BBB Accredited Business since

Classic Auto Restoration & Sales, Inc.

Phone: (651) 426-8082 Fax: (651) 426-0036 4061 Highway 61 N, Saint Paul, MN 55110 http://www.classiccollisioncenter.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Auto Restoration & Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Classic Auto Restoration & Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Auto Restoration & Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1992 Business started: 06/30/1992 Business started locally: 06/30/1992 Business incorporated 06/30/1992 in MN
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Peter Henly, President
Contact Information
Principal: Peter Henly, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Vintage Towing - Automotive

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Classic Auto Sales & Restoration, this company offers quality service in vehicle towing, repair, maintenance, cleaning and restoration. We repair cars of every make and model and we specialize in classic car restoration.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 4061 Highway 61 N

    Saint Paul, MN 55110 (651) 426-8082

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/11/14, I contracted with the above business to repair damages to my vehicle (1972 Chevrolet Monte Carlo, VIN: *************). At that time, I was advised that the repairs could be accomplished within 4-6 weeks. Upon request from the business owner, I submitted a personal check in the amount of $3000.00 to cover initial costs for parts.It has now been over 9 months and the repairs on this vehicle remain incomplete. This is in spite of numerous amended completion dates made by the owner, ************. Explanations for these failures have included lack of parts availability, requesting estimate supplements from the insurance company or simply being to busy. I have visited the shop often during this arduous process, only to be placated with more empty promises. Mr. ******, at no time during this process, bothered to contacted me when failed completion dates passed and would frequently not return my calls. In a recent letter to Mr. ******, I set a completion deadline of 5/25/15 at which time I would contact the BBB or similar consumer protection agencies for assistance. I have had to forfeit winter storage space and missed numerous classic car shows, not to mention being deprived of the ability to enjoy my beloved vehicle.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I wish to arrange for the removal of my vehicle from Classic Collision Center. I would also request full reimbursement of the $3000.00 deposit, minus only the cost of parts that have already been obtained or installed (accompanied with an itemized receipt). Given the profoundly poor customer service and the stress of being without my car for 9 months, I feel that Classic Collision Center should forfeit any labor, towing or other costs incurred during this time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/04) */ Mr. **** brought his classic 1972 Monte Carlo for repairs from a fire damage under the hood which caused extensive engine and wiring damage. Parts for this car are extremely hard to obtain. My initial timeframe was wrong as I was not aware of the extent and the unavailability of finding the parts. I take full responsibility and am extremely sorry that as winter came it did get put on the back burner and the timeframe has been unacceptable. I am working with the insurance company and Mr. **** to have the car done as soon as possible. The insurance company is coming out to reinspect the vehicle next week as there was considerable more supplemental repairs. We will resolve this situation with our customer as quickly as possible and am very sorry for the inconvenience that this has caused our customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understand that, for reasons stated above, the initial few completion dates may have been difficult to predict. It remains more difficult, however, to understand why numerous subsequent completion dates were also inaccurate. With reference to the "Parts for this car are extremely hard to obtain" explanation, during the 10 years that I have owned this car, I have not found this to be the case. I have obtained most original and after market parts, either locally or through print/on-line catalogs, within weeks after placing an order. One would think that, over a span of 9 months, a business which specializes in classic car restoration/repair services could accomplish this without difficulty and in a more timely way. From my view point, the primary reason and most viable explanation for the poor customer service I have received is that my vehicle represents a low profit and, therefore, a low priority repair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/18) */ We just once again want to apologize to our customer for the length of time the repairs took. It was very difficult for us to obtain an aftermarket hood for the vehicle, and the repairs to an engine fire were much more extensive than everyone realized. This repair was covered by the customer's insurance company and not our customer personally, except for his deductible. The initial estimate for the repairs by the insurance company was $3,400. When the car was completed the insurance paid $8,363.15. That is how much more damage was done to the car than originally anticipated, and it taking so much longer than anyone anticipated. We do pride ourself on our customer service, and we are very sorry that the repairs took so long and inconvenienced our customer. Our customer picked up his car today and appeared to be happy with it, so we hope that everything is now to his satisfaction. If there are any issues, we will be more than happy to take care of them.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Auto Restoration & Sales, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)