Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2012

Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC

Phone: (651) 340-0100Fax: (651) 340-0453View Additional Phone NumbersAddress on File with BBB, Saint PaulMN 55106 Send email to Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2012

BBB has determined that Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They didn't orgnially completly look over the machine and I as the owner had to show them what was wrong because they were in "a hurry"
Cracked front door between the washer door and control panels of washer and door that protects the pump along with the door is not aligned all the way. Service man was rude and seemed to be in a hurry each time he was here

11/13/2012
ticket 116160 109.00 and additional
ticket 116160 144.42

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my money back

Business' Initial Response
On Wednesday November 14th at 11:30am we were at the clients residence to service their washing machine. We were called because their machine was giving an E04 error, drain pump failure. When we started the service the exterior cover of the pump coin catch separated from the inner threaded fitting. The technician had to use a flat head screwdriver to separate the threaded fitting from the machine, the gasket of the threaded fitting had become sealed against the pump. This threaded fitting cracked when it separated from the pump. We found debris inside of the coin catch area, which was removed, but we were not able to test the units full functions due to the cracked fitting.

I received a phone call from the client on Wednesday the 14th @ 12pm indicating that he "understood what had happened and he was watching when the part cracked. That things happen and that he just wanted us to be fair" with our pricing. He and I discussed that we, Perry's, would cover the cracked part but that he would pay for the labor. He agreed with this solution. I told him that I would check our stock to see if the cracked part was in stock or if it would need to be ordered and I would get right back to him. The part was in stock and the technician came back to the shop and picked up a threaded fitting from stock and we returned to install the needed part at 2:00pm that afternoon. The co-owner of Perry's Repair accompanied the technician on the return call to assist in the proper repositioning of the appliance. The tech installed the fitting to replace the cracked piece and then completed the testing of the appliance. during this testing we found that the debris found in the coin catch, that was removed earlier the same day, had damaged the pump. The pump was no longer functioning and needed to be replaced. We at that point needed the pump and had to obtain the part and return. I received a call from the client immediately after the tech left inquiring about her service call. I indicated to her that I was currently working on her order and would get back to her the following day to confirm that we would be able to return on Friday to complete her repair. I called the client on Thursday the 15th to confirm with them that I had indeed had acquired the part and would be able to come out on Friday the 16th to complete the repair. The technician returned on Friday the 16th installed the pump and tested the machine. Everything was found to be in working order and the customer paid for the pump and the labor to install the part. Yes we admit that we did crack a fitting on their machine, but we returned the same day with a replacement for the damaged part and then complete the testing of their machine. The fact that this part was cracked doesn't change the fact that their pump ultimately needed replacement. I feel that we, Perry's, did everything we could to rectify our mistake in cracking the part and complete the service of their machine as promptly as possible.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While the Tech was here, yes he did find a small tie wrap in the coin catcher, but he did break that unit while trying to access it. And that is what the coin catcher does is catch things that might get missed in the wash. This in NO WAY, broke the pump. The Tech did not align the door after he had it off to replace the pump nor did he put the washer back together the right way. We had to go back out after he thought he was done and bring him back in the house to point out the door alignment and frame work needed to be redone for machine to work properly. We would not recommend Perry Appliance to anyone.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/28/2005Business started: 01/16/2004New Owner Date: 05/24/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Tara Merkt (Owner)
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Perry's Appliance Repair, this company offers appliance repair and service.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 04:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 04:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 04:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 04:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 04:00 PM

If you choose to do business with Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC

Address on File with BBB

Saint Paul, MN 55106

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Address on File with BBB 

    Saint Paul, MN 55106

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Perry's Appliance Repair, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (651) 340-0100
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.