repair cost for a vehicle that I just purchased. - Cracked taillight (I paid for and fixed myself at cost of over $150) - Broken motor mount (I paid for and fixed at a cost of $348) - Play in the steering wheel (I paid for half) - Check engine light was on, repaired Cat sensor (Paid for half)

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $262 for repair cost that I incurred with AC Motors that should have been a $50 fix

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/28) */ Upon speaking with the customer to address the concerns regarding his vehicle, Automotive Concepts and Mr. **** ***** agreed on the following resolutions: - The taillight was not cracked at the time of sale, and any repairs are the responsibilty of Mr. ***** - The motor mount was worn, and not failed. Automotive Concepts suggested to Mr. ***** that he fix this at his own expense, to which he agreed - Automotive Concepts refunded the customer's payment for the steering issue - Automotive Concepts replaced the oxygen sensors at a discounted rate which was approved by Mr. ****** To the best our knowledge at this time, all issues have been resolved between Automotive Concepts and Mr. *****

8/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled a warranty and my refund was sent to AC. They were supposed to delivery the money to me towards my loan, but have deceptively kept my funds. I purchased a warranty and was told I could cancel at anytime. I cancelled and the warranty and the insurance company sent my refund to Automotive Concepts. The company received my check on Nov. 12th 2013, they had 30 days to transfer the funds to me. It is now long past that deadline. I have politely called and emailed A-C in an effort to recover my funds assuming it was an accident and something was lost in translation. However I have not been given and type of response or explanation. I have been transferred and hung up on several times. I am getting the run around and feel cheated. MY money was due to me before the end of December 2013, it is March 2014 and I still cannot even get a response.

Desired Settlement: The check that was due to me was for $789.76 I would like this money back at the minimum. I do however feel that the waste of my time and level of stress this issue has caused me validates further compensation. I would also like a reduction in their BBB rating so others can beware of these thieves and protect themselves.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/08/06) */ Mr. ***** ***** purchased an extended warranty on a vehicle that we financed for him. The cost of this warranty was financed into his vehicle loan. By law, we state that a customer can cancel an extended warranty at any time. ***** ***** contacted us letting us know that he would like to cancel his warranty on November 12th. That same day, we honored our policy an immediately applied for a refund from the 3rd party company that sold the extended warranty. This refund was received by Automotive Concepts in March and was directly sent to the 3rd party credit union who provided the loan for Mr. *****'s vehicle. According to the contract, when the warranty is financed, the amount of the refund HAS to be applied to the balance of the loan on the vehicle. The bank is the lien holder on the vehicle, therefor their collateral depreciates when the extended contract is canceled. This is why the refund is applied to the loan and not refunded in cash. This customer was unwilling to listen and understand the process as we have described it here. His warranty has been canceled and the money refunded in a credit to his loan.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought in my Pontiac solstice formodifications which included removing stock front grilles to put on aftermarket grilles and modifying exhaust I was called in by automotive concepts sales person ***** halfway through the job. ***** states that grilles weren't lining up properly. I went in to check it out. They had the stock front grilles removed. As I entered the garage and walked around the front of my car I noticed that the bumper was still on the car but the stock grilles were off the vehicle laying on the bench. I asked them if they just reinstalled the bumper and they said no that they didn't have to remove it. I looked closer at the grilles, the fastener bracket were tore right off the stock grilles. This was very upsetting because I was planning on selling the stock grilles online to offset some of the cost. the mechanic **** says that they were able to take them off from the front without lowering bumper. I said "are you nuts, you destroyed these?". Is this normal mode of operation, to destroy perfectly good resalable parts? Don't you research or gather information first before you just take it upon yourself to just destroy parts? Totally rediculous!. as I was there I talked with the exhaust mechanic **** And he showed me what he had done. I was a little taken back because what he thought was good work was not quite good work. On the original exhaust there were 4 rubber suspension hangers. He modified the exhaust to put a different(heavier) muffler on with a dual tip exhaust. Not only did it not line up from the diagram I provided to them but the left side was not lined up and hanging lower than before due to the pipe being longer and missing a rubber hanger. As I was bringing up my concerns with **** trying to talk through was I thought needed to be corrected he didnt want to hear it and continued to back his work and argue with me. so then I went to auto parts store and bought a hanger bracket and put it on myself and corrected the problem. I subsequently met with **** the manager and voiced my concerns about the grilles and he too kept backing his worker **** WOW!. I told him that I run a business also, people make mistakes sometimes and as a good business man myself I rectify things quickly and accept responsibilty. Deal with it professionally. He did end up saying he would reimburse me for the damaged grilles ( less than half of their cost) but never said he was sorry or accepted responsibility. In my discussion with **** he said he would mail me a check for $150 for the damaged grilles. One week went by and had not received a check. I called and talked to **** and he said he would check into it and call me back with status....never heard from him. Another 4-5 days went by and I called him again and left a voice mail message, never received a return call. IM OUT $150 DOLLARS HE AGREED TO PAY ME FOR MY DAMAGED GRILLES.I guess they must have more business than they can handle so don't go there, they don't need your business. You will only have aggrevation and wasted time running back and forth talking with the manager about things that went wrong.

Desired Settlement: I want the $150 **** the manager agreed to pay me for damaging my stock grilles

Business Response: Business Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/07/07) */ I received the check in the mail, this issue is resolved.

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a car from AC Motors, I was promised that several repairs would be made to the car. Bad smell, front end noise, Replace passenger door hinge Purchased a 2006 BMW X3 in Feb. of 2013 took car back with several complaints and concerns. AC Motors never corrected the problem. AC Motors used a machine to clear codes an told me the issues had been repaired. Took the car back an this time there was a leak in the coolant hose. It was repaired. I still had issues with the car. I called AC motors several times with other complaints and AC motors never made any attempts to repair. After 6 months of calling I finally talked with the fin. Manager *** who said that he would take the car back on trade for a different car since I was having so many issues with the BMW X3. I found a 2006 Lexus GS300, after the test drive I told *** I had a few concerns about the passenger driver side door not opening, as well as there was a smell that appeared to be the caddiac converter. I also mentioned that there was a noise coming from the front, I thought it was a bad sway bar. I heard the noise when breaking and when the car was in reverse. I was told that they would take care of all my concerns not to worry. I took my car in for repair an I was called back later an was told that they were unable to duplicate the problems. I was told that they had lubed up the door and that it was due to that door not being used. After several returns to AC motors to repair the issues the claims were all the same, they weren't able to duplicate. I called *** the fin. Manager an he an i set up an appt. for me to meet with him an drive the car. November 21st I met with *** an he drove the car with me. He heard the noise coming from the front end but didn't smell the caddilac convertor. He also witnessed the drivers passenger side door being extremely hard to open an close. He said that he would talk to the owner **** an they would take care of all my concerns. Thursday November 21st I texted **** the owner of AC Motor and told him that I had taking my car on a drive with *** an he confirmed a couple of my concerns. Monday afternoon November 25th I stopped over to AC Motors to meet with **** the Owner an he took me into his used car managers ******* and told him to assist me. They both called the shop manager ***** in the office and told him to find me a car to drive an look into figuring out the issues with my car. I was told by ***** that He would look into the issues an call me back. I never heard back from him. I text **** the owner on November 27th an told him that I hand;t received any calls from ***** an I express my concerns an told **** that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB. He texted me back an said that His shop manager ***** had told him that he couldn't duplicate the problem and he then said for me to come back an he will drive the car. I took my car back to AC Motors that evening an **** test drove an he confirmed the noise coming from the front end an also saw that the drivers side passenger door had trouble opening an closing. He told me that he would have lexus look into figuring out the issue. I was told to drop my car off at the end of the week and he would handle things going forward. Dec 3rd I dropped my car back off at AC Motors. My car was taking to Lexus sometime that week. I contacted Lexus to get a status on my car. I spoke with a *********** an he informed me that was car hadn't been looked at due to a scheduling issue, but he had plans to look at the following Monday. During that time I was using 2 of AC motors loaner an cars an they both broke down. I called **** to inform him that I was in the middle of a busy downtown street an his loaner car died. He text me on Dec 13 an told me that my car had been dropped back off to AC motors an ready for pickup. He gave me a sheet from lexus that stated a few initial test done. also on this sheet Lexus stated that the hinges were rusted an needed to be replaced. i called Lexus an spoke to **** an he said that AC Motors picked the car up before they could really dive into what the issues were. According to **** they couldn't duplic

Desired Settlement: I would like AC motors to repair all of the issues with my car. replace the Caddilac convertor replace the sway bar and replace the door hinges. Or I would like them to buy the car back an put into soothing else that need less repairs. If they aren't willing to do either I just want all my money returned an my BMW X3 retuned

