This business is not BBB accredited.

Appliance Express

Additional Locations

Phone: (612) 617-1000 View Additional Phone Numbers 6532 16th Ave S Ste 206, Minneapolis, MN 55423 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.minneapolisappliancerepairservice.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Major appliance repair service. Most makes and models, same day service in Minneapolis,St Paul, known as the Twin Cities.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Appliance Express include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Appliance Express include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning the following:

Customers allege the company did not show up for promised appointment times. The company states they tried to call, but customers argue that no phone calls were ever received. Customers also allege that the company informed them that when they didn't answer their phone they made other appointments;
Complainants state they were treated rudely on the phone when attempting to schedule appointments and were denied service based on the type of appliance they were seeking to get repaired, despite seeing advertisements on the company's website indicating that they would service that type of appliance;
Complaints received by BBB allege that upon arriving for a scheduled repair appointment the company informed the customer that they would need to order a part and would return to finish the job, but the company never returned. When calling the company to find out why, customers allege that they were told that the company didn't feel like doing the job for them; and
BBB Customer complaints state the company refused service after already having an appointment scheduled and in some cases after arriving at the customer's home.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Appliance Express
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2005 Business started: 02/09/2012 in MN Business started locally: 02/09/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Lawrence McClure, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Lawrence McClure, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair Washing Machines & Dryers - Coin Metered Appliances - Major - Dealers Ranges & Ovens - Service & Repair Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Washers

Products & Services

Appliance Express sells the following brand(s): Service Only

Appliance Express offers the following product(s): Service Only

Refund and Exchange Policy
We always try to do the right thing and rarely have problems
Service Area
Hennepin/ Minneapolis/St. Paul
Alternate Business Names
Appliance Repair Specialists, Inc. Appliance Rescue, Inc Minneapolis Appliance Repair Service St Paul Appliance Repair Service Whirlmore Appliance Whirlmore Appliance
Products & Services

Whirlpool appliance repair, Whirlpool Duet appliance repair, Sears appliance repair, Kenmore appliance repair, Kitchenaid appliance repair, Maytag appliance repair, GE appliance repair, Sub Zero appliance repair, Estate appliance repair, Inglis appliance repair, Kirkland appliance repair, Amana appliance repair, Admiral appliance repair, Roper appliance repair, Jenn Air appliance repair. We have appliance repair Minneapolis, appliance repair Richfield, appliance repair Edina, appliance repair Bloomington, appliance repair eden prairie, appliance repair Hopkins, appliance repair Minnetonka, appliance repair st louis park, appliance repair golden valley, appliance repair Plymouth, appliance repair maple grove, appliance repair new hope, appliance repair robbinsdale, appliance repair crystal, appliance repair brooklyn center, appliance repair brooklyn park, appliance repair champlin, appliance repair osseo, appliance repair Burnsville, appliance repair medicine lake, appliance repair Wayzata, appliance repair Eagan. Refrigerator Repair, Washing Machine Repair or Washer Repair, Dryer Repair, Icemaker Repair-Replacement.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Appliance Express has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2038 Ford Pkwy # 202

    Saint Paul, MN 55116 (651) 777-2082

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4615 Xene Ln N

    Plymouth, MN 55446

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    561 Mariner Way

    Saint Paul, MN 55129 (651) 766-8211

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6523 16th Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55423 (952) 893-4100 (612) 379-1000 (763) 559-2600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6532 16th Ave S Ste 206

    Minneapolis, MN 55423 (612) 378-5500 (855) 552-2556 (612) 617-1000 (612) 402-7027

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7137 Nicollet Ave

    Richfield, MN 55423

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 6-24-2016 at 1:15 pm "Larry" came to repair my broken Frigidaire refrigerator that was not holding temp. His diagnosis claimed that I needed to replace the defrost thermostat and the defrost control. For this service I was charged $408.00, which I paid. I continued to monitor the refrigerator temperature all day. By 8 pm I now noticed that the frig never got to temperature but now the freezer was not working. I began to text and call all three numbers I had for Larry. At 9:45 pm Larry returned the call, told me to give it to the morning and if no change he would come out free of charge. At 7 am 6-25-2016 I texted Larry, he called back within minutes, said he would take a shower and be right out. Within 5 minutes he called again to tell me he was not happy about my review on his website in which he asked me to write. http://g.co/kgs/MX3Bo8. He then said he would not be coming back his van was broken. He then proceeded to write the most vial, slanderous response about myself, my daughter and her service dog! This Man should not be doing business anywhere for anyone, he is a crook!

Desired Settlement: Man refuses to repaire what he did not fix. After his vial response on his website I would like a full website!

