BBB Accredited Business since

The Asphalt Company, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 670-0260 3400 List Pl #5, Minneapolis, MN 55416 http://www.theasphaltcompanymn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Asphalt Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Asphalt Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Asphalt Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 2008 Business started: 04/03/2007 Business started locally: 04/03/2007 Business incorporated 04/03/2007 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
James Cigelske, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: James Cigelske, Owner
Business Category

Asphalt Concrete Patching Compounds Snow Removal Service Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Seal Coating Concrete Contractors Concrete - Custom Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Excavating Contractors Parking Area Maintenance & Marking Patio Builder Sealing - Pavement

Products & Services

According to information provided by The Asphalt Company, this company offers asphalt paving and patching, asphalt seal coating, crack filling, apron repair, apron replacement, complete concrete installation, excavation, gravel work, parking lot striping and snow removal.


Additional Locations

  • 3400 List Pl #5

    Minneapolis, MN 55416

  • 3544 Woodside Dr

    Monticello, MN 55362 (763) 670-0260

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** put an apron on my driveway. once it was complete I wanted to give him my credit card he informed me he doesn't accept them cash only. *** put an apron on our driveway in beginning of September 2014. Once it was complete I went to give him my credit card to pay for it. He informed me he does not accept credit cards he only accepts cash. It is too much work to get it set up to accept cards. He only accepts cash. we did not have cash at that time. *** said he would rather wait a month or two to get cash instead of setting up for a credit card. I told him I would talk to my husband. Our house was on the market and my husband had just lost his job. We could not pay cash. I called and left 2 messages, my husband called and left a message, I sent an email. I never heard from ***. Today I got a call from *** asking for me to send a check. I told him we need to pay by credit card. He got an attitude and started yelling at me and said he would have to take me to court. He said I did the work 2 months ago, this was not a surprise to him that we wanted to pay by credit card, since I told him upfront. I asked him to stop yelling and he huffed and puffed and kept raising his voice. I told him I didn't want to talk to him anymore and I would have my husband call him tomorrow, he huffed a little more and hung up on me. There is nothing on his website stating that he does not accept credit cards.

Desired Settlement: updating his website stating that he only takes cash. A note in his file with the BBB. Refund of $30.00 fee I am getting charged to take cash against my charge card. Because of his unwillingness to set up a charge card account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/08) */ Let me be clear, my business currently only accepts cash or check. I don't have enough customers requesting to pay by credit card to make it cost effective. Ms. ***** is, in fact, the first customer this year to ask to pay by credit card. If I accepted credit cards, I would need to increase a customer's invoice to cover the three percent per transaction charge, not mention the monthly fee to maintain an account. In this case, it would at least an additional $21.00. During the initial conversation when I informed Ms. ***** that I did not accept credit cards, I also told her she could pay me when she had the money. If I was upset, it was because she kept insisting she could only pay by credit card and then she threatened not to pay me at all. Cue my own threat to take her to conciliation court. If she felt I was pressuring her for payment, it was not my intention. I send monthly invoices to all my customers if I haven't received payment and I do not charge interest. Again, I would like to reiterate, that I told her she could pay me when she had the money. I will not reimburse her the $30.00 her credit card company charged for taking a cash advance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He lied. He never told me up front that he did not take credit cards, if he had I would never have gone with him. he called me and told me I had to pay right then because it had been 2 months since he did the service. I never once told him I would not pay him, he did a service for us and it was always my intent to pay him for the work he did. I am pretty sure he is paying a fee for taking checks also. I said what I needed to say about the way he runs his business and the way he treated me. I do not care to take this any further. It is all she said he said after this. I hope that this can stay on his BBB record. Thank you for your assistance with this matter. ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Asphalt Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)