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/04/14) */ This customer bounced a $1700 check for his down payment on the lexus he bought. It had over 75000 miles and was sold as is no free work promised or implied. The customer promised to pay us for the bounced check several times and never did. He complained of three problems. 1. Bad Egg Smell. 2. Creak in the front passenger wheel. 3. Rear Driver Door opened stifley. We bought the vehicle to Lexus of Wayzata and they said 1. They could find no bad smell. We also dorve the vehicle several times and found no smell. 2 Lexus found no creak in the front passenger wheel. We also drove and found no creak in wheel. 3. Lexus said replace hinge in rear driver door to fix stiff opening. We agreed to replace the hinge after he paid us for the bounce down payment. The customer's response was to complain to the Better Business Bureau. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/04/22) */ Received consumer response via e-mail to BBB: "***** I want to response to AC Motors claims. The fact are after purchasing the 2006 Lexus I contacted *** finance manager at AC motors within 48 hours of the purchase. Allow me to back up for a moment the smell, the door an the noise coming from the front passenger side was noticed right away an noted by ***. We texted each other an he told me that he would take care of things the following Monday. He also gave me the name of the service manager how would be taking care if the issue. I took the care in several times an each drive along the service guy an *** heard the noise coming from the front end. Regarding the door I was told that it was due the door not being used. They lubed the door an said it would get better. After several time of the same issue an not getting to the bottom of the issue, *** the finance manager told me to contact **** the owner. I did an after several attempt to resolve the issues my claims an calls weren't returned. It wasn't until I sent **** the owner a text stating that I was going to file a claim with the BBB. He then asked me to bring the car in so he could do a ride along. I stopped back to AC motors on December 9th an **** an I drove the car. He heard the noise coming from the front an also say the issue with the door. The only thing he wasn't able to replicate was the smell. **** then suggested that Lexus look at my car so that we could get to the bottom of what was going on. AC motors claim that the Lexus dealership checked my car out an found nothing wrong. What ACMotors failed to say was that yes my car was scheduled to be inspected but ACMotors picked my car up from them before there scheduled day to inspect my car which was December 16th. While I was driving one of there loaner cars while mine was to be repaired, there loaner car broke down on me in the middle of a busy street Hennepin avenue during rush hour traffic. After I contacted ACMotors an called **** "the owner" he sent one of his worker to pick up my car from Lexus. This was Friday December 13th. I contacted Lexus of Wayzata Saturday December 14th an was informed by the adviser working on my car that ACMotors instructed them to stop working on my car. Regarding the $1700 dollar check that ACMotors claims that I bounced, I contacted *** an informed him that I would be stopping payment on that check. I do have electronic text messages from both **** the owner an *** the finance manager. ACMotors were absolutely aware of these issues before selling me the car. I've since had my car look over by another dealership an they have also confirmed that there are issues with a sway bar on the passenger side. That's were the noise is coming from. ACMotors also claimed that they told me they would replace the door hinges. To date there has been no attempts made by ACMotors to fix or resolve these issues. This is the second car I've purchased from them an the results are the same. It is my belief that ACMotors sells lemons an prey on those that are trying to rebuild or don't have the best of credit. My position remains I would like them to either repair all items that's been reported or purchase back this Lexus an return my trade or money."

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Automotive concepts talked me into buying a warranty for $1,500.00 after a few weeks of thinking about it I decided to cancel the policy for a refund. On 8/21/2013 financed a vehicle through Automotive Concepts, at that time they talked me into buying a $1,500.00 warranty policy. After thinking about it I decided to cancel the policy a few weeks later for a refund to be issued to issued back to*******************. After three weeks the refund had still not been issued back to the bank so I called, they said they needed to wait for the warranty company *** to issue them a refund. I called *** and they said they never received any money from Automotive Concepts and they just voided the warranty on their end and that Automotive Concepts needs to issue back the $1,500.00 I called Automotive Concepts back on 11/03/2013 and informed them of my call with *** and she said she had already mailed a check back a week ago to ******************. 11/04/2013 I called ****************** and they informed me they haven't received any money from Automotive Concepts.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund in the amount of $1,500.00 being there was never any money sent to the warranty company which means my vehicle was never covered under warranty. What I don't understand is why hasn't criminal charges ever been issued to this company being there has been so many complaints on this issue.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Automotive Restyling Concepts, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)