Business Response: We were asked to the home about a Frigidaire freezer with a frost build up. I have been repairing this exact same refrigerator for 38 years. It is a very basic and simple refrigerator. The frost in the freezer was due to a self defrosting Issue. Only 3 parts come in to play with a self defrosting refrigerator that is basic like this one. The defrost heater, defrost thermostat, and timer. The defrost heater checked out fine and I have never replaced this heater in 38 years it has never been bad. I don't even carry this part on the truck for this reason. That leaves the defrost timer and thermostat which I replaced and put the old parts in the garbage can next to the fridge. I defrosted the freezer to give the fridge and freezer a fresh new start. It was fixed perfect and the refrigerator was turned on. Whirlpool says it takes 12 hours before you can put food back in the refrigerator again. It takes about 5 to 7 days to build up enough frost to interfere with the cooling process. Client called and said the freezer built up frost in as little as 6 hours again. Impossible. I have seen this on 2 other occasions in my career where a client opened up the doors so much the refrigerator and freezer never got cold enough in 2 days. Once the clients gave up checking the temperature and waiting for the first Ice cube to drop all was perfect soon after. I believe the client feels she paid too much and is making up stories for a discount. To ruin a honest family business with bad reviews for a discount is a shame. I told her exactly what was wrong and exactly how much before the repair she authorized. 10 days later no receipt of a new refrigerator purchase. 10 days later no receipt of another company fixing the refrigerator again. Inconsistencies with the truth are obvious. There will be no refund until we feel it is deserved.        

Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:
1.  He came to fix the refrigerator!  2.  His own diagnosis/service did not repair the refrigerator.  3.  I reported to him that the refrigerator never got to temp and the freezer was now broken due to his service.  4.  Although my paperwork warranties his work and parts, he refused to come a repair his mess!  5.  38 years of service?  He claims to belong to a repair association, they don't know him?  6.  I did buy a new frigerator because my daughter is adult disabled and I am only with her part time, after dealing with such a unprofessional human being I didn't want to deal with issues while not in town.  I purchased a Whirpool refrigerator, 6-25-16 and it was delivered 6-27-16 by Best Buy, I paid 999.99 for the new frigerator.  7.  This company never fixed, diagnosed what they were paid to do!  Larry is a crook!

3/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Larry on the morning of March 22nd, 2016 to repair a washing machine located in the basement of my home. The washer would not enter the spin cycle. As a result the washer would fill with water and shut off leaving the water in the basin of the machine. This washer drains in to a sink that sits adjacent to the washer. I informed Larry of the issue and he showed up at my house roughly an hour later. My wife was home at the time and showed him to the washer. He looked at it and proceeded out to his truck to get a new part. He told my wife that that the "lid switch" was the issue. He then proceeded to install the new switch. Upon completion he invoiced us for $208.00. Saying $70 was for the diagnostic and $138 was for replacing the part. He did not discuss this prior to starting the work and only after performing the work did he inform us of the cost. I accepted the higher than normal price as I assumed the washer was fixed. Shortly after he completed his work we ran a load of cloths through our newly repaired washer. Letting the machine run my wife went out to run errands. When she returned she found that the washing machine was spilling water out of the back and we had 7-9" inches of water on the floor. I called Larry immediately to inquire about what could have happened. He blamed my wife and I, saying that we must have taken the washer apart after he left and tried to work on it ourselves. He then said "good thing your wife signed off on the work." As a result of the water our basement sustained significant damage. In particular our furnace filled with water and the control board was damaged. Numerous other electrical items spent a considerable amount of time under water as well. I was forced to spend money on a pump to remove the water along with a dehumidifier. Larry has refused to refund the service fee. I also am now required to cover a $1000 deductible for the damage in the basement.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the service fee. I would also like for Appliance Express to cover the $1000 deductible.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ******

3/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not complete repair, overcharges for services, cashed check and then used foul language, accused me of being broke, committed fraud. "Larry" requested text pictures of my refrigerator issues prior to coming onsite, which I provided, along with detailed descriptions of the issues. I provided the pictures, model and make #s, and etc. He checked only one website and determined that parts were not available, showed up and crammed the icemaker swingarm back into place then suggested fixes that I could make for the rest of the problems. Did not even attempt repairs to the other issues. Charged $134 for less than 15 minutes of work - and my icemaker has never worked again. When I called to complain, he used foul language and told me to "stop pay the check" - when I tried to do it, I found that he'd cashed the check moments after leaving my house the day before. This amounts to fraud or at least HIGHLY unethical business practices, which I've since found other evidence of. I want my money back, as the basic service agreement that I had with the vendor was simply not rendered, most of the agreed-upon work the vendor didn't even attempt to do, and then the vendor lied about my payment status, indicating that I could stop pay the check when he'd already cashed it. I can provide pictures, time/date information, including the time/date the check was submitted for payment, and the time/date that Larry told me that I could stop pay it.

Desired Settlement: Cash back - $134.

Business Response: Please provide your copy of the signed receipt, and give to the Better Business Bureau.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Appliance Express
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart